This office action is in response to application filed on 01/25/2026.
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US20190069205A1) (hereinafter "Lee") in view of Duan et. al. (US20190306775A1) (hereinafter "Duan"), Mohseni et al (US20120052858A1) (hereinafter "Mohseni"), and Xing et al (US11659444B1) (hereinafter "Xing").
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for cell reselection, comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), a key performance indicator (KPI) according to a scenario that the UE is in ([0065-0066] the UE may determine or decide how to select an LTE cell or an NR cell and which operating mode should be used based on the received system information…In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI. Signal strength/quality parameters (RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, SNR, SINR, etc.) are KPIs in wireless communication art. The UE obtains the signal strength/quality parameters from the system information blocks that are broadcast from the cell station. [0008] determining, by a user equipment (UE), that the UE is in an idle mode …a Standalone (SA) mode, or a Non-standalone (NSA) mode, based on at least the received system information);
Lee fails to disclose a method comprising: measuring, by the UE, the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE; estimating, by the UE, the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell; and determining, by the UE, to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell.
However, Duan discloses a method comprising: measuring, by the UE, the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804..Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance));
estimating, by the UE, the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806...At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance));
determining, by the UE, to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance)).
Lee and Duan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell selections and handover/reselections in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee and Duan to create a method comprising: measuring, by the UE, the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE; estimating, by the UE, the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell; and determining, by the UE, to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the conditions of the serving cell against those of the target cell so that a comparison for possible cell re-selection can be made for effective utilization of services and network bandwidth, and to enhance system reliability.
Lee, as modified by Duan, fails to disclose a method comprising: wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality.
However, Mohseni discloses a method comprising: wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; and ([0093] The measurement module 905 may measure a signal-to-noise ratio, a bit error rate, a received power level, re-encoded bit error rate (e.g., calculated on the PCH block), or any other communication link quality indicator. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set various signal quality thresholds to control power consumption at the device during idle mode. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set time periods to be associated with each idle mode threshold. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set different threshold quality levels and time periods for different types of advanced signal processing (e.g., interference cancellation, equalization, amplification, adjacent channel interference correction, Doppler shift correction, frequency error correction, or phase error correction). The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set the re-activation thresholds and time periods to be associated with various signal processing functionality.);
wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality ([0093] The measurement module 905 may measure a signal-to-noise ratio, a bit error rate, a received power level, re-encoded bit error rate (e.g., calculated on the PCH block), or any other communication link quality indicator. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set various signal quality thresholds to control power consumption at the device during idle mode. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set time periods to be associated with each idle mode threshold. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set different threshold quality levels and time periods for different types of advanced signal processing (e.g., interference cancellation, equalization, amplification, adjacent channel interference correction, Doppler shift correction, frequency error correction, or phase error correction). The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set the re-activation thresholds and time periods to be associated with various signal processing functionality.).
Lee, as modified by Duan, and Mohseni are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for reducing UE power consumption based on device connection state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee, as modified by Duan, with Mohseni to create a method comprising: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select the most appropriate arrangement in order to reduce power consumption while the UE is idle.
Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, fails to disclose a method comprising: wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application; wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration.
However, Xing discloses a method comprising: wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application (Col. 2, Ln. 11-24: Different services may be associated with different latency goals. For example, in a fifth generation (5G) telecommunication network, services may be categorized as Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) services, Massive Internet of Things (MIoT) services, or Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) services. URLLC services may be associated with lower latency goals than eMBB services or MIoT services. For instance, a real-time gaming service may be a URLLC service that has a relatively low latency goal, in order to avoid delays in data transmissions that may affect user experiences during gaming. However, streaming pre-recorded video may be an eMBB service that tolerates higher latencies than the real-time gaming service or other URLLC services.);
wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration (Col. 13, Ln. 49-67: As another example, the latency manager 122 may attempt to adjust the RAN latency 114 associated with an end-to-end connection for the UE 102 by changing subcarrier spacing values associated with the end-to-end connection. … In some cases, using larger subcarrier spacing values can lead to smaller OFDM symbol durations, which can make transmissions less sensitive to phase noise and/or increase how frequently data can be transmitted. Larger subcarrier spacing values may therefore lead to lower latencies associated with data transmissions in some situations. Accordingly, the latency manager 122 may attempt to lower the RAN latency 114 of an end-to-end connection by changing the subcarrier spacing values used to transmit data from a lower value to a higher value.).
Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, and Xing are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of latency management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, with Xing to create a method comprising: wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application; wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to establish mobility control parameters that would allow for the identification and selection of a cell that meets a certain throughput or latency limits and to distribute the computation load by having each UE determine and manage RAN latency, rather than having the base station perform latency calculation/management for all UEs.
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses the method, wherein determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell comprises: determining to camp on the target cell in response to a determination that the power consumption of the target cell is less than the power consumption of the source cell ([0071] the UE may have different power consumptions (or other pre-determined parameters) for camping on an LTE candidate cell or a 5G NR candidate cell…the UE may choose a candidate cell with an operating mode that consumes less power).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses the method, wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter further comprises paging cycle ([0071] the power consumptions may depend on a particular paging cycle…For example, if the LTE candidate cell has a paging cycle=1.28 second, and the 5G NR candidate cell has a paging cycle=2.56 second, the UE may select the 5G NR candidate cell (e.g., with SA mode) to save power).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses the method, wherein determining the KPI according to the scenario which the UE is in comprises: determining the KPI is data rate when the UE is transmitting data ([0066] the UE may select a candidate cell to camp on, and/or an operating mode to operate based on a table 400 in FIG. 4…a candidate cell in coverage area may require the candidate cell being suitable and/or meeting a cell selection (or reselection) criteria (e.g., S-criteria) where the signal quality of the signal(s) received from the candidate cell meets a condition or a threshold (e.g., equal or larger than a threshold). In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI. [0070] In another aspect, for a data-centric UE, the UE may compare the signal strengths of the LTE candidate cell versus the 5G NR candidate cell before making a cell and/or a mode selection. The UE may select a mode to optimize data transfer based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0023] "When the UE is transmitting data, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality…signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ...The data rate becomes larger when the signal quality is good and when there's more available resource. Thus, the estimated data rate of target cell is larger when the signal quality is higher").
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses method, wherein determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell comprises: determining to camp on the target cell in response to the determination that the data rate of the target cell is higher than the data rate of the source cell ([0066] the UE may select a candidate cell to camp on, and/or an operating mode to operate based on a table 400 in FIG. 4…a candidate cell in coverage area may require the candidate cell being suitable and/or meeting a cell selection (or reselection) criteria (e.g., S-criteria) where the signal quality of the signal(s) received from the candidate cell meets a condition or a threshold (e.g., equal or larger than a threshold). In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI. [0070] In another aspect, for a data-centric UE, the UE may compare the signal strengths of the LTE candidate cell versus the 5G NR candidate cell before making a cell and/or a mode selection. The UE may select a mode to optimize data transfer based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0023] "When the UE is transmitting data, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality…signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ...The data rate becomes larger when the signal quality is good and when there's more available resource. Thus, the estimated data rate of target cell is larger when the signal quality is higher").
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses the method, wherein the parameter comprises signal quality, rank, bandwidth (BW), allocated resource block, and/or allocated component carrier number ([0066] the UE may select a candidate cell to camp on, and/or an operating mode to operate based on a table 400 in FIG. 4…a candidate cell in coverage area may require the candidate cell being suitable and/or meeting a cell selection (or reselection) criteria (e.g., S-criteria) where the signal quality of the signal(s) received from the candidate cell meets a condition or a threshold (e.g., equal or larger than a threshold). In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI. [0070] In another aspect, for a data-centric UE, the UE may compare the signal strengths of the LTE candidate cell versus the 5G NR candidate cell before making a cell and/or a mode selection. The UE may select a mode to optimize data transfer based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0023] "When the UE is transmitting data, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality…signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ...The data rate becomes larger when the signal quality is good and when there's more available resource. Thus, the estimated data rate of target cell is larger when the signal quality is higher").
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses the method, wherein determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell comprises: determining to camp on the target cell in response to the determination that the latency of the target cell is shorter than the latency of the source cell ([0070] the UE may support voice service or may be a voice-centric UE, then the UE may use LTE to allow service continuity in UE mobility. For example, the UE may choose or select the LTE candidate cell and use the NSA mode. Voice services are delay-sensitive application which require low latency. The UE may select a mode to optimize delay sensitive applications based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0024] " When the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality …signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ… The probability of re-transmission becomes lower when the signal quality is good. Thus, the higher the signal quality is, the shorter the estimated latency of target cell is").
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses the method, wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter further comprises signal quality ([0070] In an aspect, the UE may support voice service or may be a voice-centric UE…if the RSRP of the LTE candidate cell is more than the RSRP of the 5G NR candidate cell with an offset (e.g., LTE cell RSRP>NR cell RSRP+offset), the UE may select the LTE candidate cell with the NSA mode. Voice services are delay-sensitive application which require low latency. The UE may select a mode to optimize delay sensitive applications based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0024] " When the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality …signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ… The probability of re-transmission becomes lower when the signal quality is good. Thus, the higher the signal quality is, the shorter the estimated latency of target cell is").
Regarding claim 11, Lee fails to disclose the method further comprising: measuring, by the UE, the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell; and determining, by the UE, whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell.
However, Duan discloses the method further comprising:
measuring, by the UE, the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804..Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance));
determining, by the UE, whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance)).
Lee and Duan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell selections and handover/reselections in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee and Duan to create a method further comprising: measuring, by the UE, the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell; and determining, by the UE, whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the conditions of the serving cell against those of the target cell so that a comparison for possible cell re-selection can be made for effective utilization of services and network bandwidth, and to enhance system reliability.
The situation of the UE measuring the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell is equivalent to the situation in claim 1 (where the UE measures the KPI of the source cell), since the target cell has become the source/serving cell. Similarly, the situation of the UE determining whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell is equivalent to the situation in claim 1 (where the UE determines to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell), since the target cell has become the source/serving cell, and the serving/source cell has become the target cell.
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; and ([0035] the UE 12 may include one or more processors 103 and a memory 130 that may operate in combination with a communications management component 40, an operating mode management component 42, a system information management component 44, a cell management component 46, a service component 48, and/or a signal and power management component 50)
a memory, configured to store a program, wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks ([0060] The controller/processor 359 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor may be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data):
determining a key performance indicator (KPI) according to a scenario that the UE is in
([0036] the communications management component 40 may be configured to perform one or more operating mode and/or cell (re)selection procedures as discussed herein…In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on as described herein. [0065-0066] the UE may determine or decide how to select an LTE cell or an NR cell and which operating mode should be used based on the received system information…In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI. Signal strength/quality parameters (RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, SNR, SINR, etc) are KPIs in wireless communication art. The UE obtains the signal strength/quality parameters from the system information blocks that are broadcast from the cell station)) ([0008] determining, by a user equipment (UE), that the UE is in an idle mode …a Standalone (SA) mode, or a Non-standalone (NSA) mode, based on at least the received system information));
Lee fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: measuring the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE; estimating the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell; determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell.
However, Duan discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: measuring the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE ([0070] the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable [0076] The apparatus may be a UE. The apparatus includes a TA estimation component 1012 that receives a TA measurement for serving cell 1050 and CRS for the serving cell 1050 and target cell 1052 via a reception component 1004. The KPIs (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ) are derived from the cell specific reference signal (CRS). The processor (Fig 3 359), within the UE (Fig 3 350), is in communication with the RX processor (Fig 3 356), receiver (Fig 3 354), and antenna (Fig 3 352), which receives the reference signal);
estimating the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell ([0070] the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable [0076] The apparatus may be a UE. The apparatus includes a TA estimation component 1012 that receives a TA measurement for serving cell 1050 and CRS for the serving cell 1050 and target cell 1052 via a reception component 1004. The KPIs (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ) are derived from the cell specific reference signal (CRS). The processor (Fig 3 359), within the UE (Fig 3 350), is in communication with the RX processor (Fig 3 356), receiver (Fig 3 354), and antenna (Fig 3 352), which receives the reference signal);
determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance)).
Lee and Duan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell selections and handover/reselections in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee and Duan to create a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: measuring the KPI of a source cell, which is a serving cell of the UE; estimating the KPI of a target cell according to at least one parameter of the target cell; determining to camp on the target cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the KPI of the target cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the current conditions of the serving cell so that a comparison can be made against the target cell for possible re-selection.
Lee, as modified by Duan, fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality.
However, Mohseni discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; and ([0093] The measurement module 905 may measure a signal-to-noise ratio, a bit error rate, a received power level, re-encoded bit error rate (e.g., calculated on the PCH block), or any other communication link quality indicator. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set various signal quality thresholds to control power consumption at the device during idle mode. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set time periods to be associated with each idle mode threshold. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set different threshold quality levels and time periods for different types of advanced signal processing (e.g., interference cancellation, equalization, amplification, adjacent channel interference correction, Doppler shift correction, frequency error correction, or phase error correction). The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set the re-activation thresholds and time periods to be associated with various signal processing functionality.);
wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality ([0093] The measurement module 905 may measure a signal-to-noise ratio, a bit error rate, a received power level, re-encoded bit error rate (e.g., calculated on the PCH block), or any other communication link quality indicator. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set various signal quality thresholds to control power consumption at the device during idle mode. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set time periods to be associated with each idle mode threshold. The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may set different threshold quality levels and time periods for different types of advanced signal processing (e.g., interference cancellation, equalization, amplification, adjacent channel interference correction, Doppler shift correction, frequency error correction, or phase error correction). The idle mode threshold setting 910 module may also set the re-activation thresholds and time periods to be associated with various signal processing functionality.).
Lee, as modified by Duan, and Mohseni are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for reducing UE power consumption based on device connection state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee, as modified by Duan, with Mohseni to create a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining that the KPI is power consumption when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode; wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter comprises signal quality.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select the most appropriate arrangement in order to reduce power consumption while the UE is idle.
Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application; wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration.
However, Xing discloses a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application (Col. 2, Ln. 11-24: Different services may be associated with different latency goals. For example, in a fifth generation (5G) telecommunication network, services may be categorized as Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) services, Massive Internet of Things (MIoT) services, or Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) services. URLLC services may be associated with lower latency goals than eMBB services or MIoT services. For instance, a real-time gaming service may be a URLLC service that has a relatively low latency goal, in order to avoid delays in data transmissions that may affect user experiences during gaming. However, streaming pre-recorded video may be an eMBB service that tolerates higher latencies than the real-time gaming service or other URLLC services.);
wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration (Col. 13, Ln. 49-67: As another example, the latency manager 122 may attempt to adjust the RAN latency 114 associated with an end-to-end connection for the UE 102 by changing subcarrier spacing values associated with the end-to-end connection. … In some cases, using larger subcarrier spacing values can lead to smaller OFDM symbol durations, which can make transmissions less sensitive to phase noise and/or increase how frequently data can be transmitted. Larger subcarrier spacing values may therefore lead to lower latencies associated with data transmissions in some situations. Accordingly, the latency manager 122 may attempt to lower the RAN latency 114 of an end-to-end connection by changing the subcarrier spacing values used to transmit data from a lower value to a higher value.)
Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, and Xing are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of latency management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee, as modified by Duan and Mohseni, with Xing to create a user equipment (UE), wherein the processor is configured to drive the program to execute the following tasks: determining the KPI is latency when the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application; wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter comprises subcarrier spacing (SCS) and/or symbol duration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to establish mobility control parameters that would allow for the identification and selection of a cell that meets a certain throughput or latency limits and to distribute the computation load by having each UE determine and manage RAN latency, rather than having the base station perform latency calculation/management for all UEs.
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein processor is further configured to:
determine to camp on the target cell in response to the determination that the power consumption of the target cell is less than the power consumption of the source cell ([0036] the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein when the UE is in the idle mode or the stand-by mode, the parameter further comprises paging cycle ([0036] the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine the KPI is data rate when the UE is transmitting data ([0036] The service component 48 may be configured to determine whether the UE 12 is a voice-centric UE or a data-centric UE. In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on); and
determine to camp on the target cell in response to the determination that the data rate of the target cell is higher than the data rate of the source cell ([0036] The service component 48 may be configured to determine whether the UE 12 is a voice-centric UE or a data-centric UE. In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on).
Regarding claim 16, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein the parameter comprises signal quality, rank, bandwidth (BW), allocated resource block, and/or allocated component carrier number ([0036] The service component 48 may be configured to determine whether the UE 12 is a voice-centric UE or a data-centric UE. In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine to camp on the target cell in response to the determination that the latency of the target cell is shorter than the latency of the source cell ([0036] The service component 48 may be configured to determine whether the UE 12 is a voice-centric UE or a data-centric UE. In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on. Voice services are delay-sensitive application which require low latency. The UE may select a mode to optimize delay sensitive applications based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0024] " When the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality …signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ… The probability of re-transmission becomes lower when the signal quality is good. Thus, the higher the signal quality is, the shorter the estimated latency of target cell is").
Regarding claim 18, Lee further discloses the UE, wherein when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application, the parameter further comprises signal quality ([0036] The service component 48 may be configured to determine whether the UE 12 is a voice-centric UE or a data-centric UE. In an aspect, the signal and power management component 50 may be configured to compare signal strengths from multiple candidate cells or power consumptions for camping on. Voice services are delay-sensitive application which require low latency. The UE may select a mode to optimize delay sensitive applications based on signal strength/quality. As detailed in the application specifications, [0024] " When the UE is performing a delay-sensitive application, the parameters obtained in operation 303 include signal quality …signal quality parameters include a RSRP, RSSI, and/or RSRQ… The probability of re-transmission becomes lower when the signal quality is good. Thus, the higher the signal quality is, the shorter the estimated latency of target cell is").
Regarding claim 19, Lee fails to disclose the UE, wherein the processor is further configured to: measure the KPI of a target cell after camping on the target cell; determine whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell.
However, Duan discloses the UE, wherein the processor is further configured to measure the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell ([0076] The apparatus may be a UE. The apparatus includes a TA estimation component 1012 that receives a TA measurement for serving cell 1050 and CRS for the serving cell 1050 and target cell 1052 via a reception component 1004. The TA estimation component, which is connected to the processor (Fig 11 1104) and transceiver (Fig 11 1110) via a bus (Fig 11 1124), obtains the KPIs (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ) for the serving and target cell from the CRS);
determine whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell ([0070] the UE conducts a measurement of the serving cell 804 and a neighboring cell such as target cell 806. At 812, the UE 802 receives a cell specific reference signal (CRS) from the serving cell 804. At 814, the UE 802 receives cell specific reference signal from the target cell 806. Using certain KPI (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ), the UE may determine if a handover is desirable (e.g., a neighbor cell has better RF performance [0076] The apparatus may be a UE. The apparatus includes a TA estimation component 1012 that receives a TA measurement for serving cell 1050 and CRS for the serving cell 1050 and target cell 1052 via a reception component 1004. The TA estimation component, which is connected to the processor (Fig 11 1104) and transceiver (Fig 11 1110) via a bus (Fig 11 1124), obtains the KPIs (e.g., RSRP or RSRQ) for the serving and target cell from the CRS);
Lee and Duan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell selections and handover/reselections in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lee and Duan to create a UE wherein the processor is further configured to: measure the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell. a UE wherein the processor is further configured to measure the KPI of the target cell after camping on the target cell and determine whether to camp on the source cell according to the KPI of the source cell and the measured KPI of the target cell.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the conditions of the serving cell against those of the target cell so that a comparison for possible cell re-selection can be made for effective utilization of services and network bandwidth, and to enhance system reliability.
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the UE, wherein the processor is further configured to drive the program to execute the following task: determining the scenario according to types and sizes of data that the UE is transmitting or receiving ([0008] determining, by a user equipment (UE), that the UE is in an idle mode …a Standalone (SA) mode, or a Non-standalone (NSA) mode, based on at least the received system information [0065-0066] the UE may determine or decide how to select an LTE cell or an NR cell and which operating mode should be used based on the received system information…In some examples, the signal quality may be measured by RSRP, RSRQ, and/or RSSI.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, on page 10 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant states, "Applicant submits that contents cited above don't involve cell selection. In other words, Mohseni doesn't disclose that the device selects the cell based on power consumption. The device disclosed in Mohseni determines whether to activate the signal processing function based on the signal quality. If the signal quality is good, the device determines that no further signal processing is required to save power. This isn't relevant to selecting the cell based on power consumption."
On pages 12-13 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant further argues, "However, the above-cited contents of Xing don't involve cell selection. Xing only relevantly discloses that the UE can change the subcarrier spacing to adjust the latency. In other words, Xing doesn't disclose that the UE selects the cell based on the latency. Furthermore, Xing fails to disclose the UE selects the cell based on the latency, when the UE is performing the delay-sensitive application. Xing discloses that different services is associated with different latency goals. This means that Xing uses the latency as the indicator of the user experience for every services."
Additionally, on page 11 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant states, "Lee discloses that if the UE is a data-centric UE, the UE chooses the candidate cell with an operating mode that consumes less power. However, Lee only discloses that the UE selects the cell based on the power consumption of the candidate cells, when the UE is data-centric UE. Lee fails to disclose the "idle mode or stand-by-mode". Thus, Lee fails to disclose when to use the power consumption to select the cell. Specifically, Lee fails to disclose that the UE uses the power consumption as KPI to select the cell, when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode."
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the body of the claim does not recite cell re-selection; patentable weight is not given to cell re-selection since it is only stated in the preamble and merely recites purpose or intended use.
(MPEP 2111.02:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use “can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim” as drafted without importing “‘extraneous’ limitations from the specification.” Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.
During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963) (The claims were directed to a core member for hair curlers and a process of making a core member for hair curlers. The court held that the intended use of hair curling was of no significance to the structure and process of making.); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962) (statement of intended use in an apparatus claim did not distinguish over the prior art apparatus). To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein.)
In particular, the body claim does not explicitly state an instance where the UE is performing cell re-selection. Rather, the UE determines a KPI, measures and estimates the KPIs of source and target cells, and determines where to camp. For example, the claim does not assert "the UE uses the power consumption as KPI to select the cell, when the UE is in an idle mode or a stand-by mode."
On page 10 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant states, "Furthermore, Mohseni also fails to disclose the UE estimates the power consumption of the cell based on the signal quality. As described above, the device disclosed in Mohseni determines whether to activate the signal processing function, rather than estimate the power consumption of the cell, based on the signal quality."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The instant application claim does not recite "estimate the power consumption of the cell, based on the signal quality" in the claim. Instead, the claim states that when the UE is in idle/stand-by mode, it determines power consumption is the KPI and the parameter is signal quality. Mohseni discloses that when a UE is in idle mode, the KPI is power consumption, which is controlled by monitoring signal quality as a parameter.
Based on remarks above, examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 based on 35 USC 103 and thus maintains rejection of claims 3-7, and 9-20 based on 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant submits that this claim is patentable given the features of this claim is similar to features of claim 1. Examiner submits the same remarks above to demonstrate that Lee, Duan, Mohseni, and Xing disclose all of the limitations of claim 12 and thus maintains rejection of claim 12 based on 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 3-7, 9-11, and 13-20, Applicant submits these claims as patentable based on being dependent on claims 1 and 12. Based on remarks above, examiner maintains rejection of claims 1 and 12 based on 35 USC 103 and thus maintains rejection of claims 3-7, 9-11, and 13-20 based on 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419