DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is believed line 2 should read “shaped to fit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 15-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stewart (US PGPub No 2017/0321419).
Referring to claim 1: Stewart teaches a collapsible formwork element, the element including: a pair of opposing side wall panels (items 16 and 16’); and at least one connector member (item 14) extending between the side wall panels, wherein the at least one connector member includes at least two hinge portions (item 206) that permit movement of the element between an expanded configuration, wherein the opposing panels are spaced apart, and a collapsed configuration, wherein the opposing panels are relatively closer together.
Referring to claim 2: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches the at least one connector member includes a centre panel between a pair of hinged ends provided by the hinge portions (figure 13).
Referring to claim 3: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches the hinged ends are configured to be engaged with the side wall panels (figure 6).
Referring to claim 6: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the hinge portions are provided by a narrowing or thinning in the connector member (figure 18).
Referring to claim 7: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the hinge portions are provided by a relative reduction in connector member thickness so as to provide a fold line that permits bending of the connector member (figure 18).
Referring to claim 8: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the at least one connector member is realisably attachable between the opposing side panels (figure 6).
Referring to claim 9: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the opposing side wall panels include slots therein to respectively receive the hinged ends of the least one connector member via a sliding engagement (figure 6).
Referring to claim 10: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 9 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the hinged ends of the at least one connector member are shaped fit the slots so as to provide a frictional engagement therein (figure 6).
Referring to claim 11: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein, in the expanded configuration, the centre panel of the at least one connector member extends substantially perpendicular to the opposing side wall members (figure 3).
Referring to claim 12: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the formwork element includes a plurality of connector members (figures 3 and 6).
Referring to claim 15: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the side wall panels include one or more channels (item 106) therein extending substantially vertically therethrough.
Referring to claim 16: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches wherein the one or more channels include an insulating material therein (items 16 and 16’ are themselves insulation).
Referring to claim 17: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches the lateral ends of the opposing side wall panels include engagement portions for engagement with like collapsible formwork elements so as to allow formation of a formwork structure comprised of a plurality of the collapsible formwork elements (items 74 and 78).
Referring to claim 19: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Stewart teaches in the collapsed configuration, the distance between the opposing walls panels is less than 1/3 the distance between the opposing wall panels in the expanded configuration (figures 3 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart.
Referring to claim 13: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Stewart does not specifically teach wherein the formwork element is configured to snap lock into the expanded configuration. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to recognize that the locking mechanism of Stewart (item 244) would provide the “snap lock” required by the instant claim to secure it in the expanded configuration.
Referring to claim 20: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Stewart does not specifically teach wherein the at least one connector member and side wall panels are each separately formed as single extruded pieces. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to recognize that the individual elements of Stewart are each created separately such as extrusion and assembled to create the final product
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart in view of Pfeiffer (US PGPub No 2014/0260055).
Referring to claim 18: Stewart teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Stewart does not specifically teach the engagement portions are configured to provide snap lock engagement between neighbouring formwork elements. However, Pfeiffer teaches the engagement portions are configured to provide snap lock engagement between neighbouring formwork elements (figure 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Stewart with the locking configuration taught by Pfeiffer in order to create a stronger connection between abutting formwall sections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,920,345. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant invention are broader and require fewer limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, , and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as remediation of the Double Patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635