DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-11, 15-17, 21, 51, 52, 78, 81, and 88 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 18 September 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated
by Webb et al. (US 2018/0135793 hereinafter "Webb").
In regards to claim 1, Webb discloses an insulated sleeve connector comprising:
a tubular body (casing, see abstract) having a longitudinal axis and comprising
a base layer (124) of a flexible material forming:
a first end (left end in fig. 3) comprising a first opening;
a second end (right end in fig. 3)opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis and comprising a second opening; and
a central section situated along the longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end and
an insulating layer (128) of insulating material coupled to the base layer forming the central section of the tubular body;
a first protrusion (300) projecting from an inner surface of the tubular body adjacent to
the central section; and
a second protrusion (300) projecting from the inner surface of the tubular body adjacent to the central section and spaced away from the first protrusion along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 4, Webb further discloses the base layer of the flexible material forms:
a first section (left portion in fig. 3) extending along the longitudinal axis between the
first end and the central section; and
a second section (right portion in fig. 3) extending along the longitudinal axis between
the second end and the central section;
the first section of the tubular body is configured to receive a first duct (fig. 3 shows this
capability);
the second section of the tubular body is configured to receive a second duct (fig. 3
shows this capability); and
the central section of the tubular body has a length dimension along the longitudinal axis
that is greater than a distance between a first duct end of the first duct and a second duct end of
the second duct when the first duct is received by the first section and the second duct is received
by the second section (fig. 3 shows this capability with hypothetical ducts; it is noted that the
ducts are not required elements of the claim but rather recited functionally).
In regards to claim 5, Webb further discloses a first groove (see groove between
protrusions "300") disposed on an inner surface of the tubular body along the central section,
wherein the first groove is configured to receive a first bead of the first duct (fig. 3 shows this
capability); and
a second groove (see other groove between protrusions "300") disposed on the inner
surface of the tubular body along the central section and spaced from the first groove along the
longitudinal axis, wherein the second groove is configured to receive a second bead of the
second duct (fig. 3 shows this capability).
In regards to claim 6, Webb further discloses the first groove has a first groove width
that is larger than a first bead width of the first bead (fig. 3 shows this capability with
hypothetical ducts; it is noted that the ducts are not required elements of the claim but rather
recited functionally); and the second groove has a second groove width that is larger than a
second bead width of the second bead (fig. 3 shows this capability with hypothetical ducts; it is
noted that the ducts are not required elements of the claim but rather recited functionally).
In regards to claim 7, Webb further discloses the insulated layer of the insulating material is further coupled to the base later forming at least one of the first section and the
second section of the tubular body (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 8, Webb further discloses the first protrusion is located at a first
junction of the first section and the central section (shown in fig. 3) and provides a first tactile
response to insertion of the first duct (fig. 3 shows this capability with hypothetical ducts; it is
noted that the ducts are not required elements of the claim but rather recited functionally ); and
the second protrusion is located at a second junction of the second section and the central section
(shown in fig. 3) that provides a second tactile response to insertion of the second duct fig. 3
shows this capability with hypothetical ducts; it is noted that the ducts are not required elements
of the claim but rather recited functionally).
In regards to claim 12, Webb further discloses a number of first tabs (112) extending
outwardly from the first end along the longitudinal axis; and a number of second tabs (112)
extending outwardly from the second end along the longitudinal axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the base layer of flexible material have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 1 and 25 have been examined now with the elected species.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 28 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remaining arguments regarding the restriction requirement have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The other claimed features are mutually exclusive. The hinge is only shown in figures 7-8 and is never described as being used with the other species. It is unclear how the hinge would even function with the structure of species A as the body of species A does not have the groove to receive it. Further, the flange is only shown and described in figures 9-10 and it is unclear how this could even be used with the body of species A which instead has tabs 152 in the place of flanges. Further, the inner band 186 is only shown and described in figures 11-13 and it is unclear how this feature could be used in the body of species A as the body is not shaped as required to receive it as shown in fig. 11. Therefore, these features are all mutually exclusive to their respective species.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the amended language, see the updated rejection above which shows how these features are disclosed by Webb.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 03/18/2026