DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the varistor comprises of a first outer electrode at its upper surface and a the second outer electrode at its lower surface” which are must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 17 recite the limitation "the first electrode” and “the second electrode” in lines 5 and 8 (both claims). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US Pat. 11,348,710)
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a varistor module (MOV device 10; see figures) comprising:
a varistor (MOV chip 28; col. 3);
a contact element (electrode 30 and/or the horizontal metal in direct contact with the electrode 30; see fig. 2A) fixed to the varistor (28); and
a terminal (plastic housing 12 with the folded contact terminal 40) comprising a metal contact (40), wherein the contact element (30) is fixed to the metal contact (40) and wherein the
metal contact comprises a lower face (reference number 14) which faces away from the varistor, and which is configured for surface mounting (lower face 14 is soldered to PCB; col. 4, lines 46-52).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the contact element comprising a lead (the horizontal metal contact element in fig. 2A), the lead being coated with copper or tin (metal coating such as copper, silver, tin or nickel is present on the lead; see col. 3, lines 53-63).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Song teaches the contact element (30) being fixed to the varistor by high temperature soldering (secured by high temperature solder; see col. 4, lines 6-12).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Song teaches the varistor module according to claim 1, wherein the terminal further comprises a plastic base (plastic housing 12), wherein the metal contact (40) is integrated in the plastic base (the metal contact 40 being bent or folded onto the plastic base 12; col. 3, lines 33-42 and col. 4, lines 3-12), and
wherein the plastic base comprises a liquid crystal polymer (liquid-crystal polymer or polyphenylene sulfide; see col. 4, lines 37-42).
Regarding claim 8, the varistor 28 and the contact element (30) are covered by a coating (12/12; see fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Song teaches the varistor module according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing (12/12; see figs. 1A and 1B),
wherein the terminal (housing bottom 12 with bottom surface 26) and the housing (upper housing 12) enclose a cavity, and wherein the varistor (28) and the contact element (30) are arranged in the cavity (encased within the housing; see col. 4, lines 31-36), and
wherein air is arranged between an inner surface of the housing and the varistor (Song does not teach vacuum sealing the varistor within the housing.).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches the varistor module according to claim 1, further
comprising:
at least a second varistor (28-2; see fig. 6) wherein a second contact element (38-2)
is fixed to the second varistor, and wherein the terminal further comprises a second metal contact (the second metal contact being opposite the first metal contact 36), wherein the second metal contact is fixed to the second contact element and wherein the second metal contact comprises a lower face which faces away from the second varistor and which is configured for surface mounting (Song teaches that the MOV device including multiple elements and/or additional embodiment each having the first and the second contact element. Each varistor also connect with metal contacts, wherein the metal contact possessing the lower surface for surface mounting. See col. 6, lines 20-25 and the discussion above for the claimed structures.).
Regarding claim 12, Song teaches the varistor module according to claim 1,
wherein the varistor comprises a first outer electrode (the L-shaped horizontal electrode in direct contact with the contact element 30; see fig. 2B) at its upper surface (Song does not limit how the MOV must be mounted.) and a second outer electrode (on the opposite surface to the first outer electrode) at its lower surface,
wherein the contact element (30) is fixed to the first electrode of the varistor by soldering or welding (see discussion for claim 3 above),
wherein the varistor module comprises a second contact element (32 being the second contact element; see fig. 2B) which is fixed to the second electrode of the varistor by soldering or welding, and
wherein the terminal further comprises a second metal contact (38), wherein the second contact element is fixed to the second metal contact and wherein the second metal contact comprises a lower face which faces away (mounting surface) from the varistor and which is configured for surface mounting.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Song teaches a method of manufacturing a varistor module comprising:
providing a varistor (28) with a contact element (30) fixed to the varistor;
providing a terminal comprising a metal contact (plastic housing 12 with the folded contact terminal 40), the metal contact comprising a lower face configured for surface mounting (lower face 14 is soldered to PCB; col. 4, lines 46-52);
fixing the contact element to the metal contact such that the lower face of the metal contact faces away from the varistor (see figures);
the method according to claim 13, further comprising:
placing a housing (encased within the housing 12; see col. 4, lines 31-36) over the varistor (28) and over the contact element (30), such that the terminal forms a bottom side of
the housing (see fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches the contact element (30) being fixed to the varistor by high temperature soldering (secured by high temperature solder; see col. 4, lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches the method according to claim 13, further
comprising:
providing a second varistor (28-2; see fig. 6) wherein a second contact element (38-2)
is fixed to the second varistor, and wherein the terminal further comprises a second metal contact (the second metal contact being opposite the first metal contact 36), wherein the second metal contact is fixed to the second contact element and wherein the second metal contact comprises a lower face which faces away from the second varistor and which is configured for surface mounting (Song teaches that the MOV device includes multiple elements and/or additional embodiment. See col. 6, lines 20-25. Further, claims do not limit as to how the metal contacts are connected to the terminal. That is, are the MOVs connected in series or parallel.).
Regarding claim 17, Song teaches the method according to claim 13,
wherein the varistor comprises a first outer electrode (the L-shaped horizontal electrode in direct contact with the contact element 30; see fig. 2B) at its upper surface (Song does not limit how the MOV must be mounted.) and a second outer electrode (on the opposite surface to the first outer electrode) at its lower surface,
wherein the contact element (30) is fixed to the first electrode of the varistor by soldering or welding (see discussion for claim 3 above),
wherein the varistor module comprises a second contact element (32 being the second contact element; see fig. 2B) which is fixed to the second electrode of the varistor by soldering or welding, and
wherein the terminal further comprises a second metal contact (38), wherein the second contact element is fixed to the second metal contact and wherein the second metal contact comprises a lower face which faces away (mounting surface) from the varistor and which is configured for surface mounting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Gomi et al. (US Pat. 8,912,876).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches the varistor module according to claim 1, including:
wherein the metal contact (36/38) further comprises:
an upper face (near reference number 38 in parallel to the lower surface by reference number16); and
a welding area (horizontal metal in contact with electrode 30; see fig. 2A),
wherein the upper face is parallel to the lower face and faces towards the varistor,
wherein the welding area is perpendicular to the upper face of the metal contact and protrudes towards the varistor, and wherein the contact element is fixed to the welding area of the metal contact.
Song teaches the claimed invention except for using welding.
Gomi teaches the use of welding as an electrical connection between metal contacts to increase the adhesion strength between metal connections (see col. 4, lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective claimed date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Gomi and Song, since using welding taught by Gomi increases the adhesion strength between metal contacts, and thereby improving the structural integrity of the varistor device of Song.
Conclusion
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831