DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yebka et al. (US 2023/0033080 A1, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) in view of Zijian (CN 113904069 A, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) and Ding et al. (US 2024/0266692 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yebka teaches a button cell (coin cell battery 500, [0034] and fig. 5) comprising:
an electrode assembly (stack 200, [00226-0029] and fig. 2) including a plurality of first electrodes, a plurality of second electrodes, and a plurality of separators positioned between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (cathodes 100 and anodes 150 with separators 200 therebetween, fig. 2), the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the plurality of separators being stacked in one direction (vertically in fig. 2);
a first case (case 510, fig. 5);
a second case (cap 520, fig. 5) combined with the first case to house the electrode assembly (stack 505 into 510+520 to form 500, fig. 5); and
a bonding portion insulating and bonding the first case and the second case (gasket 515, [0035] and fig. 5),
wherein the electrode assembly further includes:
a plurality of first electrode tabs spaced apart from each other (125 vertically spaced, fig. 2) … each of the first electrode tabs extending from one of the first electrodes (125 are from cathodes 100, figs. 1A and 2), … extending to a center of a first surface of the electrode assembly (410 extending to center of 417 in fig. 4; 410 corresponds to 125/215 of fig. 2), and the electrode tabs being connected to each other (125 gathered at 215, [0027] and fig. 2) at the center of the first surface of the electrode assembly (410 as extended anode folded at 415 to center of 417, [0031-0032] and fig. 4; 410 corresponds to 215 from fig. 2); and
a plurality of second electrode tabs spaced apart from each (175 vertically spaced, fig. 2) … each of the second electrode tabs extending from one of the of second electrodes (175 are from anodes 150, figs. 1B and 2), extending to a center of a second surface of the electrode assembly (420 extending to center of 427 in fig. 4; 420 corresponds to 175/210 of fig. 2), and the second electrode tabs being connected to each other (175 gathered at 210, [0027] and fig. 2) at the center of the second surface of the electrode assembly (420 as extended cathode folded at 425 to center of 427, [0031-0032] and fig. 4; 420 corresponds to 210 from fig. 2).
Yebka fail to teach the plurality of first electrode tabs spaced apart from each other specifically along a first part of a circular border of the electrode assembly, explicitly each of the plurality of first electrode tabs extending to a center of a first surface of the electrode assembly, nor the plurality of second electrode tabs spaced apart from each other specifically along a second part of the circular border of the electrode assembly.
Zijian is analogous in the art of button/coin cells having stacked electrode assemblies and teaches a stacked electrode assembly inside a button/coin-shaped cell (Fig. 2), wherein the electrode assembly has a novel tab structure in which: bare cell is formed by stacking a positive electrode sheet, a
separator and a negative electrode sheet; the positive electrode sheet is provided with a positive electrode tab; the negative electrode sheet is provided with a negative electrode tab; the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet are stacked alternately; the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are evenly distributed around the bare cell; and there is a preset angle between adjacent positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs, and the sum of the preset angles is 360°; the multiple positive electrode tabs constitute a positive electrode tab group; the multiple negative electrode tabs constitute a negative electrode tab group; the positive electrode tab group is folded on the first surface of the bare cell, and the negative electrode tab group is folded on the second surface opposite to the first surface of the bare cell; the positive electrode tab group is welded on the positive collector sheet, and the negative electrode tab group is welded on the negative collector sheet; the positive collector sheet and the positive electrode shell, and the negative collector sheet and the negative electrode shell are fixedly connected by butt welding ([0005] and Figs. 1-2). Zijian teaches that such structure is not an improvement on the structure of the tabs, but an improvement on the arrangement structure of the tabs; by adopting the above-mentioned new type of tab structure, the positive electrode tabs and the negative electrode tabs are arranged at all positions on the circumference of the bare battery cell, and the positive electrode tabs and the negative electrode tabs are dispersedly arranged, so that all the positive electrode tabs or the negative electrode tabs can
be avoided from being welded together; this can greatly reduce the number of tabs welded at one time, reduce the difficulty of welding, and also reduce the difficulty of the manufacturing process ([0023]). This arrangement as shown in Zijian Figs. 1-2 reads on the instantly claimed tabs being spaced apart from each other along the circular border or the electrode assembly (i.e., around the 360-degree circumference as taught by Zijian).
Ding is also analogous in the art of coin cells with stacked electrodes (Figs. 4-5) and teaches opposing negative tab and positive tab extending toward respective centers of base and top of the coin cell (Figs. 7-8; [0045, 0049-0051]). This aligns with the tab connections taught by Yebka Fig. 4.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the respective positive and negative electrode tabs with the radially spaced arrangement taught by Zijian with the motivation of avoiding undesired overlap, and further to modify the shape/length of said tabs to extend toward the center of the coin/button cell’s top/bottom surfaces as taught toward by Ding (also, changes in size and shape are within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV A-B).
Thus, the instant claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 10, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and teaches the plurality of first electrode tabs are bent twice between the plurality of first electrodes and the center of the first surface of the electrode assembly (bent downward then bent rightward, Yebka Figs. 2 and 4), and each of the of second electrode tabs are bent twice between the plurality of second electrodes and the center of the second surface of the electrode assembly (bent upward then bent leftward, Yebka Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 12, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and teaches the plurality of first electrode tabs is in contact with the first case (extended cathode electrode 420 is electrically coupled to the case 510, providing the battery 500 with the positive contact 503; Yebka [0037] and Fig. 5, in view of [0027] and Fig. 2 regarding gathered/electrically connected cathode portions), and the plurality of second electrode tabs are in contact with the second case (extended anode electrode 410 is electrically coupled to the cap 520, providing the battery 500 with the negative contact 502; Yebka [0037] and Fig. 5, in view of [0027] and Fig. 2 regarding gathered/electrically connected anode portions).
Regarding claim 9 and claim 15, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and teaches each of the first electrode tabs is integral with one of the first electrodes (125 integral with/from 130 in cathode 120; Yebka figs. 1-2, showing each tab being integral with/extending from perimeter of each respective electrode, and described in Yebka [0015,0018]) and each of the plurality of second electrode tabs is integral with one of the plurality of second electrodes (175 integral with/from 180 in anode 170; Yebka figs. 1-2, showing each tab being integral with/extending from perimeter of each respective electrode, and described in Yebka [0015,0018]).
Regarding claim 16, Yebka teaches a battery (coin cell battery 500, [0034] and fig. 5) comprising:
an electrode assembly (stack 200, [00226-0029] and fig. 2) including a plurality of first electrodes, a plurality of second electrodes, and a plurality of separators positioned between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (cathodes 100 and anodes 150 with separators 200 therebetween, fig. 2), the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the plurality of separators being stacked in one direction (vertically in fig. 2);
wherein the electrode assembly further includes:
a plurality of first electrode tabs spaced apart from each other (125 vertically spaced, fig. 2) … each of the first electrode tabs extending from one of the first electrodes (125 are from cathodes 100, figs. 1A and 2), … extending to a center of a first surface of the electrode assembly (410 extending to center of 417 in fig. 4; 410 corresponds to 125/215 of fig. 2), and the electrode tabs being connected to each other (125 gathered at 215, [0027] and fig. 2) at the center of the first surface of the electrode assembly (410 as extended anode folded at 415 to center of 417, [0031-0032] and fig. 4; 410 corresponds to 215 from fig. 2); and
a plurality of second electrode tabs spaced apart from each (175 vertically spaced, fig. 2) … each of the second electrode tabs extending from one of the of second electrodes (175 are from anodes 150, figs. 1B and 2), extending to a center of a second surface of the electrode assembly (420 extending to center of 427 in fig. 4; 420 corresponds to 175/210 of fig. 2), and the second electrode tabs being connected to each other (175 gathered at 210, [0027] and fig. 2) at the center of the second surface of the electrode assembly (420 as extended cathode folded at 425 to center of 427, [0031-0032] and fig. 4; 420 corresponds to 210 from fig. 2).
Yebka fail to teach the plurality of first electrode tabs spaced apart from each other specifically along a first part of a circular border of the electrode assembly, explicitly each of the plurality of first electrode tabs extending to a center of a first surface of the electrode assembly, nor the plurality of second electrode tabs spaced apart from each other specifically along a second part of the circular border of the electrode assembly.
Zijian is analogous in the art of button/coin cells having stacked electrode assemblies and teaches a stacked electrode assembly inside a button/coin-shaped cell (Fig. 2), wherein the electrode assembly has a novel tab structure in which: bare cell is formed by stacking a positive electrode sheet, a
separator and a negative electrode sheet; the positive electrode sheet is provided with a positive electrode tab; the negative electrode sheet is provided with a negative electrode tab; the positive electrode sheet and the negative electrode sheet are stacked alternately; the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are evenly distributed around the bare cell; and there is a preset angle between adjacent positive electrode tabs and negative electrode tabs, and the sum of the preset angles is 360°; the multiple positive electrode tabs constitute a positive electrode tab group; the multiple negative electrode tabs constitute a negative electrode tab group; the positive electrode tab group is folded on the first surface of the bare cell, and the negative electrode tab group is folded on the second surface opposite to the first surface of the bare cell; the positive electrode tab group is welded on the positive collector sheet, and the negative electrode tab group is welded on the negative collector sheet; the positive collector sheet and the positive electrode shell, and the negative collector sheet and the negative electrode shell are fixedly connected by butt welding ([0005] and Figs. 1-2). Zijian teaches that such structure is not an improvement on the structure of the tabs, but an improvement on the arrangement structure of the tabs; by adopting the above-mentioned new type of tab structure, the positive electrode tabs and the negative electrode tabs are arranged at all positions on the circumference of the bare battery cell, and the positive electrode tabs and the negative electrode tabs are dispersedly arranged, so that all the positive electrode tabs or the negative electrode tabs can
be avoided from being welded together; this can greatly reduce the number of tabs welded at one time, reduce the difficulty of welding, and also reduce the difficulty of the manufacturing process ([0023]). This arrangement as shown in Zijian Figs. 1-2 reads on the instantly claimed tabs being spaced apart from each other along the circular border or the electrode assembly (i.e., around the 360-degree circumference as taught by Zijian).
Ding is also analogous in the art of coin cells with stacked electrodes (Figs. 4-5) and teaches opposing negative tab and positive tab extending toward respective centers of base and top of the coin cell (Figs. 7-8; [0045, 0049-0051]). This aligns with the tab connections taught by Yebka Fig. 4.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the respective positive and negative electrode tabs with the radially spaced arrangement taught by Zijian with the motivation of avoiding undesired overlap, and further to modify the shape/length of said tabs to extend toward the center of the coin/button cell’s top/bottom surfaces as taught toward by Ding (also, changes in size and shape are within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV A-B).
Thus, the instant claim 16 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yebka et al. (US 2023/0033080 A1, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) in view of Zijian (CN 113904069 A, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) and Ding et al. (US 2024/0266692 A1) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0231320 A1, cited in the 3/6/24 IDS).
Regarding claim 2, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to teach the electrode assembly further comprises an insulating tape positioned at an end of the button cell in the one direction.
Wang is analogous in the art of coin cells with stacked electrodes and teaches an insulating packing tape 105 should be placed in such a way that the insulator basis 105a is between the assembly of stacked electrodes and one of the cases to avoid electrical contact between the assembly of stacked electrodes and said case; particularly, the insulating packing tape 105 is placed in such a way that the insulator basis 105a is between the last negative electrode 104″ and the cup 108 in order to avoid the electrical contact between said last negative electrode 104″ and the cup 108 ([0051] and Fig. 2) in order to minimize a short circuit risk from contacting the last negative electrode 104″ and cup 108
([0056]).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the cell of Yebka to include an insulating tape between the lowest electrode and in the stack and the lower case portion of the cell in order to avoid undesired contact at any location other than the welded contact location of the tabs, and thus minimize short circuiting risk between the electrode stack and the case at the bottom end thereof.
Thus, the instant claim 2 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and Wang (as applied to modify Yebka in regards to claim 2 above) further teaches the insulating tape supports the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the plurality of separators in the one direction (packing flaps 105b of insulating packing tape 105 are folded along the height or the thickness of the assembly of stacked electrodes and folded back against the first negative electrode 104′ to hold and pack said assembly 113 of stacked electrodes tightly, Wang [0050-0052] and Figs. 3-4). When including the insulating packing tape of Wang into modified Yebka above, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have further found it obvious to include the flaps to fold over the top of the electrode assembly (i.e., in the one direction as instantly claimed) to securely hold and pack the assembly of electrodes/separator stack as taught by Wang.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yebka et al. (US 2023/0033080 A1, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) in view of Zijian (CN 113904069 A, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) and Ding et al. (US 2024/0266692 A1) as applied to claims 4 and 1 above, and further in view of Okuno et al. (US 2022/0231384 A1, corresponding to EP4044354A4 cited in the 12/11/24 IDS) and Wang et al. (US 2022/0231320 A1, cited in the 3/6/24 IDS).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 11, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and but fails to teach the plurality of first electrode tabs overlap in the one direction at the center of the first surface of the electrode assembly, nor the plurality of second electrode tabs overlap in the one direction at the center of the second surface of the electrode assembly.
Okuno is analogous in the art of button batteries ([0030]) with stacked electrode assemblies (Fig. 2) and teaches a known configuration in which:
the plurality of first electrode tabs overlap in the one direction at the center of the first surface of the electrode assembly (all led-out parts 22AY are bent twice, and therefore all of the led-out parts 21AY – at the second bent parts 22AY3 – overlap each other at the bottom part M2 of the battery device 20; Okuno Fig. 8 in view of [0150]) and
the plurality of second electrode tabs overlap in the one direction at the center of the second surface of the electrode assembly (all of the led-out parts 21AY are bent twice, and therefore all of the led-out parts 21AY – at the second bent parts 21AY3 – overlap each other at the top part M1 of the battery device 20; Okuno Fig. 7 in view of [0150]).
Although Okuno teaches such as a comparative embodiment, this structure would still expectedly produce a functional battery with like-polarity tabs interconnected and connected to the correct polarity ends.
Wang is also analogous in the art of coin cells with stacked electrodes and teaches each positive electrode comprises a cathode tab and each negative electrode comprises an anode tab, the cathode tabs being welded together to form a positive welding joint and the anode tabs being welded together to form a negative welding joint, the positive welding joint being folded substantially vertically towards the positive side of the case and the negative welding joint being folded substantially vertically towards the negative side of the case ([0016, 0044]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it further obvious that such embodiment of Okuno as cited above could be applied to modified Yebka and result in a structure in which the first electrode tabs were all vertically overlapped where they connect at the center of the first surface while the second electrode tabs were all vertically overlapped where they connect at the center of the second surface, and expect a functional battery. Although lower energy density maybe expected per the teaching of Okuno [0150], a person having ordinary skill in the art could expect a benefit such as more efficient welding at the singular central point of overlap, in view of the singular positive weld joint and singular negative weld joint taught toward by Wang.
Thereby, claims 5 and 11 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 7 and claim 13, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to teach the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes is greater than the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes, nor that the length of the second electrode tab extending from the second electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes is longer than the length of the second electrode tab extended from the second electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes.
Okuno is analogous in the art of button batteries ([0030]) with stacked electrode assemblies (Fig. 2) and teaches:
the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes (relatively longer length of uppermost/outermost 22AY, Okuno Fig. 8) is greater than the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly (relatively shorter length of lowermost/innermost 22AY, Okuno Fig. 8) in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes (vertical stacking direction, Okuno Fig. 8), and
the length of the second electrode tab extending from the second electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes (relatively longer length of lowermost/outermost 21AY, Okuno Fig. 7) is longer than the length of the second electrode tab extended from the second electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly (relatively shorter length of uppermost/innermost 21AY, Okuno Fig. 7) in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes (vertical stacking direction, Okuno Fig. 8).
Although Okuno teaches such as a comparative embodiment, this structure would still expectedly produce a functional battery with tabs interconnected and connected to the correct polarity end.
Wang is also analogous in the art of coin cells with stacked electrodes and teaches each positive electrode comprises a cathode tab and each negative electrode comprises an anode tab, the cathode tabs being welded together to form a positive welding joint and the anode tabs being welded together to form a negative welding joint, the positive welding joint being folded substantially vertically towards the positive side of the case and the negative welding joint being folded substantially vertically towards the negative side of the case ([0016, 0044]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it further obvious that such embodiment of Okuno as cited above could be applied to modified Yebka and result in a structure in which:
the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes is greater than the length of the first electrode tab extending from the first electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of first electrodes,
the length of the second electrode tab extending from the second electrode positioned at a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes is longer than the length of the second electrode tab extended from the second electrode positioned at a top of the electrode assembly in the one direction among the plurality of second electrodes,
and expect a functional battery. Although lower energy density maybe expected per the teaching of Okuno, a person having ordinary skill in the art could expect a benefit such as more efficient welding at the singular central point of overlap, in view of the singular positive weld joint and singular negative weld joint taught toward by Wang. Also, changes in size and shape are within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV A-B
Thereby, claims 7 and 13 are rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yebka et al. (US 2023/0033080 A1, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) in view of Zijian (CN 113904069 A, as cited in 12/11/24 IDS) and Ding et al. (US 2024/0266692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2018/0254467 A1).
Regarding claim 8 and claim 14, modified Yebka teaches the limitations of claim 1 above but fails to explicitly teach the length of the plurality of first electrode tabs decreases sequentially from a top of the electrode assembly to a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction, nor the length of the plurality of second electrode tabs decreases sequentially from a bottom of the electrode assembly in to a top of the electrode assembly in in the one direction.
Jeong is analogous in the art of connecting electrode tabs (ends of the electrode tabs may be connected to the electrode terminals by welding while being overlapped with each other, Jeong [0045]) and teaches alternating positive and negative tabs 113, 114 spaced evenly around the perimeter of the electrode assembly 110 (Jeon Fig. 3), while further teaching the length of the plurality of first electrode tabs decreases sequentially from a top of the electrode assembly to a bottom of the electrode assembly in the one direction (tabs 114 shown at right in Jeong Fig. 4 decrease in length from uppermost tab to lowermost tab). Jeong further teaches the length of the plurality of second electrode tabs decreases sequentially from a bottom of the electrode assembly in to a top of the electrode assembly in in the one direction (tabs 113 shown at left in Jeong Fig. 4 decrease in length from to lowermost tab to uppermost tab).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the lengths of the extending electrode tabs in the stacked assembly of modified Yebka to have decreasing lengths from the top electrode tab to the bottom electrode tab among the plurality of first electrode tabs, as well as have decreasing lengths from the bottom electrode tab to the top electrode tab among the plurality of second electrode tabs, in the vertical stacking direction as taught by Jeong (fig. 4) and still expectedly achieve desired function of overlapped connection and weldability between such electrode tabs as taught by Jeong ([0045]).
Thus, the instant claims 8 and 14 are rendered obvious.
Conclusion
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728