DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langton et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0250995, hereinafter “Langton”) in view of Gula et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0007241, hereinafter “Gula”); further in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0372884, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Claims 1 and 10:
Langton discloses an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (§ 0025, Lines 7-8; Device 300 may include a processor 320); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (§ 0025, Lines 7-8; Device 300 may include a memory 330), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive an indication of at least one network condition from at least one client device (§ 0020, Lines 1-3; Security device 220 may detect a suspicious behavior relating to (e.g., originating from, destined to, associated with, etc.) client device 210 and may obtain suspect objects from client device 210 based on detecting the suspicious behavior);
determine at least one risk level associated with the at least one client device according to the at least one received network condition (§ 0020, Lines 8-10; Security device 220 may test the suspect object to determine whether the one or more suspect objects are malicious), wherein the at least one risk level is further determined based upon at least one of the following:
security scanner information (See citation above. Security device 220 may test (or “scan”) the suspect object to determine whether the one or more suspect objects are malicious); or
an aggregated risk of a plurality of client devices running together as an application; and
wherein the at least one network condition comprises at least one of the following:
vulnerability information and related exploitability information regarding software running on the at least one client device;
at least one indication of whether at least one port of the at least one client device is exposed to the public internet;
at least one protocol exploit;
at least one protocol misconfiguration;
at least one indication of abnormal requests received by the at least one client device (§ 0012, Lines 3-10; The security device may detect suspicious activity, such as network traffic provided to or received from a malicious source and/or a malicious destination by the client devices, network port scanning performed by or related to the client devices, malicious requests from one of the client devices to another one of the client devices, an anomalous signal provided or received by one of the client devices, or the like); or
at least one indication of criticality and sensitivity of at least one application running on the at least one client device; and
transmit at least one instruction to the at least one client device to perform at least one action associated with resolving the at least one risk level (§ 0020, Lines 10-12; Security device 220 may take remedial actions based on determining that a suspect object is malicious), wherein the at least one action comprises at least one of the following:
disabling at least one security group;
automatically updating the at least one client device with at least one software update;
running at least one action script configured to remove or stop services from running on the at least one client device;
disabling the at least one client device on a network;
changing a configuration on the at least one client device (§ 0050, Lines 4-8; Security device 220 and/or administrator device 250 may cause client device 210 to provide a notification to a user of client device 210, to quarantine a malicious object, to delete a malicious object, to run malware remediation software, or the like);
applying at least one rule in at least one firewall or at least one web application firewall;
enforcing at least one security group in a cloud environment; or
requesting at least one software update on the at least one client device.
Langton does not appear to disclose:
determining, by the network entity, accessibility of the at least one client device to a public internet using a network topology indicating a network path traversal, wherein the determining accessibility comprises evaluating at least one security group and at least one firewall rule;
wherein the at least one instruction is configured to cause enforcement of the at least one security group in a cloud environment based on the determined accessibility to the public internet.
Gula discloses a method for simulating attack paths (§ 0073, Lines 2-3) that determines accessibility of the at least one device to a public internet using a network topology indicating a network path traversal (§ 0077, Lines 6-9 and 11-13; The report may list the attack paths in an order from highest to lowest severity based on a type associated with the remote client IP addresses that could potentially exploit the host (i.e., IP addresses that can be exploited remotely may have a higher severity in the report than internal IP addresses that have no vulnerabilities). The attack paths listed in the report may include a critical severity level to represent exploits from remotely visible servers), wherein the determining accessibility comprises evaluating at least one security group (§ 0054, Lines 1-6; Operation 420 may deploy one or more active scanners external to the network and/or connect to a perimeter scanning service that can perform rapid external active scans to identify network hosts that face remote networks and/or network hosts that face remote networks on particular ports) and at least one firewall rule (§ 0054, Lines 7-11; Performing external scans may ensure that the services identified in operation 420 contribute to external risk profiles (i.e., are remotely visible) because a firewall protecting the network may only allow traffic from remote networks on certain ports), wherein the at least one instruction is configured to cause recommending of enforcement of the at least one security group in a cloud environment based on the determined accessibility to the public internet (TABLE 2 between §§ 0059-0060; An exemplary remotely exploitable services report includes a recommendation for protection by an Intrusion Prevention System).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Langton’s security device by integrating Gula’s method for simulating attack paths in order to identify potential weak points in a network that may be exploited (Gula, § 0073, Lines 3-4).
Zhou discloses a method for risk evaluation for a vulnerability where a security action (such as firewall policies being configured) is taken based on a vulnerability assessment (§ 0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Langton and Gula’s recommendation by executing it, as taught by Zhou, in order to properly address a collection of vulnerabilities (Zhou, § 0004, Lines 6-7).
The method of claim 1 is implemented by the apparatus of claim 10 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 2 and 11:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
poll the at least one client device to determine whether the client device has been exposed to the public internet;
determine whether the at least one client device has been exposed to a public internet based upon at least one application programming interface (API);
determine a status of the at least one client device based upon at least one cloud API;
receive a feed from a security scanner or software indicating software vulnerabilities based upon at least one of an application, service, or operation system run by the at least one client device (Langton, § 0055, Lines 7 and 11-12; Security device 220 may obtain suspect objects related to recently installed applications) (Also see Fig. 5B, Element 525);
assess a network path to the at least one client device via a public network; or
transmit at least one alert indicating received runtime privilege changes implemented on the at least one client device.
Claims 3 and 12:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one network condition further comprises:
at least one indication of abnormal traffic patterns detected on the at least one client device (Langton, § 0012, Lines 3-10; The security device may detect suspicious activity, such as network traffic provided to or received from a malicious source and/or a malicious destination by the client devices, network port scanning performed by or related to the client devices, malicious requests from one of the client devices to another one of the client devices, an anomalous signal provided or received by one of the client devices, or the like).
Claims 4 and 13:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one risk level is further determined based upon:
threat intelligence information received from at least one other network entity (Langton, § 0046, Lines 6-10; Security device 220 may determine whether the suspect object is malicious based on testing the suspect object, looking up the suspect object in a database of malicious objects, providing the suspect object to another device for testing, or the like).
Claims 5 and 14:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one action further comprises:
transmitting at least one alert to at least one operator indicating at least one issue to be resolved (Langton, § 0050, Lines 4-8; Security device 220 and/or administrator device 250 may cause client device 210 to provide a notification to a user of client device 210, to quarantine a malicious object, to delete a malicious object, to run malware remediation software, or the like).
Claims 6 and 15:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one network condition comprises at least one of a software version number, intrusion occurrence, vulnerability scan (Langton, § 0034, Lines 3-4; Security device 220 may detect a suspicious activity related to client device 210) (Langton, § 0037, Lines 1-3; Security device 220 may detect the suspicious activity by monitoring client device 210), or last update date/time.
Claims 7 and 16:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the risk level is at least partially based on a position of the at least one client device within a network (Langton, § 0012, Lines 1-2; A security device may provide security services to client devices on a customer network) (Langton, § 0013, Lines 1-4; A network administrator may need to ensure that the customer network is secure and may accordingly test the suspect objects to determine whether the suspect objects are malicious) or accessibility to the public internet.
Claims 8 and 17:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to:
designate the at least one client device with a first predetermined risk categorization (Langton, § 0020, Lines 8-10; Security device 220 may test the suspect object to determine whether the one or more suspect objects are malicious).
Claim 19:
Langton discloses an apparatus comprising:
means (§ 0025, Lines 7-10; Device 300 may include a bus 310, a processor 320, a memory 330, a storage component 340, an input component 350, an output component 360, and a communication interface 370) for receiving an indication of at least one network condition from at least one client device (§ 0020, Lines 1-3; Security device 220 may detect a suspicious behavior relating to (e.g., originating from, destined to, associated with, etc.) client device 210 and may obtain suspect objects from client device 210 based on detecting the suspicious behavior);
means (§ 0025, Lines 7-10; Device 300 may include a bus 310, a processor 320, a memory 330, a storage component 340, an input component 350, an output component 360, and a communication interface 370) for determining at least one risk level associated with the at least one client device according to the at least one received network condition (§ 0020, Lines 8-10; Security device 220 may test the suspect object to determine whether the one or more suspect objects are malicious), wherein the at least one risk level is further determined based upon at least one of the following:
security scanner information (See citation above. Security device 220 may test (or “scan”) the suspect object to determine whether the one or more suspect objects are malicious); or
an aggregated risk of a plurality of client devices running together as an application; and
wherein the at least one network condition comprises at least one of the following:
vulnerability information and related exploitability information regarding software running on the at least one client device;
at least one indication of whether at least one port of the at least one client device is exposed to the public internet;
at least one protocol exploit;
at least one protocol misconfiguration;
at least one indication of abnormal requests received by the at least one client device (§ 0012, Lines 3-10; The security device may detect suspicious activity, such as network traffic provided to or received from a malicious source and/or a malicious destination by the client devices, network port scanning performed by or related to the client devices, malicious requests from one of the client devices to another one of the client devices, an anomalous signal provided or received by one of the client devices, or the like); or
at least one indication of criticality and sensitivity of at least one application running on the at least one client device; and
means (§ 0025, Lines 7-10; Device 300 may include a bus 310, a processor 320, a memory 330, a storage component 340, an input component 350, an output component 360, and a communication interface 370) for transmitting at least one instruction to the at least one client device to perform at least one action associated with resolving the at least one risk level (§ 0020, Lines 10-12; Security device 220 may take remedial actions based on determining that a suspect object is malicious), wherein the at least one action comprises at least one of the following:
disabling at least one security group;
automatically updating the at least one client device with at least one software update;
running at least one action script configured to remove or stop services from running on the at least one client device;
disabling the at least one client device on a network;
changing a configuration on the at least one client device (§ 0050, Lines 4-8; Security device 220 and/or administrator device 250 may cause client device 210 to provide a notification to a user of client device 210, to quarantine a malicious object, to delete a malicious object, to run malware remediation software, or the like);
applying at least one rule in at least one firewall or at least one web application firewall;
enforcing at least one security group in a cloud environment; or
requesting at least one software update on the at least one client device.
Langton does not appear to disclose:
determining, by the network entity, accessibility of the at least one client device to a public internet using a network topology indicating a network path traversal, wherein the determining accessibility comprises evaluating at least one security group and at least one firewall rule;
wherein the at least one instruction is configured to cause enforcement of the at least one security group in a cloud environment based on the determined accessibility to the public internet.
Gula discloses a method for simulating attack paths (§ 0073, Lines 2-3) that determines accessibility of the at least one device to a public internet using a network topology indicating a network path traversal (§ 0077, Lines 6-9 and 11-13; The report may list the attack paths in an order from highest to lowest severity based on a type associated with the remote client IP addresses that could potentially exploit the host (i.e., IP addresses that can be exploited remotely may have a higher severity in the report than internal IP addresses that have no vulnerabilities). The attack paths listed in the report may include a critical severity level to represent exploits from remotely visible servers), wherein the determining accessibility comprises evaluating at least one security group (§ 0054, Lines 1-6; Operation 420 may deploy one or more active scanners external to the network and/or connect to a perimeter scanning service that can perform rapid external active scans to identify network hosts that face remote networks and/or network hosts that face remote networks on particular ports) and at least one firewall rule (§ 0054, Lines 7-11; Performing external scans may ensure that the services identified in operation 420 contribute to external risk profiles (i.e., are remotely visible) because a firewall protecting the network may only allow traffic from remote networks on certain ports), wherein the at least one instruction is configured to cause recommending of enforcement of the at least one security group in a cloud environment based on the determined accessibility to the public internet (TABLE 2 between §§ 0059-0060; An exemplary remotely exploitable services report includes a recommendation for protection by an Intrusion Prevention System).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Langton’s security device by integrating Gula’s method for simulating attack paths in order to identify potential weak points in a network that may be exploited (Gula, § 0073, Lines 3-4).
Zhou discloses a method for risk evaluation for a vulnerability where a security action (such as firewall policies being configured) is taken based on a vulnerability assessment (§ 0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Langton and Gula’s recommendation by executing it, as taught by Zhou, in order to properly address a collection of vulnerabilities (Zhou, § 0004, Lines 6-7).
Claim 20:
Langton in view of Gula and further in view of Zhou further discloses:
means for polling the at least one client device to determine whether the client device has been exposed to the public internet;
means for determining whether the at least one client device has been exposed to a public internet based upon at least one application programming interface (API);
means for determining a status of the at least one client device based upon at least one cloud API;
means (Langton, § 0025, Lines 7-10; Device 300 may include a bus 310, a processor 320, a memory 330, a storage component 340, an input component 350, an output component 360, and a communication interface 370) for receiving a feed from a security scanner or software indicating software vulnerabilities based upon at least one of an application, service, or operation system run by the at least one client device (Langton, § 0055, Lines 7 and 11-12; Security device 220 may obtain suspect objects related to recently installed applications) (Also see Langton, Fig. 5B, Element 525);
means for assessing a network path to the at least one client device via a public network; or
means for transmitting at least one alert indicating received runtime privilege changes implemented on the at least one client device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 on pages 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455