DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
“pro-files” [004]; “de-vices”, “network-able” [006]; “pro-file” [008]; “serv-er” [011]; “re-mote” [013], etc.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the method of claim 1 including each step as well as the details of each dependent claim must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “for later transferring… and installing” however provides no guidance (meets or bounds) of how to interpret “later” rendering the claim indefinite.
Further to claim 1 (and most others), the use of parenthetical expressions after limitations renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation contained therein is exemplary or further limiting and/or are part of the claimed invention. For example, claim 1 recites “profile container (T_ISD-P][])” on at least lines 4, 7, & 10, “profile (P1) on at least lines 7 & 9, “description file (D-XML) on at least line 8, “dynamic profile data (EDP-P1)” on lines 13-15, etc. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 further recites the term “IFPP Dynamic Converter” and claim 4 recites “IFPP Controller” however such terms while recited in the instant specification are not defined and therefore the meets and bounds of such is unclear.
Claim 13 further recites the phrase “particularly TCA compliant profile” rendering the claim indefinite as “TCA” is not defined and “particularly” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“S2) generaing” should read -- S2) generating --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “pro-file” should read --profile--.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “plat-form” should read --platform--.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “ex-tracts” should read --extracts--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2022/0360978) hereinafter “Li” and Long (2019/0053040).
As to claim 1, Li discloses A method for generating at least one profile, for provisioning the profile to an eUICC designed to be hosted in a device, including the steps:
S1) providing profile generation data, including static profile data for generating a profile container (T_ISD-P[]) and dynamic profile data, from a wireless network operator, MNO, or virtual wireless network operator, MVNO, to a data generation platform (see [0021]: “The BPP aggregator server 306… to obtain… BPP for an eUICC… a provisioning profile for a specific MNO…”;
S2) generating, from the profile generation data, including the static profile data for generating a profile container (T_ISD-P[]) and the dynamic profile data, a profile (P1), and a dynamic-data description file (D-XML) indicating content and storage location of at least the dynamic profile data in the profile (P1) (see [0021]: “308 servers can generate and return encrypted BPPs… some metadata from the BPP can be provided by the SM-DP+ 308…”);
S3-1) creating, in the eUICC at least one profile container (T_ISD-P[]) (see [0014]: “load bootstrap eSIM profiles and/or mobile network operator (MNO) eSIM profiles during manufacture… multiple sets of transaction credentials can be preloaded to the eUICC…”, [0018]: “applets 212 that define the manner in which the eSIM 208 operates…”;
S3-2) providing the profile (P1) and the dynamic-data description file (D-XML) to a IFPP Dynamic Converter, and at the IFPP Dynamic Converter, with support of the dynamic-data description file (D-XML), extracting the dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) from the profile (P1), (see [0023]: “The local provisioning server 310 can select one or more of the xID values and return one or more encrypted BPPs…”.
for later transferring the extracted dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) to the eUICC, and installing the transferred extracted dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) into the profile container (T_ISD-P[]) created in step S3-1) see [0023]-[0024]. Note that these steps are recited as an intended use not carrying patentable weight but addressed for compact prosecution.
Li fails to explicitly recite yet in an analogous art Long discloses in S1 the profile generation data, including static profile data (MSISDN) for generating a profile container (T_ISD-P[]) and dynamic profile data (IMSI), from a wireless network operator, MNO, or virtual wireless network operator, MVNO, see [0075]-[0077]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Li such that the profile generation data, including static profile data (MSISDN) for generating a profile container (T_ISD-P[]) and dynamic profile data (IMSI), from a wireless network operator, MNO, or virtual wireless network operator, MVNO, to a data generation platform for the purpose of enabling use with a specific operator.
As to claim 2, the combination of Li and Long discloses The method according to claim 1, Li discloses wherein two or more profiles, corresponding dynamic-data description files (D-XML) and corresponding extracted dynamic pro-file data are created. See [0014].
As to claim 3, the combination of Li and Long discloses The method according to claim 1, Li discloses further comprising provisioning the generated profile to an eUICC, by performing the steps: S4) transferring the extracted dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) extracted in step S3-2) to the eUICC, and install the transferred extracted dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) into the profile container (T_ISD-P[]) created in step S3-1). See [0014].
As to claim 8, the combination of Li and Long discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the dynamic profile data (EDP-P1) comprise one or several or all of the following: International Mobile Subscriber Identity IMSI; Authentication Key Ki; Further Authentication parameters (OP(c)) Profile number ICCID; Access Control Conditions ACC; one or several Personal Identification Numbers, PINs; one or several Personal Unblocking Keys, PUKs; Default-Issuer-Security-Domain-Profile, Default-ISD-P; other dynamic parameters for the MNO or MVNO, including Roaming Partners. (IMSI)
As to claims 12-15, the combination of Li and Long discloses The method according to claim 1, however the limitations of claims 12-15 fail to interact with or affect any of the steps of the method and are thus considered nonfunctional limitations and/or intended uses not carrying patentable weight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (2015/0281198) provides for [0011]: a remotely installed profile for the eUICC.
Stahl et al. (2022/0295288) provide for [0053]-[0083] profile installation.
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649