Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Osterman et al (PGPUB 2008/0185231).
With respect to claim 1, Osterman teaches a method for defining load data of an elevator car, the method comprises:
obtaining, by at least one motion sensor device (fig. 2, 109), speed data representing a speed of an asynchronous elevator hoisting motor (paragraph 0023; 5) arranged to drive the elevator car (fig. 1, 7) along an elevator shaft (paragraph 0023; 2nd sentence), and
defining the load data (paragraph 0034) of the elevator car (7) based on the obtained speed data (paragraph 0011), a direction of the elevator drive (paragraph 0011), and predefined reference data (paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 2, Osterman teaches wherein the predefined reference data comprises a scaling factor and slip data (paragraph 0039; 102) with a known load to the direction of the elevator drive.
With respect to claim 3, Osterman teaches wherein the predefined reference data further comprises a synchronous speed data (paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 5, Osterman teaches wherein the reference data is defined during a learning drive (paragraph 0038; 113) of the elevator car.
With respect to claim 11, Osterman teaches an elevator monitoring unit for defining load data of an elevator car, the monitoring unit comprises:
at least one motion sensor device (fig. 1, 109) configured to obtain speed data representing a speed of an asynchronous elevator hoisting motor (paragraph 0023; 5) arranged to drive the elevator car (fig. 1, 7) along an elevator shaft, and a processing unit (fig. 2, 100) configured to:
obtain the speed data from the at least one motion sensor device, and define the load data (paragraph 0034) of the elevator car based on the obtained speed data (paragraph 0011), a direction of the elevator drive (paragraph 0011), and predefined reference data (paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 12, Osterman teaches wherein the predefined reference data comprises a scaling factor and slip data (paragraph 0039; 102) with a known load to the direction of the elevator drive.
With respect to claim 13, Osterman teaches wherein the predefined reference data further comprises a synchronous speed data (paragraph 0011).
With respect to claim 15, Osterman teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to define the reference data during a learning drive (paragraph 0038; 113) of the elevator car.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterman et al (PGPUB 2008/0185231).
With respect to claim 9, Osterman does not teach wherein the at least one motion sensor device is comprised by an elevator monitoring unit without a communicative connection to an elevator control system of an elevator system comprising the elevator car. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have for motion sensor of elevator motor to be separate from elevator system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
With respect to claim 10, Osterman does not teach wherein the asynchronous elevator hoisting motor is a direct-on-line induction motor or a frequency-controlled induction motor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for be DOL or frequency controlled induction motor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
With respect to claim 19, Osterman does not teach wherein the elevator monitoring unit is without a communicative connection to an elevator control system of an elevator system comprising the elevator car. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have for motion sensor of elevator motor to be separate from elevator system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
With respect to claim 20, Osterman does not teach wherein the asynchronous elevator hoisting motor is a direct-on-line (DOL) induction motor or a frequency-controlled induction motor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for be DOL or frequency controlled induction motor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
With respect to claim 21, Osterman does not teach computer program product for defining load data of an elevator car which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method according to any of claims 1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have computer program define load data for system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
With respect to claim 22, Osterman does not teach an external computing unit configured to: receive the load data of the elevator car from the elevator monitoring unit, and store and analyze the received load data of the elevator car. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have external computing unit outside system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Claims 4, 6-8, 14, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERICK D GLASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837