Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on March 05, 2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), which the certified copy has been placed in the record of the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings submitted on 03/05/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-2,8-9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 8 recite “the turning-on” in lines 14 and 18, respectively. There are insufficient antecedent basis issue for these claim limitations.
Claims 2 and 9 recite “the duration” in line 3. There are insufficient antecedent basis issue for these claim limitations.
Claim 8 recites current sense “resister” in line 16 has a typographical error and should be “resistor”.
Claim 15 recites “ the current sense” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis issue for this claim limitation.
Claims 3-7 are depend from claim 1. Thus, are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 10-14 are depend from claim 8. Thus, are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 16-20 are depend from claim 1. Thus, are also objected because of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li “US11387740”.
In re to claim 1, Li discloses a controller (Fig. 2 shows a recycle control integrated circuit 20 and Fig. 3 and 5-6 shows a detail of control circuit 20 of fig.2) for controlling an auxiliary switch (Fig. 2 shows auxiliary switch MA) connected in series with a clamp capacitor (clamp capacitor Csn) to form an energy recycle branch (energy recycle branch 30) in a flyback circuit (Figs. 2,8 and 10), the controller (20) comprising:
a power supply terminal (VCC terminal) configured to receive an external supply voltage (external supply voltage VS via a diode D0) ;
a sensing terminal (CS terminal) configured to be coupled to a first terminal of a current sense resistor (resistor Rcs) which is connected in series with a primary switch (Primary MP);
a ground terminal (VSS terminal) configured to be coupled to a second terminal of the current sense resistor (VSS is coupled to RCS);
a drive terminal (VG terminal) configured to be coupled to a control terminal of the auxiliary switch (MA) ; and
a turn on control circuit (Figs. 3 and 5-6 shows a recycle control integrated circuit 20A &B and maximum ON-time control circuit 203a and 203b, respectively are configured to turn on the auxiliary switch MA) coupled to the power supply terminal (Fig. 5 shows the second current source 232 has a first terminal coupled to the VCC pin, see col. 6, lines 4-6. Furthermore, Fig. 11 shows a maximum ON-time control circuit 203A comprises VCC terminal ) and the sensing terminal (figs. 3 and 6 shows an integrated circuit 20A&B comprises CS terminal), wherein based on a logic state of the voltage at the power supply terminal (VCC) and a voltage across the current sense resistor (RCS), the turn on control circuit is configured to provide a turn on control signal to control the turning-on of the auxiliary switch (see Figs. 3-11) .
In re to claim 7, Li discloses (Figs. 2-11) further comprises a setting terminal (SET terminal) and an ON-time control circuit coupled to the setting terminal (see Figs. 5 and 11), wherein the setting terminal is configured to be coupled to an external resistor (Rset) , and the ON-time control circuit is configured to limit an ON-time of the auxiliary switch (MA) in accordance with the resistance of the external resistor (see figs. 5 and 11).
In re to claim 8, Li discloses flyback circuit (Figs. 2-11 shows a flyback and its controlling mechanism) , comprising: a primary switch (Primary MP) coupled to the primary winding of a transformer (NP winding of transformer T) via a current sense resistor (resistor Rcs) ; an auxiliary switch (auxiliary switch MA) coupled in series with a clamp capacitor (clamp capacitor Csn) to form an energy recycle branch (energy recycle branch 30); and
a controller (control circuit 20), configured to control the auxiliary switch (MA), comprising: a power supply terminal (VCC terminal) configured to receive an external supply voltage (external supply voltage VS via a diode D0);
a sensing terminal (CS terminal) configured to be coupled to a first terminal of the current sense resistor (RCS) ;
a ground terminal (VSS terminal) configured to be coupled to a second terminal of the current sense resistor (VSS is coupled to RCS);
a drive terminal (VG terminal) configured to be coupled to a control terminal of the auxiliary switch (MA); and
a turn on control circuit (Figs. 3 and 5-6 shows a recycle control integrated circuit 20A &B and maximum ON-time control circuit 203a and 203b, respectively are configured to turn on MA) coupled to the power supply terminal (Fig. 5 shows the second current source 232 has a first terminal coupled to the VCC pin, see col. 6, lines 4-6. Furthermore, Fig. 11 shows a maximum ON-time control circuit 203A comprises VCC terminal ) and the sensing terminal (figs. 3 and 6 shows an integrated circuit 20A&B comprises CS terminal) , based on a logic state of a voltage at the power supply terminal (VCC) and a voltage across the current sense resister (RCS), the turn on control circuit is configured to provide a turn on control signal to control the turning-on of the auxiliary switch (see Figs. 3-11).
In re to claim 14, Li discloses (Figs. 2-11) further comprises a setting terminal (SET terminal) and an ON-time control circuit coupled to the setting terminal (see Figs. 5 and 11), wherein the setting terminal is configured to be coupled to an external resistor (Rset) , and the ON-time control circuit is configured to limit an ON-time of the auxiliary switch (MA) in accordance with the resistance of the external resistor (see figs. 5 and 11).
In re to claim 15, Li discloses a control method (Fig. 2 shows a recycle control integrated circuit 20, and Fig. 3 and 5-6 shows detail of controlling method circuit 20 of fig.2) for controlling an auxiliary switch (auxiliary switch MA) connected in series with a clamp capacitor (clamp capacitor Csn) to form an energy recycle branch (energy recycle branch 30) in a flyback circuit (Figs. 2,8 and 10) , and the control method comprising: receiving an external supply voltage (external supply voltage VS via a diode D0) at a power supply terminal of a controller (VCC terminal)
coupling a sensing terminal (CS terminal) of the controller to a first terminal of the current sense resistor (resistor Rcs);
coupling a ground terminal (VSS terminal) of the controller to a second terminal of the current sense resistor (resistor Rcs);
coupling a drive terminal (VG terminal) of the controller to a control terminal of the auxiliary switch (MA); and based on a logic state (Figs. 3 and 5-6 shows a recycle control integrated circuit 20A &B and maximum ON-time control circuit 203a and 203b, respectively are configured to turn on MA) of a voltage at the power supply terminal (Fig. 5 shows the second current source 232 has a first terminal coupled to the VCC pin, see col. 6, lines 4-6. Furthermore, Fig. 11 shows a maximum ON-time control circuit 203A comprises VCC terminal ) and a voltage across the current sense resistor (figs. 3 and 6 shows an integrated circuit 20A&B comprises CS terminal) , determining whether to turn on the auxiliary switch (see Figs. 3-11) .
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-6 ,9-13 and 16-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a controller including the limitation of “wherein when the duration the voltage at the power supply terminal being a logic high level is longer than a first pre-determined period, the logic state judgement circuit is configured to provide a trigger signal having a first level; a turn on enable circuit coupled to the sensing terminal of the controller to receive a sensing signal representative of the voltage across the current sense resistor, wherein when the trigger signal is being the first level and the sensing signal is decreased to a first threshold voltage, the turn on enable circuit is configured to provide an enable signal having a first level; and an enable logic circuit configured to allow the auxiliary switch to be turned on when the enable signal is being the first level and a falling-edge of the voltage at the power supply terminal comes. ”
Claim 9 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a flyback circuit including the limitation of “wherein when the duration the voltage at the power supply terminal being a logic high level is longer than a first pre-determined period, the logic state judgement circuit provides a trigger signal having a first level; a turn on enable circuit coupled to the sensing terminal to receive a sensing signal representative of the voltage across the current sense resistor, when the trigger signal is being the first level and the sensing signal is decreased to a first threshold voltage, the turn on enable circuit is configured to provide an enable signal having a first level; and an enable logic circuit configured to allow the auxiliary switch to be turned on when the enable signal is being the first level and a falling-edge of the voltage at the power supply terminal comes.”
Claim 16 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a control method including the limitation of “ detecting the logic state of the voltage at the power supply terminal; providing a trigger signal having a first level when the duration the voltage at the power supply terminal being a logic high level is longer than a first pre-determined period; providing a sensing signal representative of the voltage across the current sense resistor; providing an enable signal with a first level, when the trigger signal is being the first level and the sensing signal decreases to a first threshold voltage; and allowing the auxiliary switch to be turned on when the enable signal is being the first level and a falling-edge of the voltage at the power supply terminal comes. ”
Claims 3-6 depend from claim 2, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 10-13 depend from claim 9 , thus is also objected because of its dependency.
Claims 17-20 depend from claim 16, thus is also objected because of its dependency
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen “20250202368” the present invention generally relates to electronic circuits, and more particularly but not exclusively, to control circuits for isolated switching converters and associated methods.
Chen “20240305204” the present invention generally relates to electronic circuits, and more particularly but not exclusively, to a controller of an auxiliary switch used in a flyback circuit and associated control methods.
Chen “CN118920882” the present invention generally relates to electronic circuits, and more particularly but not exclusively, to a controller of an auxiliary switch used in a flyback circuit and associated control methods.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tran, Thienvu Vu can be reached on (571) 270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838