DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, applicant recites “information for identifying the tire” and subsequently refers to “the information”. Although it is inferred that applicant is referring to the “information for identifying the tire”, the word information has a common usage and therefore it renders the claim limitations indefinite. The claim language would be distinct if applicant repeated the entire phrase “information for identifying the tire”.
In claim 5, again, the word “information” is substituted for “information for identifying the tire”.
Similarly, claims 9 and 16 should refer to “the information for identifying the tire” instead of just “the information”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes in view of Ledoux et al. (US 2017/0350781, hereafter Ledoux)
With respect to claim 1, Barnes teaches tire internal pressure measuring apparatus (tire pressure measurement system 200) comprising: a first measuring section (sensors 204, 208) configured to measure a tire width directional ground contact width of a tire (tire 100) in a state of being located on the first measuring section; a second measuring section (sensors 206, 210) configured to measure a load applied from the tire in a state of being located on the second measuring section, a reading section configured to read, from an electronic tag, information for identifying a vehicle, and a controller configured to calculate an internal pressure of the tire from the tire width directional ground contact width and the load. (col. 3, lines 35-64, col. 4, lines 35-46, Figs. 2-5)
Barnes does not explicitly teach the reading section is configured to read, from an electronic tag installed in the tire, information for identifying the tire, wherein the controller is configured to correct the internal pressure using the information.
Ledoux teaches a tire internal pressure measuring apparatus comprising a measuring section configured to measure tire parameters, a reading section configured to read, from an electronic tag installed in the tire, information for identifying the tire, and a controller configured to calculate an internal pressure of the tire from the measured tire parameters and to correct the internal pressure using the information. (par. 37, 53, 66-70)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Barnes to include correction based on tire information, as taught by Ledoux, in order to output a more accurate measure of the tire pressure to the user.
With respect to claim 2, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches the second measuring section is configured such that the tire can pass over the second measuring section. (Barnes, col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
Although Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the second measuring section in a tire passing direction is 20 mm to 100 mm, the optimum length of the measuring section would be a direct result of the other parameters of the measuring environment and would therefore be a design choice which could be readily determined through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 3, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches the second measuring section is configured to repeatedly measure the load while the tire passes over the second measuring section. (Barnes, col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
With respect to claims 5, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches wherein an amount of correction of the internal pressure varies depending on the information. (Ledoux, par. 37, 53)
With respect to claim 7, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches a main body (mat 202) in which the second measuring section is disposed, wherein the second measuring section is disposed in the main body in such a manner that a measurement surface of the second measuring section and a surface of the main body are flat. (Barnes, col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
With respect to claim 8, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches an output interface (display 212) configured to output the internal pressure of the tire. (Barnes, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 20, Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 9, Barnes teaches a tire internal pressure measuring method performed by a computer, the tire internal pressure measuring method comprising: measuring, by a first measuring section (sensors 204, 208), a tire width directional ground contact width of a tire (tire 100) in a state of being located on the first measuring section; measuring, by a second measuring section (sensors 206, 210), a load applied from the tire in a state of being located on the second measuring section; and calculating an internal pressure of the tire from the tire width directional ground contact width and the load. (col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
Barnes does not explicitly teach reading, by a reading section from an electronic tag installed in the tire, information for identifying the tire, wherein the calculating comprises correcting the internal pressure using the information.
Ledoux teaches a tire internal pressure measuring method comprising measuring, by a measuring section, tire parameters, reading, by a reading section from an electronic tag installed in the tire, information for identifying the tire, and calculating an internal pressure of the tire from the measured tire parameters and correcting the internal pressure using the information. (par. 37, 53, 66-70)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Barnes to include correction based on tire information, as taught by Ledoux, in order to output a more accurate measure of the tire pressure to the user.
With respect to claims 11 and 14, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches a main body (mat 202) in which the second measuring section is disposed, wherein the second measuring section is disposed in the main body in such a manner that a measurement surface of the second measuring section and a surface of the main body are flat. (Barnes, col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
With respect to claim 12 and 15, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches an output interface (display 212) configured to output the internal pressure of the tire. (Barnes, col. 3, lines 35-64, Figs. 2-5)
With respect to claim 16, Barnes, as modified by Ledoux, teaches wherein an amount of correction of the internal pressure varies depending on the information. (Ledoux par. 37, 53)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 5, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853