DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of a minor typographical error. In Fig. 3E, the first laser source 301 is labeled “First laser ource 301” and should be corrected to “First laser source 301”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 3: line 5 recites “enables the first signal laser and the second signal laser be emitted”, and should be corrected to recite --enables the first signal laser and the second signal laser to be emitted--.
All other claims are objected to by virtue of dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8: Lines 4-5 recite that the splitter is configured to “divide the first laser beam into a first signal laser and a first local oscillation laser, and divide the second laser beam into a second signal laser…”. However, the limitation of “first signal laser” and “second signal laser” are already recited by line 4 of claim 1. It is unclear whether these recitation of first signal laser and second signal laser are supposed to be directed towards the first and second signal lasers recited by claim 1, or if they introduce a new first and second signal laser.
Regarding Claim 10: Claim 10 recites the limitation "phase shifted first laser component" and "phase shifted second laser component in lines 11 and 12 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Lines 13-14 recite “when phase difference between the phase shifted second laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is 90 degrees”. It is not clear how there can be a 90 degree phase difference between the phase shifted second laser component and itself. Since lines 15-16 discuss the scenario where the phase difference between the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is -90 degrees, the limitation recited by lines 13-14 is being interpreted to read --when phase difference between the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is 90 degrees--.
Regarding Claim 13: Claim 13 recites the limitation "reflected laser beam" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 14: Claim 14 recites the limitation "reflected laser beam" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All other claims rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirillov (US 20210311178 A1) in view of Khatana (US 20250180743 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Kirillov discloses a light detection and ranging system (Figs. 3 and 4), comprising:
at least one laser transmission and detection channel (Figs. 3 and 4, FMCW beam. [0042] scans generate distance maps, so in order to generate a distance measurement, a return signal must be detected), wherein each of the at least one laser transmission and detection channel comprises:
a laser unit configured to emit a first signal laser and/or a second signal laser, the first signal laser and the second signal laser are frequency modulated lasers (Figs. 3 and 4, FMCW beam) the first signal laser has an ascending frequency duration, and the second signal laser has a descending frequency duration (Fig. 1, ramp-up and ramp-down portions at different times),
a light emitter configured to emit the first signal laser and/or the second signal laser (Figs. 3 and 4, transmitter 10);
an angle scanning compensator configured to receive the first signal laser and the second signal laser from the light emitter in a time division manner and to emit the first signal laser and the second signal laser in a substantially same direction ([0044] and [0049] “each wavelength of a particular wavelength ramp is aligned with the same point on a target despite each wavelength of the wavelength ramp being deflected at a different deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror 15”; Figs. 3 and 4, dispersive element 18).
Kirillov does not expressly disclose: wherein a wavelength of the first signal laser is different from a wavelength of the second signal laser, or a polarization direction of the first signal laser is different from a polarization direction of the second signal laser, wherein the first signal laser and the second signal laser are reflected after encountering a target, to generate a first a reflected laser and a second reflected laser; a detection component configured to receive the first reflected laser and the second reflected laser, obtain a first beat frequency signal of the first reflected laser and a second beat frequency signal of the second reflected laser, and output the first beat frequency signal and the second beat frequency signal; and an acquisition and processing device configured to determine a speed and/or a distance of the target based on the first beat frequency of and the second beat frequency signal.
Khatana teaches a FMCW lidar system with a transmission and detection channel (Fig. 1) emitting a chirped beam having an up and down ramp (Fig. 8A). Khatana further teaches that the first signal laser and the second signal laser are reflected after encountering a target, to generate a first a reflected laser and a second reflected laser (Fig. 13, reflected signals 1308a and 1308b);
a detection component configured to receive the first reflected laser and the second reflected laser (Fig. 15, mixer 1512, detectors 1514a and 1514b), obtain a first beat frequency signal of the first reflected laser and a second beat frequency signal of the second reflected laser, and output the first beat frequency signal and the second beat frequency signal (Fig. 13, and [0123], beat frequencies Fb1 and Fb2); and an acquisition and processing device configured to determine a speed and/or a distance of the target based on the first beat frequency of and the second beat frequency signal ([0124], determine speed and range based on beat frequencies Fb1 and Fb2; [0135] and Fig. 15, target detection model 1520).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FMCW lidar system disclosed by Kirillov, to include the detection system and the processing device taught by Khatana. Kirillov does not describe a detection/receiver system in detail. This modification would be combining the FMCW lidar transmitting system disclosed by Kirillov, with the FMCW receiver system taught by Khatana. Combining these prior art elements would yield the predictable result of a FMCW lidar system that is capable of determining the distance and speed of a target based on the determined beat frequencies. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale A.
This current combination does not expressly teach that a wavelength of the first signal laser is different from a wavelength of the second signal laser, or a polarization direction of the first signal laser is different from a polarization direction of the second signal laser.
Khatana further teaches that a wavelength of the first signal laser is different from a wavelength of the second signal laser (Fig. 15, lasers 1502a and 1502b having different wavelengths), and that one laser signal is an ascending-frequency signal, while the second laser signal is a descending-frequency signal (Fig. 13, laser 1 ramped up and laser 2 ramped down).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the FMCW lidar system disclosed by Kirillov and Khatana, such that the up-ramped signal laser is at a different wavelength from the down-ramped signal laser, as further taught by Khatana. This would be beneficial because if the laser frequencies are spaced far enough apart, the first and second laser can share common components without directly interacting with each other (Khatana, [0102] and [0108]).
Regarding Claim 2: Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 1. Kirillov further discloses wherein the angle scanning compensator comprises a dispersion device (Figs. 3 and 4, dispersive element 18), or the angle scanning compensator comprises a birefringent device, and the polarization direction of the first signal laser is different from the polarization direction of the second signal laser.
In this current combination, Khatana teaches that the wavelength of the first signal laser is different from the wavelength of the second signal laser (Fig. 15, lasers 1502a and 1502b having different wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 3: Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 2. Kirillov further discloses wherein the angle scanning compensator comprises a rotating mirror (Figs. 3 and 4, mirror 15);
the dispersion device or the birefringence device enables the first signal laser and the second signal laser to be incident onto the rotating mirror with a first angular deviation, and the rotating mirror enables the first signal laser and the second signal laser to be emitted in the substantially same direction (Fig. 4), or
the rotating mirror reflects the first signal laser and the second signal laser onto the dispersion device or the birefringence device with a first angle deviation, and the dispersion device or the birefringence device enables the first signal laser and the second signal laser to be emitted in the substantially same direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4: Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 1. This current combination does not teach that the light emitter includes a first polarization rotation optical splitter or a circulator.
Khatana further teaches that the light emitter includes a circulator (Fig. 15, circulator 1508).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technologies before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the FMCW lidar device taught by Kirillov and Khatana, such that the light emitter unit includes a circulator, as further taught by Khatana. This would direct the transmitted signals towards the scanner and then the environment, while directing received signals to the mixer and then the detectors (Khatana, [0133]).
Regarding Claim 5: Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 3. In this combination Khatana teaches that the laser unit comprises: a first laser configured to generate a first laser beam having a first wavelength; and a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength (Fig. 15, lasers 1502a and 1502b having different wavelengths).
Claims 6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirillov (US 20210311178 A1), in view of Khatana (US 20250180743 A1), further in view of Satyan (US 20230314570 A1).
Regarding Claim 6: Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 5. They do not expressly disclose that the laser unit further comprises: a first optical switch configured to receive the first laser beam and selectively pass or block the first laser beam; a second optical switch configured to receive the second laser beam and selectively pass or block the second laser beam; a first multiplexer, connected to the first optical switch and the second optical switch, and configured to multiplex the first laser beam and the second laser beam, and output the first laser beam and the second laser beam in a time division manner.
Satyan teaches a lidar system with a laser unit that comprises: a first optical switch configured to receive the first laser beam and selectively pass or block the first laser beam ([0046] and Fig. 2, 204);
a second optical switch configured to receive the second laser beam and selectively pass or block the second laser beam ([0046] and Fig. 2, switches 204);
a first multiplexer, connected to the first optical switch and the second optical switch, and configured to multiplex the first laser beam and the second laser beam, and output the first laser beam and the second laser beam in a time division manner ([0046] and Fig. 2, a switching the lasers on sequentially, emitting the beams in a time division manner. There is a wavelength multiplexer).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system taught by Kirillov and Khatana, by including the optical switches and wavelength multiplexer taught by Satyan. Implementing this wavelength switchable laser array would be a cost-effective solution for having more than one narrow linewidth coherent laser and rapid switching between the lasers (Satyan, [0024] – [0025]).
Regarding Claim 8: Kirillov, Khatana, and Satyan, teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 6. This current combination does not expressly teach that each of the at least one laser transmission and detection channel further comprises: a second optical splitter configured to receive the first laser beam and the second laser beam in a time division manner, divide the first laser beam into a first signal laser and a first local oscillator, and divide the second laser beam into a second signal laser and a second local oscillator laser.
Khatana further teaches that the FMCW lidar system has a second optical splitter configured to receive the first laser beam and the second laser beam in a time division manner, divide the first laser beam into a first signal laser and a first local oscillator, and divide the second laser beam into a second signal laser and a second local oscillator laser ([0133] and Fig. 15, the combined beam is received by the splitter 1506, which splits the beams into a transmitted laser and a LO laser).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the FMCW LIDAR system taught by Kirillov, Khatana, and Satyan, such that there is an optical beam splitter that splits the beam into a transmitted signal and a local oscillator signal, as further taught by Khatana. This modification would generate a local oscillator signal that will be mixed with the received signals in order to determine the distance and/or speed of the target (Khatana, [0088], [0123], [0134]).
Regarding Claim 13: Kirillov, Khatana, and Satyan, teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 8. In this current combination, which includes the detection component taught by Khatana, Khatana further teaches that the detection component comprises:
a first mixer configured to receive the reflected laser beam and the first local oscillation laser, or to receive the reflected laser beam and the second local oscillation laser, and to mix the reflected laser beam with the first local oscillation laser, or mix the reflected laser beam and the second local oscillation laser (Fig. 15, mixer 1512);
a balanced detector configured to receive output of the first mixer and detect a beat frequency of the ascending-frequency duration and a beat frequency of the descending-frequency duration ([0134] and Fig. 15, balanced detectors 1514a and 1514b).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirillov (US 20210311178 A1), in view of Khatana (US 20250180743 A1), further in view of Wang et al. (Z. Wang et al., "Ultrafast and High Extinction Ratio 1×4 Electro-Optical Switch Based on Cascaded Dual-Output MZI," in IEEE Photonics Journal, vol. 15, no. 3, pp. 1-8, June 2023). Kirillov and Khatana teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 3. In this combination, Khatana further teaches that the laser unit comprises: a first laser configured to generate a first laser beam having a first wavelength (Fig. 15, laser 1502a).
This combination does not expressly teach that the laser unit comprises a third optical splitter configured to receive the first laser beam and divide the first laser beam into a first laser component and a second laser component, a first phase shifter configured to receive the first laser component and perform phase shift of the first laser component; a second phase shifter configured to receive the second laser component, and perform phase shift of the second laser component, so that phase difference between the first laser component and the second laser component is 90 degrees or -90 degrees; a first optical splitter configured to receive the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component and output a first combined laser or a second combined laser, wherein when phase difference between the phase shifted second laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is 90 degrees, the first optical splitter outputs the first combined laser; when phase difference between the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is -90 degrees, the first optical splitter outputs the second combined laser.
Wang et al. teaches an optical switch with an optical splitter configured to receive the first laser beam and divide the first laser beam into a first laser component and a second laser component (Fig. 1, splitting into two arms) a first phase shifter configured to receive the first laser component and perform phase shift of the first laser component (Fig. 1, first phase shifter is the electrode in the arm with beam component A); a second phase shifter configured to receive the second laser component, and perform phase shift of the second laser component, so that phase difference between the first laser component and the second laser component is 90 degrees or -90 degrees (Fig. 1, electrodes in the arm with beam component B. Section II, paragraph 7 with Table 1, when the phase difference between the upper and lower arm is
±
π
2
the output switches between the top and bottom channel); a first optical splitter configured to receive the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component and output a first combined laser or a second combined laser (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 directional coupler. Section II, after being phase shifted, the beams pass through a 3dB directional coupler), wherein when phase difference between the phase shifted second laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is 90 degrees, the first optical splitter outputs the first combined laser; when phase difference between the phase shifted first laser component and the phase shifted second laser component is -90 degrees, the first optical splitter outputs the second combined laser (Section II and Table 1, when the phase difference of the upper and lower arm is
±
π
2
the output switches between the top and bottom channel).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lidar device taught by Kirillov and Khatana, by implementing the optical switch taught by Wang et al. for splitting the beam and controlling which channel the light is output from. Implementing this kind of switch for controlling which channel light is output from can offer control over the modulation of individual beams of the transmitted light. In the lidar system according to claim 3, Khatana teaches that one light source is modulated to be the up-chirp, while the other light source is modulated to be the down-chirp. In this lidar system, Kirillov discloses a FMCW light beam with an up-ramp and down-ramp as illustrated by Kirillov’s Fig. 1. This would mean that the different beams would need to be modulated at different times, and one is modulated to be an up-ramp, and the other is modulated to be a down-ramp. As explained by Khatana in paragraph [0085], this chirping can be accomplished by using an external modulator between the laser source and the splitter that splits light into transmitted and LO portions. Implementing the optical switch taught by Wang et al. would be beneficial because it allows for fast switching times and a high extinction ratio (Wang et al., Conclusion).
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirillov (US 20210311178 A1), in view of Khatana (US 20250180743 A1), further in view of Wang et al. (Z. Wang et al., "Ultrafast and High Extinction Ratio 1×4 Electro-Optical Switch Based on Cascaded Dual-Output MZI," in IEEE Photonics Journal, vol. 15, no. 3, pp. 1-8, June 2023), further in view of Shi (US 20150338577 A1), further in view of Parsa (US 20220413143 A1).
Regarding Claim 11: Kirillov, Khatana, and Wang, teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 10. They do not expressly teach that each of the at least one laser transmission and detection channel further comprises: a second polarization rotation optical splitter configured to maintain a polarization direction of the first combined laser, change a polarization direction of the second combined laser, and output the first combined laser with the polarization direction being unchanged and the second combined laser with the polarization direction being changed.
Shi teaches a polarization rotation optical splitter configured to maintain a polarization direction of the first combined laser, change a polarization direction of the second combined laser, and output the first combined laser with the polarization direction being unchanged and the second combined laser with the polarization direction being changed (Fig. 7 and [0060] the integrated polarization rotator can receive two TE0 polarized signals and output a signal with TE0 and TM0 components).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technologies before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lidar device taught by Kirillov, Khatana, and Wang et al., by implementing the polarization rotation optical splitter/combiner taught by Shi. This polarization rotation optical splitter/combiner would receive light from different channels the optical switch taught by Wang et al., and maintain the polarization of one component and change the polarization direction of the other component. Performing lidar measurements with light having different polarizations would be motivated by the teachings of Parsa, who teaches that a change in polarization state upon scattering from a surface can reveal characteristic information about the object (Parsa, [00197]).
Regarding Claim 12: Kirillov, Khatana, Wang et al., Shi, and Parsa, teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 11. In this combination, Khatana further teaches that each of the at least one laser transmission and detection channels further includes: a fourth optical splitter, arranged at a light emission end of the second polarization rotation optical splitter, and configured to divide the first combined laser into a first signal laser and a first local oscillation laser, or to divide the second combined laser into a second signal laser and a second local oscillation laser (Fig. 15, splitter 1506 which splits the beams into a component that is directed toward the environment and a LO component).
Regarding Claim 14: Kirillov, Khatana, Wang et al., Shi, and Parsa, teach the light detection and ranging system according to claim 12. In this current combination, which includes the detection component taught by Khatana, Khatana further teaches that the detection component comprises:
a first mixer configured to receive the reflected laser beam and the first local oscillation laser, or to receive the reflected laser beam and the second local oscillation laser, and to mix the reflected laser beam with the first local oscillation laser, or mix the reflected laser beam and the second local oscillation laser (Fig. 15, mixer 1512);
a balanced detector configured to receive output of the first mixer and detect a beat frequency of the ascending-frequency duration and a beat frequency of the descending-frequency duration ([0134] and Fig. 15, balanced detectors 1514a and 1514b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7: the particular limitation that is not taught by the prior art is that there is a first optical splitter that receives both the first and second beams, and splits both of the first and second beams into first and second components (claim 7, lines 3-6), then a first phase shifter is configured to shift the first components of the first and second beams, while a second phase shifter is configured to shift the second components of the first and second beams (claim 7, lines 7-14). The phases of (1) the first component of the first beam, (2) the first component of the second beam, (3) the second component of the first beam, and (4) the second component of the second beam, are shifted such that the beams interfere, and based on whether they interfere constructively or destructively, either the fist or the second laser beam is output (claim 7, lines 21-32).
Doerr (US 11448823 B1) teaches optical splitters/switches for selecting which beam is to be output. While the switching is accomplished using optical interference, Doerr does not teach that there is a first and second phase shifter, with one phase shifter configured to shift the phase of (1) the first component of the first beam and (2) the first component of the second beam, and the second phase shifter configured to shift the phase of (3) the second component of the first beam, and (4) the second component of the second beam.
The Kirillov and Khatana references are also silent on this type of optical splitter, where there are two phase shifters, one in each arm of the optical switch.
Claim 9 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 7.
Conclusion
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645