DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a FINAL office action in response to the Applicant’s response filed 18 March 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-15, 17, 18, and 20-23 have been amended.
The 112 (b) rejections for claims 12-17 and 22 have been overcome by amendments.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-23 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 March 2026 with regards to including a patient identifier in a geographic location have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the claims, the Applicant initially states on page 10 of their response, “However, without acquiescing to the rejection and to facilitate the prosecution, Applicant has amended claims 1, 12, and 18 to recite that "the set of label rules controls whether the patient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary." With respect to this argument, the Examiner notes that this stated amendment only been amended to claims 1 and 18, while claim 12 has been amended to state, “wherein the transmitted label update data comprises a patient identifier based on a set of label rules corresponding to the target, wherein the secure media content comprises patient identifying information that is removed to protect patient privacy when outside the approved geo-locational boundary.” As shown here, claim 12 refers to “secure media content” which comprises patient identifying information, and that this information is removed when outside the approved geo-locational boundary; while claim 1 has been amended to state, “wherein the transmitted label update comprises the patient identifier based on a set of label rules corresponding to the target, wherein the set of label rules controls whether the patient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary,” (and similarly claim 18). As shown here, claims 1 and 18 refer to the label rules used to transmit label updates, wherein the label rules control whether the patient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary; that is, it does not refer to removing patient identifying information when outside of the approved geo-locational boundary. Thus, contrary to the Applicant’s assertions, the Applicant has not amended the claims as they refer to in their arguments.
The Applicant continues on page 12 of their response, “Combination of Dearing, Jackson, and Krauss does not teach a system that includes patient identifiers in transmitted label data when inside approved secure boundaries; excludes patient identifiers from transmitted label data when outside approved secure boundaries; dynamically switches between these states as the package location changes; and uses location- specific label rules to control this conditional inclusion/exclusion.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the cited prior art of record and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. In this case, Dearing states in paragraph 25, “Dynamically configurable labels may further include one or more remote communication interfaces, such that a command to update the displayed label information may be sent to the dynamically configurable label from a remote location, such as a server or other administrative computing device. Thus, a dynamically configurable label on an item may be updated in real time or while the item is moving within the distribution network at a time after induction, without requiring intervention by an agent of the distribution network. In some embodiments, a dynamically configurable label may allow for delivery of an item when an exact address is not known or associated with the item until the item has completed at least a portion of its transit through the distribution network. In some embodiments, the dynamically configurable label can maintain anonymity of a recipient, or can allow for the use of a vanity address, Intelligent Address™, or personal address on the label at induction or deposit for sending. The dynamically configurable label can be changed to a delivery point recognizable to a delivery resource, such as a street address. The dynamically configurable label can be changed after induction, or at any point in the distribution network before the carrier receives the item for delivery.” (Emphasis added). In this case, Dearing has disclosed communicating updates to a dynamic label on a shipment, wherein the update includes information that is to be displayed on the label, including a shipping address. Dearing continues in paragraph 29, “In some aspects of the present disclosure, dynamically configurable labels may be used to implement conditional or sequential delivery instructions. A recipient may establish a “vanity address” or other recipient-specific addressing phrase that may differ from the actual address of a destination point where the recipient receives items from the distribution network. For example, the recipient may be a celebrity or other entity wishing to avoid publicly disclosing a street address. In this case, the recipient may provide to the distribution network an item of initial label information (e.g., a phrase associated with the recipient) to be correlated with the actual address. A sender wishing to send an item to the recipient may then send an item through the distribution network using only the item of initial label information associated with the recipient. After the item has been received at an induction point, the display on the dynamically configurable label may update at some point before delivery to replace the initial label information with updated label information including the actual address for delivery. For example, the label may detect when it is scanned upon arrival at a unit delivery facility prior to being assigned to or taken by a carrier for delivery, and update the display to reflect the actual address for delivery. Thus, the dynamically configurable label can allow an item carrier to see the correct delivery address while delivering the item, without requiring the delivery address to be made known to senders.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, Dearing has disclosed a dynamic label on an item being shipped, which receives updates while it is being shipped and changes the displayed shipping address based on the received update, and wherein the updates are sent when the when the shipment arrives in a geographic region. Further, Dearing discloses in paragraph 33 states, “The dynamically configurable label 110 further includes a display 120. The display may be any type of flat display, for example, electronic paper, LCD, IPS, LED, OLED, AMOLED, or the like. In some embodiments, the display 120 may be an electronic paper display configured to display information using electronic ink. The information displayed on the display 120 may include any combination of machine-readable and/or human-readable information. As will be described in greater detail, the display 120 may display various types of information such as delivery point information, intermediate delivery information, notifications, alerts, and/or any other supplemental content in addition to the static information. In some embodiments, the dynamically configurable label 110 does not include any static information 112, 114, 116, and all information, including some or all information depicted in static information 112, 114, 116, is displayed on the display 120 using electronic ink.” (Emphasis added). As shown here, Dearing has disclosed displaying shipping information on the dynamic label. Dearing continues in paragraph 51, “At the time of induction at its induction point 215, an item 100 and/or a dynamically configurable label 110 affixed to the item 100 may be associated with item information including, for example, an item identifier, a label identifier, an induction point identifier, a destination point identifier, routing information corresponding to one or more intermediate points 220, sender information, recipient information, a service standard or class, label information to be displayed on a display 120 of the dynamically configurable label 110, and/or any other information associated with the item 100. Some or all of the item information may be stored in the memory 140 of the dynamically configurable label 110 and/or in the database 210 of the delivery network 200. As will be described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 3-6, the item information stored in the dynamically configurable label 110 and/or the database 210, as well as additional information obtained during the transit of the item 100 through the distribution network 200, may be used to apply real-time or nearly real-time updates to the information displayed on the dynamically configurable label 110. In some embodiments, the dynamically configurable label 110 may be affixed to an item 100 such as a container, bin, pallet, or the like containing other items, for inter-facility use within the distribution network, and accordingly may not have an induction point 215. Instead, an item container may have an origination and a destination (e.g., hubs, regional distribution facilities, or unit delivery facilities) within the distribution network.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, Dearing has described storing shipping information, including item identifier, sender identifiers, recipient identifiers, and other label information in a database of the network, wherein the information is used to apply real-time or near real-time updates to the information displayed on the label. Dearing further states in paragraph 54, “In another example, the label information may include a first routing location to be displayed on the display 120 until an event or input is detected (e.g., a processing event, detected location, or manual input at input 128), and a second routing location to be displayed on the display 120 following the detected event or input. The routing location component of the label information may be, for example, an address or other identifier corresponding to the destination point 225 for the item 100, an address or other identifier corresponding to a planned intermediate point 220 for the item 100, etc. In some embodiments, the label information may include a machine-readable code corresponding to a determined routing plan for the item. When the label information has been displayed, the method 300 continues to block 306.” (Emphasis added). Dearing states in paragraph 56, “At sub-process 308, the label information is updated based on updated item information. Additional or updated item information, including new or updated label information to be displayed at display 120, may be received at the dynamically configurable label 110. For example, the updated item information may be received from the processor 205 (e.g., after being received at the processor from a shipper, recipient, or other via the interface 207) at the network communication module 134 via the network 135. In another example, the updated item information may be received from a nearby device such as a handheld device used by an agent of the distribution network 200, via the local communication module 142. Updating of label information based on updated item information is described in greater detail below with reference to FIGS. 4 and 5. When the label information has been updated based on updated item information, the method 300 continues to block 310.” (Emphasis added). Dearing continues in paragraph 60, “In some embodiments, the dynamically configurable label 110 can be configured to be changed when the item passes through a scanning area in a distribution network facility. For example, within a distribution network facility, there can be doorway scanners, area scanners, etc., which scan items as they move from one area of the facility to the next, such as from a processing area to a dock area, or from a dock area onto a truck, etc. Passive or active scanners can be positioned at transistion areas to scan and track items as they move in the network. When the dynamically configurable label 110 passes through or by such a scanner, or when a scanner signal is detected at the dynamically configurable label 110, the dynamically configurable label 110 can update automatically in response to the signal.” (Emphasis added). Dearing continues in paragraph 79, “In another example, the input can include the location of the dynamically configurable label 110, as detected by the GPS receiver 136. In one example, the label information update may be triggered when the dynamically configurable label 110 reaches a location within a predetermined radius (e.g., 10 miles, 5 miles, 1 mile, etc.) of the destination point 225 or another point along the item's route. In another example, the processor 132 can initiate a change in the display on the dynamically configurable label 110 when the item moves into a distribution network facility, when a vehicle transporting the item crosses a boundary, such as a state line, ZIP code boundary, etc.” (Emphasis added). Dearing continues in paragraph 81, “At block 610, the updated label information is displayed. In some embodiments, the processor 132 detects that the input has been received and, responsive to the input being received, causes the next item of updated label information to be retrieved from the memory 140 and displayed on the display 120. In other embodiments, the updated label information may be received from the server 205 and/or database 210 rather than from the memory 140. For example, the updated label information may be received with an input at the network communication module 134, or the processor 132 may request the updated label information from the server 205 in response to the input. The updated label information may include, for example, an identifier corresponding to a next intermediate point 220 to which the item 100 should be directed, an address or other identifier of the destination point 225, or any other sequential information facilitating transport of the item 100 to the recipient 230. When the updated label information is displayed, the method 600 can continue to block 612 or may return to block 608 if there are additional items of updated label information to be displayed. It will be understood that blocks 608 and 610 may be repeated as many times as desired or as necessary to sequentially implement all of the updated label information necessary for distribution of the item 100 from the induction point 215 to the destination point 225.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, Dearing has disclosed displaying shipping information on the dynamic shipping label, wherein the label receives event information (e.g. location determined by GPS, within a geo-fenced distance from a point, a scan event, etc.), and receives label update information from a server, and wherein the update information includes new information to be displayed on the label, including new destination identifiers and recipient information. Next, with respect to Jackson, it is noted that paragraph 12, “Furthermore, the long-range communications chip may have the capability to determine the location of the electronic envelope so that the electronic display may display information based on the location of the electronic envelope. In various embodiments, the long-range communications chip may utilize a global positioning system (GPS) chip included in the long-range communications chip to determine the location of the envelope so that the electronic display may display information based on the location of the envelope. In other embodiments, the long-range communications chip may utilize a global positioning system (GPS) chip included on the electronic envelope to determine the location of the envelope so that the electronic display may display information based on the location of the electronic envelope. In alternative embodiments, a transceiver at a carrier location may provide the electronic envelope with its location if the electronic envelope is detected by the transceiver so that the electronic display on the envelope may display information based on the location of the envelope.” (Emphasis added). Jackson continues in paragraph 13, “The carrier may handle the electronic envelope based on information displayed on the electronic display. In other embodiments, the carrier may handle the electronic envelope based on information selectively displayed on the electronic display. And in yet other embodiments, the carrier may handle the electronic envelope based on information selectively displayed on the electronic display according to instructions provided by the carrier computer. Furthermore, the carrier may sort the electronic envelope at a carrier location based on information displayed on the electronic display, on information selectively displayed on the electronic envelope, or on information selectively displayed on the electronic display according to instructions provided by the carrier computer. Additionally, the carrier may deliver the electronic envelope to a destination based on information displayed on the electronic display, on information selectively displayed on the electronic envelope, or on information selectively displayed on the electronic display according to instructions provided by the carrier computer.” (Emphasis added). Jackson continues in paragraph 19, “Additionally, the carrier computer may be further configured to transmit shipping information to the long-range communications chip in periodic intervals, beginning with the placement of a shipping order. Moreover, the carrier computer may be further configured to transmit shipping information to the long-range communications chip if the long-range communications chip determines that the electronic envelope is at a carrier location. Also, the carrier computer may be further configured to transmit shipping information to the long-range communications chip if the long-range communications chip utilizes a global positioning system (GPS) chip included in the long-range communications chip to determine that the electronic envelope is at a carrier location. Plus, the carrier computer may be further configured to transmit shipping information to the long-range communications chip if the long-range communications chip utilizes a global positioning system (GPS) chip included on the enclosure to determine that the electronic envelope is at a carrier location.” (Emphasis added). Jackson continues in paragraph 45, “Additionally, after a sender 60 has placed a shipping order, a carrier computer 70 may provide shipping information to an electronic envelope 10 at various times throughout the shipping process so that the electronic envelope 10 may display the shipping information on an updateable electronic display 12. In some embodiments, a carrier computer 70 may provide shipping information to an electronic envelope 10 prior to the time when the envelope 10 arrives at a carrier location or is introduced to a carrier sorting process. Thus, an electronic envelope 10 may already contain the shipping information required for sorting, handling, and shipping the envelope 10 to its final destination 90 or to any intermediate destination. In other embodiments, a carrier computer 70 may provide shipping information to an electronic envelope 10 in periodic intervals, beginning with the placement of a shipping order.” (Emphasis added). In addition, Jackson continues in paragraph 51, “A carrier computer 70 may be configured to provide various amounts of shipping information to an electronic envelope 10 each time that the carrier computer transmits shipping information to an electronic envelope 10. A carrier computer 70 may provide all of the shipping information required for the package to be sorted, handled, and shipped to its final destination. On the other hand, a carrier computer 70 may provide only the shipping information necessary for the electronic envelope 10 to be sorted, handled, and shipped to its next, immediate destination 90. Additionally, a carrier computer 70 may provide any amount of shipping information in between the entire required shipping information and the minimum necessary shipping information. Further, a carrier computer 70 transmission of shipping information may include instructions for components on an electronic envelope 10 to utilize in determining what shipping information to display on an updateable electronic display 12 and when to display the shipping information. In yet other embodiments, shipping information provided from a carrier computer 70 to an electronic envelope 10 may be encrypted, and therefore may not be displayed on an updateable electronic display 12 until decrypted. Even more, a carrier computer may sort shipping information in chronological order according to the shipping itinerary prior to transmitting the shipping information to an electronic envelope 10.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized in these sections, Jackson has disclosed a carrier computer/server transmitting shipping information to an electronic envelope based on its location, wherein the shipping information only includes information necessary to process the shipment at the upcoming/current processing point, and wherein the electronic envelope displays the relevant shipping information for the upcoming/current location. To further show this location based displaying, Jackson has stated in paragraph 57, “For example, a microcomputer chip 18 may be configured to selectively display on an updateable electronic display 12 a final destination address for an electronic envelope 10 if the microcomputer chip receives an indication, based on the location of the electronic envelope 10, that the electronic envelope 10 has been placed on a delivery truck and that the next destination of the electronic envelope 10 is the final destination of the electronic envelope 10. Additionally, a microcomputer chip 18 may be configured to selectively display on an updateable electronic display 12 content personalized for the recipient of said electronic envelope 10 in response to delivery of said envelope 10 to said recipient. In another example, a microcomputer chip 36 may be configured to selectively display on an updateable electronic display 12 sort destination within a carrier sorting station, or similar location, if the microcomputer chip 36 receives an indication, based on the location of the electronic envelope 10, that the electronic envelope 10 is at a carrier sorting station and that the next destination of the electronic envelope 10 is the conveyor address displayed on the updateable electronic display 12.” (Emphasis added). To further show the providing shipping information only relevant to the upcoming location, Jackson has also stated in paragraph 59, “In other embodiments in which a microcomputer chip 36 may display shipping information on an through the display of sequential static images and the microcomputer chip 36, the microcomputer chip 36 may be configured to receive shipping information at each successive location at which the updateable electronic display 12 is to be updated. In such embodiments, shipping information may be provided by a carrier computer 70 to a microcomputer chip 36, via a transceiver 55 and a communications chip 18, at each successive location, and the microcomputer chip 36 may update an updateable electronic display 12 with the received shipping information. In still other embodiments in which a microcomputer chip 36 may display shipping information on an through the display of sequential static images and the microcomputer chip 36, the microcomputer chip 36 may be configured to receive shipping information through a combination of methods, including receiving and storing shipping information related to more than one image and receiving shipping information at each successive location at which the updateable electronic display 12 is to be updated.” (Emphasis added). Jackson has also disclosed in paragraph 61, “All types of shipping information may be encrypted, including destination information that may include any destination to which an electronic envelope 10 is scheduled to be transported, personal information that may include the name, address, payment information, and other personal information of a sender 60 or a receiver of an electronic envelope, and any other shipping-related information that may be transmitted to an electronic envelope 10.” As shown here, the shipping information that would be provided to the envelope to be displayed, would include destination address and a recipient name. As such, Jackson has disclosed providing an electronic envelope with shipping information as it is processed through a delivery system, wherein the shipping information provided to be displayed includes only the necessary information to be processed at said location, wherein the final information can include recipient name and address, and wherein the shipping information is provided based on the location of the envelope, such as being at or approaching a location. Further, Krauss has disclosed in paragraph 34, “In exemplary operation, each transaction is submitted to blockchain 102, verified by the processors of the blockchain (e.g., by a consensus model), and then recorded as new blocks onto the ledger of blockchain 102. In this example, each of parties 104 includes a party-specific identifier (ID) that may be digitally verified by the blockchain for each respective transaction 106. Patient 116, for example, may include a wearable coded wristband if a patient in a hospital, or alternatively, may carry a physical ID (e.g., a driver's license) that is capable of being scanned or recorded by pharmacy (distributor) 112 and then digitally verified by blockchain 102.” (Emphasis added). Krauss continues in paragraph 35, “In exemplary operation, in step S122, originator 108 initiates a shipment of new consumables to receiver 110. Shipment step S122 generates a genesis transaction that digitally records details of the shipment, including without limitation, a manufacture ID, quantities, units of measure, perishability, recipient IDs, location, use restrictions, time, date, and physical location (alternatively, a virtual location in the case of data consumables) of both originator 108 and receiver 110. In the exemplary embodiment, the information of the recorded details is encoded into the genesis transaction, and the genesis transaction is digitally signed. The genesis transaction is subsequently submitted to the network of blockchain processors for validation and recording to blockchain 102.” (Emphasis added). Krauss has also disclosed in paragraph 42, “In step S130, prescription transaction encodes details of the pharmacy ID, the patient ID (e.g., hospital wristband, driver's license, etc., which is typically verified by pharmacy 112) and other relevant details of the delivery, including without limitation, time, date, location of delivery, insurance payment information, patient payment information, and refill information. All such details are then submitted to blockchain 102 as a single transaction or multiple sub-transactions for validation and addition to the ledger.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, Krauss has disclosed shipping items, wherein the shipment is associated with shipping information, including patient identifiers. Thus, when view in an ordered combination of references, the combination of Dearing, Jackson, and Krauss has disclosed shipping an item to a recipient (Dearing/Jackson/Krauss), wherein the shipment includes an electronic updatable display which displays shipping information (Dearing/Jackson), wherein the shipment receives shipping information from a server relevant to the current or upcoming location (Jackson) as determined by a GPS (Dearing/Jackson), and wherein the shipping information can include a recipient identifier (Dearing/Jackson), which can also be a patient identifier (Krauss). Additionally, the updating of the label can be set based on determining whether the shipment is inside or outside a particular distance to a shipping point (Dearing/Jackson), and wherein the information included only when within a range of the final destination includes the recipient identifier and actual address (Dearing/Jackson). Thus, the cited prior art has disclosed the argued amendment of, “wherein the set of label rules controls whether the patient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary.” Therefore, the Examiner maintains that this rejection is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 21, the Applicant has amended the claim to state, “de-identifying the label update data based on the set of label rules corresponding to the target, wherein de-identifying comprises removing the patient identifier from the label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary.” The Applicant has failed to provide support in their original written description that would convey to one skilled in the art that they were in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. In particular, the Applicant has amended the claim to state that, “de-identifying comprises removing the patient identifier from the label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary,” which is not supported in the specification. With regards to the specification, the Applicant states in paragraph 43, “In an aspect, smart label device(s) 198 can represent a device comprising a digital display capable of affixing or adhering to a package, material, specimen, sample or item (referred to as any of the foregoing throughout the disclosure). The smart label device(s) 198 can be configured to display update data (e.g., de-identified information, PHI, or other such information) or content at the display based on label requirement rule sets. As such, smart label device(s) 198 can display different content at different facilities, to different users or custodians of an item and smart label device(s) 198, or locations to which the smart label devices are located.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, the Applicant has referred to changing the content displayed on a label based on the location; which is not removing a patient identifier from label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary. The Applicant further states in paragraph 97, “Furthermore, smart label module 108 may display de-identifying data or identifying data at the display of smart label device(s) 198 based on the user's authorization or authentication credentials and/or location authorization data of the smart label device(s) 198. In another aspect, event recognition module 150-1 can generate, receive and/or transmit identification data of custodians whom handle a material (e.g., identification data can represent an identifying number, driver's license, etc.), patient reference information (e.g., patient biometrics, patient name, etc.), and other such identification data. Furthermore, in an aspect, event recognition module 150-1 can generate and store (e.g., at database(s) 163 or another data store) chain of compliance data including qualification data, courier performance history data, shipper transportation history data, route information related to a transporter, calibration data, and other such data.” (Emphasis added). Further paragraph 126 states, “The smart label device(s) 198 can be de-identified (e.g., remove patient PHI) and re-identified (e.g., inclusion of PHI and other identifiers) based on various rules (e.g., facility authorizations, user authorizations, facility policies, etc.). For instance, an infusion center nurse may need to view PHI on a smart label device(s) 198 to confirm that they are infusing a therapeutic corresponding to the correct patient.” (Emphasis added). As shown here, the Applicant’s specification describes de-identifying and re-identifying label devices based on rules, such as facility/user authorizations; which is not removing a patient identifier from label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary. The Applicant’s specification additionally states in paragraph 30, “The smart label device can change, edit, update, remove, and/or add content displayed on an interface of the smart label device based on various factors (e.g., authorization credentials of current custodian, location of the material, etc.).” (Emphasis added). The Applicant’s specification additionally states in paragraph 69, “Furthermore, in an aspect, smart label device(s) 198 can be re-utilized and reconfigured for use with other packages after completing a journey with a target package. Unlike traditional labels that must be printed and disposed of as well as replaced with new labels during each leg of a journey, smart label module 108 can update, add, or remove content to/from a display of smart label device(s) 198 such that the smart label device(s) 198 itself need not be changed, merely the content for display updated.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, the Applicant’s specification has described updating, adding, or removing content to/from a display; which is not removing a patient identifier from label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary. It is noted that at no point in the specification has the Applicant’s specification referred to removing a patient identifier from label update data when the current location is outside an approved geo-locational boundary. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 22 and 23 recite similar limitations, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 12-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 12, the Applicant recites the limitation " wherein the secure media content comprises patient identifying information that is removed to protect patient privacy when outside the approved geo-locational boundary.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In particular, the Applicant has failed to identify any secure media content previously in the claim, therefore rendering it unclear as to what exactly this element is referencing. In addition, while the claim states that the media content comprises patient identifying information that is removed, the claim is unclear for this recitation, as it further is unclear where this content is stored, how pieces of it are removed, what it means to be removed, and what is doing the removing. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “wherein label update data comprises patient identifying information that is removed to protect patient privacy when outside the approved geo-locational boundary.” Claims 13-17 and 22 depend upon claim 12, do not remedy these deficiencies and therefore are rejected via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing (US 2020/0143322 A1) (hereinafter Dearing), in view of Jackson (US 2009/0319078 A1) (hereinafter Jackson), and further in view of Krauss et al. (US 2019/0012666 A1) (hereinafter Krauss).
With respect to claim 18, Dearing teaches:
Querying, by the server device, first location data acquired from the smart label device and stored on a database of the server device or a blockchain data store, wherein the first location data represents a current location of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 5-8, 30, 42, 50, 56, 62, 64, 67, 72, and 77-81 which describe a server storing shipping identifier information, planned routing information, planned display information, and current condition and location information in a database, wherein the server queries the stored information to determine the location and determine if a new displayed label should be generated).
Verifying, by the server device, that the first location data corresponds to second location data representing a target, wherein the verifying is based on a comparison of the first location data to the second location data; Generating a geo-locational trigger event based on the verification of the first location data (See at least paragraphs 6-8, 27, 29, 51, 55-58, 62, 64-65, and 77-81 which describe a server verifying the location of the package compared to a location on a planned route, wherein when the locations match, such as the package being at a planned intermediary or destination location, or within a radius of the planned location, the server generates new label data to be displayed).
Transmitting label updated data to the smart label device based on the geo-locational trigger event (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location).
Wherein the set of label rules controls what information is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 25, 29, 33, 51, 54, 56, 60, and 81 which describe a server transmitting label updates to a shipment with an electronic label which displays shipping information, wherein the server uses geographic rules, such as distance to a point in a delivery network or destination, in order to trigger the transmission of shipping information).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Jackson teaches:
Wherein the transmitted label update data comprises a recipient identifier based on a set of label rules corresponding to the target (See at least paragraphs 12, 15, 16, 45, 56, and 59-62 which describe shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient).
Wherein the set of label rules controls whether recipient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved region (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson. By updating an electronic shipping label with new shipping information as it travels to new locations, including updating the label with recipient identifiers and addresses, a carrier will predictably increase the safety and privacy of recipients, as their identifying information will not be made available until necessary.
The combination of Dearing and Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. Dearing and Jackson do not explicitly disclose the following, however Krauss teaches:
Wherein a recipient identifier is a patient identifier (See at least paragraphs 23, 27, 32, 34, 35, 36, and 42 which describe shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By validating label identifiers and assigning patient identifiers to the shipment, a shipper would predictably be able to ship controlled substances, such as medicine to patients, thus ensuring that only the desired users receive the shipped product.
With respect to claim 19, the combination Dearing, Jackson, and Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Transmitting, by the server device, label update data to the smart label device based on a positive verification of the target area and a positive authentication of user identification data (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location, and wherein the shipment identifier is confirmed).
With respect to claim 20, Dearing/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Transmitting the first location data or user identification data to a data store, wherein the data store is a blockchain data store or the database of the server device, wherein first location data recorded at the data store represents a chain of custody event tracking physical location of the smart label device, and wherein the user identification data recorded at the data store represents a chain of identity event tracking users who have accessed the smart label device, and wherein the chain of custody event and the chain of identity event provide separate audit trails for the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 6, 7, 30, 42, 51, 62, 71, 72, and 77-82 which describe the label transmitting the GPS location of the package to a server as its being shipped, wherein the server stores the location information in a database for tracking and verification purposes, and the verify the chain of custody of a shipment).
With respect to claim 23, Dearing/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as stated above. In addition, Jackson teaches:
De-identifying the label update data based on the set of label rules corresponding to the target (See at least paragraphs 16 and 59-62 which describe a server providing shipping information to an electronic label during shipping, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules).
Wherein de-identifying comprises removing the patient identifier from the label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination. Notably, the recipient identifier is part of the shipping information in the server, and only provided when the shipment is inside a delivery region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By encrypting shipping information that is provided as a label update to an electronic shipping label, a carrier can predictably ensure users privacy by hiding their identifying information from intercepting parties via the use of encryption.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing, in view of Krauss, and further in view of Jackson.
With respect to claim 1, Dearing teaches:
One or more storage devices comprising processor executable instructions that, responsive to execution by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: receiving label identification data corresponding to a smart label device; Assigning the label identification data to personal identification data (See at least paragraphs 6, 9, 10, 27, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, and 77-81 which describes introducing a package with smart label into a shipping system, wherein the label has an identifier for tracking and is associated with the user identifier).
Querying first location data acquired from the smart label device, wherein the first location data represents a current location of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 5-8, 30, 42, 50, 56, 62, 64, 67, 72, and 77-81 which describe a server storing shipping identifier information, planned routing information, planned display information, and current condition and location information in a database, wherein the server queries the stored information to determine the location and determine if a new displayed label should be generated).
Verifying whether the first location data corresponds to second location data representing a target, wherein the verifying is based on a comparison of the first location data the second location data; Generating a geo-locational trigger event based on the verification of the first location data (See at least paragraphs 6-8, 27, 29, 51, 55-58, 62, 64-65, and 77-81 which describe a server verifying the location of the package compared to a location on a planned route, wherein when the locations match, such as the package being at a planned intermediary or destination location, or within a radius of the planned location, the server generates new label data to be displayed).
Transmitting label update data to the smart label device based on the geo-locational trigger event (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location).
Wherein the set of label rules controls what information is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved geo-locational boundary or outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 25, 29, 33, 51, 54, 56, 60, and 81 which describe a server transmitting label updates to a shipment with an electronic label which displays shipping information, wherein the server uses geographic rules, such as distance to a point in a delivery network or destination, in order to trigger the transmission of shipping information).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Krauss teaches:
Verifying whether the label identification data is valid or invalid; Assigning the label identification data to personal identification data representing a patient identifier (See at least paragraphs 23, 27, 32, 34, 35, 36, and 42 which describe shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier).
Wherein a recipient identifier is a patient identifier (See at least paragraphs 23, 27, 32, 34, 35, 36, and 42 which describe shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By validating label identifiers and assigning patient identifiers to the shipment, a shipper would predictably be able to ship controlled substances, such as medicine to patients, thus ensuring that only the desired users receive the shipped product.
The combination of Dearing and Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Dearing and Krauss do not explicitly disclose the following, however Jackson teaches:
Wherein the transmitted label update data comprises a recipient identifier based on a set of label rules corresponding to the target (See at least paragraphs 12, 15, 16, 45, 56, and 59-62 which describe shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient).
Wherein the set of label rules controls whether recipient identifier is included in the transmitted label update data based on whether the current location is within an approved region (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson. By updating an electronic shipping label with new shipping information as it travels to new locations, including updating the label with recipient identifiers and addresses, a carrier will predictably increase the safety and privacy of recipients, as their identifying information will not be made available until necessary.
With respect to claim 2, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise receiving current coordinates corresponding to a current location of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 6, 7, 30, 42, 51, 62, 71, 72, and 77-82 which describe the label transmitting the GPS location of the package to a server as its being shipped, wherein the server stores the location information in a database for tracking and verification purposes, and the verify the chain of custody of a shipment).
With respect to claim 4, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: Comparing the current boundary coordinates of an approved geo-locational boundary; triggering a transmission of secure media content to the smart label device based on a verification that the current coordinates are within the approved geo-locational boundary, wherein the secure media content is at least one of textual content, audio content, or video content (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location, wherein the current location is compared to a geo-fence in order to determine if it’s at the planned location).
With respect to claim 6, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Rendering the subset of manufacturing activity data on a display of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 6, 9, 10, 27, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, and 77-81 which describes introducing a package with smart label into a shipping system, wherein the label has an identifier for tracking and is associated with the user identifier, and wherein the information further includes origin information).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 6 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Krauss teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: generating a set of manufacturing activity data from a manufacturing device; Triggering a transmission of a subset of manufacturing activity data to the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 21, 26, 32, and 35 which describe recording manufacturing activity in a distributed ledger used to track and verify shipments, wherein a portion of the manufacturing information is provided for a label).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier, and wherein recording manufacturing activity in a distributed ledger used to track and verify shipments, wherein a portion of the manufacturing information is provided for a label of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson. By recording manufacturing information in a database, and providing a portion of this in the shipping label, parties will predictably be able to track a shipment of a product, such as medicine, thus ensuring the chain of custody of the product, and ensure that the product is genuine.
With respect to claim 8, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Krauss teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise accessing a set of chain of custody event data or chain of identity data corresponding to the smart label device on a distributed ledger (See at least paragraphs 21, 23, 27, 35, 36, 38, 55, and 74 which describe accessing and modifying chain of custody information on a distributed ledger when a shipment changes possession during shipping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier, and further accessing and modifying chain of custody information on a distributed ledger when a shipment changes possession during shipping of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson. By tracking and modifying a distributed ledger to track the chain of custody of a shipment, parties will predictably be able to track a shipment of a product, such as medicine, thus ensuring the chain of custody of the product, and ensure that the product is genuine.
With respect to claim 9, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise controlling the smart label device to render secure media content based on the set of label rules corresponding to the target, wherein the target is associated with the approved geo-locational boundary (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location).
With respect to claim 21, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Jackson teaches:
De-identifying the label update data based on the set of label rules corresponding to the target (See at least paragraphs 16 and 59-62 which describe a server providing shipping information to an electronic label during shipping, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules).
Wherein de-identifying comprises removing the patient identifier from the label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination. Notably, the recipient identifier is part of the shipping information in the server, and only provided when the shipment is inside a delivery region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules of Jackson. By encrypting shipping information that is provided as a label update to an electronic shipping label, a carrier can predictably ensure users privacy by hiding their identifying information from intercepting parties via the use of encryption.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Bhagwat (US 11301800 B1) (hereinafter Bhagwat).
With respect to claim 5, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson do not explicitly disclose the following, however Bhagwat teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: comparing the current coordinates to boundary coordinates of an approved geo-locational boundary; determining that the current coordinates are not within the approved geo-locational boundary; Removing secure media content from a display of the smart label device based on the determining that the current coordinates are not within the approved geo-locational boundary, wherein the secure media content comprises patient identifying information that is removed to protect patient privacy when outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least column 3 line 15 through column 4 line 5, column 4 line 40 through column 5 line 16, and column 19 line 50 through column 21 line 67 which describe a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content. It is noted that “to protect patient privacy” is merely a recitation of intended use.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content of Bhagwat. By changing the content of a displayed label, such that the original content is removed, when the label is determined to be at a wrong geo-fenced area, a carrier will predictably be able to quickly identify issues with shipping, such as incorrect delivery or sorting, thus increasing the likelihood that a correct delivery can be made.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Parry et al. (US 2015/0324741 A1) (hereinafter Parry).
With respect to claim 7, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: triggering a notification to a user device indicating the location of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 6, 7, 27, 30, 42, 55, 56, 58, 70, and 77-82 which describe a label tracking its location using a GPS, and reporting its location to a server and devices).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 7 as stated above. Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson do not explicitly disclose the following, however Parry teaches:
Prioritizing a biological material in a package queue for pickup or delivery based on the notification (See at least paragraphs 13, 15, 16, and 19 which describe shipping biological material, wherein the shipment can be expedited due to the material and location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping biological material, wherein the shipment can be expedited due to the material and location of Parry. By expediting delivery for biological material, such as medicines or samples, a carrier will predictably be able to ensure that the material reaches the destination in a short time span, thus, increasing the likelihood of a successful delivery.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Goja (US 2019/0102874 A1) (hereinafter Goja).
With respect to claim 10, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: curating a set of smart label data corresponding to a set of smart label devices (See at least paragraphs 6, 9, 10, 27, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, and 77-81 which describes introducing a package with smart label into a shipping system, wherein the label has an identifier for tracking and is associated with the user identifier).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 as stated above. Dearing, Krauss, and Jackson do not explicitly disclose the following, however Goja teaches:
Applying one or more machine learning algorithm to the set of smart label data; extracting insights from the set of smart label data based on the one or more machine learning algorithms; and tuning parameters of the one or more machine learning algorithm (See at least paragraphs 39, 100, 114-116, 125-128, 135, 136, and 138 which describe collecting shipping information as a shipment is shipped through a system, wherein the information includes images of the shipment, its location, and time, wherein the collected information is analyzed using machine learning models to identify if shipments are damaged and the class of damage, and wherein the information is used to identify faults in the shipping process and to re-train the models to increase the accuracy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of collecting shipping information as a shipment is shipped through a system, wherein the information includes images of the shipment, its location, and time, wherein the collected information is analyzed using machine learning models to identify if shipments are damaged and the class of damage, and wherein the information is used to identify faults in the shipping process and to re-train the models to increase the accuracy of Goja. By using machine learning models on shipping data in order to identify insights, such as damage to the shipment and the cause of damage, a carrier will predictably be able to quickly and efficiently identify when shipments risk being damaged, thus increasing the likelihood of mitigation factors to being implemented.
With respect to claim 11, Dearing/Krauss/Jackson/Goja discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as stated above. In addition, Goja teaches:
Wherein the operations further comprise: querying the set of curated smart label data for one or more insights; and identifying one or more subsets of curated smart label data for a query analysis based on contextual parameters of a query, wherein the contextual parameters comprise at least one of a smart label device identifier, a geo-locational input, or authentication input (See at least paragraphs 39, 100, 114-116, 125-128, 135, 136, and 138 which describe collecting shipping information as a shipment is shipped through a system, wherein the information includes images of the shipment, its location, and time, wherein the collected information is analyzed using machine learning models to identify if shipments are damaged and the class of damage, and wherein the information is used to identify faults in the shipping process and to re-train the models to increase the accuracy. The Examiner notes that the package identifier is used to identify and analyze the package, which is interpreted as the label device identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of collecting shipping information as a shipment is shipped through a system, wherein the information includes images of the shipment, its location, and time, wherein the collected information is analyzed using machine learning models to identify if shipments are damaged and the class of damage, and wherein the information is used to identify faults in the shipping process and to re-train the models to increase the accuracy of Goja. By using machine learning models on shipping data in order to identify insights, such as damage to the shipment and the cause of damage, a carrier will predictably be able to quickly and efficiently identify when shipments risk being damaged, thus increasing the likelihood of mitigation factors to being implemented.
Claims 12-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearing, in view of Bhagwat, in view of Jackson, and further in view of Krauss
With respect to claim 12, Dearing teaches:
Verifying whether the first location data corresponds to second location data representing a target, wherein the verifying is based on a comparison of the first location data to the second location data; generating a geo-locational trigger event based on the verification of the first location data (See at least paragraphs 6-8, 27, 29, 51, 55-58, 62, 64-65, and 77-81 which describe a server verifying the location of the package compared to a location on a planned route, wherein when the locations match, such as the package being at a planned intermediary or destination location, or a radius from the target location, the server generates new label data to be displayed).
Transmitting label updated data to the smart label device based on the geo-locational trigger event (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Bhagwat teaches:
Accessing, via a client device, a smart label control system sending, using the client device, a trigger event to the smart label analytics system to perform a query analysis; querying, by the smart label analytics system, first location data representing a current location of a smart label device (See at least column 3 line 15 through column 4 line 5, column 4 line 40 through column 5 line 16, and column 5 line 49 through column 6 line 12 which describe using a user device to trigger a query regarding the location of a shipment during shipping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of using a user device to trigger a query regarding the location of a shipment during shipping of Bhagwat. By triggering location queries, parties will predictably be able to identify the location, and determine if it’s valid or not, of a shipment, therefore increasing the likelihood of a successful delivery.
The combination of Dearing and Bhagwat discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Dearing and Bhagwat do not explicitly disclose the following, however Jackson teaches:
Wherein the transmitted label update data comprises the patient identifier based on a set of label rules corresponding to the targe (See at least paragraphs 12, 15, 16, 45, 56, and 59-62 which describe shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient).
Wherein the secure media content comprises patient identifying information that is removed to protect patient privacy when outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination. As noted in the 112b rejection, this claim limitation is being interpreted as removing the content from content updates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of using a user device to trigger a query regarding the location of a shipment during shipping of Bhagwat, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson. By updating an electronic shipping label with new shipping information as it travels to new locations, including updating the label with recipient identifiers and addresses, a carrier will predictably increase the safety and privacy of recipients, as their identifying information will not be made available until necessary.
The combination of Dearing, Bhagwat, and Jackson discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Dearing, Bhagwat, and Jackson do not explicitly disclose the following, however Krauss teaches:
Wherein a recipient identifier is a patient identifier (See at least paragraphs 23, 27, 32, 34, 35, 36, and 42 which describe shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of using a user device to trigger a query regarding the location of a shipment during shipping of Bhagwat, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By validating label identifiers and assigning patient identifiers to the shipment, a shipper would predictably be able to ship controlled substances, such as medicine to patients, thus ensuring that only the desired users receive the shipped product.
With respect to claim 13, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Receiving input to configure the smart label device based on a set of configuration criteria, wherein the set of configuration criteria comprises at least one of a geo-location recognition configuration, authentication configuration, validation configuration, or smart label display configuration (See at least paragraphs 6, 9, 10, 27, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, and 77-81 which describes introducing a package with smart label into a shipping system, wherein the label has an identifier for tracking and is associated with the user identifier, and wherein the label includes what content to display for different locations).
With respect to claim 14, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Generating, by the smart label control system, media content based, at least in part, on metadata associated with the smart label data; performing, by the smart label control system, an operation based on control input by the client device; and outputting a rendering of the media content based on the control input (See at least paragraphs 6-8, 27, 29, 51, 55-58, 62, 64-65, and 77-81 which describe a server verifying the location of the package compared to a location on a planned route, wherein when the locations match, such as the package being at a planned intermediary or destination location, the server generates new label data to be displayed. In addition, see at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location. The Examiner notes that the updating of the content displayed on the label, based on the location and initially provided shipping information, encompasses rendering content media content based on control input and metadata).
With respect to claim 15, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Receiving, by the smart label control system, detection data from the smart label device, wherein the detection data represents a geo-locational boundary signal (See at least paragraphs 6, 7, 30, 42, 51, 62, 71, 72, and 77-82 which describe the label transmitting the GPS location of the package to a server as its being shipped, wherein the server stores the location information in a database for tracking and verification purposes, and the verify the chain of custody of a shipment).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Bhagwat teaches:
Disabling, by the smart label control system, a rendering of content on a display of the smart label device (See at least column 3 line 15 through column 4 line 5, column 4 line 40 through column 5 line 16, and column 19 line 50 through column 21 line 67 which describe a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content of Bhagwat, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By changing the content of a displayed label, such that the original content is removed, when the label is determined to be at a wrong geo-fenced area, a carrier will predictably be able to quickly identify issues with shipping, such as incorrect delivery or sorting, thus increasing the likelihood that a correct delivery can be made.
With respect to claim 16, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claims 12 and 15 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Transitioning, by the smart label control system, content for rendering on the display of the smart label device based on label criteria associated with the geo-locational boundary signal (See at east paragraphs 5-8, 29, 32-34, 54, 57, 60, 64-67, and 82 which describe the server transmitting the new label information to be displayed to the smart label when it is at a planned location).
With respect to claim 17, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claims 12 as stated above. In addition, Dearing teaches:
Rendering, by the smart label control system, the subset of manufacturing activity data on a display of the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 6, 9, 10, 27, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, and 77-81 which describes introducing a package with smart label into a shipping system, wherein the label has an identifier for tracking and is associated with the user identifier, and wherein the information further includes origin information).
Dearing discloses all of the limitations of claim 17 as stated above. Dearing does not explicitly disclose the following, however Krauss teaches:
Receiving, by the smart label control system, a set of manufacturing activity data from a manufacturing control system; Triggering, by the smart label control system, a transmission of a subset of manufacturing activity data to the smart label device (See at least paragraphs 21, 26, 32, and 35 which describe recording manufacturing activity in a distributed ledger used to track and verify shipments, wherein a portion of the manufacturing information is provided for a label).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content of Bhagwat, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier, and wherein recording manufacturing activity in a distributed ledger used to track and verify shipments, wherein a portion of the manufacturing information is provided for a label of Krauss. By recording manufacturing information in a database, and providing a portion of this in the shipping label, parties will predictably be able to track a shipment of a product, such as medicine, thus ensuring the chain of custody of the product, and ensure that the product is genuine.
With respect to claim 22, Dearing/Bhagwat/Jackson/Krauss discloses all of the limitations of claims 12 as stated above. In addition, Jackson teaches:
De-identifying the label update data based on the set of label rules corresponding to the target (See at least paragraphs 16 and 59-62 which describe a server providing shipping information to an electronic label during shipping, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules).
Wherein de-identifying comprises removing the patient identifier from the label update data when the current location is outside the approved geo-locational boundary (See at least paragraphs 12, 13, 19, 45, 51, 57, and 61 which describe a server transmitting label updates to an electronic shipping label based on the shipments current and upcoming locations, wherein the update provides recipient identifiers only when the shipment is reaching a final destination. Notably, the recipient identifier is part of the shipping information in the server, and only provided when the shipment is inside a delivery region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of shipping a product from an origin to destination, wherein the shipment includes a smart label that can be changed during shipping and depending on the location of the shipment, and wherein the shipment label includes a label identifier and package identifier of Dearing, with the system and method of a digital shipping label being used to ship products, wherein the label uses a GPS to track its location, and when the label is not within a planned geo-fenced area, removing the displayed content and displaying alternative content of Bhagwat, with the system and method of shipping an item with an electronic label which displays shipping information relevant to the handling and shipping of the item at the location, wherein updates for the label can be transmitted based on the current location and upcoming location, including the final destination, and wherein the information includes destination address information, sender identifier, recipient identifier, and messages for the recipient, wherein the information is encrypted when provided to the label, thus de-identifying the update based on rules of Jackson, with the system and method of shipping manufactured medication to a pharmacy, hospital, or patient, wherein the shipment has an identifier that is validated, and assigned a patent identifier of Krauss. By encrypting shipping information that is provided as a label update to an electronic shipping label, a carrier can predictably ensure users privacy by hiding their identifying information from intercepting parties via the use of encryption.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
21 April 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628