Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0316950 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
With regards to claim 1, Kim discloses:
1. A gas leak detection device, (see, detailed description, including, controller further includes a gas leak detection module configured to determine that gas leak has occurred when the temperature-difference in the fire candidate block has been lower than the reference value for a predetermined time duration or greater, or the highest temperature in the fire candidate block is lower than the limit temperature for a predetermined time duration or greater, para. 0010) comprising:
a remote temperature sensor, configured to detect an area-to-be-monitored to obtain a plurality of thermal images, wherein each pixel position in the thermal images comprises a corresponding temperature value (see, detailed description, including, a (region of interest) ROI or a surrounding block adjacent thereto when the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, para. 0008); and
a processor, coupled to the remote temperature sensor (see, detailed description, including, a thermal image difference between thermal images acquired at different timings using the thermal imaging camera or based on a limit temperature, wherein the device includes, controller that includes a block defining module configured to group a plurality of pixels in the thermal image into a plurality of blocks, para. 0007-0008),
wherein the processor obtains the thermal images from the remote temperature sensor, calculates a detected temperature value of each environmental block according to each of a plurality of environmental blocks in each thermal image, calculates a temperature judgment threshold based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in a detection time period, determines whether a temperature of at least one region-of-interest is abnormal based on the temperature judgment threshold, and performs a warning operation when the temperature of the at least one region-of-interest is abnormal (see, the abnormal condition is evaluated with the block detection module, and with the detailed description, including, a fire candidate block detection module configured to determine, as a fire candidate block, a ROI or a surrounding block adjacent thereto when the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, is interpreted as abnormal, para. 0008-0009, and a flame detection sensitivity control module configured to increases a sensitivity of the flame detector when the fire pre-detection module determines that the fire has occurred; and a fire detection module configured to detect the fire based on the signal from the flame detector, para. 0009).
With regards to claim 2, Kim discloses:
2. The gas leak detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the detected temperature value of each environmental block is a smallest corresponding temperature value of each pixel position in each environmental block (see, detailed description, including, a block defining module 311 that groups a plurality of pixels in the thermal images into blocks, a ROI defining module 312 which groups adjacent blocks among the multiple blocks to define a ROI, (region of interest) having higher fire detection sensitivity than those of neighbouring blocks, para. 0023)
the at least one region-of-interest belongs to at least one of the environmental blocks in the thermal images, (see, detailed description, including, a fire candidate block detection module 313 which determines, as a fire candidate block, a ROI or a surrounding block adjacent thereto when a temperature-difference in a thermal image difference between thermal images acquired at different timings in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a limit temperature, para. 0023) and
the processor determines whether a detected temperature value of the at least one region-of-interest is lower than the temperature judgment threshold, so as to determine whether the temperature of the at least one region-of-interest is abnormal (see, as above, and when the temperature-difference in the fire candidate block has been lower than the reference value for a predetermined time duration or greater, para. 0010, and when a temperature-difference in a thermal image difference between thermal images acquired at different timings in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a limit temperature, para. 0023).
With regard to claim 6, claim 6 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a device claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 10, claim 10 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 (a device claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Official Notice with Kim (claims 3, 4, 5, and 7, 8, 9)
Claims 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Examiner’s Official Notice.
3. The gas leak detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor obtains a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period, subtracts the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value, obtains a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter, and calculates the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block.
With regards to claim 3, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach:
a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period, subtracts the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value, obtains a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter, and calculates the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period, subtracts the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value, obtains a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter, and calculates the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block, is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, and prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
4. The gas leak detection device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the processor subtracts a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value.
With regards to claim 4, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach: the processor subtracts a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, the processor subtracts a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value, is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, and evaluation of a normal operational conditions, temperatures, and/ or prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
5. The gas leak detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor determines whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images.
With regards to claim 5, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach:
the processor determines whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, the processor whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images, is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, and evaluation of a normal operational conditions, temperatures, and/ or prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
7. The gas leak detecting method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the step of calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period comprises:
obtaining a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period;
subtracting the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value;
obtaining a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter; and
calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block.
With regards to claim 7, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach:
the step of calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period comprises:
obtaining a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period;
subtracting the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value;
obtaining a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter; and
calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, the step of calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period comprises:
obtaining a first quartile and a third quartile in a quartile statistical manner based on the detected temperature value of each environmental block in the detection time period;
subtracting the first quartile from the third quartile to obtain an interquartile range value;
obtaining a minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and an adjustment parameter; and
calculating the temperature judgment threshold based on the minimum allowable temperature value of each environmental block; is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, and evaluation of a normal operational conditions, temperatures, and/ or prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
8. The gas leak detecting method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the step of obtaining the minimum allowable temperature value based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter comprises:
subtracting a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value.
With regards to claim 8, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach:
the step of obtaining the minimum allowable temperature value based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter comprises:
subtracting a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, the step of the step of obtaining the minimum allowable temperature value based on the first quartile, the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter comprises:
subtracting a product of the interquartile range value and the adjustment parameter from the first quartile to obtain the minimum allowable temperature value, is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, and evaluation of a normal operational conditions, including minimum values, temperatures, and/ or prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
9. The gas leak detecting method as claimed in claim 6, further comprising:
determining whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images.
With regards to claim 9, Kim teaches a fire detection module, for the temperature-difference in the thermal image difference in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to a reference value or the highest temperature in the ROI or the surrounding block is greater than or equal to the limit temperature, but does not teach:
determining whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of, for example, determining whether to calculate the temperature judgment threshold based on a number of batches of data of the thermal images, is very well known.
Since one having ordinary skill in the arts detecting a gas leak, and having Kim before her, would have within their possession the ability to use various statistical bands or quartiles, when creating a desirable or otherwise undesirable performance ranges. Statistical performance ranges, amount to merely a design choice, and would have been well known to one having ordinary skill in the field of active device monitoring, with statistical parameters, numbers of batches evaluated, and evaluation of a normal operational conditions, including minimum values, temperatures, and/ or prevention of a failure, including a gas leak, and abnormal temperatures.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure includes: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220326108 A1 to Leboucher that discusses, a pressure transducer connected to a test specimen (56) for determining a pressure in the test specimen and for transmitting a signal indicative of the pressure to a controller (12). The controller controls an adiabatic noise cancellation valve (48) to cause a vacuum pump (44) to draw a vacuum from a space between the specimen and a vacuum chamber (22) for creating an air noise-canceling condition in which a temperature of the specimen is stabilized, and controls a flow of a test gas e.g. air, into the specimen to reach a predetermined test pressure, where the controller determines a pressure decay rate from the signal.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 2-17-2026