Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 06/11/26 has been entered. Claim 19 remains pending and its amendment finds support in at least [0110]. Claims 21 – 22 are newly added and find support in at least [0007] and [0108]
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §102
Claims 19 and 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jangam (WO2024/085863).
This WIPO document designates the US and has an effective filing date earlier than the application and as such is available under 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 19, Jangam teaches a method of additively manufacturing a component [0018]. Jangam teaches that the component has an internal feature/space (meeting the claimed limitation of a cavity) [Fig 1]. The internal area [“14” in Fig 1] has two openings [“12” in Fig 1, 2A], meeting the claimed limitation of an opening from the internal space/cavity to the outside of the object. Jangam shows an embodiment in which the component is formed in two parts [Fig 2A, 2B] in which the main component has a large opening in the top [Fig 2A], meeting the claimed functional limitation of a powder removal opening.
Jangam discloses forming the component in two parts in which one part is fitted into the opening [Fig 2A, 2B; 0024], meeting the claimed limitation of forming a modeled object and forming a sealing member for sealing the powder removal opening.
The method further includes removing non-patterned, unbound build material [0022]. Jangam further makes clear that the two-part design [Fig 2A, 2B] is utilized as opposed to a one-part design [Fig 1] in order to make the powder removal easier/more efficient [0022, 0023]. As such, the top opening in Fig 2A is a powder removal opening and Jangam meeting the limitation of removing powder through the powder removal opening.
Lastly, the components are fitted together [0024, 0025] and subjected to sintering such that diffusion bonding of the parts occurs [0020], meeting the claimed limitation of sintering the object and during the sintering the sealing member is bonded to an outer edge portion of the powder removal opening.
Regarding claim 21, Jangam teaches the invention as applied in claim 19. Jangam teaches that the internal feature/space has a gyroid shape [0021], meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 22, Jangam teaches the invention as applied in claim 19. Jangam shows that the top opening for removing powder from the internal feature [Fig 2A, 2B, “20”; 0022, 0023] has a larger opening than the other openings [“12” in Fig 1 – 2A], meeting the claimed limitation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yahagi (US2023/0302537)
Regarding claim 19, Yahagi teaches a method of additive manufacturing [Title] a component with an internal space (meeting the claimed limitation of a cavity) [Abstract]. The internal space has an opening portion that communicates with the outside [Abstract] and Yahagi shows a particular embodiment/example in which multiple openings are present [Fig 2], wherein one opening is interpreted as the “powder removing opening” and another opening interpreted as the claimed “opening connecting the cavity and an outside of the modeled object”
Yahagi teaches that the method [Fig 1] includes forming a plug configured to be assembled with the opening portion [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of a sealing member for sealing the powder removal opening.
Following formation of the object (referred to as the “precursor” in Yahagi) and the plug (interpreted as the claimed sealing member), unsolidified powder is removed from the internal space from the opening portion [Abstract], meeting the claimed limitation of removing excess powder and that the excess powder in the internal space is removed through the powder removal opening.
The plug (i.e., sealing member) is assembled into the opening portion and sintering is performed [Abstract, Fig 3, 4]. Yahagi teaches that the two components are bonded [0028]. This meets the claimed limitations of sintering the modeled object and the sealing member is bonded to an outer edge portion of the powder removing opening.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahagi (US2023/0302537), as applied to claim 19 above.
Regarding claims 21 – 22, Yahagi teaches the invention as applied in claim 19. Yahagi does not explicitly teach or limit the shape of the internal space nor does Yahagi discuss or limit the size of the openings relative to each other. However, changes to/differences in size, shape, and/or proportion are considered prima facie obviousness in the absence of evidence of criticality, unexpected results, or other secondary considerations (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments thereto have overcome the previous rejections. The examiner agrees that Mark (WO2018209029) alone, or in combination, does not teach or suggest providing a sealing member that is then bonded to the outer edge portion of a powder removal opening during sintering. The rejections are withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new rejection(s) is made of:
Claims 19 and 21 – 22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jangam (WO2024/085863).
Claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yahagi (US2023/0302537)
Claims 21 – 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahagi (US2023/0302537) as applied to claim 19.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,654,484 – Forming binder jet component with openings to improve depowdering as well as a plug to seal the opening during sintering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738