DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7 and 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11958115B2, herein patent’115. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they describe substantially similar grade powders.
The limitations of Instant claims 1-2 and 6-7, are met by claims 1, 8, and 11 of patent’115 with range of electrochemically process sintered scrap in claim 11 of patent’115 being encompassed by the claimed range.
The limitations of Instant claim 3, are met by claim 6 of patent’115.
The limitations of Instant claims 4-5, are met by claim 11 of patent’115 with the range being encompassed by the claimed ranges.
The limitations of Instant claim 8, are met by claim 2 of patent’115.
The limitations of Instant claim 9, are met by claim 3 of patent’115.
The limitations of Instant claim 10, are met by claim 1 of patent’115.
The limitations of Instant claim 1, are met by claim 1 and 7 of patent’115. As claims 1 and 7 of patent’115 are silent to the inclusion of virgin carbide powder in claim 1, as such it is considered to not be present in the grade powder.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 6 and 7, the limitations should be corrected to other reclaimed sintered carbide scrap, in order to maintain clarity in the claim language and support from the Instant Spec.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 1, reference to other reclaimed sintered scrap is broader than the teachings set forth in the Instant Specification. The Instant Spec teaches that the scrap is always carbide scrap, thus the instances should be corrected to other reclaimed sintered carbide scrap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghandehari et al. (US 4,234,333), herein Ghandehari.
In regards to claims 1-3 and 6-9, Ghandehari teaches a carbide powder composition formed from recovered metal carbide powders [Abstract]. The reclaimed carbide is WC and a metal binder, Co, is present in the powder [Table I]. The carbide is present at an amount of at least 70 wt.% of the powder as the powder is more than 90 wt.% reclaimed WC [Table I, Col 10 lines 52-70]. Ghandehari further teaches other reclaimed sintered carbide scraps may be present such as TiC or TaC [Example 7, Col 20 lines 52-68, Col 21 lines 1-7, Table XI].
It is noted that grade in grade powder is given no patentable weight as there no distinction as to what the grade is meant to limit.
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 define the product by how the product was made. Thus, claims 1-2 and 6-8 are product-by-process claims. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure being a carbide powder with a binder present. The reference suggests such a product. It is noted that Ghandehari teaches the carbide powder is electrochemically processed [Claim 1].
In regards to claim 11, Ghandehari teaches powder is made from recovered scarp carbide powder and thus no virgin WC is present [Abstract, Claim 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalrao et al. (IN 5273/CHE/2014 A), herein Gopalrao, in further view of Sampath et al. (Recycling of WC-Co from scrap materials), herein Sampath.
In regards to claims 1-9 and 11, Gopalrao teaches a grade powder comprising reclaimed WC powder and a metallic binder [Abstract, Pg. 2 ¶ 3, Pg. 4 ¶ 3 ]. The WC portion of the powder is 80-99.8 wt%, the metallic binder is 0.2-20 wt% and additional carbide such as TiC is present at less than or equal to 5 wt.% [Pg. 8 Table III]. Gopalrao further teaches the WC comprises reclaimed WC particles and virgin WC particles in any desired composition [Pg. 8].
Sampath teaches electrochemically processed WC-Co powders from scrap [Abstract]. Sampath teaches the powder is used as processed with the addition of a Co binder and without the addition of virgin WC [Experimental Procedure].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added no virgin WC powder to the grade powder of Gopalrao as taught by Sampath. One would have been motivated to do so as Sampath teaches the use of 100% scrap carbide powder is known and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. The ranges for the carbide powder of modified Gopalrao overlap the claimed ranges.
Claims 1-8 and 10 define the product by how the product was made, i.e., reclaimed, electrochemically processed, zinc processed, and ATP. Thus, claims 1-8 and 10 are product-by-process claims. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure being a carbide powder with a binder present. The reference suggests such a product.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 10, Gopalrao teaches the average size of the carbide particles 0.5- 10 µm[Table I].
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784