DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stelling Neto et al. [ US Patent Application No 2025/0245330 ], in view of McCarthy [ US Patent No 11,765,207 ].
As per claim 1, Stelling Neto discloses the invention as claimed including a method comprising:
determining for an entity, by at least one hardware processor, a configuration profile comprising attributes of the entity and attributes of one or more data assets or one or more data processing operations associated with the entity [ i.e. discover the existing network, e.g. settings, hardware, software ] [ paragraphs 0013, and 0015 ];
detecting, by at the at least one hardware processor, a change to a digital representation of a system requirements framework comprising digital data requirements for handling specific data types [ i.e. migrate to zero trust architectures often requires a current computer network or system to be restructured and/or reconfigured ] [ paragraphs 0012, 0015, and 0033 ];
determining, based on the change to the digital representation of the system requirements framework and the configuration profile, a configuration gap [ i.e. the gap identification component 104 may compare an existing description of the computing network with templates from the zero trust template, and allows gaps in the computing network to be identified ] [ 104, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0016, 0018, and 0019 ];
generating desired state instructions for the configuration gap [ i.e. mapping between the gap and score (or a recommendation score), and the map allows the improvement recommendation component to generate or recommend changes or improvements to migrate the client computing network towards a zero trust compliant architecture ] [ 108, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0019, and 0020 ] ; and
generating one or more tasks for applying one or more modifications to the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the desired state instructions [ i.e. generate a recommendation layout which may include software and/or hardware recommendations, configurations, connection ] [ 110, 112, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0021-0023 ].
Stelling Neto does not specifically disclose
the steps of generating desire state instructions and one or more tasks utilizing a large language model.
McCarthy discloses
the steps of generating desire state instructions and one or more tasks utilizing a large language model [ i.e. use a large language model to generate a policy statement for management of network resources ] [ 908, Figure 9; Abstract; col 23, lines 28-32; and col 25, lines 41-col 26, lines 2 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Stelling Neto and McCarthy because the teaching of McCarthy would enable organizations to define various network policies, network security policies, access rules, that may be used to enforce access rights, access privileges, for various users, services [ McCarthy, col 17, lines 8-12 ].
As per claim 2, Stelling Neto discloses wherein generating the desired state instructions comprises extracting the digital data requirements for handling specific data types from a digital data repository comprising a plurality of digital representations of a plurality of system requirements frameworks in response to detecting the change to the digital representation of the system requirements framework [ i.e. zero trust template and hardware and software databases ] [ 228, 230, Figure 2; and paragraphs 0025, 0026, 0046, and 0047 ].
As per claim 3, Stelling Neto discloses determining, based on the configuration profile, that the digital data requirements for handling the specific data types correspond to the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations by utilizing a knowledge graph comprising relationships between a plurality of data assets, a plurality of data processing operations, and the digital data requirements of the system requirements framework [ i.e. collection of compliant network graph segments and attributes of the graph segments ] [ paragraphs 0017, 0026, and 0046 ].
6. As per claim 4, McCarthy discloses wherein generating the desired state instructions comprises: determining, utilizing the large language model, a gap rule corresponding to one or more data objects representing the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the digital data requirements; determining the configuration gap in response to applying the gap rule to one or more attribute values of the one or more data objects; and generating, utilizing the large language model, the desired state instructions to modify the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations in response to determining the configuration gap [ i.e. guide rule ] [ Figures 7 and 8; and col 21, lines 25-35 ].
7. As per claim 5, McCarthy discloses wherein generating the desired state instructions comprises determining the configuration gap by comparing, via an application programming interface associated with the large language model, the digital representation of the system requirements framework to data objects representing the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations to determine a geographic location, an entity impact, an area of impact, or a data impact [ i.e. the set of resources that may be impacted ] [ col 25, lines 51-col 26, lines 16 ].
8. As per claim 6, McCarthy discloses generating, utilizing an application programming interface associated with the large language model, the one or more tasks based on comparing the desired state instructions relative to a current state of the configuration profile; and generating, utilizing the application programming interface associated with the large language model, the one or more modifications to the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the desired state instructions [ i.e. compared with current/new configuration profiles ] [ col 30, lines 59-64 ].
9. As per claim 7, McCarthy discloses wherein generating the one or more tasks comprises: determining, utilizing an application programming interface associated with the large language model, one or more control actions for installing one or more controls associated with handling data via the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the change to the digital representation of the system requirements framework; and generating the one or more tasks to implement the one or more control actions to install the one or more controls in connection with the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations [ i.e. enable users to indicate candidate configuration profile is acceptable, and deployment in protect networks ] [ Figure 11; and col 27, lines 17-30 ].
10. As per claim 8, McCarthy discloses wherein generating the one or more tasks comprises generating a task risk profile, a control recommendation, or a task recommendation associated with correcting the configuration gap by comparing, utilizing an application programming interface associated with the large language model, a current state of the configuration profile to a desired state of the configuration profile according to the change in the digital representation relative to the configuration profile [ i.e. display a report that includes the affected resources ] [ col 19, lines 46-53; and col 27, lines 1-16 ].
11. As per claim 9, Stelling Neto discloses providing, for display via a graphical user interface of a computing device associated with the entity, the one or more tasks according to the desired state instructions; detecting, in response to an interaction via the graphical user interface, an approval of the one or more tasks; and causing, in response to the interaction, modification of the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the one or more tasks [ i.e. recommendation layout, benefit from the assistance of a human in the loop to provide assistance or hint, and approved layout ] [ paragraphs 0021, and 0040 ].
12. As per claim 10, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1, furthermore, Stelling Neto discloses a regulatory change processor [ i.e. zero trust compliant status ] [ paragraph 0023 ].
13. As per claim 11, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 2.
14. As per claim 12, Stelling Neto discloses determine, by the regulatory change processor, a relationship between the digital data requirements for handling the specific data types and the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations by utilizing a knowledge graph comprising relationships between a plurality of data assets, a plurality of data processing operations, the digital data requirements of the system requirements framework [ i.e. collection of compliant network graph segments and attributes of the graph segments ] [ paragraphs 0017, 0026, and 0046 ]; and determine, based on the relationship, the configuration gap comprising a geographic location, an entity impact, an area of impact, or a data impact [ i.e. restructure and/or reconfigured, this may include changes to device settings, network settings, user settings, hardware, software ] [ paragraph 0012, and 0021 ].
15. As per claim 13, McCarthy discloses determine, utilizing the regulatory change processor, one or more controls in connection with one or more data objects representing the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the digital data requirements; and generate the desired state instructions to modify the one or more controls in response to determining the configuration gap [ i.e. enable users to indicate candidate configuration profile is acceptable, and deployment in protect networks ] [ Figure 11; and col 27, lines 17-30 ].
16. As per claim 14, McCarthy discloses to determine, utilizing an application programming interface associated with the large language model, a control recommendation associated with the one or more tasks based on comparing the desired state instructions relative to a current state of the configuration profile to determine an extent of the one or more modifications to the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations [ i.e. display a report that includes the affected resources ] [ col 19, lines 46-53; and col 27, lines 1-16 ].
17. As per claim 15, Stelling Neto discloses to generate the one or more tasks by implementing one or more control actions to install one or more controls in connection with the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations [ i.e. patch changes ] [ 112, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0021-0023 ].
18. As per claim 16, Stelling Neto discloses detect, in response to an interaction via the graphical user interface, an approval of the one or more tasks; and modify, utilizing the regulatory change enactment engine and in response to the interaction, the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the one or more tasks [ i.e. recommendation layout, benefit from the assistance of a human in the loop to provide assistance or hint, and approved layout ] [ paragraphs 0021, and 0040 ].
19. As per claim 17, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
20. As per claim 18, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 7, furthermore, McCarthy discloses modifying the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the one or more task [ i.e. deploy ] [ col 27, lines 25-28 ].
21. As per claim 19, Stelling Neto discloses generate, by a regulatory change enactment engine and for display via a graphical user interface, one or more tasks comprising a control recommendation based on a potential severity of a impact associated with correcting the configuration gap; and cause, in response to an approval interaction via the graphical user interface, modification of the one or more data assets or the one or more data processing operations according to the one or more tasks [ i.e. recommendation layout, benefit from the assistance of a human in the loop to provide assistance or hint, and approved layout ] [ paragraphs 0021, and 0040 ].
22. As per claim 20, McCarthy discloses compare, utilizing an application programming interface associated with the large language model, a current state of the configuration profile to the desired state instructions to determine a desired state of the configuration profile [ i.e. compared with current/new configuration profiles ] [ col 30, lines 59-64 ]; and generate a risk profile, a control recommendation, or a task recommendation to modify the one or more data assets or one or more data processing operations associated with the entity to according to the desired state of the configuration profile [ i.e. display a report that includes the affected resources ] [ col 19, lines 46-53; and col 27, lines 1-16 ].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/10/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sweeney et al. [ US Patent Application No 2019/0207981 ] discloses configure and detect security controls installed in an IT environment and generate visual and textual reports that provide recommendations to improve cybersecurity
Guttridge et al. [ US Patent Application No 2025/0077556 ] discloses detecting a gap that exists within the multi-domain architecture
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446