DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because abstract contains Fig. 1, which needs to be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) in view of TANAKA (US 2020/0319541 A1).
YAN teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 [fig 1A], comprising: a laser source assembly 100 [fig 5A] [0075] configured to provide illumination beams [0075], the laser source assembly 100 [fig 5A] including: at least one laser device 110, 120, 130 [fig 5A] [0075] configured to emit laser beams of three colors (Red, Green, Blue) [0075], the laser beams of three colors including a blue laser beam, a green laser beam, and a red laser beam [0075]; a combining lens group 106, 107, 108 [fig 5A] [0126] [0127] located on a laser-exit side of the at least one laser device 110, 120, 130 [fig 5A] and configured to combine the laser beams emitted by the at least one laser device [0126] [0127]; a homogenizing component 109 [fig 5A] located on a laser-exit side of the combining lens group 106, 107, 108 [fig 5A] and configured to homogenize the laser beams emitted by the at least one laser device 110, 120, 130 [fig 5A]; a light modulation assembly 220 (DMD) [fig 2] configured to modulate the illumination beams [0056] provided by the laser source assembly 100 [fig 2], so as to obtain projection beams [0056], the light modulation assembly 220 [fig 2]. a prism group (shown with fig 2 below) located on a laser-exit side of the lens group (shown with fig 2 below) and configured to reflect the illumination beams to a light modulation device 220 [fig 2]; and the light modulation device 220 (DMD) [fig 2] configured to modulate the illumination beams (from illumination laser path 210) [fig 2] [0056], so as to obtain the projection beams [0056]; and a projection lens 300 [fig 2] configured to project the projection beams into an image [0056].
YAN does not teach a diffusion plate located between the combining lens group and the fly-eye lens and configured to homogenize the incident laser beams; a lens group located on a laser-exit side of the fly-eye lens, a center point of a laser-exit surface of the fly-eye lens coinciding with a focus of the lens group, and the lens group being configured to first diffuse the illumination beams and then converge the illumination beams.
TANAKA teaches a projection display apparatus 120 [fig 5] having a diffusion plate 30 (shown with fig 5 below) [0020] located between the combining lens group 21, 25 (shown with fig 5 below) [0022] [0025] and the fly-eye lens 200, 201 [fig 5] [0079] and configured to homogenize the incident laser beams [0079]; a lens group 203 (superimposing lens) [fig 5] [0077] located on a laser-exit side of the fly-eye lens 200, 201 [fig 5], a center point of a laser-exit surface (shown with dotted lines in fig 5) of the fly-eye lens 200, 201 [fig 5] coinciding with a focus of the lens group 203 [fig 5], and the lens group 203 [fig 5] being configured to first diffuse the illumination beams (diffused by the diffuser 30) (as shown with figure 5 below) and then converge the illumination beams (towards the dichroic mirror 204) [fig 5].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diffusion plate located between the combining lens group and the fly-eye lens and configured to homogenize the incident laser beams; a lens group located on a laser-exit side of the fly-eye lens, a center point of a laser-exit surface of the fly-eye lens coinciding with a focus of the lens group, and the lens group being configured to first diffuse the illumination beams and then converge the illumination beams as taught by TANAKA to the laser projection apparatus as disclosed by YAN to generate output light with a wider color gamut (TANAKA; [0006]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) in view of TANAKA (US 2020/0319541 A1) and further in view of Kruschwitz et al. (US 2003/0039036 A1; Kruschwitz).
YAN in view of TANAKA teaches the invention as cited above except for the diffusion plate is rotatably provided between the combining lens group and the fly-eye lens; and the diffusion plate is movably provided between the combining lens group and the fly eye lens.
Kruschwitz teaches a laser display system [fig 1] having the diffusion plate 34 [fig 1] [0032] is rotatably provided (diffuser 34 is attached to a motion imparting means 36, which imparts a linear, rotary, or random motion to the diffuser 34) [0036] between the combining lens group 30 [fig 1] (collimating lens 30 can be a singlet or a compound lens, and transforms the diverging beam 28 into a collimated beam 32) [0022] and the fly-eye lens 40 [fig 1]; and the diffusion plate is movably provided (diffuser 34 is attached to a motion imparting means 36, which imparts a linear, rotary, or random motion to the diffuser 34) [0036] between the combining lens group 30 [fig 1] and the fly eye lens 40 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffusion plate is rotatably provided between the combining lens group and the fly-eye lens; and the diffusion plate is movably provided between the combining lens group and the fly eye lens as taught by Kruschwitz to the laser projection apparatus as disclosed by YAN in view of TANAKA to optimize system design, and exhibits reduced speckle and eliminates coherence artifacts at the spatial light modulator while exhibiting high throughput efficiency (Kruschwitz; [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 13, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a plurality of first sub-microlenses configured to receive the blue laser beam, the green laser beam, and a first portion of the red laser beam; and a plurality of second sub-microlenses configured to receive a second portion of the red laser beam; and a plurality of second microlenses disposed on a laser-exit surface of the base and respectively corresponding to the plurality of first microlenses; wherein an area of a beam spot produced by the blue laser beam and the green laser beam on a laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is less than an area of a beam spot produced by the red laser beam on the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens; and a dimension of the first sub-microlens in a fast axis direction of the incident laser beam is greater than a dimension of the second sub-microlens in the fast axis direction.
Claims 14-15 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 13.
As of claim 16, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the first laser beam and the second laser beam each including the blue laser beam, the green laser beam, and the red laser beam; the combining lens group includes a first combining component, the first combining component is located on laser-exit sides of the first laser device and the second laser device and configured to reflect the first laser beam and transmit the second laser beam; and an arrangement direction of the first laser device and the first combining component is perpendicular to an arrangement direction of the second laser device and the first combining component; the first combining component includes: a first transflective portion disposed obliquely with respect to a laser-exit direction of at least one of the first laser device or the second laser device and configured to reflect the blue laser beam and the green laser beam in the first laser beam and transmit the red laser beam in the second laser beam; and a second transflective portion disposed obliquely with respect to the laser-exit direction of at least one of the first laser device or the second laser device and configured to reflect the red laser beam in the first laser beam and transmit the blue laser beam and the green laser beam in the second laser beam.
As of claim 17, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the combining lens group includes: a second combining component located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device and configured to reflect the first laser beam; and a third combining component located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device and configured to reflect the second laser beam; an arrangement direction of the first laser device and the second combining component being parallel to an arrangement direction of the second laser device and the third combining component; the second combining component and the third combining component each include: a first lens configured to reflect the green laser beam; a second lens configured to reflect the blue laser beam and transmit the green laser beam; and a third lens configured to reflect the red laser beam and transmit the green laser beam and the blue laser beam; wherein the first lens, the second lens, and the third lens are sequentially arranged in a first direction and each are disposed obliquely with respect to the first direction, on a plane where the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is located, an orthogonal projection of the first lens, an orthogonal projection of the second lens, and an orthogonal projection of the third lens at least partially overlap with each other.
As of claim 18, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the combining lens group includes: a second combining component located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device and configured to reflect the first laser beam; the second combining component including: a fourth lens configured to reflect the green laser beam; a fifth lens configured to reflect the blue laser beam and transmit the green laser beam, wherein on a plane where the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is located, an orthogonal projection of the fourth lens at least partially overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the fifth lens; and a sixth lens and a seventh lens that are configured to reflect the red laser beam, wherein on the plane where the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is located, orthogonal projections of the sixth lens and the seventh lens are located on two sides of the orthogonal projection of the fifth lens in a second direction, respectively; and a third combining component located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device and configured to reflect the second laser beam; an arrangement direction of the first laser device and the second combining component being parallel to an arrangement direction of the second laser device and the third combining component; and the third combining component including an eighth lens configured to reflect the red laser beam and transmit the green laser beam and the blue laser beam, wherein on the plane where the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is located, an orthogonal projection of the eighth lens at least partially overlaps with the orthogonal projections of the fourth lens and the fifth lens and is separated from the orthogonal projections of the sixth lens and the seventh lens.
As of claim 19, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the laser source assembly further includes at least one polarization conversion component, and the at least one polarization conversion component is located between the at least one laser device and the combining lens group and configured to change a polarization direction of at least a portion of the laser beam of at least one color in the laser beams of three colors.
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
As of claim 1, the closest prior art YAN et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1; YAN) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 which includes an apparatus housing 101 and a plurality of optical portions. The plurality of optical portions includes a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a lens 300. Each optical portion (such as the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, or the lens 300) is encapsulated in a corresponding housing, and meets certain sealing or air-tight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 may be hermetically sealed through a corresponding housing, which may better solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300 are installed in the apparatus housing 101. The optical engine 200 is connected to the lens 300 and the optical engine 200 and the lens 300 are disposed along a first direction X of the apparatus housing 101 to divide space in the apparatus housing 101 into a first region M.sub.1 and a second region M.sub.2. The first region M.sub.1 is provided with the laser source 100 therein, and the second region M.sub.2 is provided with at least one circuit board therein. As shown in FIG. 1A, the first direction X may be a width direction of the laser projection apparatus 10, and according to a usage manner, the first direction X may be opposite to a viewing direction of a user. The first region M.sub.1 is located at a first side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the first region M.sub.1 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and a portion of the apparatus housing 101. The second region M.sub.2 is located at a second side of the lens 300 and the optical engine 200. That is, the second region M.sub.2 refers to a space enclosed by the optical engine 200, the lens 300, and another portion of the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is a pure three-color laser source, and is able to emit a red laser beam, a blue laser beam and a green laser beam. Therefore, the laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams to the optical engine 200. Referring to FIGS. 1A and 5B, the laser source 100 has a first laser outlet 103, the optical engine 200 has a second laser inlet 201 and a third laser outlet 202, and the optical engine 200 is provided with a laser modulator therein. According to a design of an illumination laser path inside the optical engine, the second laser inlet 201 and the third laser outlet 202 are located on different side walls of the optical engine that are in a perpendicular relationship. The perpendicular relationship of different side walls herein refers to a perpendicular relationship in spatial positions. Different side walls may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in a cuboid shape, or may be different side walls of an optical engine housing in an irregular three-dimensional shape. The first laser outlet 103 of the laser source 100 is connected to the second laser inlet 201 of the optical engine 200. Laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter an inside of the optical engine 200, and then reach the laser modulator, and are output to the lens 300 through the third laser outlet 202 of the optical engine 200 after being modulated by the laser modulator. FIG. 1C is a schematic diagram showing a principle of a laser path of a laser projection apparatus. As shown in FIG. 1C, the laser projection apparatus is divided into three optical portions according to different optical functions, i.e., the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the lens 300. The laser source 100 includes laser assemblies of three colors and a plurality of optical lenses, and the plurality of optical lenses are able to homogenize and shrink the laser beams. Here, “shrinks” a laser beam may refer to make a cross-section area of the laser beam smaller. The laser beams emitted by the laser source 100 enter the optical engine 200. The optical engine includes a laser pipe 203. Usually, the laser pipe 203 is located at a front end of the optical engine, and first receives the illumination beams emitted by the laser source. The laser pipe 203 has a laser mixing function and a homogenizing function. The optical engine further includes some lens groups, so that the illumination beams may enter the laser modulator, such as a laser valve 204. After the laser valve 204 modulates the laser beams, the laser beams enter lens groups of the lens 300 for imaging. The laser modulator included in the optical engine 200 is a core component of the laser projection apparatus. The laser modulator (such the laser valve) may be a three-piece liquid crystal display (LCD) laser valve, or a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) laser valve, or a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) laser valve. The DMD laser valve is applied to a digital light processing (DLP) projection architecture. YAN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the at least one laser device and configured to combine the laser beams emitted by the at least one laser device; and a fly-eye lens located on a laser-exit side of the combining lens group and configured to homogenize the laser beams emitted by the at least one laser device, the fly-eye lens including: a base; a plurality of first microlenses disposed on a laser-incident surface of the base, and the plurality of first microlenses including: a plurality of first sub-microlenses configured to receive the blue laser beam, the green laser beam, and a first portion of the red laser beam; and a plurality of second sub-microlenses configured to receive a second portion of the red laser beam; and a plurality of second microlenses disposed on a laser-exit surface of the base and respectively corresponding to the plurality of first microlenses; wherein an area of a beam spot produced by the blue laser beam and the green laser beam on a laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens is less than an area of a beam spot produced by the red laser beam on the laser-incident surface of the fly-eye lens; and a dimension of the first sub-microlens in a fast axis direction of the incident laser beam is greater than a dimension of the second sub-microlens in the fast axis direction.
Claims 2-11 are allowed as being dependent on claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Yu et al. (US 20220146921 A1) teaches a projection system, comprising a first light source which is an array light source, the first light source being divided into a plurality of illumination areas, and each illumination area may be independently controllable so as to generate a first illumination light field of which the brightness and darkness may be modulated; a second light source comprises an illumination unit and a light steering unit; the light steering unit redistributes illumination light emitted from the illumination unit to generate a second illumination light field of which the brightness and darkness may be modulated, wherein the first and second illumination light fields overlap to generate a combined light field. Also provided is a projection display method. The goal of simultaneously increasing image peak value brightness and lowering image dark field brightness is achieved, and a projection system that has a high contrast ratio is thus obtained;
- Prior Art Lin (US 20210389584 A1) teaches a projection device which includes an excitation light source of the projection device which emits a first light beam incident to a light wavelength conversion wheel along a first direction. The light wavelength conversion wheel outputs the first light beam at a first timing, and converts the first light beam into a second light beam to be outputted at a second timing. The second light beam exits the light wavelength conversion wheel along a second direction. The first and second light beams sequentially penetrate a color filter wheel and a light homogenizing element, so that an illumination system outputs an illumination beam. The illumination beam is incident to a light valve along a third direction to be converted into an image beam. The image beam exits the light valve along a fourth direction. The first to fourth directions are different from each other and are located on a same plane.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882