DETAILED ACTION
Specification
A new title of the invention has been filed and the objection, to the previous title, has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (hereinafter “Patil”) [PGPUB 2018/0184285].
Regarding claim 1, the Patil reference discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions [ie. wireless device (STA); Patil; figures 2 and 10; paragraphs 0264-0267 and 0290] to cause the apparatus to:
send a first radio frame comprising initiator address information, responder address information, and a first basic service set identifier (BSSID) in a multiple BSSID set [ie. “a frame control field, a receiver address field, a transmitter address field, or a destination address field, or a variable field, or any combination thereof”, “first attribute value and the second attribute value comprises a BSS color, a BSSID, a MAC address, or any combination thereof”; Patil; fig 2; para 0077-0082, 0130, 0148, 0218-0219, and 0272],
wherein the multiple BSSID set comprises a second BSSID of a first basic service set (BSS) in which an initiator is located and a third BSSID of a second BSS in which a responder is located, wherein the second BSSID is different from the third BSSID [The claim does not restrict the first BSSID, where the 1st BSSID could be the 2nd or 3rd BSSID. The claim only restricts the 2nd BSSID is “different from “ the 3rd BSSID; ie. Different BSSIDs for each initiator and responder, in a multiple BSSID set system; Patil; fig 2 and 8; para 0130, 0135, 0197, 0240, 0272, and 0276],
and wherein the first radio frame is a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) discovery request frame or a TDLS setup request frame [Patil; para 0121, 0126-0127, and 0130]; and
receive, from the responder, a second radio frame, wherein the second radio frame is a response frame based on the first radio frame [ie. receiver probe response frame; Patil; para 0172, 0175, and 0264].
Regarding claim 2, the Patil reference further discloses a first station (STA) is associated with the initiator and a second STA is associated with the responder, and wherein: the initiator is the first station STA and the responder is the second STA; or the initiator is the first multi-link device (MLD) in which the first STA is located and the responder is the second MLD in which the second STA is located [Patil; fig 1, 2 and 10; para 0130, 0135, 0240, 0272, 0276, and 0290].
Regarding claim 3, the Patil reference further discloses the first STA is located in the first BSS, wherein the second BSSID is different from the third BSSID of the second BSS, and wherein the second STA is located in the second BSS [Patil; fig 2; para 0130, 0135, 0240, and 0272].
Regarding claim 4, the Patil reference further discloses the first BSSID corresponds to the first BSS, wherein the first STA is located in the first BSS [Patil; fig 2; para 0130, 0135, 0240, and 0272].
Regarding claim 5, the Patil reference further discloses the second radio frame comprises the initiator address information, the responder address information, wherein the third BSSID is included in the multiple BSSID set, and wherein the multiple BSSID set comprises the second BSSID [Patil; para 0126, 0130, 0136, and 0195-0197].
Regarding claim 6, the Patil reference further discloses the third BSSID is a transmitted BSSID in the multiple BSSID set [Patil; para 0059, 0126, 0130, 0231-0232 and 0272].
Regarding claim 7, the Patil reference further discloses the first BSSID is the same as the third BSSID [Patil; para 0059, 0126, 0130, 0231-0232 and 0272].
Regarding claim 8, the Patil reference further discloses the first radio frame is a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) discovery request frame and the second radio frame is a TDLS discovery response frame [Patil; para 0121, 0126-0127, 0130, and 0276].
Regarding claim 9, the Patil reference discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions [ie. wireless device (STA); Patil; figures 2 and 10; paragraphs 0264-0267] to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from an initiator, a first radio frame comprising initiator address information, responder address information, and a first basic service set identifier (BSSID) in a multiple BSSID set [ie. “a frame control field, a receiver address field, a transmitter address field, or a destination address field, or a variable field, or any combination thereof”, “first attribute value and the second attribute value comprises a BSS color, a BSSID, a MAC address, or any combination thereof”; Patil; fig 2; para 0077-0082, 0130, 0135-0136, 0217-0219, and 0272],
wherein the multiple BSSID set comprises a second BSSID of a first basic service set (BSS) in which a responder is located, wherein the first BSSID is in the multiple BSSID set and is different from the second BSSID [The claim does not restrict the first BSSID, where the 1st BSSID could be the 2nd or 3rd BSSID. The claim only restricts the 2nd BSSID is “different from “ the 3rd BSSID; ie. Different BSSIDs for each initiator and responder, in a multiple BSSID set system; Patil; fig 2 and 8; para 0130, 0135, 0197, 0240, 0272, and 0276],
and wherein the first radio frame is a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) discovery request frame or a TDLS setup request frame [Patil; para 0121, 0126-0127, and 0130]; and
send a second radio frame, wherein the second radio frame is a response frame based on the first radio frame [ie. send probe response frame; Patil; para 0172, 0175, and 0264].
Regarding claims 10-16, the apparatus of claims 10-16 perform the similar steps as the apparatus of claims 2-8. The Patil reference teaches the apparatus of claims 2-8, as referenced above. Therefore, claims 10-16 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 2-8, by the teachings of Patil.
Regarding claims 17-20, the method of claims 17-20 perform the similar steps as the apparatus of claims 1-4. The Patil reference teaches the apparatus of claims 1-4, as referenced above. Therefore, claims 17-20 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 1-4, by the teachings of Patil.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seok et al. [PGPUB 2016/0249397] describes supporting multiple BSSID for MLDs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458