DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action corresponds to application 18/596,556 which was filed on 3/5/2024 and claims benefit of 63/494,004 filed 4/4/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
In the reply filed 6/24/2026, claims 1 and 16 have been amended. No additional claims have been added or canceled. Accordingly claims 1-20 stand pending.
The 35 USC 101 rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments and arguments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (US10412002, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Richardson, in view of Kakaiya et al. (US2023/0100586, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Kakaiya, and Sovio et al. (US2023/0058046, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Sovio.
Regarding Claim 1:
Richardson teaches:
A method, comprising: obtaining, by a data transform accelerator, first metadata (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 29, note transformation information for the transforming operations);
obtaining input data to be transformed by the data transform accelerator (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 29, note performing transformations on input);
generating, using the first pipeline, encoded data and second metadata using the input data and the first metadata (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 29, note performing transformations on input to generate compressed, e.g., encoded data, and additional associated data, e.g., second metadata, using the input data and the first metadata);
storing the encoded data and the second metadata (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 48, note storing encoded data with associated data);
While Richardson teaches obtaining metadata for data transformation commands, Richardson does not specifically teach configuring a first pipeline in the data transform accelerator using the first metadata, the second metadata including information usable to configure decode direction data transform operations; configuring a second pipeline in the data transform accelerator using the second metadata. However, Kakaiya is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Kakaiya teaches:
A method, comprising: obtaining, by a data transform accelerator, first metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0072, 0078, 0094-0095], note obtaining descriptor);
configuring a first pipeline in the data transform accelerator using the first metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0054, 0078, 0094-0095], note obtaining descriptor and sending/configuring pipelines for the jobs based on the descriptor, e.g., compress/encode or decompress/decode);
obtaining input data to be transformed by the data transform accelerator (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0053-0054, 0077-0078], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded);
generating, using the first pipeline, encoded data and second metadata using the input data and the first metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0059, 0077-0078, 0111], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata) the second metadata including information usable to decode operations (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0111, 0113-0114], note the metadata may comprise a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) value which is interpreted as information usable to decode data);
configuring a second pipeline in the data transform accelerator using the second metadata to perform the decode direction data transform operations of the encoded data (Kakaiya, figures 1, 9A, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0090, 0093, 0111-0114], note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata; note the second metadata may comprise information used during the decoding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
While Richardson as modified teaches obtaining metadata for data transformation commands, Richardson as modified does not specifically teach the second metadata including information usable to configure decode direction data transform operations. However, Sovio is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Sovio teaches:
generating, using the first pipeline, encoded data and second metadata using the input data and the first metadata the second metadata including information usable to configure decode direction data transform operations (Sovio, abstract, [0006, 0038], note the metadata associated with the encoded data comprises information used to configure decoding operations. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and the metadata as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya);
configuring a second pipeline in the data transform accelerator using the second metadata to perform the decode direction data transform operations of the encoded data (Sovio, abstract, [0006, 0038, 0040], note decrypting the data using the second metadata. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and the metadata as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Sovio because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Sovio would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data protections which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the encryption/decryption keys (Sovio, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
generating, by the second pipeline, decoded data using the encoded data (Kakaiya, figures 1, 9A, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0090, 0093], note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata to decode the encoded data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 3:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the first metadata is obtained by accessing, by the data transform accelerator, a data transform command, the data transform command including at least the first metadata (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 29, note transformation information for the transforming operations) (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0072, 0078, 0094-0095], note obtaining descriptor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 4:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the first metadata is obtained from a control device and is operable to: direct the configuration of the first pipeline in the data transform accelerator (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0054, 0078, 0094-0095], note obtaining descriptor and sending/configuring pipelines for the jobs based on the descriptor, e.g., compress/encode or decompress/decode); and
direct the configuration of the second metadata to be generated by the first pipeline (Kakaiya, figures 1, 9A, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0090, 0093], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 5:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
a first portion of the second metadata comprises information associated with a delineation of one or more command structure elements included in a second portion of the second metadata (Richardson, figures 1-2, column 5 line 64 - column 6 line 29, note transformation information for the transforming operations) (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0090, 0093-0094], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata; note flags; note descriptor contains portions of metadata associated command structure elements of other portions of the metadata, e.g., multiple jobs); and
the second portion of the second metadata comprises at least one of a session control word, a source token, an action token, and additional metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0093-0094, 0111], note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata; note flags; note descriptor contains portions of metadata associated command structure elements of other portions of the metadata, e.g., multiple jobs; note other portions of metadata within the second metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 6:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein a data transform engine included in the second pipeline consumes the second portion of the second metadata and does not consume the first portion of the second metadata to generate decoded data (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0093-0094, 0111], note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata; note descriptor contains portions of metadata associated command structure elements of other portions of the metadata, e.g., multiple jobs; note flags may indicate functionality to be used for the operations and output, which means the flags are consumed by the data transform engine to process the decompression operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
configuring, by a post-processing device, a layout of a second data transform command for the second pipeline using the first portion of the second metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0093-0094, 0111], note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which is interpreted to mean a layout of a second data transform command, e.g., decompression, using a first portion of the metadata); and
populating, by the post-processing device, the layout using the second portion of the second metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0077-0078, 0093-0094, 0111], note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which is interpreted to mean a layout of a second data transform command, e.g., decompression, using a first portion of the metadata; note flags may indicate functionality to be used for the operations, which means the flags are consumed by the data transform engine to process the decompression operation, e.g., used to populate the layout).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 8:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the post-processing device is a host computing device (Richardson, figures 1-2, note the server computer may be a host device) (Kakaiya, figure 1, note the computer system may be a host device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Regarding Claim 15:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the first pipeline comprises one or more data transform engines arranged to perform one or more data transform operations to the input data (Kakaiya, figures 1 and 11, [0054, 0078, 0094-0095], note obtaining descriptor and sending/configuring pipelines for the jobs based on the descriptor, e.g., compress/encode or decompress/decode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
Claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 16 is directed to a system comprising one or more data transform engines and a processing device (Kakaiya, figures 1-4, note work execution circuits; note processor) while claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 17 is directed to a system comprising one or more data transform engines and a processing device (Kakaiya, figures 1-4, note work execution circuits; note processor) while claim 2 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5 respectively, except claim 18 is directed to a system comprising one or more data transform engines and a processing device (Kakaiya, figures 1-4, note work execution circuits; note processor) while claim 5 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson in view of Kakaiya, Sovio, and Naveen Imagoudanavar et al. (“Data Protection”, 2019, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Naveen.
Regarding Claim 9:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
non-volatile memory express (NVMe) protection information (PI) (Richardson, claims 10 and 15, note using NVMe and protection information is a part of NVMe) associated with the encoded data and with the second metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0059, 0077-0078, 0093, 0111], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
While Richardson as modified teaches data transformation, Richardson as modified does not specifically teach generating non-volatile memory express (NVMe) protection information (PI) associated with the encoded data and with the second metadata. However, Naveen is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Naveen teaches:
generating non-volatile memory express (NVMe) protection information (PI) associated with the encoded data and with the second metadata (Naveen, section 1, note generating NVMe PI for each data block while data transferring. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and second metadata as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Naveen because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Naveen would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the security features of NVMe (Naveen, abstract and section 1).
Regarding Claim 10:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein a portion of the encoded data and the second metadata is combined into one or more sectors associated with the NVMe PI (Richardson, claims 10 and 15, note using NVMe and protection information is a part of NVMe) associated with the encoded data and with the second metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0059, 0077-0078, 0093, 0111], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata) (Naveen, section 1, note generating NVMe PI for each data block while data transferring; note the NVMe PI is combined with the data block. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and second metadata as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Naveen because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Naveen would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the security features of NVMe (Naveen, abstract and section 1).
Regarding Claim 11:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the NVMe PI is included in the one or more sectors (Richardson, claims 10 and 15, note using NVMe and protection information is a part of NVMe) associated with the encoded data and with the second metadata (Kakaiya, figures 1, 11, and 16-17, [0053-0054, 0059, 0077-0078, 0093, 0111], note obtaining input to be transformed, e.g., compressed/encoded or decompressed/decoded with metadata; note outputting compressed/encoded data with metadata; note a single descriptor may communicate information to an accelerator about multiple jobs, for example for live-migration of data where software would like to decompress a page and populate memory as soon as a network packet (e.g., chunk of data) is received, which would mean a second decompression pipeline would be configurated using the second metadata) (Naveen, section 1, note generating NVMe PI for each data block while data transferring; note the NVMe PI is combined with the data block. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and second metadata as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Naveen because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Naveen would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the security features of NVMe (Naveen, abstract and section 1).
Claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 9 respectively, except claim 19 is directed to a system comprising one or more data transform engines and a processing device (Kakaiya, figures 1-4, note work execution circuits; note processor) while claim 9 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson in view of Kakaiya, Sovio, and Niell et al. (US2021/0150074, previously presented in ‘892), hereinafter Niell.
Regarding Claim 12:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
encrypting, by an encryption data transform engine in the first pipeline, the encoded data using a first key (Richardson, column 1 line 60 – column 2 line 29, note each segment may be encrypted) (Kakaiya, figure 4, [0077-0078], note encrypting the data in the first pipeline); and
encrypting, by the encryption data transform engine in the first pipeline, the second metadata using a second key (Richardson, column 1 line 60 – column 2 line 29, note each segment may be encrypted) (Kakaiya, figure 4, [0077-0078], note encrypting the data in the first pipeline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
While Richardson as modified teaches data transformation and encryption, Richardson as modified does not specifically state using encryption keys. However, Niell is in the same field of endeavor, data management, and Niell teaches:
encrypting, by an encryption data transform engine in the first pipeline, the encoded data using a first key (Niell, figures 4A-4E, claims 16-17, [0043, 0081], note encrypting the encoded data using a key. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data, metadata, and pipelines as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya); and
encrypting, by the encryption data transform engine in the first pipeline, the second metadata using a second key (Niell, figures 4A-4E, claims 16-17, [0043, 0081], note encrypting the data/metadata using a key. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data, metadata, and pipelines as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Niell because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Niell would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the encryption/decryption (Niell, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 13:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
wherein the first key is the same as the second key (Richardson, column 1 line 60 – column 2 line 29, note each segment may be encrypted) (Kakaiya, figure 4, [0077-0078], note encrypting the data in the first pipeline) (Niell, figures 4A-4E, claims 16-18, [0043, 0081, 0083], note encrypting the data/metadata using a key, which may be the same. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data, metadata, and pipelines as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Niell because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Niell would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the encryption/decryption (Niell, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 14:
Richardson as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Richardson as modified further teaches:
decrypting, by a decryption data transform engine in the second pipeline, the second metadata using the second key (Richardson, column 3 line 34 – column 4 line 4, note each segment may be encrypted/decrypted) (Kakaiya, figure 3, [0053-0054, 0076-0078, 0090, 0093], note decrypting the data in the second pipeline) (Niell, figures 4A-4E, claims 16-18, [0043, 0081, 0083], note decrypting the data/metadata using a key. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and pipelines as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya);
obtaining the first key from the decryption of the second metadata (Sovio, [0042], note obtaining a decryption key from the decryption of metadata. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the metadata and keys as taught by Richardson, Kakaiya, and Niell);
decrypting, by the decryption data transform engine in the second pipeline, the encoded data using the first key (Richardson, column 3 line 34 – column 4 line 4, note each segment may be encrypted/decrypted) (Kakaiya, figure 3, [0053-0054, 0076-0078, 0090, 0093], note decrypting the data in the second pipeline) (Niell, figures 4A-4E, claims 16-18, [0043, 0081, 0083], note decrypting the data/metadata using a key. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the encoded data and pipelines as taught by Richardson and Kakaiya).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Kakaiya because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Kakaiya would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the efficiency and performance of the system using accelerators and pipelines to process and transmit data (Kakaiya, [0061, 0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Niell because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Niell would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data transformations which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the encryption/decryption (Niell, [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Sovio because all references are directed towards data management and information retrieval and because Sovio would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references in data protections which would improve the security of the data by utilizing the encryption/decryption keys (Sovio, [0004]).
Claim 20 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 12 and 14 respectively, except claim 20 is directed to a system comprising one or more data transform engines and a processing device (Kakaiya, figures 1-4, note work execution circuits; note processor) while claim 12 and 14 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 12 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bowen (US2021/0377000) teaches decrypting encoded data using associated metadata.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN J MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 8/27/2026
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151