DETAILED ACTION
The applicant’s amendments/remarks dated 09/18/2025 has been received, entered, and fully considered, Claims 21,23, and 31-32 are amended. Claim 1-20 remain cancelled. Claims 21-40 are currently pending and are under examination.
In light of the Terminal Disclosure filed on 09/18/2025 and approved on 09/25/2025, the previous outstanding Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 28-29, 31-32, and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saint-Marc et al. (US 2018/0334254) in view of Van der Voet et al. (doc. “Configuration of the Multibubble Pressure Cabin in Blended Wing Body Aircraft”).
Regarding Claim 21, Saint-Marc discloses a blended wing body aircraft (Fig. 3), comprising:
a plurality of wings (wings, Fig. 3); and
a main body (body, Fig. 3), wherein the main body comprises:
a first passenger loading door (68A, Fig. 3-4);
a first passenger unloading door (68B, Fig. 3-4);
a first lateral aisle (see annotated Fig. 4 below) between the first passenger loading door and the first passenger unloading door (Fig. 3-4).
Saint-Marc is silent, but Van der Voet teaches a blended wing body aircraft cabin with a longitudinal structural element (Fig. 16, Fig. 18; Fig. 29, page 1004, second column under ‘compartment walls and Pillars”, Fig. 16, Fig. 18) wherein the longitudinal structural element is structured to redistribute a load applied on at least an aircraft skin during flight (i.e. when structures are touching and supported a load would clearly be redistribute/distributed, functional limitation) and wherein the longitudinal structural element separates a passenger cabin into a first bay and a second bay (Fig. 29) ,and a lateral aisle passing through the longitudinal structural element ( there is a latera aisle passing through the longitudinal structural element between the EC-seating and the BC-seating, Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body of the blended wing body aircraft disclosed in Saint-Marc with the longitudinal structural element with the lateral isle as taught in Van der Voet with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows cabin separation, air circulation as well as passenger access between the separated bays of the aircraft.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Saint-Marc discloses a blended wing body aircraft (Fig. 3) wherein there is no clear demarcation between the wings and body of the blended wing body aircraft along a leading edge of the blended wing body aircraft (Saint-Marc, para. [0002], blended wing body (BWB)).
Regarding Claims 23 and 32, modified Saint-Marc discloses a blended wing body aircraft (Fig. 3) wherein the longitudinal structural element comprises a wall and a window (i.e., the open space between the two pillars and below the ceiling and above the longitudinal element, page 29 is considered as a window).
Regarding Claims 28 and 37, modified Saint-Marc is silent, but Van der Voet teaches a blended wing body aircraft cabin with wherein the lateral aisle( i.e., later isle space between opposite passenger exit doors in class on the left, Fig. 23) runs in a straight line from the first bay to a second bay across the longitudinal structural element (122, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body of the blended wing body aircraft disclosed in Saint-Marc with the straight line running lateral isle as taught in Van der Voet with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows the connection of first passenger loading door to the first passenger unloading door in a shortest distance possible with un interrupted visibility.
Regarding Claims 29 and 38, modified Saint-Marc discloses the claimed invention except for locating the first passenger loading door and the first passenger unloading door behind the plurality of wings of the blended wing body aircraft. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the first passenger loading door and the first passenger unloading door behind the plurality of wings of the blended wing body aircraft, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 31, Claim 31 is a method claim that is hereby rejected under the same rational as the rejection of the apparatus claim 21.
Claim(s) 24-26 and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Saint-modified Marc et al. (US 2018/0334254) in view of O’Kell et al. (US 2020/0223355).
Regarding Claims 24 and 33, modified Saint-Marc lacks but O’Kell teaches an aircraft comprising a plurality of directional indicators (12, 14, 18, 20, Fig. 1-6) indicating a path from the first passenger loading door to one or more seats. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blended wing body aircraft disclosed in modified Saint-Marc with the plurality of directional indicators as taught in O’kell with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows safe directing of passengers on and off of the aircraft.
Regarding Claims 25 and 34, modified Saint-Marc discloses a blended wing body aircraft (Fig. 3) with passenger loading and unloading doors (Fig. 1-6) and aircraft seating (Fig. 1-3).
Modified Saint-Marc lacks but O’Kell teaches an aircraft and seatings (Fig. 1) the plurality of directional indicators (12, 14, 18, 20, Fig. 1-6) comprising: a set of directional indicators (12, 14, 18, 20, Fig. 1-6) guiding passengers to aircraft aisle to the seats and to/from exists (abstract, para. [0055], Fig. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first passenger loading and the first passenger unloading doors of the blended wing body aircraft disclosed in modified Saint-Marc with the first and second set of directional indicators respectively as taught in O’kell with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows safe passenger direction on and off of the aircraft.
Regarding Claims 26 and 35, modified Saint-Marc discloses a blended wing body aircraft (Fig. 3) wherein a directional indicator includes a sign indicating an aisle to travel down to reach the one or more seats (abstract, Fig. 1 clearly shows indicator signs indicates the aisle 4).
Claim(s) 27 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Saint- Marc et al. (US 2018/0334254) in view of Fischer et al. (US 2017/0180212).
Regarding Claims 27 and 36, Modified Saint-Marc lacks but Fischer teaches an aircraft wherein a directional indicator includes audio guiding passengers from that permit the pilot and flight attendants to relay (audio communication) to passengers of the aircraft (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the directional indicators of the blended wing body aircraft disclosed in modified Saint-Marc with the directional indicators including audio guidance for passengers as taught in Fischer with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows additional communication to passengers that are blind but can hear to safely directing them on and off of the aircraft including guiding passengers from the first passenger loading door to the one or more seats.
Claim(s) 30 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Saint-Marc et al. (US 2018/0334254) in view of Page et al. (doc. “SINGLE-AISLE AIRLINER DISRUPTION WITH A SINGLE-DECK BLENDED-WINGBODY”).
Regarding Claims 30 and 39, modified Saint-Marc is silent, but Page teaches a blended wing body aircraft comprising: a second passenger loading door (see annotated Fig. 12 below); a second passenger unloading door (see annotated Fig. 12 below); and a second lateral aisle between the second passenger loading door and the second passenger unloading door (see annotated Fig. 12 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blended wing body aircraft of modified Saint-Marc with a second passenger loading door, the second passenger unloading door, and a second lateral aisle as taught in Page with a reasonable expectation of success because it expedite loading and unloading of passengers by keeping passengers closer to the exits and have fewer rows between them and the exits.
Regarding Claim 40, modified Saint-Marc an aircraft wherein the first passenger loading door and the first passenger unloading door are connected to a first passenger bay (see annotated Fig. 12 above) and the second passenger loading door and the second passenger unloading door are connected to a second passenger bay (see annotated Fig. 12 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642