DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 08/18/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged but not found persuasive. Currently claims 1-20 are rejected.
With respect to the independent claim 1, Applicant argues that “Shestak does not disclose determining a sheetside image for application of compensation resources…” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not only rely on Shestak for teaching the compensation resources themselves. Rather, Johnson and Stanich teach applying compensation resources to sheetside image data, while Shestak maintains raw sheetsides and retrieving the next raw sheetside for processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use Shestak’s next selected but not yet processed sheetside as the sheetside for newly received compensation to be applied.
Applicant further argues that Kitai’s sheet ID is used for print management and inspection/position notification and does not disclose transmitting a sheet ID to an external device that provided sheetside compensation instructions. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kitai identifies a sheet ID for a sheet and determines defects on a print side identified by the sheet ID and communicates defect info along with the sheet ID to print inspection apparatus (fig. 6, p0148, p0149, p0174, p0181, claim 10). Johnson/Stanich implements compensation function in an external computing system that communicates compensation resources to the printer. Therefore, the combined teaching would have made transmitting defect info with identified sheet ID and compensation resource to and from an external device obvious.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US Pub: 2022/0288920) and in further view of Shestak et al (US Patent: 2009/0244582), Kitai (US Pub: 2017/0031636), and Stanich et al (US Pub: 2022/0083826).
Regarding claim 1 (previously presented), Johnson et al teaches: A printing system comprising: at least one physical memory device to store compensation logic; and one or more processors coupled with the at least one physical memory device to execute the compensation logic to [abstract]: receive sheetside compensation instructions from an external device; wherein the sheetside compensation instructions specify compensation resources applied to a sheetside [p0028, p0033, p0052-p0054];
Johnson et al does not specify a plurality of sheetside images or assign them IDs. In the same field of endeavor, Shestak et al teaches: determine a first of a plurality of sheetside images for application of the compensation resources [abstract, p0030 (Dispatcher dispatches any of multiple sheetside image.)].
And Kitai assigns ID to each sheetside image: determine a sheet identifier (ID) corresponding to the first sheetside image; process the first sheetside image by applying the compensation resources to the first sheetside image; and transmit the sheet ID to the external device [figs. 7 and 11, abstract]
Therefore, given Johnson et al’s prescription on applying compensation resource and executing compensation logic; Shestak et al’s disclosure on dispatching any number of a plurality of sheetside images; and Kitai’s teaching on assigning an ID to each sheetside image, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to define each sheetside image with an ID and applying compensation resource to a sheetside image with an ID for clear identification purpose.
Johnson et al in view of Shestak et al and Kitai does not disclose second compensation updated from the first. In the same field of endeavor, Stanich et al teaches: wherein the sheetside compensation instructions specify second compensation resources updated from first compensation resources applied to generate a sheetside [p0043, p0055, p0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to calculate and specify additional compensation resource based on the first one to perform more accurate correction based on measurements of the output using the first resource.
Further, Kitai identifies a sheet ID for a sheet and determines defects on a print side identified by the sheet ID and communicates defect info along with the sheet ID to print inspection apparatus (fig. 6, p0148, p0149, p0174, p0181, claim 10). Johnson/Stanich implements compensation function in an external computing system that communicates compensation resources to the printer. Therefore, the combined teaching would have made transmitting defect info with identified sheet ID and compensation resource to and from an external device obvious to a skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 2 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the processing further comprises halftoning the sheetside image using a halftone design included in the compensation resources [p0022-p0024].
Regarding claim 3 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein processing the first sheetside image comprises applying one or more transfer functions to the sheetside image, wherein the transfer functions are included in the compensation resources [p0045-p0047].
Regarding claim 4 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Kitai et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the sheet ID is transmitted prior to processing the first sheetside image [p0206-p0208].
Regarding claim 5 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the compensation logic further to transmit the processed first sheetside image [p0022].
Regarding claim 6 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising the external device, including: a print verification; and compensation system [p0024, p0025].
Regarding claim 7 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al and Kitai et al further teaches: The system of claim 6, wherein the print verification and compensation system receives the sheet ID and generates updated compensation resources for the captured first sheet print image and captured subsequent sheet print images based on measurement data and the sheet ID [Johnson: p0052-p0054; Kitai: p0206-p0208]. Kitai et al use sheet ID to associate downstream processing with a correct sheet and Johnson et al generates updated compensation from measurement data, and the combined teaching would have made generating updated compensation based on received sheet ID obvious for proper matching.
Regarding claim 8 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 6, wherein the print verification and compensation system generates the updated compensation resources based on current compensation resources indicated by the sheet ID [p0039, p0040].
Regarding claim 9 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the compensation resources comprise at least one of compensated halftones and compensated transfer functions [p0029, p0045-p0047].
Regarding claim 10 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Johnson et al further teaches: The system of claim 6, further comprising a printer to print the processed first sheetside image [abstract].
Claims 11 (previously presented) and 12-15 (original) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1-5 respectively.
Claims 16 (previously presented) and 17-20 (original) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 11-15 respectively and in further view of Johnson et al’s further teaching on: At least one non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to [p0055].
Conclusion
5. There is no new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682