Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Japanese Application JP2023-046706 dated 03/23/2023 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Japanese application on 05/24/2024.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 were previously pending. New claims 7-8 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibata (US 20230174130 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a drive unit configured to make a mobile object travel in a towing direction in which the mobile object is towed and a pushing direction in which the mobile object is pushed, the drive unit comprising: an electric motor (battery operated motor 106); an operating part (operating part comprises operation panel 42 and operation unit 38) configured to be operated in the towing direction and the pushing direction (by forward/reverse shifter switch 42b of the operating part), the operating part located on a distal end in the towing direction; and a control part (controller 12b) configured to control the electric motor (par. 43: “The controller 12b (see FIG. 2) is configured to control operations of a motor 106”) such that the mobile object travels in the towing direction when it has been determined that the operating part has been operated in the towing direction, the control part configured to control the electric motor such that the mobile object travels in the pushing direction when it has been determined that the operating part has been operated in the pushing direction (by forward/reverse shifter switch 42b connected to the motor 106 via controller 12b).
Regarding claim 2, Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a support part; an operating mast extending upward from the support part; and a handle part disposed on an upper end of the operating mast, wherein the operating part is attached to the handle part.
Regarding claim 4, Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the operating part (operating part comprises operation panel 42 and operation unit 38) includes an operating lever (operation lever 52 of operation unit 38), the operating lever extending from the handle part (52 extends upward from the handle part), the operating lever located on the distal end in the towing direction.
Regarding claim 5, (Under a first interpretation for the base portion), Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the operating part (operating part comprises operation panel 42 and operation unit 38) includes a base portion attached to the outer surface of handle part, an operating lever (operation lever 52 of operation unit 38) extending from the base portion, the operating lever configured to be unitarily operated with the base portion, and a contact portion (retainers 56, 58) configured to be unitarily operated with the base portion, the contact portion located on the distal end in the towing direction.
Regarding claim 6, Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a pallet truck (handcart 2) comprising: a loading platform (bucket 300); and the drive unit recited in claim 2, wherein the support part is attached to the loading platform.
Regarding claim 8, (Under a second interpretation for the base portion), Shibata teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) the operating part includes a base portion, and an operating lever extending from the base portion, the operating lever configured to be unitarily operated with the base portion, the operating lever is unitarily pivoted with the base portion.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lear (US 20040213656 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lear teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a drive unit configured to make a mobile object travel in a towing direction in which the mobile object is towed and a pushing direction in which the mobile object is pushed, the drive unit comprising: an electric motor (par. 21: “The forward wheels 14 are powered by drive means in the form of two motors (not shown) located within the housing 18 between the drive wheels 14”); an operating part (38) configured to be operated in the towing direction and the pushing direction, the operating part located on a distal end in the towing direction; and a control part (control panel 36 inside the housing) configured to control the electric motor such that the mobile object travels in the towing direction when it has been determined that the operating part has been operated in the towing direction, the control part configured to control the electric motor such that the mobile object travels in the pushing direction when it has been determined that the operating part has been operated in the pushing direction (par. 26: “The control unit is operatively connected to both the motors and the actuator 24. The control unit 36 allows for variable speed control for forward and backward movement of the device 10. Forward and backward movement is instigated through lever 38 and a brake 40 allows the operator to stop the device quickly in an emergency”).
Regarding claim 2, Lear teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a support part (28); an operating mast (34) extending upward from the support part; and a handle part disposed on an upper end of the operating mast, wherein the operating part is attached to the handle part (both directly attached to the housing).
Regarding claim 3, Lear teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an emergency stop switch (40) disposed on the handle part, wherein the control part is configured to stop the electric motor when the emergency stop switch has been operated by a user (par. 26: “Forward and backward movement is instigated through lever 38 and a brake 40 allows the operator to stop the device quickly in an emergency”).
Regarding claim 4, Lear teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the operating part includes an operating lever (lever of forward/backward mechanism 38), the operating lever extending from the handle part, the operating lever located on the distal end in the towing direction.
Regarding claim 6, Lear teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a pallet truck (lifting and transporting device) comprising: a loading platform (12); and the drive unit recited in claim 2, wherein the support part is attached to the loading platform (par. 24: “Behind the actuator 24 is the rearward portion of the frame 12 in the form of a rearward extension of the plates 22 that form a platform 28. The platform 28 extends the full width of the frame 12 and includes side-walls 30 that serve to locate and position a pair of batteries 32 thereon”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on the grounds that “Shibata and Lear do not disclose the operating part located on a distal end in the towing direction” are fully considered, but not found persuasive. Because as clearly shown in annotated Figs. of Shibata and Lear above, each of the operating parts is located at distal end in towing direction. See definition of distal:
Applicant’s arguments on the grounds that “Shibata and Lear are not configured such that the operating part first comes into contact with the user when the mobile object approaches the user in the towing direction” are fully considered, but not found persuasive. Because this is not claimed.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the claimed same direction of the operating part and traveling of the mobile device:
Device of Shibata is equipped with forward/reverse shifter switch 42b as stated above and described in par. 0046. Also see forward/reverse button in the manual and Facebook and YouTube videos of Makita Battery Powered Wheelbarrow attached to this paper and shown below.
Device of Lear is also equipped with forward and backward lever 38.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723