DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on March 5, 2024; December 19, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9); Species B (Figs. 2A, B) in the reply filed on June 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 11, 2206.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sensor configured to detect an amount of force” (claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) adjustment mechanism…configured to change a thickness…in claim 1
b) first/second adjustment mechanism…configured to change a thickness…in claim 2
c) mechanical actuator (means for mechanical actuation)…in claim 5
d) electrical actuator (means for electrical actuation)…in claim 6
e) sensor configured to detect an amount of force…in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “first adjustment mechanism…second adjustment mechanism each have a first state and a second state…a distance between the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism is greater in the second state than in the first state” which is unclear in light of Applicant’s elected species of Figures 2A,B. Specifically such distance appears to be a relative term (MPEP 2173.05(b)) as an arbitrarily designated distance between any two locations/points during the operation of the adjustment mechanisms (210). Neither the claims nor specification contain any spatial orientation of the first and second adjustment mechanisms (210) and their associated states so as to determine when one distance is greater than another.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as there are first and second adjustment mechanisms with first and second states, such distance limitation is necessarily met.
As to claim 9, the claim limitation “sensor configured to detect an amount of force exerted on an object by the adjustment mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Applicant’s specification does not provide any sensor configured to determine the force exerted by adjustment mechanism (210) on an object.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0056601; cited by Applicant).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a wearable electronic device comprising
a display (Lee Fig. 1 - 1; para. [0056]);
a support arm (Lee Fig. 1 - 2, 3) connected to the display (Lee Fig. 1), the support arm comprising
a static portion connected to the display (Lee Fig. 1 - 2, 34, 35)
a dynamic portion connected to the static portion (Lee Fig. 1 - 5; para. [0056]; Figs. 4, 5 - 5; Figs. 7-12 - 5)
and an adjustment mechanism positioned on the dynamic portion and configured to change a thickness of the dynamic portion (Lee Figs. 4, 5 - T1, T2; Figs. 7-12- T1, T2).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches the support arm comprises a first support arm, the static portion comprises a first static portion, the dynamic portion comprises a first dynamic portion (Lee Fig. 1 - 2, 3A, 3B, 34, 35, 5; Fig. 2 - 3A, 3B, 35, 35, 5), and the adjustment mechanism comprises a first adjustment mechanism (Lee Fig. 1 - 5);
the wearable electronic device further comprises a second support arm connected to the display (Lee Fig. 1 - 3A, 3B; Fig. 2 - 3A, 3B), the second support arm comprising:
a second static portion connected to the display (Lee Fig. 1 - 2, 34, 35; Fig. 2 - 34, 35), the second static portion housing an electronic component (Lee Fig. 1 - 2; Fig. 6; para. [0104]-[0106]);
a second dynamic portion positioned opposite the display at an end of the second support arm (Lee Fig. 2 - 5); and
a second adjustment mechanism positioned in the second dynamic portion and configured to change a thickness of the second dynamic portion (Lee Figs. 4, 5 - T1, T2; Figs. 7-12- T1, T2).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism each have a first state and a second state (Lee Figs. 4-5, 7-12) and a distance between the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism is greater in the second state than in the first state (Lee Fig. 2 - 5; Figs. 4-5, 7-12).
As to claim 5, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches the adjustment mechanism further comprises a mechanical actuator (Lee Figs. 4, 5 - 61; para. [0094]).
As to claim 6, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches the adjustment mechanism further comprises an electrical actuator (Lee Figs. 4, 5 - 62; para. [0094]).
As to claim 7, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches a proximal end of the support arm is connected to the display (Lee Fig. 1 - 1, 3A, 3B) and the adjustment mechanism is located at a distal end of the support arm (Lee Fig. 1 - 5).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches the adjustment mechanism is bi-stable (Lee Fig. 9; Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (CN 110221434; cited by Applicant; text references made to associated machine translation).
As to claim 4, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lee further teaches a moveable member (Lee Fig. 4 - 52, 61; Fig. 9 - 64’, 52; Fig. 12 - 74, 52) but doesn’t specify a first magnet engageable with the movable member in a first state and a second magnet engageable with the moveable member in a second state.
In the same field of endeavor Yu teaches wearable devices (glasses) with support arms with a first magnet engageable with the movable member in a first state and a second magnet engageable with the moveable member in a second state (Yu Figs. 5-7 - 131, 32, 132; para. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide first and second magnets since, as taught by Yu, magnets are well known in the art for effecting movement for adjust glasses temples pieces (Yu Figs. 5-7; para. [0046]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heinrich et al. (US 9,128,283 - Heinrich).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify a sensor configured to detect an amount of force exerted on an object by the adjustment mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor Heinrich teaches a wearable electronic device having a sensor configured to detect an amount of force exerted on an object by the adjustment mechanism (Heinrich Fig. 1A; Figs. 8A,B - 816; col. 13:35-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such sensor since, as taught by Heinrich, such pressure sensors allow for determining the pressure applied to and to be adjusted computing devices worn on the head (Heinrich Fig. 1A; Figs. 8A,B - 816; col. 13:35-45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Poore et al. (US 11,914,158; 2021/0271093); Godeau et al. (US 11,656,481; 2021/0109371); Mou et al. (US 10,415,561; 2018/0291887); Lee (US 10,754,175); Kinno et al. (US 9,274,341; 2015/0102982); Yaguchi (US 6,491,389); Hirschman et al. (US 5,623,322); Lee (US 4,848,891); Anger (US 4,755,042); Hong et al. (US 2024/0151987); Park et al. (US 2014/0375947); Meng (CN 108319037); Kobayashi (JP 2010-169742); Saito (JP H08-304744).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 26, 2026