DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the feature “voltage as a function of specific capacity for a conventional anode electrode and an anode electrode including silicon active material coated with solid electrolyte and the feature a fibrillating binder” for Fig. 7 [0023] and “capacity as a function of cycles for a conventional anode electrode and an anode electrode including silicon active material coated with solid electrolyte and a fibrillating binder” for Fig. 8 [0024] as described in the specification. Neither Fig. 7 or Fig. 8 have their axis identified. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation a “molecular weight of the fibrillating binder is in a range from 105 g/mol to 109 g/mol” is not enabled by the specification, where it is only stated [0007] and mentioned as a property held by a fibrillating binder, which in some examples, comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) [0036].
Alaraby et al. (Polytetrafluoroethylene microplastic properties, pollution, toxicity
and analysis: a review, see NPL documents for citation) evidence that tetrafluoroethylene (C₂F₄) is a colorless, gaseous compound with a molecular weight of 100.02 g/mol and that PTFE is a high molecular-weight, semi-crystalline thermoplastic composed of repeating C₂F₄ units [p. 32; col. 2; line 6-8 and 12-14]. Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) evidence that PTFE with low molecular weight tends to merely form a mixture, whereas using PTFE with high molecular weight allows for a more extensive and uniformly distributed fibril network [p. 9; 2.2. Key factors influencing PTFE fibrillation; par. 2].
From the above evidence presented by Alaraby and Park, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have prepared a fibrillating binder comprising a high molecular weight PTFE, which would not be within the claimed 105-109 g/mol molecular weight. Based on the provided evidence, no further experimentation is necessary to arrive to a fibrillating binder, comprising PTFE. From the previous reasons, the claimed a “molecular weight of the fibrillating binder in a range from 105 g/mol to 109 g/mol” is not enabled from the descriptions in the present specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a sulfide impregnated solid-state battery comprising a cell core (14), wherein each cell has a positive electrode (16) having a cathode layer (18) and a negative electrode (22) comprising an anode layer (24) [0039, 0040, 0043 and Fig. 2]. The anode layer (24), which is arranged on a negative meshed current collector (26), preferably comprises an anode active material, a conductive additive and a binder, which may poly(tetrafluoroethylene) (PTFE) [0043, 0045 and Fig. 1]. It is further taught that a sulfide solid-state electrolyte (S-SSE) precursor solution (30) is introduced into the cell core (14) and after its solidification, the sulfide-based solid-state electrolyte (32) may be coated onto the anode electrode particles in anode layer (24) [0050, 0053, Fig. 3, 5 and 6a-b].
Park evidence that polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) is commonly employed as a binder owing to its exceptional fibrillation capability, high thermal stability, chemical inertness, and excellent mechanical properties [p. 4; par. 5 continued in p. 6].
Regarding claim 2, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion, the limitation “wherein the anode active material layer is arranged on an anode current collector” is met.
Regarding claim 3, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion, the limitation “wherein the fibrillating binder comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)” is met.
Regarding claim 4, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li further teaches that the anode active material may comprise silicon, among other materials [0044].
Regarding claims 9-11, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion a sulfide-based solid-state electrolyte (32) may be coated onto the anode electrode particles in anode layer (24) (claim 9 and 10) [0053]. Li further teaches that its sulfide solid-state electrolyte (S-SSE) precursor solution (30) may comprise at least one of a pseudo binary sulfide with solvent, a pseudo ternary sulfide with solvent, and a pseudo quaternary sulfide (claim 11) [0051].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, further evidenced by Feiring, A. (Fluorine-containing Polymers, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 5, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein a softening point of the fibrillating binder is in a range from 270 ºC to 380 ºC”.
Feiring evidence that polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) has a melting point of 327 ºC [p. 2; Table 1]. From the previous evidence, the claimed limitation is met.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a sulfide impregnated solid-state battery comprising a cell core (14), wherein each cell has a positive electrode (16) having a cathode layer (18) and a negative electrode (22) comprising an anode layer (24) [0039, 0040, 0043 and Fig. 2]. The anode layer (24), which is arranged on a negative meshed current collector (26), preferably comprises an anode active material, which may be silicon, a conductive additive and a binder, which may poly(tetrafluoroethylene) (PTFE) [0043-0045 and Fig. 1]. It is further taught that a sulfide solid-state electrolyte (S-SSE) precursor solution (30) is introduced into the cell core (14) and after its solidification, the sulfide-based solid-state electrolyte (32) may be coated onto the anode electrode particles in anode layer (24) [0050, 0053, Fig. 3, 5 and 6a-b].
Park evidence that polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) is commonly employed as a binder owing to its exceptional fibrillation capability, high thermal stability, chemical inertness, and excellent mechanical properties [p. 4; par. 5 continued in p. 6].
Regarding claim 16, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 13. From claim 13 discussion a sulfide-based solid-state electrolyte (32) may be coated onto the anode electrode particles in anode layer (24) [0053]. Li further teaches that its sulfide solid-state electrolyte (S-SSE) precursor solution (30) may comprise at least one of a pseudo binary sulfide with solvent, a pseudo ternary sulfide with solvent, and a pseudo quaternary sulfide [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Mukai et al. (US 20140054492 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein loading of the anode active material layer is in a range from 4 mAh/cm2 to 30 mAh/cm2”.
Mukai teaches a negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery comprising a composite powder of component A and component B [0105]. Component A may be selected as Si and/or Si-alloy [0110 and 0111] and component B is a sulfide glass (solid electrolyte), which may be coated completely or partially on the surface of component A [0103 and 0120]. The negative electrode may further include a binder, which among other materials may be polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) [0136 and 0139]. The negative electrode material can be applied, dried, and then pressed on the surface of a power collector to form a layer including the negative electrode material on the surface and use it as a negative electrode [0136]. The electrode capacity density is preferably 0.1-30 mAh/cm2, specifically it is taught that if the negative electrode is obtained with the electrode capacity density of 3-30 mAh/cm2, it is suitable for the purpose of high capacity [0142].
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising: an anode active material layer comprising: an anode active material; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder.
Mukai is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising an anode active material layer comprising: an anode active material; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder.
If the negative electrode (22) of Li is modified to achieve a capacity density as taught by Mukai above, the claimed limitation is overlapped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the capacity density range disclosed by Mukai because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05. In addition, a negative electrode with capacity density within this range is suitable for the purpose of high capacity.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li further teaches that its anode layer (24) may have a thickness of between about 1-1000 µm [0043], which overlaps the claimed range.
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising an anode active material layer comprising: an anode active material; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the anode layer (24) thickness range disclosed by Li because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li further teaches that its anode layer (24) comprises between about 30-98 wt. % anode active material, 0-50 wt. % sulfide-based solid electrolyte, 0-30 wt. % conductive additive and 0-20 wt. % binder [0057]. From the previous description, the claimed ranges are overlapped.
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising an anode active material layer comprising: an anode active material; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the anode active material, sulfide solid electrolyte and binder ranges disclosed by Li because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Mukai et al. (US 20140054492 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 13, except “wherein loading of the anode active material layer is in a range from 4 mAh/cm2 to 30 mAh/cm2”.
Mukai teaches a negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery comprising a composite powder of component A and component B [0105]. Component A may be selected as Si and/or Si alloy [0110 and 0111] and component B is a sulfide glass (solid electrolyte), which may be coated completely or partially on the surface of component A [0103 and 0120]. The negative electrode may further include a binder, which among other materials may be polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) [0136 and 0139]. The negative electrode material can be applied, dried, and then pressed on the surface of a power collector to form a layer including the negative electrode material on the surface and use it as a negative electrode [0136]. The electrode capacity density is preferably 0.1-30 mAh/cm2, specifically it is taught that if the negative electrode is obtained with the electrode capacity density of 3-30 mAh/cm2, it is suitable for the purpose of high capacity [0142].
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising: an anode current collector; and an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector, wherein the anode active material layer includes: an anode active material which may be silicon; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
Mukai is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising: an anode current collector; and an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector, wherein the anode active material layer includes: an anode active material selected from a group consisting of silicon and/or Si alloy; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).If the negative electrode (22) of Li is modified to achieve a capacity density as taught by Mukai above, the claimed limitation is overlapped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the capacity density range disclosed by Mukai because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05. In addition, a negative electrode with capacity density within this range is suitable for the purpose of high capacity.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20210036360 A1), evidenced by Park et al. (Dry-processed electrodes enabled by polytetrafluoroethylene fibrillation for high-performance lithium-ion batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 15, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 13. Li further teaches that its anode layer (24) may have a thickness of between about 1-1000 µm [0043], which overlaps the claimed range.
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising: an anode current collector; and an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector, wherein the anode active material layer includes: an anode active material which may be silicon; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the anode layer (24) thickness range disclosed by Li because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 17, Li, evidenced by Park, teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 13. Li further teaches that its anode layer (24) comprises between about 30-98 wt. % anode active material, 0-50 wt. % sulfide-based solid electrolyte, 0-30 wt. % conductive additive and 0-20 wt. % binder [0057]. From the previous description, the claimed ranges are overlapped.
Li is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely an anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising: an anode current collector; and an anode active material layer arranged on the anode current collector, wherein the anode active material layer includes: an anode active material, which may be silicon; an outer coating layer covering at least a portion of an outer surface of particles of the anode active material layer, wherein the outer coating layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte; and a fibrillating binder comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the anode active material, sulfide solid electrolyte and binder ranges disclosed by Li because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 115347148 A, see machine translation for citation), evidenced by Ji et al. (Enabling durable electrolyte-free silicon anode in thin sulfide electrolyte membrane-based all-solid-state lithium batteries via failure mechanism study, see NPL documents for citation), in view of Fujiki et al. (US 20160049646 A1), further evidenced by Mojtahedi, S. et al. (A Comparative Review of Wet and Dry Electrode Manufacturing Processes: Opportunities, Limitations and Challenges in the Production of Lithium-Ion Battery Electrodes, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches a silicon-rich anode for sulfide all-solid-state batteries comprising a silicon powder coated with silicon oxide (active material a sulfide solid electrolyte, a conductive agent and a binder (claim 1). The previous mentioned materials are mixed and grinded evenly to obtain silicon-rich anode powder, which is then cold pressed on the surface of a copper current collector [0023]. It is taught that the binder material includes one or more of carboxymethyl cellulose, polytetrafluoroethylene and hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose [0026]. From the previous description, the limitations an “anode active material layer” and “wherein the particles of the solid electrolyte at least partially coat the particles of the anode active material” are met, because it is expected from an even mixing and grinding process, as taught above.
Ji evidence that dry processing mainly employs polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) as a binder, which can readily be fibrillated upon shear mixing without using any solvents [p. 2; col. 1; line 44-46].
Zhang does not teach the feature wherein the method includes “pressing the mixture to create a free-standing anode active material layer or casting the mixture onto an anode current collector to form the anode active material layer of the anode electrode”.
Fujiki teaches a lithium secondary battery (1) having a stacked structure including a cathode layer (10), an anode layer (20) and a solid electrolyte layer (30) disposed between them [0046 and Fig. 1]. The anode layer (20) includes an anode active material (21) and a solid electrolyte particle (31) in contact (outer coating covering at least a portion of an outer surface) with the anode active material particle (21) [0085 and Fig. 1]. The anode active material (21) may include any suitable material that is alloyable with lithium or capable of reversibly intercalating and deintercalating lithium ions, and examples of the material may include metals such as lithium, indium, tin, aluminum, and silicon and alloys thereof [0085]. The solid electrolyte particle (31) may be a sulfide-based solid electrolyte particle [0081]. The anode layer (20) may further include a binding agent, among which polytetrafluoroethylene may be employed [0078 and 0087]. Fujiki further teaches that its anode layer (20) is prepared by coating and drying on a current collector an anode mixture with the components described above [0129].
Mojtahedi evidence that wet coating is a traditional electrode manufacturing technique that allows for high material utilization, flexibility in formulation and ensures uniform material distribution across the electrode surface, which leads to stable and reproducible electrochemical performance. In addition, these processes are well-established and are scalable [p. 2; col. 1; par. 3 and 4].
Zhang is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a method for manufacturing anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising mixing and milling a pre-mixture including: particles of an anode active material selected from a group consisting of silicon, silicon alloy, and silicon/silicon oxide, and particles of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte wherein the particles of the solid electrolyte at least partially coat the particles of the anode active material; adding a fibrillating binder to the pre-mixture; mixing and shearing the pre-mixture to create fibrils of the fibrillating binding and to create a mixture for an anode active material layer.
Fujiki is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a method for manufacturing anode electrode for a battery cell, comprising particles of an anode active material selected from a group consisting of silicon and particles of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte wherein the particles of the solid electrolyte at least partially coat the particles of the anode active material; adding a fibrillating binder to the pre-mixture; and casting the mixture onto an anode current collector to form the anode active material layer of the anode electrode.
If the method taught by Zhang is modified to employ “coating and drying on a current collector”, as taught by Fujiki, instead of cold pressing for prepare the anode electrode, the claimed limitations are met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Zhang to employ “casting the mixture onto an anode current collector to form the anode active material layer of the anode electrode”, because Fujiki teaches a method with the referred feature and Mojtahedi evidence that it is a traditional electrode manufacturing technique that allows for high material utilization, flexibility in formulation and ensures uniform material distribution across the electrode surface, which leads to stable and reproducible electrochemical performance. In addition, these processes are well-established and are scalable.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang, Ji, Fujiki and Mojtahedi teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 18. Zhang further teaches that its sulfide solid state electrolyte includes one or more of Li6PS5Cl, Li5.5PS4.5Cl1.5, Li6PS5Br, Li6PS5I, Li11Si2PS12, Li10SnP2S12, Li10GeP2S12, Li3.25Ge0.25P0.75S4, Li6.6Ge0.6P0.4S5 [0024]. From the previous description the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, Ji, Fujiki and Mojtahedi teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 18. Zhang further teaches that its silicon-rich anode comprises 4-7 parts of silicon powder coated with silicon-containing oxide; 2-5 parts of sulfide solid electrolyte; 0.5-2 parts of a conductive agent and 0.5-2 parts of an adhesive [claim 1]. From Example 1, 10 mg of the silicon-rich anode mixture was employed to prepare the final electrode [0056 and 0057]. From the above descriptions the amounts of the silicon powder coated with silicon-containing oxide (active material), sulfide solid electrolyte and adhesive (fibrillating binder) will be 40-70 wt. %, 20-50 wt.% and 5-20 wt. %, respectively, which overlap the claimed amount ranges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Zhang because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725