DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of figures 1-6 in the reply filed on 05/14/26 is acknowledged and claims 3-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0337821, hereafter referred to as ‘Masuda.’ Regarding claim 1, Masuda teaches a corner reflector installation structure (figure 2) that is applicable to a vehicle ( C )including a lamp 10; a cover member 12 that covers a part of the lamp (fig. 2); and a corner reflector 36, wherein the corner reflector 36 is provided inside a housing 2 constituting the lamp (fig. 2), and the corner reflector installation structure is configured such that the cover member 12 and the corner reflector 36 overlap with each other in a front view of a vehicle body of the vehicle (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Masuda teaches the corner reflector installation structure according to claim 1. Masuda further teaches wherein the cover member 12 is inclined (fig. 2) such that a vehicle body upper side of the cover member 12 is located backward relative to a vehicle body lower side of the cover member 12 in a side view of the vehicle (fig. 2).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP2000-103283. Regarding claim 1, JP2000-103283 teaches a corner reflector installation structure (figures 1-13) that is applicable to a vehicle 1 including a lamp (4, 4a, 33); a cover member (10, 34) that covers a part of the lamp (figures 3 and 11); and a corner reflector (6, 30), wherein the corner reflector is provided inside a housing (8, 31) constituting the lamp (figures 3 and 11), and the corner reflector installation structure is configured such that the cover member and the corner reflector overlap with each other (see overlap in figures 2 and 11) in a front view of a vehicle body of the vehicle (figures 1-2, 9, 11 and 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maruyama teaches a corner reflector 25 which is overlapped or concealed by cover member 22a which is similar to applicant’s invention.
/THOMAS M SEMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875