DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kyeong et al. (KR 20210086518 A, hereinafter “Kyeong”) in view of Kim (KR 200455195 Y1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kyeong discloses: A massage device (Paragraph 1, The present invention relates to an air massage device, and more specifically, to an air massage device that performs air massage by sequentially injecting and releasing air pressure according to a mode set by the user into multiple air bags that come into contact with the body from the shoulders to the back and buttocks, thereby alternately applying compression and relaxation to the body, and also includes a heating function and a vibration function to activate muscle exercise along with a hot compress effect, thereby promoting blood circulation and relieving fatigue as well as improving physical strength), the device comprising:
a soft pressing portion configured to expand or contract by a pressure fluid being injected in the soft pressing portion (Paragraph 5, FIG. 1b, and FIG. 1d is a cross-sectional view showing the state in which air pressure is sequentially injected/discharged into the air bag of an air massage device according to the present invention. The air massage device (10) of the present invention is characterized by having a plurality of air bags (100) that expand/contract according to changes in internal air pressure, and is configured to perform air massage and acupressure on the area from the shoulders to the back and buttocks on the back of the human body);
and a soft vibrating portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide vibration due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 9, the vibration generating means (410) may be configured to be mounted entirely or locally on the upper surface of the air bag (100). Referring to FIG. 3b, a wire-embedded layer (430) is laminated on the upper surface of the inner lining (420) in which power supply lines (not shown) of (+) and (-) poles for supplying power to a plurality of vibration generating means (410) are embedded, and a cover layer (440) is attached to the upper surface of the vibration generating means (410) so that the vibration generating means (410) is seated and fixed on the upper surface of the wire-embedded layer (430). A cushion layer (450) is interposed above the above cover layer (440) to form a flat profile on its upper surface, and the upper surface is finished with an outer shell (460)).
The massage device disclosed by Kyeong incorporates actuated elements and vibrational features, but does not explicitly disclose a soft actuator, wherein the vibration portion has shape change elements incorporated therein.
Kim, however, does disclose: a soft actuator (Paragraphs 0001-0002, Pouch-type soft actuator with heterogeneous space charge layer and dielectric fluid. The present invention relates to a soft actuator, and more specifically, to a soft actuator in the form of a pouch containing a dielectric fluid, which fuses a hydraulic actuator with an electric active polymer actuator), the soft actuator comprising:
a soft portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide shape change due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 0011, the flexible actuator may be configured to induce shape deformation of the pocket structure by pushing the dielectric fluid in the internal space outward from the first electrode as the electroactive polymer film approaches the surface of the first electrode due to the electrostatic attraction between the non-uniform space charge layer induced on the surface of the electroactive polymer film and the charges charged on the first electrode), (Paragraph 0006, actuators using shape memory alloys can implement contraction and expansion movements and produce high output)
Both Kyeong and Kim disclose actuated pocket-like, fluid filled structures that include electrical elements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kim’s soft actuator to provide more flexibility and elasticity to the massage device and, specifically, the vibrating elements disclosed by Kyeong. This would allow for better accommodation to a user’s body with less energy usage overall (Paragraph 0003, Examples of applications requiring flexible actuators include wearable devices that interact directly with humans, rehabilitation robots, artificial muscles, tunable lenses, haptic devices, and micro pumps and valves in lab-on-a-chip devices), (Paragraph 0008, Exemplary embodiments of the present invention aim to provide a flexible actuator in the form of a pouch with a dielectric fluid embedded therein, which is driven by a relatively low operating voltage while possessing both high output and controllability).
Regarding Claim 2, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kyeong further discloses: wherein the soft pressing portion comprises an outer skin made of an elastic material, and the pressure fluid is filled in the outer skin (Paragraph 6, As illustrated in FIG. 1c, the air bag is composed of an inner layer (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) made of a material that maintains airtightness of the air filled inside and expands/extends according to the injection/exhaustion of air, and an outer layer (111c, 112c, 113c, 114c) that covers the outer surface of the inner layer (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) and comes into contact with the human body. An air hose connector (111a, 112a, 113a, 114a) is formed on one side of the above inner lining (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) and connected to one end of the corresponding air hose (150)).
Regarding Claim 3, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Kyeong does not explicitly disclose that the outer skin is made of an elastic polymer material, however, it would have been an obvious modification for one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate elastic polymer materials into the device, as it is commonly used material in the art. However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Kim also discloses the use of wherein the outer skin is made of an elastic polymer material (Paragraph 0039, the electroactive polymer film (110) can be made of a flexible material whose shape can be freely deformed according to the pressure applied by the dielectric fluid (140)).
Regarding Claim 4, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kyeong further discloses: wherein the soft pressing portion comprises a fluid passageway configured to introduce or discharge the pressure fluid (Paragraph 6, As illustrated in FIG. 1c, the air bag is composed of an inner layer (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) made of a material that maintains airtightness of the air filled inside and expands/extends according to the injection/exhaustion of air, and an outer layer (111c, 112c, 113c, 114c) that covers the outer surface of the inner layer (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) and comes into contact with the human body. An air hose connector (111a, 112a, 113a, 114a) is formed on one side of the above inner lining (111b, 112b, 113b, 114b) and connected to one end of the corresponding air hose (150)).
Regarding Claim 5, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kim further discloses: wherein the soft vibrating portion (Paragraph 0010, A flexible actuator according to embodiments for realizing one objective of the present invention may include a substrate film, an electroactive polymer film, a dielectric fluid, a first electrode, and a second electrode) comprises:
a substrate layer made of an elastic material (Paragraph 0040, The substrate film (120) can be made of a material that is non-conductive and non-reactive to the dielectric fluid (140) and the electroactive polymer (110). Depending on the application field of the actuator, the elastic modulus of the substrate film (120) material can be selected differently […] the substrate film (120) may be a flexible substrate whose shape is freely deformed according to the pressure applied by the dielectric fluid as needed);
a film made of an electroactive polymer material (Paragraph 0039, the electroactive polymer film (110) can be made of a flexible material whose shape can be freely deformed according to the pressure applied by the dielectric fluid (140)) connected to the substrate layer and encapsulating a dielectric fluid in a space defined by the substrate layer and the film (Paragraph 0041, the electroactive polymer film (110) and the substrate film (120) can be joined together around the circular edge to form a pocket structure (130). The pocket structure (130) can provide a space to hold dielectric fluid (140) inside), (Paragraph 0043, The dielectric fluid (140) used in the flexible actuator (110) may be a non-conductive fluid. The dielectric fluid (140) can fill the internal space of the pocket structure (110) formed by the substrate film (120) and the electroactive polymer film (110) and be trapped inside that space. It can serve as a medium that converts the electrical energy of the flexible actuator (100) into mechanical energy);
and a first electrode and a second electrode to which the voltage is applied and which are operably associated with each other (Paragraph 0054, when a driving voltage is applied between the first electrode (150) and the second electrode (160), a non-uniform space charge layer is induced on the surface of the electroactive polymer film (110), and a strong electrostatic force that attracts each other is generated between this charge layer and the first electrode (150). As a result, the first electrode (150) and the electroactive polymer film (110) come into contact with each other, causing a mechanical drive to occur in which the dielectric fluid (140) existing between them is pushed out).
Regarding Claim 6, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5. Kim further discloses: wherein the first electrode is disposed on the substrate layer and the second electrode is disposed in the film, and wherein the second electrode at least partially overlaps the first electrode but does not contact the first electrode (Paragraph 0047, In an exemplary embodiment, the second electrode (160) may be positioned so that it faces the first electrode (150) with an electroactive polymer film (110) in between, and a predetermined area overlaps with the first electrode (150). The shape and size of the overlapping area, etc., can be determined according to the shape of the pocket structure (130) deformed when the driving voltage is applied, the size of the driving force to be obtained, etc. FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate that the first electrode (150) and the second electrode (160) are both laminated on the surface of an area corresponding to approximately half of the electroactive polymer film (110) and the substrate film (120)).
Regarding Claim 7, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 5. Kim further discloses: the film and the substrate layer are connected to each other only at a contact portion therebetween (Paragraph 0041, In the drawing, the electroactive polymer film (110) and the substrate film (120) are illustrated as being circular, but may have other shapes such as elliptical or polygonal as needed. According to the illustration, the electroactive polymer film (110) and the substrate film (120) can be joined together around the circular edge to form a pocket structure (130)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kyeong further discloses: wherein a waveform or frequency of the voltage applied to the electrode is configured to be adjustable (Paragraph 10, In addition, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the vibration generating unit (400a) based on a signal input from the vibration setting unit (260) to control the voltage or current amount and the current flow period supplied to the vibration pad (400), thereby controlling the intensity and period of vibration generated in the vibration pad (400)).
Regarding Claim 9, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Kyeong further discloses: further comprising a coupling portion configured physically or chemically bond the soft pressing portion and the soft vibrating portion to each other (Paragraph 9, FIG. 3a is a perspective view showing the configuration of a vibration pad of an air massage device according to the present invention, and FIG. 3b is a cross-sectional view along line C-C of FIG. 3a. The air massage device (10) of the present invention is configured to additionally include a detachable vibration pad (400) on the upper side of the air bag (100). The above vibration pad (400) has a structure in which a vibration generating means (410) is installed between the inner skin (420) and the outer skin (460), and the vibration generating means (410) may be composed of any one of a vibrator, a vibration motor, or a solenoid that utilizes the relative motion of a magnet and a coil. And, the vibration generating means (410) may be configured to be mounted entirely or locally on the upper surface of the air bag (100)).
Regarding Claim 10, Kyeong discloses: A massage device (Paragraph 1, The present invention relates to an air massage device, and more specifically, to an air massage device that performs air massage by sequentially injecting and releasing air pressure according to a mode set by the user into multiple air bags that come into contact with the body from the shoulders to the back and buttocks, thereby alternately applying compression and relaxation to the body, and also includes a heating function and a vibration function to activate muscle exercise along with a hot compress effect, thereby promoting blood circulation and relieving fatigue as well as improving physical strength), the device comprising:
a soft pressing portion configured to expand or contract by a pressure fluid being injected in the soft pressing portion (Paragraph 5, FIG. 1b, and FIG. 1d is a cross-sectional view showing the state in which air pressure is sequentially injected/discharged into the air bag of an air massage device according to the present invention. The air massage device (10) of the present invention is characterized by having a plurality of air bags (100) that expand/contract according to changes in internal air pressure, and is configured to perform air massage and acupressure on the area from the shoulders to the back and buttocks on the back of the human body);
and a soft vibrating portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide vibration due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 9, the vibration generating means (410) may be configured to be mounted entirely or locally on the upper surface of the air bag (100). Referring to FIG. 3b, a wire-embedded layer (430) is laminated on the upper surface of the inner lining (420) in which power supply lines (not shown) of (+) and (-) poles for supplying power to a plurality of vibration generating means (410) are embedded, and a cover layer (440) is attached to the upper surface of the vibration generating means (410) so that the vibration generating means (410) is seated and fixed on the upper surface of the wire-embedded layer (430). A cushion layer (450) is interposed above the above cover layer (440) to form a flat profile on its upper surface, and the upper surface is finished with an outer shell (460)).
and a cover having the soft actuator disposed in the cover (Paragraph 9, Referring to FIG. 3b, a wire-embedded layer (430) is laminated on the upper surface of the inner lining (420) in which power supply lines (not shown) of (+) and (-) poles for supplying power to a plurality of vibration generating means (410) are embedded, and a cover layer (440) is attached to the upper surface of the vibration generating means (410) so that the vibration generating means (410) is seated and fixed on the upper surface of the wire-embedded layer (430). A cushion layer (450) is interposed above the above cover layer (440) to form a flat profile on its upper surface, and the upper surface is finished with an outer shell (460))
The massage device disclosed by Kyeong incorporates actuated elements and vibrational features, but does not explicitly disclose a soft actuator, wherein the vibration portion has shape change elements incorporated therein.
Kim, however, does disclose: a soft actuator (Paragraphs 0001-0002, Pouch-type soft actuator with heterogeneous space charge layer and dielectric fluid. The present invention relates to a soft actuator, and more specifically, to a soft actuator in the form of a pouch containing a dielectric fluid, which fuses a hydraulic actuator with an electric active polymer actuator), the soft actuator comprising:
a soft portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide shape change due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 0011, the flexible actuator may be configured to induce shape deformation of the pocket structure by pushing the dielectric fluid in the internal space outward from the first electrode as the electroactive polymer film approaches the surface of the first electrode due to the electrostatic attraction between the non-uniform space charge layer induced on the surface of the electroactive polymer film and the charges charged on the first electrode), (Paragraph 0006, actuators using shape memory alloys can implement contraction and expansion movements and produce high output)
Both Kyeong and Kim disclose actuated pocket-like, fluid filled structures that include electrical elements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kim’s soft actuator to provide more flexibility and elasticity to the massage device and, specifically, the vibrating elements disclosed by Kyeong. This would allow for better accommodation to a user’s body with less energy usage overall (Paragraph 0003, Examples of applications requiring flexible actuators include wearable devices that interact directly with humans, rehabilitation robots, artificial muscles, tunable lenses, haptic devices, and micro pumps and valves in lab-on-a-chip devices), (Paragraph 0008, Exemplary embodiments of the present invention aim to provide a flexible actuator in the form of a pouch with a dielectric fluid embedded therein, which is driven by a relatively low operating voltage while possessing both high output and controllability).
Regarding Claim 12, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Kyeong further discloses: a supplier configured to supply the pressure fluid and power to the soft actuator ((Paragraph 10, Figure 4 is a flowchart of the operation sequence of an air massage device according to the present invention. Input signals set in the time setting unit (220), air pressure control unit (230), air pressure mode setting unit (240), temperature setting unit (250), and vibration setting unit (260) are transmitted to the controller (200), and the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the air pressure generating unit (110a) based on the signal input from the air pressure control unit (230) to control the speed and sequence of air pressure injection/discharge supplied to the air bag (110) for shoulder massage, the air bag (120) for back massage, and the air bag (130) for buttock massage. And, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the heat generating unit (300a) based on a signal input from the temperature setting unit (250) to control the amount of voltage or current supplied to the heat pad (300), thereby controlling the heat generation temperature in the heat pad (300). In addition, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the vibration generating unit (400a) based on a signal input from the vibration setting unit (260) to control the voltage or current amount and the current flow period supplied to the vibration pad (400), thereby controlling the intensity and period of vibration generated in the vibration pad (400)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kyeong (KR 20210086518 A) in view of Kim (KR 200455195 Y1), further in view of Korb et al. (US 20170299567 A1, hereinafter “Korb”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Kyeong further discloses: a switcher configured to switch flows of the pressure fluid and current supplied to the soft pressing portion (Paragraph 10, Figure 4 is a flowchart of the operation sequence of an air massage device according to the present invention. Input signals set in the time setting unit (220), air pressure control unit (230), air pressure mode setting unit (240), temperature setting unit (250), and vibration setting unit (260) are transmitted to the controller (200), and the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the air pressure generating unit (110a) based on the signal input from the air pressure control unit (230) to control the speed and sequence of air pressure injection/discharge supplied to the air bag (110) for shoulder massage, the air bag (120) for back massage, and the air bag (130) for buttock massage. And, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the heat generating unit (300a) based on a signal input from the temperature setting unit (250) to control the amount of voltage or current supplied to the heat pad (300), thereby controlling the heat generation temperature in the heat pad (300). In addition, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the vibration generating unit (400a) based on a signal input from the vibration setting unit (260) to control the voltage or current amount and the current flow period supplied to the vibration pad (400), thereby controlling the intensity and period of vibration generated in the vibration pad (400)).
The controller disclosed by Kyeong in view Kim is capable of controlling signals between different elements to control air pressure and current flow throughout the system. However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Korb also discloses: a switcher configured to switch flows of the pressure fluid and current (Paragraph 0126, The RF source 44 is connected to a controller, generally indicated at 46, which includes a power on/power off switch 48. The controller 46 includes an RF means 50 for applying an external force to the gland to loosen the obstruction. The RF means 50 in this embodiment includes a probe 52, which is adapted to vibrate at a preselected frequency at preselected amplitude. The probe 52 may vibrate at sonic or ultrasonic frequencies as needed. In addition, means for varying the frequency 54 and amplitude 56 of the probe output, well known to those skilled in the art, are provided. The RF means 50 may be used for applying the regulated external force or regulated energy to the obstruction. Although the embodiment shown in FIG. 4 illustrates an RF source 44 and an RF means 40, other types of power sources and means for applying a force may be used, including but not limited to a fluid jet, air fluid, water fluid, microwave energy, needles, micro-needles, laser energy, RF energy, aspiration, suction, vacuum, pressure, piezoelectric, and compression)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Korb’s control system with the controlled massage system disclosed by Kyeong in view of Kim so as to provide an alternative means of controlling soft actuator.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kyeong (KR 20210086518 A) in view of Kim (KR 200455195 Y1), further in view of Munch-Fals et al. (US 7868221 B2, “Munch”).
Regarding Claim 13, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Kyeong further discloses: a controller configured to control an operation of the soft actuator, wherein the controller is configured to control flows of the pressure fluid and current supplied to the soft actuator ((Paragraph 10, Figure 4 is a flowchart of the operation sequence of an air massage device according to the present invention. Input signals set in the time setting unit (220), air pressure control unit (230), air pressure mode setting unit (240), temperature setting unit (250), and vibration setting unit (260) are transmitted to the controller (200), and the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the air pressure generating unit (110a) based on the signal input from the air pressure control unit (230) to control the speed and sequence of air pressure injection/discharge supplied to the air bag (110) for shoulder massage, the air bag (120) for back massage, and the air bag (130) for buttock massage. And, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the heat generating unit (300a) based on a signal input from the temperature setting unit (250) to control the amount of voltage or current supplied to the heat pad (300), thereby controlling the heat generation temperature in the heat pad (300). In addition, the controller (200) transmits a control signal to the vibration generating unit (400a) based on a signal input from the vibration setting unit (260) to control the voltage or current amount and the current flow period supplied to the vibration pad (400), thereby controlling the intensity and period of vibration generated in the vibration pad (400)).
The controller disclosed by Kyeong in view Kim is capable of controlling signals between different elements to control air pressure and current flow throughout the system. However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Munch also discloses: a controller configured to control an operation of the soft actuator, wherein the controller is configured to control flows of the pressure fluid and current supplied to the soft actuator (Column 3, lines 10-20, It could be preferable that the control unit adjusts the voltage with reference to the capacitance of each separate controllable elastomeric actuation element. In this embodiment the actuation element operates in two-way communication as both a sensor of a compressive force and an actuator adjusted in response to the voltage of the control unit. Two-way communication is achieved since the compressive force between the two electrodes on each elastomeric element is sensible, and thus controllable, meaning that the force compression on the extremity is roughly sensible, depending on volume variations of the extremity during the day.)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Munch control system with the controlled massage system disclosed by Kyeong in view of Kim so as to provide an alternative means of controlling soft actuator.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kyeong (KR 20210086518 A) in view of Kim (KR 200455195 Y1), further in view of Lem et al. (US 20180361897 A1, hereinafter “Lem”).
Regarding Claim 14, Kyeong in view of Kim discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Kyeong in view of Kim does not disclose a vehicle seat comprising the massage device of claim 10, Lem does disclose: A vehicle seat comprising the massage device (Paragraph 0031, As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the padding assembly 10 can be included in vehicle seat 12, which includes a cushion 26 and a seatback 28 coupled with the cushion 26. In this manner, vehicle seat 12 can include multiple padding assemblies 10 distributed, as desired, among the cushion 26 and the seatback 28. The particular configuration of such distributed padding assemblies 10, including the size, positioning, and number of bladder units 18, as well as the shape, thickness, etc. of the respective foam mass 14 can vary with the positioning of the padding assembly 10 within the vehicle seat 12 in a manner similar to the configuration of separate foam masses 14 and bladder units 18 that may otherwise be found in a similar vehicle seat. To that end, the inclusion of bladder units 18 within one or more foam masses 14 can provide for the desired positioning and support of bladder units 18 within the respective areas of vehicle seat 12 without additional structures affixing and supporting bladder units 18, thereby allowing the padding assemblies 10 described herein to be assembled into vehicle seat 12 to provide both foam padding and adjustably inflatable bladders therein in a single unit).
It is a well known application of massage systems to incorporate massage devices in vehicles to provide comfort and adjustability to a seated user (Paragraph 0002, Certain known vehicle seats include adjustment or massage capabilities that are based on the inclusion of various pneumatic bladders and associated systems within the seat, including a pump to selectively inflate and, in some instances, deflate the bladders). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the massage device of Kyeong in view of Kim with the vehicle seat arrangement disclosed by Lem.
Regarding Claim 15, Kyeong discloses: A massage device (Paragraph 1, The present invention relates to an air massage device, and more specifically, to an air massage device that performs air massage by sequentially injecting and releasing air pressure according to a mode set by the user into multiple air bags that come into contact with the body from the shoulders to the back and buttocks, thereby alternately applying compression and relaxation to the body, and also includes a heating function and a vibration function to activate muscle exercise along with a hot compress effect, thereby promoting blood circulation and relieving fatigue as well as improving physical strength), the device comprising:
a soft pressing portion configured to expand or contract by a pressure fluid being injected in the soft pressing portion (Paragraph 5, FIG. 1b, and FIG. 1d is a cross-sectional view showing the state in which air pressure is sequentially injected/discharged into the air bag of an air massage device according to the present invention. The air massage device (10) of the present invention is characterized by having a plurality of air bags (100) that expand/contract according to changes in internal air pressure, and is configured to perform air massage and acupressure on the area from the shoulders to the back and buttocks on the back of the human body);
and a soft vibrating portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide vibration due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 9, the vibration generating means (410) may be configured to be mounted entirely or locally on the upper surface of the air bag (100). Referring to FIG. 3b, a wire-embedded layer (430) is laminated on the upper surface of the inner lining (420) in which power supply lines (not shown) of (+) and (-) poles for supplying power to a plurality of vibration generating means (410) are embedded, and a cover layer (440) is attached to the upper surface of the vibration generating means (410) so that the vibration generating means (410) is seated and fixed on the upper surface of the wire-embedded layer (430). A cushion layer (450) is interposed above the above cover layer (440) to form a flat profile on its upper surface, and the upper surface is finished with an outer shell (460)).
and a cover having the soft actuator disposed in the cover (Paragraph 9, Referring to FIG. 3b, a wire-embedded layer (430) is laminated on the upper surface of the inner lining (420) in which power supply lines (not shown) of (+) and (-) poles for supplying power to a plurality of vibration generating means (410) are embedded, and a cover layer (440) is attached to the upper surface of the vibration generating means (410) so that the vibration generating means (410) is seated and fixed on the upper surface of the wire-embedded layer (430). A cushion layer (450) is interposed above the above cover layer (440) to form a flat profile on its upper surface, and the upper surface is finished with an outer shell (460))
The massage device disclosed by Kyeong incorporates actuated elements and vibrational features, but does not explicitly disclose a soft actuator, wherein the vibration portion has shape change elements incorporated therein.
Kim, however, does disclose: a soft actuator (Paragraphs 0001-0002, Pouch-type soft actuator with heterogeneous space charge layer and dielectric fluid. The present invention relates to a soft actuator, and more specifically, to a soft actuator in the form of a pouch containing a dielectric fluid, which fuses a hydraulic actuator with an electric active polymer actuator), the soft actuator comprising:
a soft portion comprising an electrode and configured to provide shape change due to a voltage applied to the electrode (Paragraph 0011, the flexible actuator may be configured to induce shape deformation of the pocket structure by pushing the dielectric fluid in the internal space outward from the first electrode as the electroactive polymer film approaches the surface of the first electrode due to the electrostatic attraction between the non-uniform space charge layer induced on the surface of the electroactive polymer film and the charges charged on the first electrode), (Paragraph 0006, actuators using shape memory alloys can implement contraction and expansion movements and produce high output)
Both Kyeong and Kim disclose actuated pocket-like, fluid filled structures that include electrical elements. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kim’s soft actuator to provide more flexibility and elasticity to the massage device and, specifically, the vibrating elements disclosed by Kyeong. This would allow for better accommodation to a user’s body with less energy usage overall (Paragraph 0003, Examples of applications requiring flexible actuators include wearable devices that interact directly with humans, rehabilitation robots, artificial muscles, tunable lenses, haptic devices, and micro pumps and valves in lab-on-a-chip devices), (Paragraph 0008, Exemplary embodiments of the present invention aim to provide a flexible actuator in the form of a pouch with a dielectric fluid embedded therein, which is driven by a relatively low operating voltage while possessing both high output and controllability).
Kyeong in view of Kim does not disclose a vehicle seat. Lem does disclose: A vehicle seat (Paragraph 0030, Referring to FIGS. 1-3, reference numeral 10 generally designates a padding assembly for a vehicle seat 12. The padding assembly 10 includes a foam mass 14 defining a first side 16, a bladder unit 18 having a first surface 22 adhered to the foam mass 14 on the first side 16 thereof. The bladder unit 18 defines an impression 20 along the first side 16 of the foam mass 14. The assembly 10 further includes an air line 24 coupled with the bladder unit 18 and extending at least partially through the foam mass 14) comprising:
a backrest; a headrest connected to the backrest (Paragraph 0031, As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the padding assembly 10 can be included in vehicle seat 12, which includes a cushion 26 and a seatback 28 coupled with the cushion 26), (Paragraph 0032, As shown in FIG. 3, both the seatback 28 and the cushion 26 of vehicle seat 12 may be constructed in a manner similar to those of other vehicle seats in which the general shape of the seatback 28 and cushion 26 are defined by respective frames 30 with one or more springs 32 (which may be serpentine springs or the like) spanning an open area within the frame 30);
and a massage device mounted between the backrest and the headrest (Paragraph 0031, vehicle seat 12 can include multiple padding assemblies 10 distributed, as desired, among the cushion 26 and the seatback 28. The particular configuration of such distributed padding assemblies 10, including the size, positioning, and number of bladder units 18, as well as the shape, thickness, etc. of the respective foam mass 14 can vary with the positioning of the padding assembly 10 within the vehicle seat 12 in a manner similar to the configuration of separate foam masses 14 and bladder units 18 that may otherwise be found in a similar vehicle seat. To that end, the inclusion of bladder units 18 within one or more foam masses 14 can provide for the desired positioning and support of bladder units 18 within the respective areas of vehicle seat 12 without additional structures affixing and supporting bladder units 18, thereby allowing the padding assemblies 10 described herein to be assembled into vehicle seat 12 to provide both foam padding and adjustably inflatable bladders therein in a single unit).
It is a well known application of massage systems to incorporate massage devices in vehicles to provide comfort and adjustability to a seated user (Paragraph 0002, Certain known vehicle seats include adjustment or massage capabilities that are based on the inclusion of various pneumatic bladders and associated systems within the seat, including a pump to selectively inflate and, in some instances, deflate the bladders). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the massage device of Kyeong in view of Kim with the vehicle seat arrangement disclosed by Lem.
Regarding Claim 16, Kyeong in view of Kim and Lem discloses all of the limitations of Claim 15. Lem further discloses: wherein the headrest is movably connected to the backrest (Paragraph 0032, As shown in FIG. 3, both the seatback 28 and the cushion 26 of vehicle seat 12 may be constructed in a manner similar to those of other vehicle seats in which the general shape of the seatback 28 and cushion 26 are defined by respective frames 30 with one or more springs 32 (which may be serpentine springs or the like) spanning an open area within the frame 30)
Regarding Claim 17, Kyeong in view of Kim and Lem discloses all of the limitations of Claim 15. Lem further discloses: wherein the massage device is mounted to a support configured to connect the headrest and the backrest to each other (Paragraph 0042, vehicle seat 12 can include various padding assemblies 10 according to any of the various arrangements discussed above, including combinations and reconfigurations thereof, to provide the desired number and arrangement of air bladders 52 therein. For example, as mentioned above, the padding assembly 10 within the central area of cushion 26 can include multiple air bladders 52 that can be in separately-positioned bladder units 18 or in an arrangement as shown in FIG. 4, wherein multiple air bladders 52 are included on a single backing layer 54 in a single bladder unit 18. Similarly, the lumbar area 64 of seatback 28 can include a bladder unit 18 having multiple vertically-arranged bladders 52 that can be arranged in an overlapping manner on a single backing layer 54. Further, the bolster 40 of both seatback 28 and cushion 26 can include separate padding assemblies 10 with individual bladders 52 therein in single bladder unit 18, which may include corresponding backing layers 54. Alternatively, the central area of seatback 28 or cushion 26 and the respective bolsters 40 may be included in a single padding assembly 10 which may include a single bladder unit 18 with multiple bladders 52 or multiple bladder units 18 with single or multiple air bladder 52 arrangements on common or separate backing layers 54 (or without backing layers 54, as shown in FIG. 1 in the case of single air bladder 52 bladder units 18). As also discussed above, the air bladder 52 in the various padding assemblies 10 can be coupled with respective air lines 24 routed through the various foam masses 14, as desired, to extend outwardly from the foam masses 14 in convenient locations for further extension to manifold 46 or manifolds 46 within vehicle seat 12, as desired for coupling with pump 48).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kyeong (KR 20210086518 A) in view of Kim (KR 200455195 Y1), in view of Lem (US 20180361897 A1), further in view of Sato et al. (US 20230075857 A1, hereinafter “Sato”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kyeong in view of Kim and Lem discloses all of the limitations of Claim 15. Lem does not explicitly disclose A vehicle comprising the vehicle seat of claim 15, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the vehicle seat arrangement described by Lem within a vehicle.
If the Applicant is not convinced, Sato explicitly discloses A vehicle comprising the vehicle seat (Paragraph 0037, The vehicle 10 is provided with a vehicle system 300 according to the present embodiment. The vehicle system 300 includes a vehicle seat system 300A, and a controller 320. The vehicle seat system 300A includes the seat 11, and vibration generation devices 200 (200A, 200B, 200C). Because the vibration generation devices 200A, 200B, and 200C have the same configuration, each of the vibration generation devices 200A, 200B, and 200C will simply be referred to as the vibration generation device 200 when not distinguishing vibration generation devices 200A, 200B, and 200C from one another. The vibration generation device 200 according to the present embodiment is thus adaptable to the seat 11 of the vehicle 10).
Conclusion
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785