DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/13/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2, “a busbar assembly having at a frame” should read as “a busbar assembly having a frame” in order to correct the grammar of the claim.
In claim 1, line 4, “a locking bar have a plurality of apertures” should read as “a locking bar having a plurality of apertures” in order to correct the grammar of the claim.
In claim 5, line 2, “a cover that spans the cell stack” should read as “the cover that spans the cells stack” in order to more consistently refer to the cover introduced in claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required. Suggested corrections are underlined for emphasis only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the cell stack” in lines 2 and 3. However, “a cell stack” is introduced in line 1 of claim 4 and in line 2 of claim 2, of which claim 4 is dependent. Thus, it is unclear if “the cell stack” in lines 2 and 3 of claim 4 is referring to the cell stack introduced in claim 4, the cell stack introduced in claim 2, or both (the cell stack introduced in claims 2 and 4 being the same cell stack). For examination purposes, the cell stack introduced in claim 2 and the cell stack introduced in claim 4 is considered to be the same cell stack. Accordingly, examiner suggests deleting the limitation “further comprising a cell stack” in line 1 of claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required in order to overcome the indefiniteness rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0194099) (Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a traction battery pack (title), comprising: a busbar assembly (500) having a frame (510) and at least one busbar (520) (see Figs. 5 and 8; [0049]-[0051]), the frame (510) including a plurality of fingers (550) (see Figs. 5, 9, and 10; [0055]-[0057]; [0073]); and a locking bar (200) having a plurality of apertures (210) that are each configured to receive a portion of one of the fingers (550) to constrain the busbar assembly (500) (see Figs. 9 and 10; [0035]-[0037]; [0073]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses that the busbar assembly (500) is pivotably coupled to a cover (300) that spans a cell stack (100) (see Figs. 2-5 and 13-14; [0038]-[0040]; [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Kim further discloses that there are two identical busbar assemblies (500) (including the frame 510, busbar 520, and fingers 550) placed at the front and rear ends of the cell stack (100) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0050]). Kim further discloses that the locking bar (200) is also located at both ends of the cell stack (100) and comprises the plurality of apertures (210) at both ends of the cell stack (100) (see Figs. 2 and 3; [0036]). Thus, the busbar assembly (500) and the portion of the locking bar (200) with the corresponding apertures (210) at the front end of the cell stack (100) can be considered a first busbar assembly and a first locking bar (200), and the busbar assembly (500) and the portion of the locking bar (200) with the other apertures (210) at the rear end of the cell stack (100) can be considered a second busbar assembly and a second locking bar (200), respectively (see Modified Figure 2 below). As such, Kim clearly discloses that the first busbar assembly (500) is pivotably coupled to a first side of the cover (300) (see Figs. 2-5 and 13-14; [0038]-[0040]; [0050]-[0052]). Kim also discloses that the second busbar assembly (500) has a second frame (510) with a second plurality of fingers (550) and at least one second busbar (520) (see Figs. 5 and 8; [0049]-[0051]), wherein the second plurality of apertures (210) are configured to receive a portion of one of the second plurality of fingers (550) to constrain the second busbar assembly (500) (see Figs. 9 and 10; [0035]-[0037]; [0073]). Thus, Kim reads on all of the limitations in claim 3.
Modified Figure 2, Kim
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Kim further discloses that the first busbar assembly (500) and the first locking bar (200) are disposed along a first side of the cell stack (100), and the second busbar assembly (500) and the second locking bar (200) are disposed along an opposite, second side of the cell stack (see Modified Figure 2 above; [0036]; [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Kim further discloses that the first busbar assembly (500) is pivotably coupled to a first side of the cover (300) that spans the cell stack (100), and the second busbar assembly (500) is pivotably coupled to an opposite, second side of the cover (300) (see Modified Figure 2 above; see also Figs. 2-5 and 13-14; [0038]-[0040]; [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses that each of the apertures (210) within the plurality of apertures (210) receive one of the fingers (550) within the plurality of fingers (550) (see Figs. 9 and 10; [0035]-[0037]; [0055]-[0057]; [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses that the plurality of fingers (550) are tapered (see Modified Figure 5 below).
Modified Figure 5, Kim
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses that the plurality of apertures (210)j are a plurality of pockets, the locking bar (200) disposed circumferentially completely about the portion of the fingers (550) to constrain the busbar assembly (500) (see Fig. 10; [0035]-[0037]; [0055]-[0057]; [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses a cell stack (100) having a plurality of battery cells with tab terminals (150) (see Fig. 2; [0033]), wherein the frame (510) includes a plurality of slots, the tab terminals (150) received within the plurality of slots (see Modified Figure 4 below; see also Figs. 2, 5, and 8; [0033]; [0051]; [0067]-[0070]).
Modified Figure 4, Kim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0194099) (Kim) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0259140) (Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Kim further discloses a cell stack (100) having a plurality of battery cells disposed along an axis (see Modified Figure 2 below; [0033]), the plurality of battery cells positioned between compressive structures that are at opposing axial ends of the cell stack (100), the busbar assembly (500) and locking bar (200) disposed along a side of the cell stack (100) (see Modified Figure 2 below; [0038]; [0050]). Kim further discloses that the locking bar (200) is mounted to the compressive structures (see Figs. 5, 8-10, and 13-14; [0077]). Specifically, Kim discloses that the locking bar (200) is a base frame, and the compressive structures are side frames of the cover (300) (see Modified Figure 2 below; [0031]-[0038]). However, Kim fails to explicitly disclose that the locking bar (200) is clipped to the compressive structures.
Modified Figure 2, Kim
However, this configuration is common in the art. For instance, Lee teaches a similar traction battery pack (title), comprising a busbar assembly (320) located on both ends of a cell stack (10), a locking bar (220) configured as a lower cover on which the cell stack (10) is placed, and compressive structures (212) configured as side covers and located at opposing axial ends of the cell stack (10) (see Fig. 1; [0039]; [0048]). Lee further teaches that the locking bar (220) is clipped to the compressive structures (212) via a stepped portion (221) (see Figs. 3, 6A, and 6B; [0056]-[0058]; [0077]-[0079]). Lee further teaches that attaching the locking bar (220) and the compressive structures (212) in this way allows for fastening members (412) to fasten the locking bar (220) to the compressive structures (212) in a direction perpendicular to the locking bar (220), which more effectively suppresses an expansion of the battery cells (110) in the cell stack (10) and reduces the possibility of damage due to the expansion of the battery cells (110) ([0068]; see also Figs. 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking bar and the compressive structures disclosed by Kim such that the locking bar is clipped to the compressive structures, as taught by Lee, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would more effectively suppress an expansion of the battery cells and reduce the possibility of damage due to the expansion of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 9. Modified Kim further discloses that the compressive structures are cross-members (see Modified Figure 2 above; Kim: see also Fig. 4; [0038]).
Conclusion
/BRENDON CHARLES DARBY/Examiner, Art Unit 1749