DETAILED ACTION
Priority as a CON of PCT/CN2022/116518 filed 9/1/2022 and Chinese Application 202111039127.0 filed 9/6/2021 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 filed 3/5/2024 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/10/2025 and 7/3/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US20210258764A1), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claims 1 and 18,
Zhang discloses a sending device (Fig. 1, UE 102; Fig. 4, UE 400) comprising a processor (Fig. 4, processing circuitry 402/processor 455), memory (Fig. 4, CPP 441/CRM 442), and program (Fig. 4, CP 433) or instruction (Fig. 4, CRI 444) stored in memory that can be run by the processor (paragraph 75) for implementing a quality of service characteristic parameter determining method (Fig. 2-3) comprising determining, by a sending device, a sensing quality of service QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 2, s202-204; Fig. 3, s302-304; paragraph 52-54; SDI discovery message including QoS information), wherein the sensing QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a sensing delay budget, sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capacity, a sensing update rate, sensing signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, and a false alarm probability (paragraph 21, 38, 52-54, 65-74; QoS information indicates QoS requirement for the service of interest (e.g. QCI/5QI), intention code indicating a service type, and capability information).
Regarding claims 8 and 19,
Zhang discloses a device (Fig. 1, UE 104; Fig. 4, UE 400) comprising a processor (Fig. 4, processing circuitry 402/processor 455), memory (Fig. 4, CPP 441/CRM 442), and program (Fig. 4, CP 433) or instruction (Fig. 4, CRI 444) stored in memory that can be run by the processor (paragraph 75) for implementing a quality of service characteristic parameter determining method (Fig. 2-3) comprising obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing quality of service QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 2, s202-204; Fig. 3, s302-304; paragraph 52-54; obtaining SDI discovery message including QoS information) comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a sensing delay budget, sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capacity, a sensing update rate, sensing signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, and a false alarm probability (paragraph 21, 38, 52-54, 65-74; QoS information indicates QoS requirement for the service of interest (e.g. QCI/5QI), intention code indicating a service type, and capability information).
Regarding claim 2,
Zhang discloses obtaining, by the sending device, a QoS parameter set that is a correspondence between a value of a sensing quality identity SQI and a value of the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 2, s202; paragraph 52, 55; SDI based QCI/5QI index/level); receiving, by the sending device, an SQI notified by a core network device or a receiving device (i.e. Fig. 1, UE 104; Fig. 3, s302; paragraph 40-51, 71; SDI received from another UE); and determining the sensing QoS characteristic parameter based on the SQI and the QoS parameter set (Fig. 3, s304; paragraph 72; UE processes/determines the received SDI).
Regarding claim 3,
Zhang discloses receiving, by a sending device, first information sent by a core network device or a receiving device (i.e. Fig. 1, UE 104; Fig. 3, s302; paragraph 40-51, 71; SDI received from another UE) used to indicate the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 3, s304; paragraph 72; UE processes/determines the received SDI).
Regarding claim 9,
Zhang discloses the obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing quality of service QoS characteristic parameter comprises obtaining a QoS parameter set, wherein the QoS parameter set is a correspondence between a value of a sensing quality identity SQI and a value of the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 2, s202; paragraph 52, 55; SDI based QCI/5QI index/level); receiving, by the receiving device, an SQI notified by a core network device or a sending device (i.e. Fig. 1, UE 104; Fig. 3, s302; paragraph 40-51, 71; SDI received from another UE); and determining the sensing QoS characteristic parameter based on the SQI and the QoS parameter set (Fig. 3, s304; paragraph 72; UE processes/determines the received SDI) or, wherein the obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing QoS characteristic parameter comprises: receiving second information sent by a core network device or a sending device (i.e. Fig. 1, UE 104; Fig. 3, s302; paragraph 40-51, 71; SDI received from another UE), wherein the second information indicates the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 3, s304; paragraph 72; UE processes/determines the received SDI).
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US20210243837A1), hereafter Jung.
Regarding claims 14 and 20,
Jung discloses a core network device (i.e. Fig. 14, BS/eNB/gNB; Fig. 26; paragraph 433-434) comprising a processor (Fig. 26, processor 9011/9021), memory (Fig. 26, memory 9012/9022), and program/instruction stored in memory (paragraphs 437-438; memory storing information/commands) that can be run by the processor for implementing a data sending method (Fig. 16(a), paragraphs 156; Fig. 18-22) comprising obtaining, by a core network device, target data (i.e. SLSS obtained by network from UE(s); paragraph 136-139; Fig. 18-22, i.e. Fig. 19, s1900), wherein the target data comprises a sensing QoS characteristic parameter or a sensing quality identity SQI (paragraph 202-218; various requested QoS parameters including QCI/5QI, etc.) and sending, by the core network device, the target data to a sending device or a receiving device (Fig. 19, s1910; paragraph 152, 168, 175, 185, 386; network/BS decision node for resource allocation, provides UE with link selection policy based on SLSS), wherein the sensing QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a sensing delay budget, sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capacity, a sensing update rate, sensing signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, and a false alarm probability (paragraph 202-218, 407; various requested QoS parameters including QCI/5QI, service type, etc.; Fig. 17, paragraph 161-163; sensing window parameters).
Regarding claim 15 and 16,
Jung discloses determining third information based on the target data comprises at least one of the following: a sensing manner of a sensing service, wherein different sensing manners indicate different transmit and receive ends of sensing signals; and a sending device and a receiving device that participate in sensing (Fig. 16a; paragraph 156; TM1/3; PDCCH from BS to UE1 indicates subsequent UE1/2 PSCCH/PSSCH; paragraph 157; sensing/SA decoding procedure) and, after the determining third information based on the target data, further comprising sending, by the core network device to the sending device or the receiving device, the sensing manner of the sensing service and/or the sending device and the receiving device that participate in sensing (paragraph 202-218, 407; various requested QoS parameters including QCI/5QI, service type, etc.; Fig. 17, paragraph 161-163; sensing window parameters).
Regarding claim 17,
Jung discloses the sensing priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal (paragraph 180, 201, 210, 256-257; selection criteria based on priority of the service), the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following: delay-critical/sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; delay-critical/sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value; (i.e. paragraph 5, 9, 14, 204, 258; lower end-to-end delay requirements for some services such as VR; QoS information of the service includes maximum delay parameters; selecting resource having low interference within the sensing window/range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung.
Regarding claims 4 and 10,
Zhang discloses after the determining, by a sending device, a sensing quality of service QoS characteristic parameter, further comprising determining, by the sending device, sensing parameter configuration information based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (paragraph 23, 34-36; various possible configurations based on SCI/SDI/QoS/QCI/5QI index/level) and sending, by the sending device, a sensing signal to a receiving device based on the sensing parameter configuration information (Fig. 2, s204; Fig. 3, s304; transmit and receive/process SDI).
To the extent that Zhang does not expressly disclose the sensing parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following: bandwidth of the sensing signal, a quantity of transmit antennas of the sensing signal, transmit power of the sensing signal, a period of the sensing signal, and a quantity of pulses of the sensing signal or determining, by the sending device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter and sending, by the sending device, the measurement amount to a receiving device, further prior art to Jung (Fig. 19, s1910; paragraph 152, 168, 175, 185, 386; network/BS decision node for resource allocation, provides UE with link selection policy based on SLSS) discloses the sensing parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following: bandwidth of the sensing signal, a quantity of transmit antennas of the sensing signal, transmit power of the sensing signal, a period of the sensing signal, and a quantity of pulses of the sensing signal (paragraph 202-218, 407; various requested QoS parameters including QCI/5QI, service type, etc.; Fig. 17, paragraph 161-163; sensing window parameters; selecting resource having low interference within the sensing window) or determining, by the sending device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter and sending, by the sending device, the measurement amount to a receiving device (Fig. 22, steps s2220-2230; reporting on information of specific measurement/status).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by providing the sensing parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following: bandwidth of the sensing signal, a quantity of transmit antennas of the sensing signal, transmit power of the sensing signal, a period of the sensing signal, and a quantity of pulses of the sensing signal or determining, by the sending device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter and sending, by the sending device, the measurement amount to a receiving device, as shown by Jung, thereby enabling reliable sidelink service with feedback-based retransmission according to the sensing configuration between the device and network.
Regarding claims 5 and 11,
Zhang does not expressly show mapping, by the sending device, the sensing signal to a radio bearer RB by using a target mapping rule; and sending the sensing signal to the receiving device by using the RB; wherein the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following: a plurality of sensing signals are mapped to a same RB; and one sensing signal is mapped to one RB.
Jung discloses mapping, by the sending device, the sensing signal to a radio bearer RB by using a target mapping rule; and sending the sensing signal to the receiving device by using the RB; wherein the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following: a plurality of sensing signals are mapped to a same RB; and one sensing signal is mapped to one RB (paragraph 111-112, 209; ensure QoS required by a signaling radio bearer, mapping to sidelink traffic flow bearer type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by mapping, by the sending device, the sensing signal to a radio bearer RB by using a target mapping rule; and sending the sensing signal to the receiving device by using the RB; wherein the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following: a plurality of sensing signals are mapped to a same RB; and one sensing signal is mapped to one RB, as shown by Jung, thereby enabling reliable sidelink service with feedback-based retransmission according to the sensing configuration between the device and network.
Regarding claim 6,
Zhang does not expressly disclose, but Jung further shows specifying the sending device and the receiving device that participate in sensing (Fig. 16a; paragraph 156; TM1/3; PDCCH from BS to UE1 indicates subsequent UE1/2 PSCCH/PSSCH) and at least one of the following: receiving, by the sending device, a sensing manner of a sensing service that is sent by a core network device or a receiving device (paragraph 157; sensing/SA decoding procedure); and determining, by the sending device, the sensing manner of the sensing service based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter; wherein different sensing manners indicate different transmit and receive ends of sensing signals (paragraph 202-218, 407; various requested QoS parameters including QCI/5QI, service type, etc.; Fig. 17, paragraph 161-163; sensing window parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by specifying the sending device and the receiving device that participate in sensing and at least one of the following: receiving, by the sending device, a sensing manner of a sensing service that is sent by a core network device or a receiving device and determining, by the sending device, the sensing manner of the sensing service based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter; wherein different sensing manners indicate different transmit and receive ends of sensing signals, as shown by Jung, thereby enabling reliable sidelink service with feedback-based retransmission according to the sensing configuration between the device and network.
Regarding claims 7 and 13,
Zhang does not expressly disclose sensing priority level used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal; wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following: a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value; and a sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value.
Jung discloses disclose sensing priority level used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal (paragraph 180, 201, 210, 256-257; selection criteria based on priority of the service), wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following: a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value; and a sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value (i.e. paragraph 5, 9, 14, 204, 258; lower end-to-end delay requirements for some services such as VR; QoS information of the service includes maximum delay parameters; selecting resource having low interference within the sensing window/range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by using sensing priority level to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal; wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following: a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a sensing service whose physical sensing range is greater than or equal to a preset value; a delay-critical sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value; and a sensing service whose physical sensing range is less than a preset value, as shown by Jung, thereby enabling reliable sidelink service with feedback-based retransmission according to the sensing configuration between the device and network.
Regarding claim 12,
Zhang does not expressly disclose obtaining, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of the sensing signal comprises one of the following: receiving, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal that is sent by the sending device; and determining, by the receiving device, the measurement amount of the sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter.
Jung discloses obtaining, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of the sensing signal comprises one of the following: receiving, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal that is sent by the sending device; and determining, by the receiving device, the measurement amount of the sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Fig. 17, paragraph 161-163; sensing window parameters; selecting resource having low interference within the sensing window; Fig. 22, steps s2220-2230; reporting on information of specific measurement/status).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhang by obtaining, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of the sensing signal comprises one of the following: receiving, by the receiving device, a measurement amount of a sensing signal that is sent by the sending device; and determining, by the receiving device, the measurement amount of the sensing signal based on the sensing QoS characteristic parameter, as shown by Jung, thereby enabling reliable sidelink service with feedback-based retransmission according to the sensing configuration between the device and network.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477