DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on March 05, 2024 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and certified copy of paper required by 37 CFR 1.55 is received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and an initialed and dated copy of the Applicant’s IDS form 1449 is attached to the instant Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of co-pending Application No. 18/595,807 in view of Bienas et al. (US2023/0105896 A1, hereinafter "Bienas"). Regarding claims 1 and 8, claims 1 and 14 of co-pending application discloses every limitation except a packet delay budget, a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a bit error rate, or an averaging window. Bienas discloses QoS profile comprising the following (and other) parameters: Maximum packet loss or packet error rate….Packet delay budget (PDB), a maximum delay a data packet may suffer on its way from a UE device to the edge UPF or vice versa in [0013-18] in order to improve QoS situation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application
18/596,564
Co-pending Application
18/595,807
Claim 1. A quality of service characteristic parameter determining method, comprising: determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter, wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a sensing delay budget, a sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capability, a sensing update rate, integrated sensing and communication
signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, a false alarm probability, a packet delay budget, a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a
bit error rate, or an averaging window.
Claim 1. A quality of service characteristic parameter determining method, comprising: determining, by a sending device, a sensing quality of service QoS characteristic parameter, wherein the sensing QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a sensing delay budget, sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capacity, a sensing update rate, sensing signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, and a false alarm probability.
Claim 8. A communication method, comprising: obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter, wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following: a sensing delay budget, a sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capability, a sensing update rate, integrated sensing and communication signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, a false alarm probability, a packet delay budget, a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a bit error rate, or an averaging window.
Claim 14. A data sending method, comprising: obtaining, by a core network device, target data, wherein the target data comprises a sensing QoS characteristic parameter or a sensing quality identity SQI; and sending, by the core network device, the target data to a sending device or a receiving device, wherein the sensing QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following: a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a sensing delay budget, sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capacity, a sensing update rate, sensing signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, and a false alarm probability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 18 -19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shariat (US 2023/0276295 A1, hereinafter "Shariat").
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Shariat discloses a quality of service characteristic parameter determining method, comprising:
determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter (Shariat, [0004, 0010] As technology elements, such as “sensing technology”; initiated by a remote UE (i.e. sending device), identifying whether QoS requirements associated with the remote UE and the UE-to-network relay are supported, identifying one or more QoS parameters that satisfy the QoS requirements, and based on the one or more QoS parameters), wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a sensing delay budget, a sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capability, a sensing update rate, integrated sensing and communication signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, a false alarm probability (not given patentable weight due to not selected option), a packet delay budget (Shariat, [0066] Each entry in the table may also include an adjustment factor to be applied per individual QoS characteristics (e.g., packet delay budget) within 5QIs and/or PQIs when mapping 5QIs to PQIs or vice versa), a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a bit error rate, or an averaging window (not given patentable weight due to not selected option).
Regarding claim 7, Shariat discloses determining, by the sending device, a measurement quantity of a first signal according to the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter; and
sending, by the sending device, the measurement quantity to a receiving device, wherein the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal (not given patentable weight due to not selected option);
or,
the method further comprises:
receiving, by the sending device, a service sensing manner sent by a core network device or a receiving device; or
determining a service sensing manner according to the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter, wherein different sensing manners correspond to different transmit and receive ends of a first signal; and
the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal (not given patentable weight due to not selected option);
or,
the method further comprises one of the following:
receiving, by the sending device, a sending device and a receiving device that are sent by a core network device or a receiving device and that participate in sensing and communication (not given patentable weight due to not selected option); or
determining, by the sending device according to the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter, the sending device and the receiving device that participate in sensing and communication (Shariat, [0004, 0010] As technology elements, such as “sensing technology”; initiated by a remote UE (i.e. sending device), identifying whether QoS requirements associated with the remote UE and the UE-to-network relay are supported, identifying one or more QoS parameters that satisfy the QoS requirements, and based on the one or more QoS parameters).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Shariat discloses a communication method, comprising:
obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter (Shariat, [0004, 0093] Remote UE 10 (and/or UE-to-Network Relay 20) may receive a User Configuration Update (via PCF 80) to notify on new ProSe configuration and policy parameters or an alternative QoS profile), wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a sensing delay budget, a sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capability, a sensing update rate, integrated sensing and communication signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, a false alarm probability (not given patentable weight due to not selected option), a packet delay budget (Shariat, [0066] Each entry in the table may also include an adjustment factor to be applied per individual QoS characteristics (e.g., packet delay budget) within 5QIs and/or PQIs when mapping 5QIs to PQIs or vice versa), a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a bit error rate, or an averaging window (not given patentable weight due to not selected option).
Claim(s) 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hassan et al. (US 12,273,766 B2, hereinafter "Hassan").
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Hassan discloses a data sending method, comprising:
obtaining, by a core network device, target data (Hassan, Col. 4 line 22-24 C providing the network node with information on one or more resource pools having less congestion according to the sorted CBR/CR values), wherein the target data comprises a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter, an integrated sensing and communication quality index (ISAC QI), a sensing quality index (SQI), and a communication quality index (Hassan, Col. 3 line 49-54 adapted based on at least a QoS of at least one data packet or at least one service; and selecting a resource pool or at least one resource within a resource pool based on a CBR/CR value and QoS requirements Table 5.7.4-1); and
sending, by the core network device, the target data to a sending device and/or a receiving device, wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter comprises at least one of the following: a sensing delay budget, a sensing resolution, a maximum sensing range, a sensing error, a continuous sensing capability, a sensing update rate, integrated sensing and communication signal quality, sensing security, sensing privacy, a detection probability, a false alarm probability, a packet delay budget, a packet error rate, a maximum data burst volume, a maximum data rate, a bit error rate, or an averaging window (Hassan, Col. 4 line 25-26 Col. 6 line 51-56 receiving a congestion control message, from the network node, indicating information on allocated resources (F) information on a period for the allocation (P) and information on time slots or a transmission time (T) and Col. 8 line 42-46; An adaptive sensing window and/or a selection/re-selection window is designed as a parameter for QoS and/or resource pool congestion parameters also see Table 5.7.4-1).
Regarding claim 17, Hassan discloses further comprising:
determining third information according to the target data, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following:
a service sensing manner, wherein different sensing manners correspond to different transmit and receive ends of a first signal (not given patentable weight due to not selected option); or
a sending device and a receiving device that participate in sensing and communication (Hassan, Fig. 3 UE0 (i.e. sending device), UE1 (i.e. receiving device)), wherein the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal; wherein after the determining third information according to the target data (not given patentable weight due to further define not selected option), the method further comprises:
sending, by the core network device, the service sensing manner and/or the sending device and the receiving device that participate in sensing and communication to the sending device or the receiving device (Hassan, Col. 13 line 13-17, If the network node Once the UE receives its new congestion control message, i.e., in the downlink control channel information indicating P, T and F, the UE may be configured to start a timer to: Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept) (or gNB) accepted the new resource pool suggestion control results i.e. the gNB accepts the information provided by the UE, the gNB performs a congestion control mechanism; Once the UE receives its new congestion control message, i.e., in the downlink control channel information indicating P, T and F, the UE may be configured to start a timer to: Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 9-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariat (US 2023/0276295 A1, hereinafter "Shariat") in view of Hassan et al. (US 12,273,766 B2, hereinafter "Hassan").
Regarding claim 2, Shariat discloses determining, by the sending device, the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter according to the ISAC QI and the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set; wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is stipulated in a protocol or notified by the core network device (Shariat, [0048] the ProSe UE to network Relay initiates a remote UE report to SMF including Remote User ID, IP information or any other relevant address information, indicating the highest priority Alternative QoS profile that can be fulfilled, meeting end-end QoS requirements) but does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the sending device, an integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set, wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is a correspondence between an integrated sensing and communication quality index (ISAC QI), a communication QoS characteristic parameter, and a sensing QoS characteristic parameter; and
receiving, by the sending device, an ISAC QI notified by a core network device or
a receiving device.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining, by the sending device, an integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set (Hassan, Col. 13 line 25-31 Once the UE receives its new congestion control message, i.e., in the downlink control channel information indicating P, T and F, the UE may be configured to start a timer to: Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept), e.g., for non-GBR (non-Guaranteed Bit Rate) or for lower GBR values, wherein GBR is a QoS parameter), wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is a correspondence between an integrated sensing and communication quality index (ISAC QI), a communication QoS characteristic parameter, and a sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Hassan, Col. 6 line 58-60 QoS profiles include 5QI which is defined as a scalar that is used as a reference to 5G QoS characteristics defined in clause 5.7.4 of 3GPP TS 23.501 );
receiving, by the sending device, an ISAC QI notified by a core network device or
a receiving device (Hassan, Col. 6 line 60-64 access node-specific parameters that control QoS forwarding treatment for the QoS Flow. In section 5.7.4 of 3GPP TS 23.501, a one-to-one mapping of standardized 5QI to different QoS characteristics is provided in table 5.7.4-1).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 3, Shariat does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises:
obtaining, by the sending device, a sensing QoS parameter set and a communication QoS parameter set, wherein the sensing QoS parameter set is a correspondence between a sensing quality index (SQI) and a value of a sensing QoS characteristic parameter, and the communication QoS parameter set is a correspondence between a communication quality index and a value of a communication QoS characteristic parameter;
receiving, by the sending device, an SQI and a communication quality index that
are notified by a core network device or a receiving device;
obtaining, by the sending device, the sensing QoS characteristic parameter
according to the SQI and the sensing QoS parameter set;
obtaining, by the sending device, the communication QoS characteristic parameter according to the communication quality index and the communication QoS parameter set; and
determining, by the sending device, the sensing QoS characteristic parameter and the communication QoS characteristic parameter as the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (not given patentable weight due to not selected option);
or,
wherein the determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises:
receiving, by the sending device, first information sent by a core network device or
a receiving device, wherein the first information indicates the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises:
receiving, by the sending device, first information sent by a core network device or a receiving device, wherein the first information indicates the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (Hassan, Col. 1 line 24-32 If the request is accepted by the radio base station, the latter will send a new bearer configuration back to UE. In case the channel becomes congested and there are new bearer request(s), the radio base station gNB may prioritize transmissions, which is currently studied in the NR V2X study item in 3GPP Release 16 (Rel. 16). In this context pre-emption is proposed as an extension of the URLLC (Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication) mechanisms, i.e. URLLC services that have stringent requirements in terms of e.g. delay, data rate etc).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Shariat discloses wherein the sensing and communication
QoS characteristic parameter further comprises at least one of a sensing and communication service type or a sensing and communication priority level; or the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter further comprises at least one of a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a communication service type, or a communication priority level (Shariat, [0074] As part of Layer-2 link modification to PC5 QoS flow(s), the PC5 QoS rules can be updated with additional information elements either implicitly or explicitly (to be stored as part of UE PC5 QoS context), reflecting change in end-to-end QoS requirements e.g., updated PQI/5QI, updated adjustment factor per QoS characteristics within PQI/5QI, updated end-to-end Packet delay budget, updated priority level, updated packet error rate, updated averaging window, updated maximum data burst volume or any other PC5 QoS characteristics. Such additional information may override the default QoS characteristics), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing and communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of an integrated sensing and communication signal; the communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a communication signal; and the sensing priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal. Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing and communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of an integrated sensing and communication signal; the communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a communication signal; and the sensing priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal (Shariat, Col. 4 line 60-64 if the data packet has a high priority in respect to QoS, a
resource pool or resources within a resource pool having a CBR and/or CR value below a certain threshold is selected).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 5, Shariat does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following:
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to a first preset value;
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or equal to the first
preset value;
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first
preset value; or
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first preset value;
or,
wherein the communication service type comprises at least one of the following:
a guaranteed bit rate communication service;
a non-guaranteed bit rate communication service; or
a guaranteed bit rate delay-critical communication service;
or,
wherein the sensing and communication service type comprises at least one of the
following:
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is
greater than or equal to a second preset value;
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to the second preset value;
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range less
than the second preset value; or
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the
second preset value.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following:
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to a first preset value;
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or equal to the first
preset value;
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first
preset value; or
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first preset value (Hassan, Col. 14 line 65-67 the CBR/CR congestion threshold is less than a certain threshold (f (QoS)));
or,
wherein the communication service type comprises at least one of the following:
a guaranteed bit rate communication service;
a non-guaranteed bit rate communication service (Hassan, Col. 13 line 29-31 Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept), e.g., for non-GBR (non Guaranteed Bit Rate)); or
a guaranteed bit rate delay-critical communication service (Hassan, Col. 13 line 31-34 wherein GBR is a QoS parameter. Hence the UE is configured to extend the period for the allocation P based on the QoS of the packet and/or based on a
QoS flow);
or,
wherein the sensing and communication service type comprises at least one of the
following:
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is
greater than or equal to a second preset value;
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to the second preset value;
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range less
than the second preset value; or
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the
second preset value (Hassan, Col. 14 line 65-67 the CBR/CR congestion threshold is less than a certain threshold (f (QoS))).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 9, Shariat discloses determining, by the receiving device, the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter according to the ISAC QI and the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set; wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is stipulated in a protocol or notified by the core network device (Shariat, [0048] the ProSe UE to network Relay initiates a remote UE report to SMF including Remote User ID, IP information or any other relevant address information, indicating the highest priority Alternative QoS profile that can be fulfilled, meeting end-end QoS requirements) but does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the receiving device, an integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set, wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is a correspondence between an integrated sensing and communication quality index (ISAC QI), a communication QoS characteristic parameter, and a sensing QoS characteristic parameter; receiving, by the receiving device, an ISAC QI notified by a core network device or a sending device.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining, by the receiving device, an integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set (Hassan, Col. 13 line 25-31 Once the UE receives its new congestion control message, i.e., in the downlink control channel information indicating P, T and F, the UE may be configured to start a timer to: Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept), e.g., for non-GBR (non-Guaranteed Bit Rate) or for lower GBR values, wherein GBR is a QoS parameter), wherein the integrated sensing and communication quality parameter set is a correspondence between an integrated sensing and communication quality index (ISAC QI), a communication QoS characteristic parameter, and a sensing QoS characteristic parameter (Hassan, Col. 6 line 58-60 QoS profiles include 5QI which is defined as a scalar that is used as a reference to 5G QoS characteristics defined in clause 5.7.4 of 3GPP TS 23.501 );
receiving, by the receiving device, an ISAC QI notified by a core network device or a sending device (Hassan, Col. 6 line 60-64 access node-specific parameters that control QoS forwarding treatment for the QoS Flow. In section 5.7.4 of 3GPP TS 23.501, a one-to-one mapping of standardized 5QI to different QoS characteristics is provided in table 5.7.4-1).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Shariat does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises: obtaining, by the receiving device, a sensing QoS parameter set and a communication QoS parameter set, wherein the sensing QoS parameter set is a correspondence between a sensing quality index (SQI) and a value of a sensing QoS characteristic parameter, and the communication QoS parameter set is a correspondence between a communication quality index and a value of a communication QoS characteristic parameter; receiving, by the receiving device, an SQI and a communication quality index that are notified by a core network device or a sending device; obtaining, by the receiving device, the sensing QoS characteristic parameter according to the SQI and the sensing QoS parameter set; obtaining, by the receiving device, the communication QoS characteristic parameter according to the communication quality index and the communication QoS parameter set; and determining, by the receiving device, the sensing QoS characteristic parameter and the communication QoS characteristic parameter as the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (not given patentable weight due to not selected option);
or,
wherein the obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises: receiving, by the receiving device, second information sent by a core network device or a sending device, wherein the second information indicates the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the obtaining, by a receiving device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter comprises: receiving, by the receiving device, second information sent by a core network device or a sending device, wherein the second information indicates the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (Hassan, Col. 1 line 24-32 If the request is accepted by the radio base station, the latter will send a new bearer configuration back to UE. In case the channel becomes congested and there are new bearer request(s), the radio base station gNB may prioritize transmissions, which is currently studied in the NR V2X study item in 3GPP Release 16 (Rel. 16). In this context pre-emption is proposed as an extension of the URLLC (Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication) mechanisms, i.e. URLLC services that have stringent requirements in terms of e.g. delay, data rate etc).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 11, Shariat discloses wherein the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter further comprises at least one of a sensing and communication service type or a sensing and communication priority level; or the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter further comprises at least one of a sensing service type, a sensing priority level, a communication service type, or a communication priority level (Shariat, [0074] As part of Layer-2 link modification to PC5 QoS flow(s), the PC5 QoS rules can be updated with additional information elements either implicitly or explicitly (to be stored as part of UE PC5 QoS context), reflecting change in end-to-end QoS requirements e.g., updated PQI/5QI, updated adjustment factor per QoS characteristics within PQI/5QI, updated end-to-end Packet delay budget, updated priority level, updated packet error rate, updated averaging window, updated maximum data burst volume or any other PC5 QoS characteristics. Such additional information may override the default QoS characteristics), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing and communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of an integrated sensing and communication signal; the communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a communication signal; and the sensing priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing and communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of an integrated sensing and communication signal; the communication priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a communication signal; and the sensing priority level is used to determine a resource scheduling priority of a sensing signal (Shariat, Col. 4 line 60-64 if the data packet has a high priority in respect to QoS, a
resource pool or resources within a resource pool having a CBR and/or CR value below a certain threshold is selected).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Regarding claim 15, Shariat does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following:
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to a first preset value;
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or equal to the first
preset value;
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first
preset value; or
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first preset value;
or,
wherein the communication service type comprises at least one of the following:
a guaranteed bit rate communication service;
a non-guaranteed bit rate communication service; or
a guaranteed bit rate delay-critical communication service;
or,
wherein the sensing and communication service type comprises at least one of the
following:
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is
greater than or equal to a second preset value;
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to the second preset value;
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range less
than the second preset value; or
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the
second preset value.
Hassan from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing service type comprises at least one of the following:
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to a first preset value;
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or equal to the first
preset value;
a delay-critical sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first
preset value; or
a sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the first preset value (Hassan, Col. 14 line 65-67 the CBR/CR congestion threshold is less than a certain threshold (f (QoS)));
or,
wherein the communication service type comprises at least one of the following:
a guaranteed bit rate communication service;
a non-guaranteed bit rate communication service (Hassan, Col. 13 line 29-31 Extend the period P based on the packet/UE QoS and QoS flow (bearer concept), e.g., for non-GBR (non Guaranteed Bit Rate)); or
a guaranteed bit rate delay-critical communication service (Hassan, Col. 13 line 31-34 wherein GBR is a QoS parameter. Hence the UE is configured to extend the period for the allocation P based on the QoS of the packet and/or based on a
QoS flow);
or,
wherein the sensing and communication service type comprises at least one of the
following:
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is
greater than or equal to a second preset value;
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is greater than or
equal to the second preset value;
a delay-critical communication sensing service whose sensing physical range less
than the second preset value; or
a communication sensing service whose sensing physical range is less than the
second preset value (Hassan, Col. 14 line 65-67 the CBR/CR congestion threshold is less than a certain threshold (f (QoS))).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified QoS handling disclosed by Shariat and QoS parameters disclosed by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to perform adaptive transmission (Hassan, Col. 17).
Claim(s) 6 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariat (US 2023/0276295 A1, hereinafter "Shariat") in view of Hassan et al. (US 12,273,766 B2, hereinafter "Hassan") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Liu (US 2020/0100156 A1, hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding claim 6, Shariat discloses wherein after the determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter, the method further comprises: determining, by the sending device, sensing and communication parameter configuration information according to the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (Shariat, [0012] a remote UE, identify whether QoS requirements associated with the remote UE and the UE-to-network relay are supported, in case that the QoS requirements are not supported, identify one or more QoS parameters that satisfy the QoS requirements, and based on the one or more QoS parameters, update a PC5 QoS flow); and
sending, by the sending device, a first signal to a receiving device according to the
sensing and communication parameter configuration information (Shariat, [0041] via
a UE to network relay, wherein the QoS is managed in response to at least one trigger derived from one or more of a remote UE, a ProSe UE to network Relay, radio access network (RAN), and an application server), but Shariat in view of Hassan does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a bandwidth of the first signal;
a quantity of transmit antennas of the first signal;
a transmit power of the first signal;
a period of the first signal; or
a quantity of pulses of the first signal,
wherein the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a
communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal;
wherein the sending, by the sending device, a first signal to a receiving device
according to the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises:
mapping, by the sending device, the first signal to a radio bearer (RB) according to
a target mapping rule; and RB, wherein
sending, by the sending device, the first signal to the receiving device through the
the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following:
a plurality of first signals are mapped to a same RB; or
one first signal is mapped to one RB.
Liu from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a bandwidth of the first signal;
a quantity of transmit antennas of the first signal;
a transmit power of the first signal;
a period of the first signal; or
a quantity of pulses of the first signal (Liu , [0042, 0049] targeting wide bandwidth (e.g., 80 MHz or wider) communications… to meet respective quality of service (QoS) requirements. In addition, these services may co-exist in the same subframe; relays may have a lower transmit power level (e.g., 1 Watt)),
wherein the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a
communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal;
wherein the sending, by the sending device, a first signal to a receiving device
according to the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises:
mapping, by the sending device, the first signal to a radio bearer (RB) according to
a target mapping rule; and RB, wherein
sending, by the sending device, the first signal to the receiving device through the
the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following:
a plurality of first signals are mapped to a same RB; or
one first signal is mapped to one RB (Liu, [0119] he UE determining that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule for the QoS flow having the first QFI. Continuing the example from above, the UE determines that the UE does not have an uplink QoS flow to DRB mapping rule for the QoS with QFI=2).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Liu’s system for QoS flow adaption into Shariat’s Qos process as modified by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services (Liu, [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Shariat discloses obtaining, by the receiving device, sensing and communication parameter configuration information (Shariat, [0012] a remote UE, identify whether QoS requirements associated with the remote UE and the UE-to-network relay are supported, in case that the QoS requirements are not supported, identify one or more QoS parameters that satisfy the QoS requirements, and based on the one or more QoS parameters, update a PC5 QoS flow); and receiving, by the receiving device according to the sensing and communication parameter configuration information, a first signal sent by a sending device (Shariat, [0041] via a UE to network relay, wherein the QoS is managed in response to at least one trigger derived from one or more of a remote UE, a ProSe UE to network Relay, radio access network (RAN), and an application server), but Shariat in view of Hassan does not explicitly disclose, wherein the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a bandwidth of the first signal, a quantity of transmit antennas of the first signal, a
transmit power of the first signal, a period of the first signal, or a quantity of pulses of the first signal, wherein the first signal comprises at least one of the following: a sensing signal, a communication signal, or an integrated sensing and communication signal.
Liu from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a bandwidth of the first signal;
a quantity of transmit antennas of the first signal;
a transmit power of the first signal;
a period of the first signal; or
a quantity of pulses of the first signal (Liu , [0042, 0049] targeting wide bandwidth (e.g., 80 MHz or wider) communications… to meet respective quality of service (QoS) requirements. In addition, these services may co-exist in the same subframe; relays may have a lower transmit power level (e.g., 1 Watt)).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Liu’s system for QoS flow adaption into Shariat’s Qos process as modified by Hassan with a motivation to make this modification in order to spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services (Liu, [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Shariat discloses wherein the obtaining, by the receiving device, sensing and communication parameter configuration information comprises one of the following:
receiving, by the receiving device, the sensing and communication parameter configuration information sent by the sending device or a core network device (not given patentable weight due to not selected option); or
determining, by a sending device, a sensing and communication quality of service (QoS) characteristic parameter (Shariat, [0004, 0010] As technology elements, such as “sensing technology”; initiated by a remote UE (i.e. sending device), identifying whether QoS requirements associated with the remote UE and the UE-to-network relay are supported, identifying one or more QoS parameters that satisfy the QoS requirements, and based on the one or more QoS parameters); or,
wherein the receiving a first signal sent by a sending device comprises:
determining a target mapping rule between the first signal and a radio bearer (RB); and
receiving, through the RB according to the target mapping rule, the first signal sent by the sending device, wherein the target mapping rule comprises at least one of the following: a plurality of first signals are mapped to a same RB; or one first signal is mapped to one RB (not given patentable weight due to not selected option).
Regarding claim 14, Shariat discloses wherein after the receiving, by the receiving device according to the sensing and communication parameter configuration information, a first signal sent by a sending device, the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the receiving device, a measurement quantity of the first signal; and measuring, by the receiving device, the first signal according to the measurement quantity of the first signal, to determine a measurement value corresponding to the measurement quantity; wherein the obtaining, by the receiving device, a measurement quantity of the first signal comprises one of the following:
receiving, by the receiving device, the measurement quantity of the first signal sent by the sending device; or determining, by the receiving device, the measurement quantity of the first signal according to the sensing and communication QoS characteristic parameter (Shariat, [0068] Due to degradation in the channel state, based on L1/L2 measurements or other indications on PC5-U/PC5-S ( e.g., due to a change of service, resulting in a new end-to-end QoS requirement), either Remote UE 10 or UE-to-network relay 20 identifies that the QoS requirements over PCS cannot be fulfilled anymore).
Conclusion
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415