DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2025, 05/09/2025 and 03/05/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 03/05/2024 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23, 26, 29, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rado (US 2017/0086506 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 35, Rado discloses a vaporizer – (construed as an aerosol delivery device) having an atomizer module, see abstract – (corresponds to an atomizer; and an aerosol delivery device comprising an atomizer). The atomizer module to include an atomizer cup 230 which is formed of a ceramic material and has a transverse wall 244 – (construed as a first side) and a proximal edge 248 – (construed as a second side), see [0042], FIG 15 – (corresponds to a monolithic, ceramic element, having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side); a heating element 240 having a substantially planar heating surface and where the heating element heating surface is positioned to ace the first side of the monolithic, ceramic element; and an insulating sleeve 236 which is separate from the heating element – (corresponds to an insulator).
Regarding claim 23, the atomizer cup is configured to receive vaporizing medium, see abstract – (construed as the monolithic, ceramic element is a fluid transfer element).
Regarding claim 26, the atomizer cup/monolithic, ceramic element has a recess formed in the transverse wall/first side, and the heating surface is positioned to face a base surface of the recess, see FIGS 13-14.
Regarding claim 29, the heater is fully received within the recess, see FIGS 13-14.
Regarding claim 34, the vaporizer to include the atomizer is configured to have a rectangular shape, see [0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rado (US 2017/0086506 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2025/0143368 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Rado does not explicitly disclose the heating element is sandwiched between thermally conductive materials. Han discloses an aerosol generating apparatus. The apparatus is configured to have a heater module 112 to include a tube of formed of thermally conductive material. And where doing so provides for heating material and/or components through conduction, convection or radiation. Thus, a temperature of an aerosol generating material may increase by heating, and as a result, aerosol may be generated, see [0069] – [0070]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to sandwich the heating element between thermally conductive materials to maximize the heating potential and/or efficiency of the heating element.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rado’s vaporizer to dispose the heating element between thermally conductive materials as reasonably suggested by Han to provide the aforementioned benefits.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rado (US 2017/0086506 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Brammer et al. (US 2015/0114409 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Rado does not explicitly disclose the use of an absorptive pad. Brammer discloses an aerosol delivery device. The device is configured to use an absorptive layer – (construed as an absorptive pad) where the layer is suitable for reduce splatter and heat loss, see [0157]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to disposed such a layer on the first side of the atomizer cup near the heating element to maximize the benefit of reduced splatter and heat loss.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rado’s vaporizer to include the use of an absorptive layer as taught by Brammer to provide the aforementioned benefits.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25, 27-28 and 30-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art Rado while disclosing a vaporizer having an atomizer module does not teach or reasonably suggest the structural elements of: at least one passage proximate the periphery thereof for providing a conduit for liquid aerosol precursor to travel from the second side to the first side of the monolithic, ceramic element; at least one aperture extending from the base surface to the second side, and the at least one aperture comprises a centrally located aperture; and the insulator substantially encloses the heater within the recess; the insulator is fully received within the recess; the first side comprises the base surface and a top surface, and the insulator is positioned along the top surface; and electrical leads passing through or around the insulator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749