DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed February 20th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, and 12 have been amended. New claims 13 and 14 have been added. Claims 1-14 are pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome all objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 previously set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “voice conversion portion” in claims 1, 10, and 12; “voice registration portion” in claims 1-2 and 4-7; and “voice verification portion” in claims 1-2.
The term “voice conversion portion” is being interpreted as referring to [0011] of the specification. The term “voice registration portion” is being interpreted as referring to [0014], [0015], [0018], [0025], and [0026] of the specification. The term “voice verification portion” is being interpreted as referring to [0014]-[0017] and [0030] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura, Hiroshi (US Pat. Pub. NO. 2019/0392839 A1 hereinafter Fujimura), in view of Goodwin et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0193150 A1 hereinafter Goodwin).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimura discloses a voice authentication device for incorporation in an appliance including a voice conversion portion configured to convert voice from outside into a voice signal that is an electrical signal (Fujimura, Fig. 3; [0043]: "The speech acquiring unit 131 receives input of speech data, and generates and outputs a feature of the received speech (step S101)."), the voice authentication device comprising: a voice registration portion configured to learn a parameter of an AI model based on the voice signal (Fujimura, Fig. 3; [0043]: "The speech acquiring unit 131 receives input of speech data, and generates and outputs a feature of the received speech (step S101)."; [0045]: "Subsequently, the calculating unit 132 receives a feature generated by the speech acquiring unit 131, and calculates, using this feature and a neural network, a frame score and a keyword score (step S102). A frame score is appearance probability of a phoneme for each frame (acoustic score). A keyword score represents likelihood indicating whether the feature corresponds to a predetermined keyword to be detected."; [0056]: "when there is a keyword exceeding the threshold th (Yes at step S103), in other words, when the keyword w is detected, the extending unit 134 extends a feature with respect to the detected keyword section (step S104)."; [0060]: " the creating unit 135 creates a speaker model using a plurality of speaker features extended to a keyword section (step S105). For example, the creating unit 135 creates a 256-dimensional Gaussian distribution model having single Gaussian distribution with respect to each dimension of 256-dimensional vectors as a speaker model."); a voice verification portion configured to perform voice verification on input data based on the voice signal in accordance with an inference result yielded by the AI model having the learned parameter (Fujimura, Fig. 5; [0062]: "FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating an example of the recognition processing according to the first embodiment. The recognition processing is processing for recognizing a speaker of input speech using a created speaker model. In the recognition processing, a keyword to be detected is detected, and a speaker of the detected keyword is recognized."; [0064]: "When there is a keyword exceeding the threshold th (Yes at step S203), in other words, when the keyword w is detected, the recognizing unit 136 determines likelihood of a speaker using a created speaker model and outputs from an intermediate layer calculated at the time of detecting a keyword (step S204). For example, the recognizing unit 136 inputs outputs from an intermediate layer about all frames in a keyword detection section to Gaussian distribution, and defines the sum of output likelihood as likelihood of a speaker. In this case, the recognizing unit 136 may input outputs from an intermediate layer to Gaussian distribution for each frame so as to obtain likelihood, and may input, after once taking a mean of vectors of all frames, outputs from an intermediate layer to Gaussian distribution so as to obtain likelihood. The recognizing unit 136 outputs, for example, a speaker having the maximum likelihood of a speaker as a recognition result."); wherein the voice authentication is performed based on the voice registration portion and the voice verification portion (Fujimura, [0062]: "The recognition processing is processing for recognizing a speaker of input speech using a created speaker model."). However, Fujimura fails to expressly recite a voice registration portion configured to learn a parameter of an AI model based on the voice signal resulting from a keyword being uttered a plurality of times.
Fujimura, Fig. 3 and Fig. 5 for reference
Goodwin teaches a voice registration portion configured to learn a parameter of an AI model based on the voice signal resulting from a keyword being uttered a plurality of times (Goodwin, [0022]: “In order to account for such variability, a text-dependent system may collect multiple examples of the key phrase from an enrolling user.”).
Fujimura and Goodwin are analogous arts because they each belong to the field of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speaker recognition system of Fujimura to incorporate the teachings of Goodwin to receive multiple utterances of the keyword from the user during a registration phase. Collecting multiple speech samples allows the system to account for a user speaking the same word or phrase in different ways (Goodwin, [0022]). This ensures the system can accurately identify and understand a user even with fluctuations in the user’s voice.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above. Fujimura further discloses wherein The voice registration portion and the voice verification portion perform registration and verification respectively, each based on the voice including a keyword (Fujimura, [0056]: "when there is a keyword exceeding the threshold th (Yes at step S103), in other words, when the keyword w is detected, the extending unit 134 extends a feature with respect to the detected keyword section (step S104)."; [0064]: "When there is a keyword exceeding the threshold th (Yes at step S203), in other words, when the keyword w is detected, the recognizing unit 136 determines likelihood of a speaker using a created speaker model and outputs from an intermediate layer calculated at the time of detecting a keyword (step S204).).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above. Fujimura further discloses an appliance comprising: the voice authentication device according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above.); and the voice conversion portion of claim 1 (Fujimura, Fig. 3; [0043]: "The speech acquiring unit 131 receives input of speech data, and generates and outputs a feature of the received speech (step S101).").
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, as applied to claims 1-2 and 10 above, and further in view of Heigold et al. (US Pat. No. 9,978,374 B2 hereinafter Heigold).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above. However, Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, fails to expressly recite wherein the AI model is a three-layer neural network having an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer.
Heigold teaches wherein the AI model is a three-layer neural network having an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer (Heigold, Col. 9, lines 9-18: "The neural network 140 may include an input layer for inputting information about the utterances in the training samples 122, and several hidden layers for processing the samples 122. The weights or other parameters of one or more hidden layers may be adjusted so that the trained neural network 140 produces output that causes the speaker verification model 144 to generate the desired classification of the training samples 122 as having either matching or non-matching speakers among the simulated verification and enrollment utterances of the samples 122."; Here, the several input layers are seen as "a hidden layer".).
Fujimura, Goodwin, and Heigold are analogous arts because they each belong to the field of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speaker recognition system of Fujimura, as modified by the speaker enrollment and identification system of Goodwin, to incorporate the teachings of Heigold to use an AI model with an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer. This allows the AI model to be further modified to better identify speakers (Heigold, Col. 9, lines 9-18). This improves the overall accuracy of the system.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, as applied to claims 1-2 and 10 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (WO Pat. Pub. No. 2022/007846 A1 hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above. However, Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, fails to expressly recite wherein the appliance is a smart speaker.
Hu teaches wherein the appliance is a smart speaker (Hu, page 10, paragraph 2: "voiceprint recognition technology can be applied to the field of family life, and voice control of smart phones, smart cars, smart homes (eg, smart audio and video equipment, smart lighting systems, smart door locks), etc.").
Fujimura, Goodwin, and Hu are analogous arts because they each belong to the field of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speaker recognition system of Fujimura, as modified by the speaker enrollment and identification system of Goodwin, to incorporate the teachings of Hu to implement the voice recognition system in a smart speaker. Applying the system to a smart speaker allows the smart speaker to recognize a speaker (Hu, page 10, paragraph 2). This ensures the smart speaker can verify identity before taking certain actions such as disclosing personal information.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above. Fujimura further discloses an appliance comprising: the voice authentication device according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above.); and the voice conversion portion of claim 1 (Fujimura, Fig. 3; [0043]: "The speech acquiring unit 131 receives input of speech data, and generates and outputs a feature of the received speech (step S101)."). However, Fujimura, in view of Goodwin, fails to expressly recite wherein the appliance is configured to be separated from a communication network.
Hu teaches wherein the appliance is configured to be separated from a communication network (Hu, page 19, paragraph 1: "It should be noted that, in this embodiment, the voiceprint recognition algorithm (the algorithms corresponding to steps S130 to S170 ) can be implemented on the mobile phone 100 to realize the offline recognition of the voiceprint").
Fujimura, Goodwin, and Hu are analogous arts because they each belong to the field of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speaker recognition system of Fujimura, as modified by the speaker enrollment and identification system of Goodwin, to incorporate the teachings of Hu to allow the system to be disconnected from a communication network. This allows for offline recognition of a voiceprint (Hu, page 19, paragraph 1). Offline voice recognition ensures that a system that requires identity verification can continue to function regardless of network connectivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art search did not yield any reference that disclosed the specific formulas dictating the connection between the hidden layer and output layer prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Furthermore, the prior art search did not yield any references that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to yield each limitation of claim 13. As such, the claim is allowable.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art search did not yield any reference that disclosed the specific formulas dictating the connection between the hidden layer and output layer prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Furthermore, the prior art search did not yield any references that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to yield each limitation of claim 13. As such, the claim is allowable.
Claims 4-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 5, each claim includes limitations comparable to those of claims 13 and 14, and thus contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as described above in regards to claims 13 and 14.
Regarding claims 6-9, each claim depends on either claim 4 or claim 5, and therefore incorporate all limitations therefrom. As such, claims 6-9 contain allowable subject matter for at least the same reasons as stated above in regards to claims 4 and 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657