DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adjustable housing being “detachably connected” as recited in claims 4 and 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that the drawing currently only show the adjustable housing and arm member as a single integral element. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 4 and 5 both recite: “wherein the adjustable housing is detachably connected to the first end of the substantially linear arm member.” The specification filed on March 5, 2024, paragraph 0035 states that the adjustable housing is detachably connected to the first end of the arm member “by any means known in the art, a rotatable ball and socket, pin, screw, bolt combinations thereof or the like, for example.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a connection between two elements with at least a pin, screw or bolt would create a connection that is fixed in place. How would that type of fixed connection allow for the adjustable angle required in the independent claims 1 and 3 – this the subject matter that not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recites: “the adjustable housing selectively adjustable in relation to the arm member such that the angle of the adjustable housing in relation to the arm member is adjustable from an angle of 30 degrees to an angle of 120 degrees” It is unclear how the housing can be adjustable by the particularly claimed degrees when the arm member, first end and second end are all integral as seen in Figures 1 and 2. For purpose of examination, it is understood that the housing is adjustable in relation to the second end of the arm member, not the arm member as a whole as currently claimed.
Claim 6 recites: “the first end of the arm member having an adjustable housing having a threaded borehole therethrough such that the angle of the threaded borehole is selectively adjustable from an angle of about 30 degrees to an angle of about 120 degrees” – it is unclear how the borehole can be adjustable within itself. It is further unclear what the angle is relative to. The specification, specifically paragraph 0043, does not provide any further explanation of where a possible angle location would be nor do the drawings identify the claimed angle. For purposes of examination, since it is understood that the threaded bolt is able to move up and down within the threaded borehole having such a feature will be considered to meet the claimed limitation of the “borehole (being) selective adjustable (in the claimed range)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awot (US Patent 2,799,190) in view of Emmert (US Patent 10,022,762).
As best understood, Awot discloses a paintless dent removal tool for removing a dent from a vehicle, the paintless dent removal tool comprising:
a threaded bolt (44) having a top end and a bottom end, the threaded bolt for knocking down dents out of the surface of a vehicle;
a substantially linear arm member (32) having a first end and a second end, the first end of the arm member having an adjustable housing (38) connected thereto, the adjustable housing having a threaded borehole therethrough, the adjustable housing selectively adjustable in relation to the arm member [Column 3, lines 3-10], the threaded borehole for detachably securing the threaded bolt in a position transverse to the arm member [as seen in at least Figure 3],
the second end of the arm member having a foot member (56, 60, 66, 67, 68) connected thereto, the foot member having a substantially flat lower surface [as seen in Figure 5] and a cap (56) extending over the substantially flat lower surface, the foot member configured to be placed on the surface of the vehicle for controlling dampening, vibration, and improving the accuracy of the paintless dent removal tool;
a tip member (20) detachably connected to the bottom end of the threaded bolt, the tip member having a first end and a second end [as seen in Figure 6]; and
a cap member (46) detachably connected to the top of the end of the threaded bolt, the cap member for protecting the top end of the threaded bolt when struck by the striking tool.
Awot discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the angle of the adjustable housing in relation to the arm member is adjustable from an angle of 30 degrees to an angle of 120 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed angle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed that having this particular angle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem [original specification paragraph 0043] and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Awot.
Awot discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the cap is a rubber cap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the particularly claimed material composition of the structures since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanically efficiency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Awot discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the first end of the tip member having a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, the first end having a threaded borehole therethrough for connecting the first end of the tip member to the threaded bolt, the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point for knocking down dents on the surface of the vehicle. Emmert is relied upon to teach a dent repair system including multiple interchangeable tip members such as a tip member (234) having a first end and a second end wherein the first end of the tip member has a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, as seen in Figure 5 and the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point (240) for knocking down dents on the surface of the vehicle. In the embodiment shown in Figure 5, Emmert further disclose that the first end of the tip member has fastening means (242). However, it is noted that the fastening means have non-limiting examples such as, a pin, adhesive, magnets and threads that extend into a recess in a shaft [Column 5, lines 55-65]. It is considered to be well-known that a threaded borehole in the tip member could be an alternative fastening means. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Awot’s tip member with Emmert’s tip member including wherein the first end of the tip member has a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, the first end having a threaded borehole therethrough for connecting the first end of the tip member to the threaded bolt of Awot, the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point, as taught by Emmert, since substitution of one known element for another obtains predictable results, namely removing dents from vehicles. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. MPEP 2141.
With regards to claim 4, Awot discloses wherein the adjustable housing (38) is detachably connected to the first end of the substantially linear arm member (32), [element 38 is mounted to 32 via pivots 40, Column 5, lines 50-60].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awot in view of Emmert and Holsapple et al. (hereafter “Holsapple”)(US Patent 3,712,106).
Awot discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the foot member is detachably connected to the arm member by a ball, the ball configured to move, rotate and adjust so that the paintless dent removal tool may be stabilized on a variety of different angled surfaces to provide enhanced stability, guidance, positioning and accuracy for dent removal. Awot discloses that foot member (56, 60, 66, 67, 68) is detachably connected to the arm member, as seen in Figures 3 and 5. Holsapple is relied upon to teach a dent removal tool having a foot member (42/41) detachably connected to the arm member by a ball (39), the ball configured to move, rotate and adjust so that the paintless dent removal tool may be stabilized on a variety of different angled surfaces to provide enhanced stability, guidance, positioning and accuracy for dent removal, as seen in Figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Awot’s foot member with a ball connection to the arm member in order to provide a greater variety of different angled surfaces which in turn provides enhanced stability, guidance, positioning and accuracy for dent removal.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awot in view of Emmert and Weber (US Patent 2,498,320).
The combination of Awot and Emmert teaches a method of providing the tool as claimed and described above except for the particular method of striking the cap member with a striking tool, so that the bottom end of the tip member pushes down upon the outer surface of the vehicle to substantially knock down and remove the dent. Awot discloses positioning the bottom end of the threaded bolt above the dent, as seen in Figure 1 and an operator manipulating the tool by hand to remove a dent.
Weber is relied upon to teach positioning the bottom end of the threaded bolt above the dent, as seen in Figure 1; and striking the cap member (18) with the striking tool (impact hammer B) while the tip member pushes down upon the outer surface of the vehicle to substantially knock down and remove a dent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute manual operation of Awot’s tool with a striking tool application of Awot’s tool because simple substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results requiring only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 5, Awot discloses wherein the adjustable housing (38) is detachably connected to the first end of the substantially linear arm member (32), [element 38 is mounted to 32 via pivots 40, Column 5, lines 50-60].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US Patent 2,498,320) in view of Emmert (US Patent 10,022,762).
As best understood, Weber discloses a paintless dent removal tool for removing a dent from a vehicle, the paintless dent removal tool comprising:
a threaded bolt (17) having a top end and a bottom end, the threaded bolt for knocking down dents out of the surface of a vehicle;
a substantially linear arm member (A) having a first end and a second end, the first end (11) of the arm member having an adjustable housing having a threaded borehole (as seen in Figures 1 and 3) therethrough such that the angle of the threaded borehole is selectively adjustable [as noted above in the 112 section, since the threaded bolt 17 is “adjusted” (Column 3, lines 1-15) within the threaded borehole the limitation is considered to be met, as best understood];
a tip member [as seen in Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 50-55] detachably connected to the bottom end of the threaded bolt, the tip member having a first end and a second end,
and a cap member (18) detachably connected to the top of the end of the threaded bolt, the cap member for protecting the top end of the threaded bolt when struck by the striking tool.
The following are considered recitations of intended use:
“for removing a dent from a vehicle”
“the threaded bolt for knocking down dents out of the outer surface of a vehicle”
“the cap member for protecting the top end of the threaded bolt when struck by the striking tool”
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Weber discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the angle is in a range about 30 degrees to an angle of about 120 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed angle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed that having this particular angle provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem [original specification paragraph 0043] and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Weber.
Weber discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the first end of the tip member has a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, the first end having a threaded borehole therethrough for connecting the first end of the tip member to the threaded bolt, the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point for knocking down dents on the surface of the vehicle. Weber discloses multiple tip members [as seen in Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 50-55]. Emmert is relied upon to teach a dent repair system including multiple interchangeable tip members such as a tip member (234) having a first end and a second end wherein the first end of the tip member has a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, as seen in Figure 5 and the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point (240) for knocking down dents on the surface of the vehicle. In the embodiment shown in Figure 5, Emmert further disclose that the first end of the tip member has fastening means (242). However, it is noted that the fastening means have non-limiting examples such as, a pin, adhesive, magnets, and threads that extend into a recess in a shaft [Column 5, lines 55-65]. It is considered to be well-known that a threaded borehole in the tip member could be an alternative fastening means. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Weber’s tip member with Emmert’s tip member including wherein the first end of the tip member has a greater diameter than the second end of the tip member such that the tip member narrows from the first end towards the second end, the first end having a threaded borehole therethrough for connecting the first end of the tip member to the threaded bolt of Weber, the second end of the tip member having a substantially rounded point, as taught by Emmert, since substitution of one known element for another obtains predictable results, namely removing dents from vehicles. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 2,187,110 and US 2005/0076700.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725