Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-12 recite the limitation "The method" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 and 7 do not claim a method.
It should be noted that as a method is not claimed, adding a method may be subject to restriction by original presentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (CN 105333221) with references made to applicant provided machine translation.
Lu discloses, regarding claim 1, (see figure 1) a valve heater comprising a sheet (12) into which is integrated one or more heating elements (16) (see paragraph [0022]: the electric heating wire 16 is fixed, thus integrated on the external cylindrical surface of cylindrical drum 12), the sheet being shaped to be located within a valve housing. Regarding claim 2, a power supply is connected to the heating element. (See Page 2 Paragraph 1) Regarding claim 6, the sheet 12 is cylindrical. (See Page 3) Regarding claim 7, Fig 1 shows a ball valve having an inlet, outlet and ball element. (See Abstract) Fig 1 shows a fluid path through the valve with the heater located on an inner surface of the ball element. (See Abstract) Regarding claim 8, the heater must be inserted when the valve is open.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 105333221) in view of Schild et al (US 2010/0269917).
The teachings of Lu have been discussed above. Lu fails to disclose the heating elements are embedded in silicone.
Schild discloses, a heating element 30, which is embedded in silicone between the inner layer 10 and protective jacket 40. (See Paragraph [0018], Fig 2) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the silicone for insulating components from the heating element. Regarding claim 4, layer F or 44 is a ferromagnetic layer on top of the silicone. (See Paragraphs [0018]-[0019] and Fig 4) It would have been obvious to adapt Lu in view of Schlid to provide the ferromagnetic layer for resisting increases in pressure.
Regarding claim 9, Lu and Schlid discloses the heating elements are conductive coils. Lu fails to disclose the heating elements are embedded in silicone; a ferromagnetic layer. As a method is not being claimed, the step in claim 9 is not given patentable weight as it does not provide any structure. As a method is not being claimed, the step in claim 10 is not given patentable weight as it does not provide any structure.
Schild discloses, a heating element 30, which is embedded in silicone between the inner layer 10 and protective jacket 40. (See Paragraph [0018], Fig 2) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the silicone for insulating components from the heating element. Layer F or 44 is a ferromagnetic layer on top of the silicone. (See Paragraphs [0018]-[0019] and Fig 4) It would have been obvious to adapt Lu in view of Schlid to provide the ferromagnetic layer for resisting increases in pressure.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 105333221) in view of Cho (US 2015/0359041).
The teachings of Lu have been discussed above. Lu fails to disclose the protective layer between the sheet and the fluid flow. However, Cho discloses a heating element 103 having a sheet 107 between the heating element and a protective layer 109. (See Paragraph [0031]-[0032]) It would have been obvious to adapt Lu in view of Cho to provide the protective layer for electrical waterproofing and resistance against oxidation.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 105333221) in view of Martin et al (US 2022/0282742).
The teachings of Lu have been discussed above. Lu fails to disclose additive manufacturing and forming the ball element as two halves.
Martin discloses forming a ball valve via additive manufacturing. (see Paragraph [0004]) It would have been obvious to adapt Lu in view of Martin to provide the additive manufacturing or forming the ball element in two halves as both of these are obvious variants for forming a ball valve.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761