DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of constructing a three electrode cell, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 August 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 drawn to a three electrode cell, in the reply filed on 25 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (US 2023/0207866 Al). This prior art reference to be cited as Ha hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses a three electrode cell (“the all-solid-state battery” [0061]) including:
an anode (“an anode layer 80” [0061]);
a cathode (“a cathode layer 90” [0061]);
a solid electrolyte between the anode and the cathode (“a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the cathode layer 90 and the anode layer 80” [0061]);
an elongated reference electrode embedded in the solid electrolyte (“The all-solid-state battery may include at least two pairs of reference electrodes 50 and 50’ that are inserted from the side into the interface between the first solid electrolyte layer 40 and the second solid electrolyte layer 60 and are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center point C of the solid electrolyte layer.” [0062]); and
a housing surrounding the anode, the cathode and the solid electrolyte (10 Figs. 3-4; “a mold 10 configured to provide a molding space for an all-solid-state battery” [0067]), the reference electrode extending out of the housing (“inserted from the side into the interface” [0062] and Fig. 1 shows reference electrodes 50 and 50’ to extend from inside the disclosed cell to its outside).
Regarding claim 2, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the reference electrode is a wire (“The reference electrode 50 may be an electric wire” [0086]).
Regarding claim 3, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 2 above, and wherein the wire has a diameter of between 0.1 and 0.5 mm (“As the reference electrodes, wires having a diameter of 100 µm” [0096]).
Regarding claim 6, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the housing includes a hollow body (“mold 10 configured to provide a molding space for an all-solid-state battery” [0067]) including a bore receiving the anode, the cathode, and the solid electrolyte (12 Fig. 3; “a hole 12 that has the same shape and width as that of the all-solid-state battery” [0068]), the reference electrode extending through a first hole in the hollow body into the bore (13 Fig. 3; “reference electrodes 50 is inserted through the second hole 13” [0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 6 above, and wherein the reference electrode extends through a second hole in the hollow body into the bore such that a first end of the reference electrode and a second end of the reference electrode, opposite of the first end, are positioned outside of the hollow body (Fig. 3 shows that a pair of second holes 13 are disposed on opposite lateral ends of mold 10, which Fig. 4 further shows reference electrodes 50 and 50’ are disposed from inside mold 10 at hole 12 to the outside of mold 10).
Regarding claim 9, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 6 above, and wherein the housing further includes a first plunger configured for being inserted into a first end of the bore to contact the anode (20 Fig. 4; “a first presser 20 coupled to an upper surface of the mold 10” [0067] and “the first presser 20 finally comes into contact with the anode layer 80 through the first protruding member 22” [0074]) and a second plunger configured for being inserted into a second end of the bore to contact the cathode (30 Fig. 4; “a second presser 30 coupled to a lower surface of the mold 10” [0067] “the second presser 30 finally comes into contact with the cathode layer 90” [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 9 above, and wherein the first plunger and the second plunger are formed of stainless steel (“The reference electrode 50 may be an electric wire including one or more selected from the group consisting of tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), stainless steel (SUS)” [0086]), tungsten, or nickel coated stainless steel.
Regarding claim 12, Ha discloses a three electrode cell (“the all-solid-state battery” [0061]) including:
an anode (“an anode layer 80” [0061]);
a cathode (“a cathode layer 90” [0061]);
a solid electrolyte between the anode and the cathode (“a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the cathode layer 90 and the anode layer 80” [0061]);
an elongated reference electrode embedded in the solid electrolyte (“The all-solid-state battery may include at least two pairs of reference electrodes 50 and 50’ that are inserted from the side into the interface between the first solid electrolyte layer 40 and the second solid electrolyte layer 60 and are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center point C of the solid electrolyte layer.” [0062]); and
a housing surrounding the anode, the cathode and the solid electrolyte (10 Figs. 3-4; “a mold 10 configured to provide a molding space for an all-solid-state battery” [0067]), the reference electrode extending out of the housing (“inserted from the side into the interface” [0062] and Fig. 1 shows reference electrodes 50 and 50’ to extend from inside the disclosed cell to its outside),
the housing including a hollow body (“mold 10 configured to provide a molding space for an all-solid-state battery” [0067]) including a bore receiving the anode, the cathode, and the solid electrolyte (12 Fig. 3; “a hole 12 that has the same shape and width as that of the all-solid-state battery” [0068]), the reference electrode extending through a first hole in the hollow body into the bore (13 Fig. 3; “reference electrodes 50 is inserted through the second hole 13” [0084]),
the housing further includes a casing surrounding the hollow body (11 Figs. 3-4; “a body member 11” [0068]), the casing including a first hole aligned with the first hole of the hollow body and a second hole aligned with the second hole of the hollow body, the reference electrode extending through the first hole and the second hole of the casing (body member 11 comprises of top and bottom halves shown in Fig. 3 such that the spacing formed by second hole 13 creates a spacing between the top and bottom halves of body member 11, disposed on both of its lateral sides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 2023/0207866 Al) in view of Tian et al (CN 119315145 A). The latter reference being cited to as Tian hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the reference electrode is formed of lithiated aluminum.
However, Tian discloses a three electrode cell (Fig. 4; “battery structure” [n0100]) including an anode (“The second electrode 108 is electrically connected to the negative electrode.” [n0134]), a cathode (“the first electrode 107 is electrically connected to the positive electrode.” [n0134]), an electrolyte between the anode and the cathode (collectively 601, 602 shown in Fig. 9, and “The gap 140 is used to provide a space for the expanded pole core 101. The gap 140 contains electrolyte 104.” [n0095]), an elongated reference electrode embedded in the solid electrolyte (collectively 121 and 700 shown in Fig. 9; “reference electrode 121 is electrically connected to the first connector 130 via a wire 700” [n0135]), and a housing surrounding the anode, cathode, and electrolyte (103a Fig. 8c; “housing 103a” [n0127]).
Tian teaches wherein the reference electrode is formed of lithiated aluminum (“Conductive wires can also be made of aluminum, such as lithium iron phosphate aluminum wire.” [n0120] and “reference electrode 112 is made of lithium-plated copper wire or lithium iron phosphate aluminum wire” [n0121]), and that this material selection for a wire reference electrode is capable of measuring information that can be transmitted ([n0148]) to a controller that changes the operating state of the cell based on the collected data, reducing the occurrence of battery safety accidents and realizing a sustainable battery function with improved performance ([n0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the reference electrode of Ha with the reference electrode taught by Tian wherein the reference electrode is formed of lithiated aluminum, in order to achieve a reference electrode that is capable of measuring information that can be transmitted to a controller that changes the operating state of the cell based on the collected data, reducing the occurrence of battery safety accidents and realizing a sustainable battery function with improved performance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 2023/0207866 Al) in view of Seong et al (US 2022/0115707 A1). The latter reference being cited to as Seong hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 5, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and the housing with a first end of the reference electrode being outside of the housing (the 50 disposed on the left side of the disclosed cell shown in Fig. 4) and a second end of the reference electrode being outside of the housing (the 50 disposed on the right side of the disclosed cell shown in Fig. 4).
Ha does not disclose wherein the reference electrode passed entirely through the solid electrolyte.
However, Seong discloses a three electrode cell (Fig. 2; “all - solid - state battery” [0057]) including an anode (“an anode layer 90” [0064]), a cathode (“a cathode layer 80” [0068]), an electrolyte between the anode and the cathode (collectively 50 and 70 shown in Fig. 2; “solid electrolyte layers 50 and 70” [0073]), an elongated reference electrode embedded in the solid electrolyte (“the solid electrolyte powder is added and then pressed together with a reference electrode 60 … the interface between the solid electrolyte layers 50 and 70 and the reference electrode 60 is evenly formed” [0073]), and a housing surrounding the anode, cathode, and electrolyte (10 Fig. 2; “a mold unit 10” [0058]).
Seong teaches wherein the reference electrode passed entirely through the solid electrolyte (reference electrode 60 is disposed continuously through solid electrolyte layers 50 and 70 shown in Fig. 2), and that this structure improves the contact property between the reference electrode and the solid electrolyte to therefore obtain a stable electrochemical signal using the reference electrode ([0030]) and it is possible to smoothly operate the cell when analysis is performed using the reference electrode inserted ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the disposition structure of the reference electrode in the cell of Ha with the disposition structure of the reference electrode taught by Seong wherein the reference electrode passed entirely through the solid electrolyte, in order to improve the contact property between the reference electrode and the solid electrolyte to therefore obtain a stable electrochemical signal using the reference electrode and it is possible to smoothly operate the cell when analysis is performed using the reference electrode inserted.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 2023/0207866 Al) in view of Tsukamoto (WO 2002003483 A1). The latter reference being cited to as Tsukamoto hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Ha discloses the electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 6 above, but does not disclose wherein the hollow body is formed of a ceramic material or PEEK.
However, Tsukamoto discloses a housing (10 Fig. 1; “a feedthrough subassembly 10” p. 3 line 3) that includes a hollow body (2 Fig. 1; “a cylindrical ceramic glass core 2” p. 3 line 4).
Tsukamoto teaches wherein the hollow body is formed of a ceramic material (“ceramic glass core” p. 3 line 4) or PEEK, and that a hermetic seal can be formed between the ceramic material and a metal casing surrounding the hollow body (p. 3 line 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the hollow body of Ha with the hollow body taught by Tsukamoto wherein the hollow body is formed of a ceramic material, in order to achieve a housing that is hermetically sealed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 2023/0207866 Al) in view Jung (US 2019/0081343 A1). The latter reference being cited to as Jung hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 12 above, and wherein the casing includes a first section and a second section that are removably connected to each other (body member 11 comprises of top and bottom halves shown in Fig. 3),
the housing further including a first plunger configured for being inserted through the first section of the casing and into a first end of the bore to contact the anode (20 Fig. 4; “a first presser 20 coupled to an upper surface of the mold 10” [0067] and “the first presser 20 finally comes into contact with the anode layer 80 through the first protruding member 22” [0074]) and a second plunger configured for being inserted through the second section of the casing and into a second end of the bore to contact the cathode (30 Fig. 4; “a second presser 30 coupled to a lower surface of the mold 10” [0067] “the second presser 30 finally comes into contact with the cathode layer 90” [0078]).
Ha does not disclose a first plunger seal being sandwiched between the first plunger and the first section of the casing, a second plunger seal being sandwiched between the second plunger and the second section of the casing.
However, Jung discloses a housing (220 Fig. 3; “a yoke 220 may be formed inside the housing 200” [0030]) including a plunger (100 Fig. 3; “a plunger 100” [0029]) configured for being inserted through a section of a casing of the housing (“The yoke 220 inside the housing 200 may be formed in an area in which it comes into contact with the plunger 100” [0030] and “a portion of the housing 200 on the upper end of the plunger 100” [0031]).
Jung teaches a plunger seal being sandwiched between the plunger and the section of the casing (520 Fig. 3; “a seal-fixing member 520” [0046]), and that the plunger seal may structurally protect the plunger by surrounding the side surface of the plunger ([0046]) and may also be configured to primarily absorb shocks transmitted via vertical movement thereof ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first plunger seal and a second plunger seal to the housing of Ha in view of Jung, the first plunger seal being sandwiched between the first plunger and the first section of the casing, the second plunger seal being sandwiched between the second plunger and the second section of the casing, in order to achieve a structure that protects the plungers by surrounding the side surface of the plunger and to absorb shocks transmitted to the housing via a vertical movement.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 2023/0207866 Al) in view Jung (US 2019/0081343 A1) and Curello et al (US 2011/0121220 A1). The latter reference being cited to as Curello hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 14, modified Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 12 above, but does not disclose wherein the housing further includes a first adapter configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body and a second adapter configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body,
the first adapter including a first hole configured for the reference electrode to pass through,
the second adapter including a second hole configured for the reference electrode to pass through.
However, Curello discloses a cell (Fig. 4; “fuel supply” [0020] and “fuel Supply, which stores fuel cell fuels, such as methanol and water, methanol/water mixture, methanol/water mixtures of varying concentrations, pure methanol, and/or methylclathrates” [0031]) including a housing (collectively 12 and 14 Fig. 4; “outer casing 12, lid 14” [0036]) comprising of a hollow body (outer casing 12 that accommodates 24 in Fig. 4, a “compressed gas chamber” [0037]) and a casing surrounding the hollow body (lid 14 shown in Fig. 4 is disposed on top of outer casing 12).
Curello teaches wherein the housing further includes an adapter (74’ Figs. 12A-12B; “first valve component 74’” [0056]) configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body (16 Fig. 4; “Fuel supply 10 has outer casing 12, lid 14, first valve 16” [0036] and “First valve 16 allows compressed gas to exit pressurized or compressed gas chamber 24” [0038]), and
the adapter including a hole (78, 82, 86 Fig. 12A; “a hose tube 78 … inner tube 82 is sized and dimensioned to fit within an outer tube 86. Tubes 82 and 86 are sized and dimensioned to define a space therebetween to be a part of a flow path.” [0051]) configured for a tube to pass through (“tube 48 is pushed into first valve 16. Tube 48 comprises inner tube 50 and outer tube 52” [0040]).
Curello further teaches that the adapter maintains the relative position of the tube ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first adapter and a second adapter to the housing of modified Ha in view of Curello, wherein the housing further includes a first adapter configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body and a second adapter configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body,
the first adapter including a first hole configured for the reference electrode to pass through,
the second adapter including a second hole configured for the reference electrode to pass through.
The person of ordinary skill would then be able to achieve a means to maintain the relative position of the reference electrode extending through the housing.
Regarding claim 15, modified Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 14 above, and wherein the first adapter includes a first inner adapter section configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body and a second inner adapter section configured for being inserted through the casing and into the hollow body (the bottom portion of 16 shown in Curello Fig. 4 corresponds to 30 in Curello Fig. 3, “valve body 30” Curello [0038], which also corresponds to the claimed first inner adapter section and the second inner adapter section).
Modified Ha does not disclose wherein the first adapter includes a first inner seal being sandwiched between the first inner adapter section and the hollow body, and the second adapter includes a second inner seal being sandwiched between the second inner adapter section and the hollow body.
However, Curello teaches an inner seal being sandwiched between the inner adapter section and the hollow body (32 Fig. 3 and 92 Fig. 11A; “O-ring 32” [0038] and “O-ring 92” [0052]), and that this feature creates an internal seal between the inner adapter section and the hollow body ([0052]) where the volume that the hollow body contains is designed to be pressurized or compressed ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first inner seal to the first adapter and a second inner seal to the second adapter of modified Ha in further view of Curello wherein the first inner seal being sandwiched between the first inner adapter section and the hollow body, and the second inner seal being sandwiched between the second inner adapter section and the hollow body, in order to achieve a means to create an internal seal at the interface between the respective inner adapter section and the hollow body that is designed to contain a volume that is pressurized or compressed.
Regarding claim 16, modified Ha discloses the three electrode cell with all of the features set forth in claim 15 above, and
wherein the housing further includes a first outer adapter section configured for being inserted into the first inner adapter section and a second outer adapter section configured for being inserted into the second inner adapter section (Curello 77a Fig. 12A; “a top portion 77a” [0051]),
the first inner adapter section including a first hole forming a portion of the first hole of the first adapter (Curello 86 Fig. 12A; “an outer tube 86” [0051]), and the first outer adapter section including a first hole forming a portion of the first hole of the first adapter (Curello 78 Fig. 12A; “a hose tube 78” [0051]), and
the second inner adapter section including a second hole forming a portion of the second hole of the second adapter (Curello 86 Fig. 12A; “an outer tube 86” [0051]), and the second outer adapter section including a second hole forming a portion of the second hole of the second adapter (Curello 78 Fig. 12A; “a hose tube 78” [0051]).
Modified Ha does not disclose a first outer seal being sandwiched between the first inner adapter section and the first outer adapter section, and a second outer seal being sandwiched between the second inner adapter section and the second outer adapter section.
However, Curello teaches an outer seal being sandwiched between the inner adapter section and the outer adapter section (80 Fig. 12A; “O-ring 80” [0051]), and that the outer seal is compressed to create an open path between the inner adapter section and the outer adapter section ([0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a first outer seal to the first adapter and a second outer seal to the second adapter of modified Ha in further view of Curello, wherein the respective outer seals being sandwiched between the respective inner adapter sections and the outer adapter sections, in order to achieve a means to maintain an open path between the inner adapter sections and the outer adapter sections.
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721