DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 18 are objected to because of the following reasons:
From the claim language, Examiner assumes that it is the one or more processors that perform the functional steps.
However, Examiner recommends Applicants to further clarify the claim language by changing the phrase “to cause the apparatus to” to “to cause the one or more processors to”.
Otherwise, if Applicants intends for some other hardware components of the apparatus to perform the steps, then please amend the claims to include those hardware components and clearly indicate that those hardware components perform the steps.
If Applicants intends for any unknown hardware components of the apparatus to perform the steps, then please clearly states so on record. However, Applicants are reminded that doing so will raise 112 issues since then the claim language would impose no limits as to a particular structure for performing the claimed invention; hence the claims may cover all devices for/ways for performing the claimed functions. As thus, there is a failure to provide a clear-cut indication of claim scope because the functional language is not sufficiently precise and definite, resulting in no boundaries on the claim limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang, US 20220110072.
For claim 1. Zhang teaches: An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: (Zhang, fig 17, paragraph 138-139, device includes processor, memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations)
obtain a configuration that indicates one or more parameters for power headroom reporting, wherein the one or more parameters include an indication to enable reporting of at least first information associated with full-duplex communications; (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162, UE receives indication from network entity, the indication informs the UE whether to report power headroom report for half duplex, power headroom report for full duplex, or both; also see fig 11-12, paragraph 94-105 for more information)
and send a first power headroom report that comprises the first information associated with full-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, based on the indication, UE reports at least one of power headroom report for full duplex or power headroom report for half duplex to network entity)
For claim 2. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the indication includes a field that indicates to enable reporting of the first information associated with full-duplex communications and second information associated with half-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162, UE receives indication from network entity, the indication informs the UE whether to report power headroom report for half duplex, power headroom report for full duplex, or both; also see fig 11-12, paragraph 94-105 for more information)
For claim 3. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: to send the first power headroom report, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send the first power headroom report via one or more first resources allocated for full-duplex communications, and the first information is based on a full-duplex communication via the one or more first resources. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 4. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, via one or more first resources allocated for half-duplex communications, a second power headroom report that includes second information associated with half-duplex communications, and the second information is based on a half-duplex communication via the one or more first resources. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 5. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: to send the first power headroom report, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send the first power headroom report via one or more first resources allocated for half-duplex communications, and the first information is based on a communication via one or more second resources allocated for full-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report at least one of the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode or the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 6. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 5, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the communication includes a reference transmission. (Zhang, fig 3A-3C, paragraph 80-81, gnB communicates (transmits and receives) with HD UE and FD UE; paragraph 74, base station transmits reference signal to UE; paragraph 76, UE transmits reference signal to base station; paragraph 149, the indication is provided via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) signaling)
For claim 7. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, via one or more first resources allocated for full-duplex communications, a second power headroom report that includes second information, and the second information is based on a communication via one or more second resources allocated for half-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report at least one of the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode or the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 8. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 7, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the communication includes a reference transmission. (Zhang, fig 3A-3C, paragraph 80-81, gnB communicates (transmits and receives) with HD UE and FD UE; paragraph 74, base station transmits reference signal to UE; paragraph 76, UE transmits reference signal to base station; paragraph 149, the indication is provided via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) signaling)
For claim 10. Zhang teaches: An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: (Zhang, fig 18, paragraph 140-141, device includes processor, memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations)
send a configuration that indicates one or more parameters for power headroom reporting, wherein the one or more parameters include an indication that enables reporting of at least first information associated with full-duplex communications; (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162, network entity sends indication to UE, the indication informs the UE whether to report power headroom report for half duplex, power headroom report for full duplex, or both; also see fig 11-12, paragraph 94-105 for more information)
and obtain a first power headroom report that comprises the first information associated with full-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 160-162, network entity monitors (receives) at least one of power headroom report for full duplex or power headroom report for half duplex from UE; paragraph 147-149, based on the indication, UE reports at least one of power headroom report for full duplex or power headroom report for half duplex to network entity)
For claim 11. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the indication includes a field that indicates to enable reporting of the first information associated with full-duplex communications and second information associated with half-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162, UE receives indication from network entity, the indication informs the UE whether to report power headroom report for half duplex, power headroom report for full duplex, or both; also see fig 11-12, paragraph 94-105 for more information)
For claim 12. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: to obtain the first power headroom report, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain the first power headroom report via one or more first resources allocated for full-duplex communications, and the first information is based on a full-duplex communication via the one or more first resources. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 13. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain, via one or more first resources allocated for half-duplex communications, a second power headroom report that includes second information associated with half-duplex communications, and the second information is based on a half-duplex communication via the one or more first resources. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 14. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: to obtain the first power headroom report, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain the first power headroom report via one or more first resources allocated for half-duplex communications, and the first information is based on a communication via one or more second resources allocated for full-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report at least one of the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode or the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 15. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 14, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the communication includes a reference transmission. (Zhang, fig 3A-3C, paragraph 80-81, gnB communicates (transmits and receives) with HD UE and FD UE; paragraph 74, base station transmits reference signal to UE; paragraph 76, UE transmits reference signal to base station; paragraph 149, the indication is provided via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) signaling)
For claim 16. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, and Zhang further teaches: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain, via one or more first resources allocated for full-duplex communications, a second power headroom report that includes second information, and the second information is based on a communication via one or more second resources allocated for half-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 151-152, report at least one of the first PHR (power headroom report for half duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the HD (half duplex) operating mode or the second PHR (power headroom report for full duplex) in slots of the resources allocated for the FD (full duplex) operating mode; the determination is based on resources allocated per HD (half duplex) mode and FD (full duplex) mode)
For claim 17. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 16, and Zhang further teaches: wherein the communication includes a reference transmission. (Zhang, fig 3A-3C, paragraph 80-81, gnB communicates (transmits and receives) with HD UE and FD UE; paragraph 74, base station transmits reference signal to UE; paragraph 76, UE transmits reference signal to base station; paragraph 149, the indication is provided via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) signaling)
For claim 19. Zhang teaches: A method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising: (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162)
obtaining a configuration that indicates one or more parameters for power headroom reporting, wherein the one or more parameters include an indication to enable reporting of at least first information associated with full-duplex communications; (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, 160-162, UE receives indication from network entity, the indication informs the UE whether to report power headroom report for half duplex, power headroom report for full duplex, or both; also see fig 11-12, paragraph 94-105 for more information)
and sending a first power headroom report that comprises the first information associated with full-duplex communications. (Zhang, paragraph 147-149, based on the indication, UE reports at least one of power headroom report for full duplex or power headroom report for half duplex to network entity)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, US 20220110072 in view of Su, US 20220159580.
For claim 9. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Zhang doesn’t teach: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send capability information that indicates the apparatus supports reporting power headroom information associated with full-duplex communications.
Su from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send capability information that indicates the apparatus supports reporting power headroom information associated with full-duplex communications. (Su, fig 15, paragraph 209, 217, terminal sends capability information indicating whether the terminal supports full duplex, when the base station receives the capability information that the terminal reports and the reported capability information includes the information indicating that the terminal supports the full duplex, base station transmits an indication to the terminal so as to indicate that the terminal may report the full duplex mode power headroom)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Su into Zhang, since Zhang suggests a technique for network entity (base station) communicating an indication to UE (terminal) informing the UE to report power headroom report for full duplex, and Su suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique receiving capability information indicating whether the terminal supports full duplex and communicating such indication when the capability information includes the information indicating that the terminal supports the full duplex (Su, fig 15, paragraph 209, 217) to ensure that the terminal can supports power headroom reporting for full duplex thus improve communication efficiency in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 18. Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 10, however Zhang doesn’t teach: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain capability information that indicates a user equipment supports reporting power headroom information associated with full-duplex communications.
Su from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain capability information that indicates a user equipment supports reporting power headroom information associated with full-duplex communications. (Su, fig 15, paragraph 209, 217, terminal sends capability information indicating whether the terminal supports full duplex, when the base station receives the capability information that the terminal reports, and the reported capability information includes the information indicating that the terminal supports the full duplex, base station transmits an indication to the terminal so as to indicate that the terminal may report the full duplex mode power headroom)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Su into Zhang, since Zhang suggests a technique for network entity (base station) communicating an indication to UE (terminal) informing the UE to report power headroom report for full duplex, and Su suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique receiving capability information indicating whether the terminal supports full duplex and communicating such indication when the capability information includes the information indicating that the terminal supports the full duplex (Su, fig 15, paragraph 209, 217) to ensure that the terminal can supports power headroom reporting for full duplex thus improve communication efficiency in the analogous art of communication.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462