CTNF 18/596,601 CTNF 101406 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Irobe et al. (US 20220037416 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Irobe et al. disclose a display device (100) comprising: a substrate (10, Fig. 4); a first light-emitting element (20R, Fig. 4) and a second light-emitting element (20G1, Fig. 4) provided at the substrate; a sealing layer (4, Fig. 4) covering the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element (layer 41 covering 20R and 20G1, Fig. 4); a first colored layer (50R, Fig. 4) that is provided at an opposite side of the first light-emitting element with respect to the sealing layer and through which light from the first light-emitting element passes (50R is opposite side of light emitting element, Fig. 4); and a second colored layer (50G, Fig. 4) that is provided at an opposite side of the second light-emitting element with respect to the sealing layer and through which light from the second light-emitting element passes (50G is on opposite of light emitting element, Fig. 4), wherein the first colored layer (50R) includes a first flat surface at an opposite side of the sealing layer (50R has flat surface on top of diagram, Fig. 4), a first side surface in contact with the second colored layer (50R, has right side portion that is in contact with second color layer, 50G), and a first coupling surface inclined with respect to the first flat surface, coupling the first flat surface and the first side surface, and separated from the second colored layer (50R, has right side coupling surface inclined with respect to the flat surface and side surface that is separated from the second colored layer, 50G), the second colored layer (50G, Fig. 4) includes a second flat surface at the opposite side of the sealing layer (50G, has flat top surface, as shown in Fig. 4), a second side surface (left surface of 50G) in contact with the first side surface (right surface of 50R), and a second coupling surface inclined with respect to the second flat surface, coupling the second flat surface and the second side surface, and separated from the first colored layer (50G, has left side coupling surface inclined with respect to the flat surface and side surface that is separated from the first colored layer, 50R), and a contact portion between the first side surface and the second side surface is in contact with the sealing layer (Fig. 4, there is a contact portion between the right side of 50R and left side surface of 50G that is in contact with sealing layer 4). Regarding claim 3 , Irobe et al. disclose the first coupling surface (right surface side of 50B) and the second coupling surface (left surface side of 50G) have flat surfaces. Regarding claim 5 , Irobe et al. disclose the first coupling surface (right surface of 50R, Fig. 4) and the second coupling surface have curved surfaces (left side of 50G, Fig. 4). Regarding claim 8 , Irobe et al. disclose a size of the first coupling surface (right side of 50R) in a perpendicular direction to the substrate and a size of the second coupling surface in the perpendicular direction are different from each other (left side of 50G) (left side surface of 50G fits inside and is visually smaller than right side surface of 50R, Fig. 4) Regarding claim 10 , Irobe et al. disclose an electronic apparatus comprising: the display device according to claim 1 (claim 1 has display device wording) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irobe et al. (US 20220037416 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Akagawa et al. (US 20170005144 A1) and Miyamoto et al. (US 20150084026 A1) . Regarding claim 2 , Irobe discloses a first flat the first flat surface (top surface of 50R), the first coupling surface (right side of 50R, Fig. 4), the second flat surface (top surface of 50G), and the second coupling surface (left side of 50G, Fig. 4). Irobe does not disclose a light-transmitting layer covering the first flat surface, the first coupling surface, the second flat surface, and the second coupling surface, wherein a refractive index of the light-transmitting layer is different from a refractive index of the first colored layer and a refractive index of the second colored layer. However, Akagawa discloses a light-transmitting layer (45, Fig 5, paragraph 140, can be made of silicon oxide as specified in the claimed invention) covering the first flat surface. Neither Irobe nor Akagawa discloses wherein a refractive index of the light-transmitting layer is different from a refractive index of the first colored layer and a refractive index of the second colored layer. However, Miyamoto discloses wherein a refractive index of the light-transmitting layer (30) is different from a refractive index of the first colored layer (21R) and a refractive index of the second colored layer (21G, Fig. 4) (paragraph 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Irobe in view of Akagawa and Miyamoto such that a light-transmitting layer covering the first flat surface, the first coupling surface, the second flat surface, and the second coupling surface, wherein a refractive index of the light-transmitting layer is different from a refractive index of the first colored layer and a refractive index of the second colored layer. Doing so would control light propagation and enhance display efficiency . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 6 – 7, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVE Q PHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-1227. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marlon Fletcher can be reached at (571) 272-2063. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEVE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/596,601 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/596,601 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/596,601 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/596,601 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/596,601 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817