CTNF 18/596,752 CTNF 87749 DETAILED ACTION Status of the Application This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the applicant’s response to the election / restriction filed on 09/08/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C (Fig 3, claims 1,2,3 and 5) in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 4 and 6-20 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the claim recites: “ a communication circuit configured to receive a first signal from a power supply device which is a transmission source hereafter of the wireless power supply signal, the first signal indicating a request to measure electric energy received by the power reception device; and a first measurement circuit configured to measure the electric energy received from the wireless signal, wherein, the processing circuit generates a second signal based on the first signal, the second signal indicates electric energy received by a wireless signal determined to include the wireless power supply signal within a predetermined time, and a communication circuit transmits the second signal to the power supply device.”, it is not clear if the claim intends to have two different communication circuits or the claim is referring to the same communication circuit, based on the disclosure of applicant’s Fig 3, it should be the same communication circuit. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites: the power reception device according to claim 1, further comprising a first measurement circuit configured to measure electric energy received from the wireless signal, wherein the processing circuit generates a second signal indicating electric energy received by the wireless signal when the power receiver circuit receives a wireless signal determined to include the wireless power supply signal during a period from a first time length to a second time length based on a time length when the power supply device transmits the radio power supply signal , and the power reception device further comprises a communication circuit transmitting the second signal to the power supply device, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood, instead of “the” radio power supply signal, the examiner will interpret as the wireless power supply signal. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zeine et al US Patent Application Publication (US 2016/0033254 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Zeine et al discloses a power reception device (400) (see Fig 4, par. [0059]-[0062]), comprising: a power receiver circuit (465,455,450) configured to receive a wireless signal (490a-n) including at least one of a wireless power supply signal or a wireless communication signal (See Fig 4; par. [0059]-[0062]); and a processing circuit (410,460) configured to determine whether the wireless signal includes the wireless power supply signal or not from a feature value of the wireless signal (See Fig 4; par. [0059]-[0062]), PNG media_image1.png 548 786 media_image1.png Greyscale in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function . In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)). Regarding claim 2, Zeine et al discloses the power reception device according to claim 1, further comprising: a communication circuit (430) configured to receive (470) a first signal from a power supply device (power transmitter, par. [0060]) which is a transmission source hereafter of the wireless power supply signal, the first signal indicating a request to measure electric energy received by the power reception device (400) (see Fig 4, par. [0059]-[0061]); and a first measurement circuit (440) configured to measure the electric energy received from the wireless signal, wherein, the processing circuit (410,460) generates a second signal based on the first signal (the control logic 410 generates a signal to beacon signal generator 460, and also generates a signal to communication 430), the second signal indicates electric energy received by a wireless signal determined to include the wireless power supply signal within a predetermined time (see Fig 4 and par. [0059]-[0061] in which the control logic 410 receives the measured power signal from power meter 440 and also from switch 465 within a predetermined time), and a communication circuit (430) transmits the second signal to the power supply device (power transmitter, par. [0060]) (see Fig 4 and par. [0061] disclosing bidirectional communication between control logic 430 and communication unit 430). Regarding claim 3, Zeine et al discloses the power reception device according to claim 1, further comprising a first measurement circuit (440) configured to measure electric energy received from the wireless signal, wherein the processing circuit (410,460) generates a second signal indicating electric energy received by the wireless signal when the power receiver circuit (465,455,450) receives a wireless signal determined to include the wireless power supply signal during a period from a first time length to a second time length based on a time length when the power supply device (power transmitter, par. [0060]) transmits the wireless power supply signal, and the power reception device (400) further comprises a communication circuit (430) transmitting the second signal to the power supply device (power transmitter, par. [0060]) (See Fig 4, par. [0059]-[0062]). Regarding claim 5, Zeine et al discloses the power reception device according to claim 1, wherein, the power receiver circuit (465,455,450) receives power by converting the wireless signal into DC power (rectifier 450), and the processing circuit (410,460) determines whether or not the wireless signal includes the wireless power supply signal based on at least one of a value of the DC power (DC power for power meter 440 and battery 420) or a time change of the DC power as the feature value of the wireless signal (See Fig 4, par. [0059]-[0061]). Examiner Note 6. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner . Conclusion 07-96 AIA 7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO whose telephone number is (571) 270-1714. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F (9am-4pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taelor Kim can be reached on (571) 270-7166. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/596,752 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836