DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Nishikawa et al. (US20230104457A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, Nishikawa teaches a method of recovering lithium comprising:
Loading a waste lithium-ion secondary battery [0070] into a pyrolysis furnace [0245]
Increasing the internal temperature and maintaining to induce self-heating “self-sustained combustion” [0248] (reading on Claim 16 as the heat used is from the self-sustained reaction)
Product was pulverized into powder [0251];
Injecting the powder, dissolving a lithium component of the powder, separating and recovering an aqueous solution (lithium-leached liquid), a precipitate (non-magnetically attractable particles), and a floating material into water (magnetically attractable particles) [0253]
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art teaches the powder was injected or immersed in water [0253] and it is implied that heating was not performed and the temperature was of the water was room temperature (around 20 C) reading on the claimed range of 30 C or less.
Regarding Claim 4, evaporative concentration is used to recover lithium carbonate [0202-0203]
Regarding Claim 5 alkali is added to increase the pH to recover lithium hydroxide [0191]
Regarding Claims 7-8, the precipitate comprises Ni and Co (residue, Fig 1); regarding claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect at least a trace amount of Fe to be in the residue as lithium batter comprises Fe (See Fig 1)
Regarding Claim 11-12, the secondary battery is undischarged and unpulverized in step A.
Regarding Claim 13, the battery is from defective batteries [0003]
Regarding Claim 18, The heat treatment atmosphere was an inert atmosphere [0105]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US20230104457A1) in view of Song et al. (US9061255B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Nishkiwaka teaches CO2 is added to the solution with a nozzle [0198-0199] but does not teach microbubbles with a size of 20 microns or less are injected. However, Song teaches a rotating bubble generator for forming micro-sized bubbles with gas in water (Abstract) for the purpose of forming a highly dissolved solution (Col. 9, Lines 27-50) where the bubbles may have a size of 50 microns or less (Col. 19, 8-11); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking dissolve CO2 into the solution of Nishikawa would have been motivated to apply microbubbles in the claimed range for the purpose of improving the solubility of CO2 in the solution.
Claim(s) 6, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US20130104457A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishkiwaka is silent regarding recovering metals from the metal residue with acid aqueous solution, however, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to recover nickel or cobalt from the residue for a separate application would have been motivated to acid leach the residue to predictably recover metal product.
Regarding Claim 15, the heating temperature is 350-550 C [0114] which is considered to overlap with the claimed range of an internal temperature of 400 C or less. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
Regarding Claim 17, the prior art teaches the thermal treatment time is not limited and may be taken at least until the secondary battery reaches the thermal temperature [0119], therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to thermally treat for the claimed time period for the purpose of ensuring thermal treatment has been adequately completed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Nishikawa et al. (US20230104457A1) as used above, however the prior art does not teach each and every limitation as required by Claim 9 and 14.
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738