DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatenable over Meura (EP 2,764,080).
In claim 2, Meura discloses the invention as claimed including a brewing plant, comprising a hot water storage device (figure 2 “eau de process”), including a high temperature portion and a low temperature portion,
at least one high temperature water inlet, at least one high temperature water outlet, at least one low temperature water inlet, at least one low temperature water outlet (generally inlet and outlet);
a mash container (OP1)
a lauter tun or a mash filter flow (OP2) connected with the mash container by a mash conduit (directional arrows);
a wort kettle (OP4), including a lauter wort inlet, a wort outlet, and an exhaust vapor condenser (generally reservoir adjacent to black box in figure 2) including a low temperature water connection and a high temperature water connection,
wherein the lauter wort inlet is directly or indirectly connected through a lauter wort conduit with the wort cooler (OP6), where the wort is transferred to the mash filter.
wherein the hot water storage device includes at least one first hot water storage container OP1, or comprised of a high temperature portion and at least one second hot water storage container that includes or forms the low temperature portion (see figure 4 and para. 0009-0015.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meura.
In claims 1,3,9 and 10, Meura discloses a brewing plant, comprising a hot water storage device (figure 2 “eau de process”), including a high temperature portion and a low temperature portion,
at least one high temperature water inlet, at least one high temperature water outlet, at least one low temperature water inlet, at least one low temperature water outlet (generally inlet and outlet);
a mash container (OP1), capable of being connected by a common connection,
a lauter tun or a mash filter flow (OP2) connected with the mash container by a mash conduit (directional arrows);
a wort kettle (OP4), including a lauter wort inlet, a wort outlet, and an exhaust vapor condenser (generally reservoir adjacent to black box in figure 2) including a low temperature water connection and a high temperature water connection,
wherein the lauter wort inlet is directly or indirectly connected through a lauter wort conduit with the lauter tun or the mash filter (see directional arrows),
wherein the at least one low temperature water outlet of the hot water storage device is connected with the low temperature water connection of the exhaust vapor condenser and the high temperature water inlet of the hot water storage device is flow connected with the high temperature water connection of the exhaust vapor condenser,
wherein the hot water storage device includes at least one first hot water storage container OP1, which includes or forms the high temperature portion and at least one second hot water storage container that includes or forms the low temperature portion
What Meura does not disclose is the use of the hot water storage comprised of two storage containers and the connection to the mash inlet. However, Meura in a further emobiment teaches that it is old ad well known in the art of brewing to provide a hot water storage device configured as an arrangement of two or more hot water storage containers (eau de process) that is flow connected through a fresh water conduit with a fresh water storage, and wherein the at least one high temperature water outlet of the hot water storage device is flow connected through a mash water conduit with a hot water inlet of the mash container/filter (see figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the embodiment of Meura with the storage and routing requirements as taught by Meura in a further embodiment for the purpose of recapturing a heated process medium to reduce manufacturing costs.
In claims 4-8, The modified invention of Meura discloses the invention as claimed including various optimal fluid temperatures during the brewery process. What Meruea does not disclose is the utilization of temperatures of the fluid at various process steps from 90-99C for the purpose of manufacturing an brewed beverage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided Meura with the temperature range. This range is week known in the brewer business and is needed to assist in removing the wort from the utilized grains.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Back, Wolter, Knudsen and Michel have been cited to show the state of the art.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 August 25, 2026