Detailed Action
RCE filed on 01/21/2026 and claims filed on 01/12/2026 have been acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 7 and 14 are independent claim. Claim 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17-19 have been amended.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
No priority is claimed.
Drawing
The drawings filed on 03/05/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments added in the amendment filed on 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but moot they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
On pages 8 of the argument filed on 01/12/2026, applicant argued that the amended limitation “wherein a second communication mode for a second synthetic phishing attempt is determined using a machine learning model”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First communication mode is defined as e-mail, phone or text in claim 2. But second communication mode is not explicitly defined. Morris, col 23, line 55-65, col 24, line 5-15, if the user environment information shows that the user regularly accesses their devices each morning at 8 am, the system may generate a user specific phishing lure that is deployed to the user at or near 8 am. If the user environment information shows that the user is consuming content instead of creating content at particular times of the day or after taking particular actions, the anti-phishing system can deploy a phishing lure at those particular times of the day when the user is more likely to see the incoming digital communication. Thus generating user specific phishing lures from user environment information is mapped to second mode of communication. Col 17, line 5-10, user feedback can indicate when a user identifies as a threat a piece of digital communication that was not flagged as a threat by the system. This user feedback can be used to further refine the system, such as by improving one or more templates or further training one or more machine learning models.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 7 and 14 recite the limitation "wherein a second communication mode for a second synthetic phishing attempt". Claim 2, 8 and 15 further recite “wherein the first communications mode includes one or more of email, phone or text”.
Specification [0010] discusses that “phishing attempts can occur via different communication modes (e.g., email, phone, text, or the like)”. But spec never differentiates how phishing attempt takes place in first mode and second mode. Claim 2, 8 and 15 clearly defines first communication mode includes email, phone or text. None of the claim defines what is included in second communication mode. Based on [0018]-[0020] of specification filed on 03/05/2024, Examiner understands that risk score is calculated based on email based communication or phone based communication. So first communication mode could be e-mail and second communication mode could be phone. So claim 1 is incomprehensible in light of the specification. Examiner doesn’t understand if email, text and phone are examples of first communication mode, then what else could be the examples of second communication mode. Because spec does not define anything explicitly for first and second mode. Thus claim is vague and indefinite.
Dependent claim 3-6, 9-13 and 16-20 inherited the deficiencies from independent claim 1, 7 and 14 respectively. Thus the dependent claims are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US Patent Application Publication No 2023/0336588 A1) in view of Morris (US Patent No 12,047,416 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Adams discloses a system for cybersecurity enforcement, the system comprising:
one or more memories (Adams, Fig-1); and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Adams, Fig-1), configured to:
generate a first synthetic phishing attempt that targets a user via a communication mode (Adams, Fig-2A, ¶[0033], the phishing lure generation platform may train a natural language model or algorithm to automatically produce synthetic phishing lures. The phishing lure generation model identifies formats of phishing lures that may be effective for a particular recipient. ¶[0038], in step 204, the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure to the user device);
identify a user response or non-response to the synthetic phishing attempt (Adams, Fig-2B, ¶[0040], the target user may be tested on how well they may identify and avoid a phishing lure amidst their normal course of business. By displaying the simulated synthetic phishing lure alongside legitimate messages, the target user’s ability to distinguish between legitimate and phishing messages may be tested); and
update, based at least in part on the communication mode and the user response or non-response, a risk score specific to the user (Adams, ¶[0044], ¶[0051], the inbound message filtering system may train the phish detection model using signals indicative of the automated generation of the synthetic lures which may be used to distinguish between synthetic and manually generated lures. ¶[0056], the inbound message filtering system may quarantine the inbound message, route the inbound message to an isolation environment and secure sandbox, modify one or more traffic filtering rules and execute other security actions).
Adams does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Morris teaches:
wherein a second communication mode for a second synthetic phishing attempt is determined using a machine learning model, the determination based on the first synthetic fishing attempt (Morris, col 23, line 55-65, col 24, line 5-15, if the user environment information shows that the user regularly accesses their devices each morning at 8 am, the system may generate a user specific phishing lure that is deployed to the user at or near 8 am. If the user environment information shows that the user is consuming content instead of creating content at particular times of the day or after taking particular actions, the anti-phishing system can deploy a phishing lure at those particular times of the day when the user is more likely to see the incoming digital communication. Thus generating user specific phishing lures from user environment information is mapped to second mode of communication. Col 17, line 5-10, user feedback can indicate when a user identifies as a threat a piece of digital communication that was not flagged as a threat by the system. This user feedback can be used to further refine the system, such as by improving one or more templates or further training one or more machine learning models);
and enable a security limitation on user interactions via the first communication mode based on the risk score, wherein the security limitation limits the user interactions via the first communication mode more than other user interactions via the second communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Adams in view of Morris are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “anti-phishing security and monitoring content to protect against phishing attack”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Adams in view of Morris to include the idea of determining that the digital communication is a threat based at least in part on the user specific network behavior information associated with the assets and employing a threat-abatement procedure with respect to the digital communication (Morris, col 2, line 5-10).
Regarding claim 2, Adams in view of Morris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first communication mode includes one or more of email, phone, or text (Adams, ¶[0039], the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure as an electronic message (e.g., email, text message, chat message and other electronic message). Also Morris, Fig-9, col 27, line 15-30).
Regarding claim 3, Adams in view of Morris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication that the user has opted in to synthetic phishing attempts (Adams, ¶[0040], the target user may be tested on how well they may identify and avoid a phishing lure amidst their normal course of business. By displaying the simulated synthetic phishing lure alongside legitimate messages, the target user’s ability to distinguish between the legitimate and phishing messages may be tested).
Regarding claim 4, Adams in view of Morris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate the first synthetic phishing attempt based at least in part on a previous phishing attempt targeting the user (Adams, ¶[0044], the phishing lure generation platform may update the phishing lure generation model using the feedback information. ¶[0045], may leverage engagement feedback to dynamically refine models/algorithm).
Regarding Claim 5, Adams in view of Morris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the risk score is specific to the first communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 6, Adams in view of Morris discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
perform a cybersecurity action based at least in part on the risk score, wherein the cybersecurity action comprises enablement of the security limitation (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 7, Adams discloses a method of cybersecurity enforcement, comprising:
generating a first synthetic phishing attempt that targets a user via a first communication mode (Adams, Fig-2A, ¶[0033], the phishing lure generation platform may train a natural language model or algorithm to automatically produce synthetic phishing lures. The phishing lure generation model identifies formats of phishing lures that may be effective for a particular recipient. ¶[0038], in step 204, the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure to the user device); and
updating, based at least in part on the first communication mode, a risk profile specific to the user (Adams, ¶[0044], ¶[0051], the inbound message filtering system may train the phish detection model using signals indicative of the automated generation of the synthetic lures which may be used to distinguish between synthetic and manually generated lures. ¶[0056], the inbound message filtering system may quarantine the inbound message, route the inbound message to an isolation environment and secure sandbox, modify one or more traffic filtering rules and execute other security actions).
Adams does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Morris teaches:
wherein a second communication mode for a second synthetic phishing attempt is determined using a machine learning model, the determination based on the first synthetic fishing attempt (Morris, col 23, line 55-65, col 24, line 5-15, if the user environment information shows that the user regularly accesses their devices each morning at 8 am, the system may generate a user specific phishing lure that is deployed to the user at or near 8 am. If the user environment information shows that the user is consuming content instead of creating content at particular times of the day or after taking particular actions, the anti-phishing system can deploy a phishing lure at those particular times of the day when the user is more likely to see the incoming digital communication. Thus generating user specific phishing lures from user environment information is mapped to second mode of communication. Col 17, line 5-10, user feedback can indicate when a user identifies as a threat a piece of digital communication that was not flagged as a threat by the system. This user feedback can be used to further refine the system, such as by improving one or more templates or further training one or more machine learning models);
and enable a security limitation on user interactions via the first communication mode based on the risk score, wherein the security limitation limits the user interactions via the first communication mode more than other user interactions via second communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Adams in view of Morris are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “anti-phishing security and monitoring content to protect against phishing attack”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Adams in view of Morris to include the idea of determining that the digital communication is a threat based at least in part on the user specific network behavior information associated with the assets and employing a threat-abatement procedure with respect to the digital communication (Morris, col 2, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 8, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first communication mode includes one or more of email, phone, or text (Adams, ¶[0039], the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure as an electronic message (e.g., email, text message, chat message and other electronic message). Also Morris, Fig-9, col 27, line 15-30).
Regarding Claim 9, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving an indication that the user has opted in to synthetic phishing attempts (Adams, ¶[0040], the target user may be tested on how well they may identify and avoid a phishing lure amidst their normal course of business. By displaying the simulated synthetic phishing lure alongside legitimate messages, the target user’s ability to distinguish between the legitimate and phishing messages may be tested).
Regarding Claim 10, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
generating the first synthetic phishing attempt based at least in part on a previous phishing attempt targeting the user (Adams, ¶[0044], the phishing lure generation platform may update the phishing lure generation model using the feedback information. ¶[0045], may leverage engagement feedback to dynamically refine models/algorithm).
Regarding Claim 11, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, wherein updating the risk profile includes updating the risk profile based at least in part on a user response or non-response to the first synthetic phishing attempt (Adams, ¶[0044], ¶[0051], the inbound message filtering system may train the phish detection model using signals indicative of the automated generation of the synthetic lures which may be used to distinguish between synthetic and manually generated lures. ¶[0056], the inbound message filtering system may quarantine the inbound message, route the inbound message to an isolation environment and secure sandbox, modify one or more traffic filtering rules and execute other security actions).
Regarding Claim 12, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the risk profile includes a risk score that is specific to the first communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 13, Adams in view of Morris discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising:
performing a cybersecurity action based at least in part on the risk profile, wherein the cybersecurity action comprises enabling the security limitation (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 14, Adams discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a cybersecurity enforcement system, cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to (Adams, Fig-1):
generate a first synthetic phishing attempt that targets a user via a first communication mode (Adams, Fig-2A, ¶[0033], the phishing lure generation platform may train a natural language model or algorithm to automatically produce synthetic phishing lures. The phishing lure generation model identifies formats of phishing lures that may be effective for a particular recipient. ¶[0038], in step 204, the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure to the user device); and
update, based at least in part on the first communication mode, a risk score specific to the user (Adams, ¶[0044], ¶[0051], the inbound message filtering system may train the phish detection model using signals indicative of the automated generation of the synthetic lures which may be used to distinguish between synthetic and manually generated lures. ¶[0056], the inbound message filtering system may quarantine the inbound message, route the inbound message to an isolation environment and secure sandbox, modify one or more traffic filtering rules and execute other security actions).
Adams does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Morris teaches:
wherein a second communication mode for a second synthetic phishing attempt is determined using a machine learning model, the determination based on the first synthetic fishing attempt (Morris, col 23, line 55-65, col 24, line 5-15, if the user environment information shows that the user regularly accesses their devices each morning at 8 am, the system may generate a user specific phishing lure that is deployed to the user at or near 8 am. If the user environment information shows that the user is consuming content instead of creating content at particular times of the day or after taking particular actions, the anti-phishing system can deploy a phishing lure at those particular times of the day when the user is more likely to see the incoming digital communication. Thus generating user specific phishing lures from user environment information is mapped to second mode of communication. Col 17, line 5-10, user feedback can indicate when a user identifies as a threat a piece of digital communication that was not flagged as a threat by the system. This user feedback can be used to further refine the system, such as by improving one or more templates or further training one or more machine learning models);
and enable a security limitation on user interactions via the first communication mode based on the risk score, wherein the security limitation limits the user interactions via the first communication mode more than other user interactions via the second communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Adams in view of Morris are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “anti-phishing security and monitoring content to protect against phishing attack”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Adams in view of Morris to include the idea of determining that the digital communication is a threat based at least in part on the user specific network behavior information associated with the assets and employing a threat-abatement procedure with respect to the digital communication (Morris, col 2, line 5-10).
Regarding Claim 15, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the first communication mode includes one or more of email, phone, or text (Adams, ¶[0039], the phishing lure generation platform may send the simulated synthetic phishing lure as an electronic message (e.g., email, text message, chat message and other electronic message). Also Morris, Fig-9, col 27, line 15-30).
Regarding claim 16, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to:
receive an indication that the user has opted in to synthetic phishing attempts (Adams, ¶[0040], the target user may be tested on how well they may identify and avoid a phishing lure amidst their normal course of business. By displaying the simulated synthetic phishing lure alongside legitimate messages, the target user’s ability to distinguish between the legitimate and phishing messages may be tested).
Regarding claim 17, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to:
generate the first synthetic phishing attempt based at least in part on a previous phishing attempt targeting the user (Adams, ¶[0044], the phishing lure generation platform may update the phishing lure generation model using the feedback information. ¶[0045], may leverage engagement feedback to dynamically refine models/algorithm).
Regarding claim 18, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to update the risk score, cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to update the risk score based at least in part on a user response or non-response to the first synthetic phishing attempt (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding claim 19, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the risk score is specific to the first communication mode (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Regarding claim 20, Adams in view of Morris discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the cybersecurity enforcement system to:
perform a cybersecurity action based at least in part on the risk score, wherein the cybersecurity action comprises enablement of the security limitation (Morris, col 13, line 50-55, the user asset risk score can be a score indicative of the level of risk of the user being susceptible to a threat. Col 14, Fig-2, line 45-60, deploying the threat abatement procedure can include generating and presenting an alert to a user. Col 21, line 45-60. Col 23, line 5-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433