DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 16-22, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220255147-A1 (J).
Regarding claim 1, J teaches
A rechargeable lithium metal battery cell [0013] comprising (i) an anode including an anode current collector (Fig. 2, Cu foil), but initially no lithium metal or lithium metal alloy deposited on the anode current collector when the battery is made (see Fig. 2 top image); (ii) a first solid state electrolyte layer (“elastic, flame retardant polymer…, see Fig. 2) deposited on the anode current collector; (iii) a cathode including a cathode current collector (Fig. 2, Al foil) and a cathode active layer (Cathode layer, see Fig. 2) deposited on the cathode current collector; (iv) a second solid state electrolyte layer ([0013] “working electrolyte”, [0044] “solid-state electrolyte”. This still reads on the limitation “second solid state electrolyte layer” because the instant teaches in P21/L9-15 that the two layers can be merged into one single layer when the two electrode sides are laminated.), different than the first electrolyte in chemical composition, disposed on the cathode active layer (the separator contains the working electrolyte [0013] so the electrolyte is disposed on the cathode active material layer); and (v) an interface enhancer composition (“liquid electrolyte” [0013]) in ionic communication with the anode and the cathode ([0013] the electrolyte is in the separator so it is in ionic communication with the anode and the cathode), wherein the interface enhancer composition includes a liquid solution including an organic solvent with a lithium salt dissolved or dispersed therein [0026]. The electrolyte layers taken together have a thickness of 2 nm to 200 microns [0013] and are both a part of the separator so they are in physical contact with each other.
This meets the requirements for bullet “a)” of the instant because the range of electrode thickness of J overlaps with the claimed range of the instant claim 1. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to select the overlapping portion of the range of J. Further, this meets the requirements because both electrolyte layers are a part of the separator so they are in physical contact with each other.
The first electrolyte layer has a lithium ion conductivity of 10-5S/cm or greater [0052] and is a solid electrolyte [0013] This meets the requirements for bullet “b)” of the instant because the range of ionic conductivity of the first electrolyte layer of J is encompassed completely by the claimed range of the instant claim 1. There is no value of the range of J that does not fall inside the claimed range rendering the claim unpatentable.
The first solid state electrolyte layer has a fully recoverable tensile strain from 5% to 500% when measured without any additive [0027], [0069].
This meets the requirements of “c)” of the instant claim 1 because as taught above, the range of electrode thickness of J overlaps with the claimed range of the instant claim 1. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to select the overlapping portion of the range of J. Further, the range of ionic conductivity of the first electrolyte layer of J overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 10-6S/cm to 5*10-2S/cm of the instant. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to select the overlapping portion of the range of J. Finally, the range of recoverable tensile strain of J is completely encompassed by the claimed range of 2% to 1000% of the instant claim 1 when measured in the same manner [0069].
The limitations of “d)” of the instant claim 1 are optional because J teaches the requirements of at least one of the other bullet points, so they are not required to be taught by J and are not addressed at this point in time.
Regarding claim 2, J teaches the battery cell is cylindrical [0082].
Regarding claim 3, J teaches the interface enhancer, first, and second electrolyte layers includes a flame retardant additive dispersed within [0038].
Regarding claim 4, J teaches the flame retardant additive is selected from a halogenated flame retardant, phosphorus-based flame retardant, melamine flame retardant, metal hydroxide flame retardant, silicon-based flame retardant, phosphate flame retardant, biomolecular flame retardant, or a combination thereof [0038].
Regarding claim 5, J teaches the interface enhancer composition forms a contiguous phase or a continuous lithium ion pathway from the cathode active material through the first and the second solid-state electrolyte layers to the anode [0113] J teaches liquid electrolyte (which is the interface enhancer) is impregnated in the high-elasticity polymer, which is the layer through which ions are transported between the cathode and anode). and the interface enhancer composition is in physical contact with substantially all particles of the cathode active material [0123] the elastic polymer layer is in physical contact with the cathode active material layer, and the liquid electrolyte is disposed in the polymer layer so it must also be in contact with the cathode active material. [0123] similarly the elastic polymer is in ionic contact with both the cathode and the anode so the liquid electrolyte must also be.
Regarding claim 6, J teaches the interface enhancer includes a lithium salt [0114] and the interface enhancer composition forms a contiguous phase or a continuous lithium ion pathway from the cathode active material through the first and the second solid-state electrolyte layers to the anode [0123] similarly the elastic polymer is in ionic contact with both the cathode and the anode so the liquid electrolyte must also be. This means the interface enhancer would form a continuous lithium ion pathway from the cathode to the anode because the interface enhancer is ionically conductive and in contact with both the anode and the cathode active material.
Regarding claim 9, J teaches the organic solvent in the interface enhancer composition is selected from a fluorinated carbonate, hydrofluoroether, fluorinated ester, fluorinated vinyl carbonate, fluorinated ether, fluorinated vinyl ester, and fluorinated vinyl ether, sulfone, nitrile, phosphate, phosphite, alkyl phosphonate, phosphazene, sulfate, siloxane, silane, 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), 1,2- dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2- ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), Gamma-butyrolactone (y-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), a fluorinated solvent, a sulfone, a sulfide, a nitrile, a phosphate, a phosphite, a phosphonate, a phosphazene, a sulfate, a siloxane, Glyme, a chemical derivative thereof, or a combination thereof. [0115-116].
Regarding claim 10, J teaches the sulfone or sulfide is selected from vinyl sulfone, allyl sulfone, alkyl vinyl sulfone, aryl vinyl sulfone, vinyl sulfide, a vinyl-containing variant of TrMS, MTrMS, TMS, EMS, MMES, EMES, EMEES, or a combination thereof [0120-121].
Regarding claim 11, J teaches the vinyl sulfone or sulfide is selected from ethyl vinyl sulfide, allyl methyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfoxide, allyl phenyl sulfone, allyl methyl sulfone, divinyl sulfone, or a combination thereof [0120-121]. When selected from those, the vinyl sulfone does not include methyl ethylene sulfone and ethyl vinyl sulfone, so this meets the requirements of claim 11 of the instant.
Regarding claim 12, J teaches the nitrile includes a dinitrile or is selected from AND, GLN, SEN, SN, or a combination thereof [0122].
Regarding claim 16, J teaches the inorganic solid-state electrolyte or the polymer/inorganic composite electrolyte includes an inorganic solid electrolyte material selected from an oxide type, sulfide type, hydride type, halide type,halogen-modified sulfide type, borate type, phosphate type, lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), garnet-type, lithium superionic conductor (LISICON) type, sodium superionic conductor (NASICON) type, or a combination thereof [0041-43].
Regarding claim 17, J teaches the polymer electrolyte includes particles of inorganic material selected from SiO2. [0148].
Regarding claim 18, J teaches the first electrolyte includes a polymer selected from polyphosphazenes [0083].
Regarding claim 19, J teaches the first electrolyte includes an elastomer selected from natural polyisoprene [0046].
Regarding claim 20, J teaches the elastomer contains a lightly cross-linked network of polymer chains having an ether linkage, nitrile-derived linkage, benzo peroxide-derived linkage, ethylene oxide or ethylene glycol linkage [0027-28] (ethylene glycol is listed as an option for crosslinking agent). J teaches the cross-linked network of polymer chains having a degree of crosslinking that affords an elasticity of the polymer in the range from 5 and 500% [0027], which falls entirely inside in the claimed range of 5% to 1000% of the instant claim 20, rendering claim 20 unpatentable.
Regarding claim 21, J teaches the elastomer further includes from 0.1% to 50% by weight of a lithium ion-conducting material dispersed or dissolved in the high-elasticity polymer [0047-51]. This falls entirely inside the claimed range of 0.1 to 70% of the instant claim 21 rendering claim 21 unpatentable.
Regarding claim 22, J teaches the lithium ion-conducting material is a lithium salt selected from lithium perchlorate [0051].
Regarding claim 24, J teaches the lithium salt is lithium perchlorate [0114].
Regarding claim 25, J teaches the flame retardant additive is in a form of encapsulated particles including the additive encapsulated by a shell of a substantially lithium ion-impermeable and liquid electrolyte-impermeable coating material, wherein said shell is breakable when exposed to a temperature higher than a threshold temperature [0040].
Regarding claim 26, J teaches the polymer/inorganic composite electrolyte includes an inorganic solid material in a fine powder form having a particle size from 2 nm to 30 pm, wherein said particles of inorganic solid material are dispersed in said polymer [0041-42].
Regarding claim 27, J teaches the battery is a lithium metal battery [0014] and a secondary cell [0013].
Regarding claim 28, J teaches the cathode includes a cathode active material selected from lithium nickel manganese oxide [0059].
Claims 7, 8, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220255147-A1 (J) in view of US-20220255129-A1 (J2).
Regarding claim 7, J teaches the interface enhancer may include an ionic liquid [0026].
J does not teach a specific ionic liquid.
J2 teaches a secondary battery with a polymer electrolyte with a lithium salt comprising an ionic liquid with cations comprising tetraalkylammonium [0174]. J2 teaches the benefit of using an ionic liquid with a polymer electrolyte is that they have high ionic conductivity and low volatility [0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use the tetraalkylammonium cation of J2 as the interface enhancer of J in order to achieve the benefit of a high ionic conductivity and low volatility form of lithium salt. It would have been obvious to do because J teaches an ionic liquid may be used as the interface enhancer but does not specify any ionic liquid in particular and J2 teaches a known ionic liquid with known benefits. Doing so would amount to no more than electing a known ionic liquid when none is specified.
Regarding claim 8, J teaches the interface enhancer may include an ionic liquid [0026].
J does not teach a specific ionic liquid.
J2 teaches a secondary battery with a polymer electrolyte with a lithium salt comprising an ionic liquid with anions comprising BF4- [0174]. J2 teaches the benefit of using an ionic liquid with a polymer electrolyte is that they have high ionic conductivity and low volatility [0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use the BF4- anion of J2 as the interface enhancer of J in order to achieve the benefit of a high ionic conductivity and low volatility form of lithium salt. It would have been obvious to do because J teaches an ionic liquid may be used as the interface enhancer but does not specify any ionic liquid in particular and J2 teaches a known ionic liquid with known benefits. Doing so would amount to no more than electing a known ionic liquid when none is specified.
Regarding claim 13, J teaches the organic solvent may include a phosphate [0115-116].
J is silent to the specifics of the phosphate.
J2 teaches an organic solvent for an interface enhancer where the organic solvent is a phosphate [0114]. J2 teaches the phosphate is selected from allyl-type, vinyl-type, styrenic-type and (meth)acrylic-type monomers bearing a phosphonate moiety [0130].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use a phosphate which is selected from allyl-type, vinyl-type, styrenic-type and (meth)acrylic-type monomers bearing a phosphonate moiety as the organic solvent in the interface enhancer of J. It would have been obvious to do because J2 teaches them as options for phosphates used as organic solvents for interface enhancers and J does not specify a specific phosphate.
Regarding claim 14, J teaches the organic solvent is selected from phosphate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid, phosphazene or phosphite [0115-116].
J does not teach the specific structure of these solvents.
J2 teaches an organic solvent for an interface enhancer where the organic solvent is a phosphite [0024]. J2 teaches the phosphite may be tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite (TTSPi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use the organic solvent comprising tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite (TTSPi) of J2 in the interface enhancer of J. It would have been obvious to do teaches the solvent may be a phosphite but provides no specifics and J2 teaches TTSPi as a specific choice of phosphite for an organic solvent, so doing so would amount to no more than electing a known option of phosphite-based solvent for an interface enhancer where none is specified.
Regarding claim 15, J teaches the organic solvent may be a siloxane or silane [0115-116].
J is silent to the specific options for the siloxane or silane.
J2 teaches an interface enhancer with an organic solvent comprising a siloxane or silane [0024]. J2 teaches the siloxane or silane is selected from alkylsiloxane (Si-O), alkyylsilane (Si-C), liquid oligomeric silaxane (-Si-O-Si- ), or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to use an organic solvent comprising an alkylsiloxane (Si-O), alkyylsilane (Si-C), liquid oligomeric silaxane (-Si-O-Si- ), or a combination thereof in the interface enhancer of J. It would have been obvious to do because J teaches the solvent may be a siloxane or silane but specifies no options, and J2 teaches alkylsiloxane (Si-O), alkyylsilane (Si-C), liquid oligomeric silaxane (-Si-O-Si- ), or a combination thereof is an option for a siloxane or silane.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220255147-A1 (J) in view of US-20250239645-A1 (K).
Regarding claim 23, the teachings of J are explained in the rejection of claim 1.
J does not teach a lithium ion-conducting plastic crystal phase in the elastomer.
L teaches an electrolyte with a plastic crystal phase as an ion conductive additive [0019]. L teaches the plastic crystal phase is present in a wt% range of 5 to 20% [0013]. L teaches the benefit of a plastic crystal phase in an electrolyte is the improved Li ion conductivity [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to add the plastic crystal phase of L to the electrolyte of J in order to achieve the benefit of improved Li ion conductivity.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220255147-A1 (J) in view of US 20220223917 A1 (H).
Regarding claim 37, the teachings of J are explained in the rejection of claim 1.
J does not teach the second electrolyte is present in the cathode active material layer.
H teaches a positive active material layer comprising 5 to 10% by weight of an inorganic electrolyte [0181]. H teaches the benefit of the solid electrolyte in the cathode is that it has a high ionic conductivity [0103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to replace the cathode of J with the cathode of H in order to achieve the benefit of the high ionic conductivity electrolyte in the cathode.
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721