DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 19-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0279583 (“Koparan” or “K”).
1: K teaches a multiband vehicle rooftop antenna assembly (that of fig 1) for installation to a rooftop of a vehicle (as shown), the multiband vehicle rooftop antenna assembly comprising: an antenna base (2) configured to be mounted to the rooftop of the vehicle (as shown), the antenna base including a ground plane (that to which 15 connects), the antenna base having an outer perimeter including a front, a rear opposite the front, a first side, and a second side opposite the first side (as shown); cellular antennas (6) configured to be operable over one or more cellular frequencies (0018), the cellular antennas being mounted to the antenna base at the outer perimeter along the front, the rear, the first side, and the second side (as shown); Wi-Fi antennas (24) configured to be operable over one or more Wi-Fi frequencies (0039), the Wi-Fi antennas being mounted to the antenna base adjacent the cellular antennas (as shown); and a satellite antenna (22) configured to be operable over one or more satellite frequencies (0038), the satellite antenna configured to be operable for receiving Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals (0038), the satellite antenna located at a central location between the front and the rear and between the first side and the second side (as shown)
2: K teaches that the Wi-Fi antennas are oriented transverse to the cellular antennas (as shown, 24 is transverse to portions of 6).
3: K teaches that the Wi-FI antennas are mounted to the antenna base at the outer perimeter between the cellular antennas (as shown), wherein the cellular antennas face north, south, east and west and wherein the Wi-Fi antennas face north-west, north-east, south-east, and south-west (as shown).
4: K fails to teach that each Wi-Fi antenna is a dipole antenna configured to be coupled to a first feed and a second feed. However, it was old and well-known to employ di-pole antennas in order to achieve omnidirectionality.
5: K teaches that the cellular antennas are mounted to the antenna base a first distance from a central point of the antenna base (as shown) and wherein the Wi-Fi antennas are mounted to the antenna base a second distance from the central point of the antenna base (as shown), the second distance being approximately equal to the first distance (as shown).
6: K teaches that the satellite antenna is elevated from the antenna base at a top of the multiband vehicle rooftop antenna assembly (as shown).
7: K teaches that the antenna base is circular (as shown).
8: K teaches that the cellular antennas include four cellular antennas and the Wi-Fi antennas include four Wi-Fi antennas (as shown), the cellular antennas and the Wi-Fi antennas being arranged in an octagonal arrangement (as shown).
9: K teaches that each cellular antenna includes a monopole including a feed portion at a bottom of the monopole and an upper portion at a top of the monopole, the upper portion being bent in a non-planar configuration relative to the feed portion (0018).
10: K teaches that the monopole includes a shorting leg (15) extending from the upper portion to the ground plane (as shown).
19: K teaches a radome (23) coupled to the antenna base such that an interior enclosure is collectively defined by the radome and the antenna base, the radome being dome shaped and having a generally circular bottom connected to the antenna base, wherein the cellular antennas, the satellite antenna, and the Wi-Fi antennas are located in the internal enclosure (as shown).
20: K teaches that each Wi-Fi antenna includes a Wi-Fi radiating element having a feed portion elevated from the ground plane, a Wi-Fi feed cable being terminated to the feed portion (as shown, the narrowed feeding edge of the 24s sits above 2; Any feed cable would necessarily terminate to the feed portion).
21: K teaches that each Wi-Fi antenna includes a first Wi-Fi radiating element having a first feed portion elevated from the ground plane and a second Wi-Fi radiating element having a second feed portion elevated from the ground plane, a first Wi-Fi feed cable being terminated to the first feed portion, a second Wi-Fi feed cable being terminated to the second feed portion (as shown, the narrowed feeding edge of the 24s sits above 2; Any feed cable would necessarily terminate to the feed portion).
22: K teaches that each Wi-Fi antenna includes a circuit board (as shown; See 0019) having at least one circuit element forming a feed portion (the narrowed feed portion is shown) and at least one circuit element forming a radiator portion (the radiating portion is shown over the narrowed feeding portion) operably coupled to the
feed portion (as shown), the circuit board being oriented vertically and extending from the antenna base (as shown), a feed cable being terminated to the feed portion (as would be necessary).
24: K teaches a multiband vehicle rooftop antenna assembly for installation to a rooftop of a vehicle (that of fig 1), the multiband vehicle rooftop antenna assembly comprising: an antenna base (2) configured to be mounted to the rooftop of the vehicle (as shown), the antenna base including a ground plane (that connecting to 15), the antenna base having an outer perimeter including a front, a rear opposite the front, a first side, and a second side opposite the first side (as shown); cellular antennas (6) configured to be operable over one or more cellular frequencies (as shown), the cellular antennas being mounted to the antenna base at the outer perimeter along the front, the rear, the first side, and the second side (as shown), each cellular antenna including a monopole (the 6s are bent monopoles, as discussed above) including a feed portion at a bottom of the monopole connected to a cellular feed extending through the antenna base (as shown), the monopole including an upper portion at a top of the monopole (as shown), the upper portion being bent in a non-planar configuration (as shown), the monopole including a shorting leg (15) extending between the upper portion and the ground plane (as shown); Wi-Fi antennas (24) configured to be operable over one or more Wi-Fi frequencies (as shown), each Wi-Fi antenna being connected to a Wi-Fi feed extending through the base (as shown); and a satellite antenna (22) configured to be operable over one or more satellite frequencies (as shown), the satellite antenna configured to be operable for receiving Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals (as shown), the satellite antenna located at a central location between the front and the rear and between the first side and the second side (as shown).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 is allowed.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845