DETAILED ACTION
The following Final Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 1/30/2026.
Status of the claims: Claims 1,2,and 5-10 are hereby examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites “first connecting flanges (4013) symmetrically arranged at intervals of 180 degrees”. There is no support for this language in the specification as filed, thus it is considered new matter.
Specification
The amendment filed 1/30/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Claim 5 recites “first connecting flanges (4013) symmetrically arranged at intervals of 180 degrees”. There is no support for this language in the specification as filed, thus it is considered new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campagna et al US 2021/0262286 in view of Mase EP0093289.
In regard to claim 1, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose a spring driving system for a cordless soft gauze curtain, comprising: a first spring joint (1115), a transmission intermediate pipe (1110), a main spring (1105), a retarder (606)(608)(609)(610)(691), wherein the transmission intermediate pipe (1110) is sleeved with the main spring (1105), one end of the transmission intermediate pipe (1110) is sleeved with the first spring joint (1115), the other end of the transmission intermediate pipe (21) is sleeved with the retarder (17), the main spring (1105) is connected to the first spring joint (1115) and the retarder (606)(608)(609)(610)(691), respectively; wherein the retarder (606)(608)(609)(610)(691) consists of a second spring joint (691), a first retarding module (609), a second retarding module (608), and a driving wheel (617), the second spring joint (691) is sleeved with the driving wheel (617), the first retarding module (609) and the second retarding module (608) are disposed between the driving wheel (617) and the second spring joint (691), and the second spring joint (691), the first retarding module (609), the second retarding module (608) and the driving wheel (617) are detachably fixed together in an interlocking manner.
Campagna et al ‘286 fails to disclose the first spring joint is connected to the transmission intermediate pipe through a pin.
Mase ‘289 discloses the element (4) is connected to a pipe (2) through a pin (5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Campagna et al ‘286 to connect the first spring joint to the transmission intermediate pipe through a pin as taught by Mase ‘289 as such would provide a secure connection preventing relative movement between the two elements that is also releasable if needed.
In regard to claim 2, Campagna et al ‘286 discloses wherein the transmission intermediate pipe (1110) is symmetrically provided with limiting slots ( on the outer surface, shown in Figure 12 below, the unnumbered slots are symmetrical about a line which bisects the shaft).
In regard to claim 5, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein the second spring joint (691) is symmetrically provided with spring bayonets (694), an oil slot hole (opening on left of 682) is formed in the second spring joint (401), and an edge of an end surface of the second spring joint (691) is provided with first connecting flanges (outer ribs) symmetrically arranged at intervals of 180 degrees.
In regard to claim 6, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein the first retarding module (609) consists of a fixed cover (674), a first sun gear (679), first planetary gears (665), and a first planetary gear cover (667), the fixed cover (674) is provided with the first planetary gear cover (667), at least one of the first planetary gears (665) is disposed between the first planetary gear cover (667) and the fixed cover (675), the first sun gear (679) is disposed in the first planetary gear cover (667) among the first planetary gears (665) and at least one of the first planetary gears (665) is evenly disposed in a circumferential direction around an axis of the first sun gear (679).
In regard to claim 7, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein stepped slots (groove within 678) are spaced in the fixed cover (674), and connecting holes (which hold 665) are equally spaced in an end surface of the fixed cover (674).
In regard to claim 8, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein the second retarding module (606) consists of a gear sleeve (right side and middle of 624), a second sun gear (620), second planetary gears (615), and a second planetary gear cover (left side of 624), the gear sleeve (right side and middle of 624) is provided with the second planetary gear cover (left side of 624), at least one of the second planetary gears (615) is disposed between the second planetary gear cover (left side of 624) and the gear sleeve (right side and middle of 624), at least one of the second planetary gears (615) is disposed in central symmetry, and the second sun gear (620) is disposed in the second planetary gear cover (left side of 624) among the second planetary gears (615).
In regard to claim 9, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein the gear sleeve ((right side and middle of 624) is provided with second connecting flanges (middle, shown below) symmetrically arranged between the first connecting flanges.
In regard to claim 10, Campagna et al ‘286 disclose wherein an oil slot center hole (middle opening is formed in the driving wheel (617), transmission teeth (626) are uniformly distributed on an inner side of the driving wheel (617), at least one rib (shown below) is spaced on the driving wheel (617), and buckles (shown below) and connecting studs (shown below) are spaced on a port of the driving wheel (617).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Mase does not disclose “the first spring joint (1) is connected to the transmission intermediate tube (2) via pins (102), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Mase is used to teach that it is known to connected two element with a pin. Campagna clearly discloses that the first spring joint is connected to the transmission intermediate pipe, while Mase is used to teach that connection via a pin is known. As such, the combination is proper and the claimed limitations are taught.
In response to applicant’s argument that the spring joint 691 of Campagna has a different function, motion state and installation position that is different than the second spring joint 401 of the application, it is noted that the features on which the applicant relies (function, motion state and installation position) are not claimed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that component 609 of Campagna is part of a gear reduction mechanism while the first retarder module 402 of the application includes planetary gears designed to achieve unidirectional damping and may have different internal structure and gear ration than 609, it is noted that the features on which the applicant relies (planetary gears/internal structure) are not claimed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, the gear reduction mechanism would serve to retard rotation.
In response to applicant’s argument that component 608 of Campagna is a one way clutch while the second retarding module 403 is a planetary gear retarder used for speed reduction and torque increase with fundamentally different working principles, function and purposes, it is noted that the features on which the applicant relies (planetary gears/internal structure) are not claimed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant has not described the second retarding module in any way so as to distinguish it from the one way clutch which would serve to retard rotation by stopping it in a specific direction.
In response to applicant’s argument that component 617 is a fixed ring gear and not a driving wheel which is intended for output drive it is noted that the features on which the applicant relies (not fixed) are not claimed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant has not described the driving wheel in any way so as to distinguish it from the ring gear which would serve to help drive through its interaction with the planetary gears.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634