DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai et al. (USPN 7611424) in view of Galloway et al. (US 2005/0288124).
Regarding claim 1, Nagai et al. discloses a club head 10 having a club head body, and adjustable weighting system. The club head body includes a toe end, heel end, crown 14, sole 12, strike face, and perimeter 18 at the junction between the crown and sole extending between the toe and heel ends. The club head body also includes a recessed portion 20 in the perimeter having a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a third surface extending perpendicular to and between the first and second surfaces. The adjustable weighting system is positioned within the recessed portion. The adjustable weighting system is configured to receive a weight 26 and includes a plurality of discrete attachment locations 22 that includes an attachment means 30. The weight is selectively removeably attachable to each of the plurality of discrete attachment locations. Nagai et al. does not disclose distance of the weight from the center of gravity or the combined inertia of the crown to sole inertia and the heel to toe inertia. Galloway et al. discloses a club head having weights 47 within the perimeter portion. The center of gravity is located less than 1.7 inches from the exterior surface of the front wall (Strike face) (See Paragraph 0130). The club head is also disclosed as having a length of 3 to 4.5 inches, which implies that the center of gravity is 1.3 to 2.8 inches from the rear. Applicant does not disclose why a minimum distance of 1 inch for the CG is critical in attaining the invention. As noted above, Galloway et al. discloses the distance of the CG from the rear being 1.3 to 2.8 inches. Applicant notes that the CG distance can be 0.8 to 1.3 inches (See Paragraph 00132). In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the weight and distance from the center of gravity to be of any value within the above range, as taught by Galloway et al., in order to optimize the inertial properties of the club head. Galloway et al. also discloses the inertia about the Izz axis (crown to sole) being greater than 3500 g-cm2 and the inertia about the Iyy axis (heel-to-toe) being up to 4000 g-cm2 (See Paragraph 0117). The total of the inertias would be greater than 7500 g-cm2. Applicant does not disclose why having an inertia sum greater than 8000 g-cm2 is critical in attaining the invention. It is noted by the applicant that an inertia sum of greater than 7500 g-cm2 is sufficient to attain the invention (See Paragraph 0124). Galloway et al. does note that the inertia of the Izz axis can be greater than 3500 g-cm2, implying that the inertia sum can be greater than 7500 g-cm2. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the inertia sum to be routine optimization (See In re Aller).
Regarding claim 2, Nagai et al. discloses the plurality of discrete attachment locations having at least 3 discrete attachment locations.
Regarding claim 3, Nagai et al. discloses the recessed portion extending in an arcuate manner from near the toe end to near the heel end following the contour of a trailing edge of the club head.
Regarding claim 7, Nagai et al. discloses the first surface being parallel to the second surface.
Regarding claim 11, see the above regarding claims 1 and 3. In addition, Figures 1 and 2 show the recessed portion substantially parallel to the sole and a wall extending between the sole and recessed surface.
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, Nagai et al. disclose the weight being rectangular shape (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Nagai et al. notes that additional weights can be attached to the discrete attachment locations (See Column 3, lines 13 through 25). Nagai et al. also notes that he weight can be of the same mass, same shape, and interchangeable (See Column 3, lines 26 through 40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-10, and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711