Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. US 2009/0104908 A1.
Claim 1:
Matsumoto discloses a method for transmitting a pilot, comprising: determining, by a transmit end, a transmitting parameter of the pilot, wherein the transmitting parameter comprises at least one of transmitting power or a guard interval (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality), the transmitting parameter is determined based on first parameters, and the first parameters comprise a delay, Doppler, and channel quality (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality); and transmitting, by the transmit end, the pilot based on the transmitting parameter (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, transmission power for the pilot signal based on the received quality. Also see para 38, pilot signal transmission).
Claim 2:
Matsumoto discloses that the first parameters comprise the channel quality (See para 38, CSI, SNR); and the determining, by a transmit end, a transmitting parameter of the pilot (See para 38, Pilot signal) comprises: performing, by the transmit end based on indication information, at least one of: increasing the transmitting power of the pilot, or increasing the guard interval of the pilot (See para 74, increasing the transmission power for the pilot), wherein the indication information is sent by a receive end when measured channel quality is greater than a first threshold (See para 88, threshold value#1); or the indication information is sent by a receive end when a measured second parameter is greater than or equal to a second threshold, and the second parameter is related to the channel quality (See para 88, threshold value#2).
Claim 16:
Matsumoto discloses that the first parameters comprise the channel quality (See para 38, CSI, SNR); and before the receiving, by a receive end, the pilot (See para 38, Pilot signal), the method further comprises: transmitting, by the receive end, indication information when measured channel quality is greater than a first threshold (See para 88, threshold value#1); or transmitting, by the receive end, indication information when a measured second parameter is greater than or equal to a second threshold (See para 88, threshold value#2), wherein the second parameter is related to the channel quality; and the indication information is used by the transmit end to perform at least one of: increasing the transmitting power of the pilot, or increasing the guard interval of the pilot (See para 74, increasing the transmission power for the pilot).
Claim 9:
Matsumoto discloses that the determining, by a transmit end, a transmitting parameter of the pilot comprises: increasing, by the transmit end, the transmitting power of the pilot; or reducing, by the transmit end, the transmitting power of the pilot (See para 74, increasing the transmission power for the pilot. Also see para 43, increasing/decreasing the transmission power).
Claim 15:
Matsumoto discloses a method for receiving a pilot, comprising: receiving, by a receive end, the pilot (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, transmission power for the pilot signal based on the received quality. Also see para 38, pilot signal transmission), wherein the pilot is sent by a transmit end based on a transmitting parameter, the transmitting parameter comprises at least one of transmitting power or a guard interval (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality), the transmitting parameter is determined based on first parameters, and the first parameters comprise a delay, Doppler, and channel quality (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality).
Claim 20:
Matsumoto discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: determining a transmitting parameter of a pilot (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, transmission power for the pilot signal based on the received quality. Also see para 38, pilot signal transmission), wherein the transmitting parameter comprises at least one of transmitting power or a guard interval (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality), the transmitting parameter is determined based on first parameters, and the first parameters comprise a delay, Doppler, and channel quality (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality); and transmitting the pilot based on the transmitting parameter (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality); or the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: receiving a pilot (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, transmission power for the pilot signal based on the received quality. Also see para 38, pilot signal transmission), wherein the pilot is sent by a transmit end based on a transmitting parameter, the transmitting parameter comprises at least one of transmitting power or a guard interval (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality)., the transmitting parameter is determined based on first parameters, and the first parameters comprise a delay, Doppler, and channel quality (See paras 40, 41 and 73-74, calculating transmission power value for the pilot signal based on the received quality).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. in view of Liu US 2022/0329104 A1
Claims 3 and 17:
Matsumoto doesn’t disclose that the indication information comprises a power amplification multiple of the pilot.
Liu discloses that the indication information comprises a power amplification multiple of the pilot (See para 137, “a power amplification multiple of the transmit end device is A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Matsumoto with the teachings of Volkswagen to improve the method disclosed by Matsumoto by including the feature of power amplification multiple. The motivation would have been to reduce or avoid path loss.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. in view of Volkswagen EP 3826254 A1.
Claim 5:
Matsumoto doesn’t disclose that the determining, by a transmit end, a transmitting parameter of the pilot comprises: determining, by the transmit end, the transmitting parameter of the pilot based on a first transmitting period, wherein a length of the first transmitting period is greater than a length of a second transmitting period, and the second transmitting period is a period for determining the transmitting parameter of the pilot.
Volkswagen discloses that the determining, by a transmit end, a transmitting parameter of the pilot comprises:
determining, by the transmit end, the transmitting parameter of the pilot based on a first transmitting period, wherein a length of the first transmitting period is greater than a length of a second transmitting period, and the second transmitting period is a period for determining the transmitting parameter of the pilot (See paras 11, 17-18, once interfering pilot is detected and it can be communicated to the transmitter end which increases the guard interval to keep the error bit rate low).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Matsumoto with the teachings of Volkswagen to improve the method disclosed by Matsumoto by including the feature of determining parameter for the pilot based on first period which is greater than the second period. The motivation to combine would have been to avoid high bit error rate and improve quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 10-14, 18 & 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475