DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, applicants claim “…wherein the flame retardant fibers pass the flame retardancy standards of ASTM D6413 (current year).”
It is unclear as to whether one of ordinary skill in the art would determine the “current year” to be the year in which the claims are read, or the year in which the claims were filed. Applicants do not have basis for claiming a standard for a year which happened after filing of the original application.
Note, applicants describe the performance of the fibers being measured via ASTM D6413M-22, suggesting the year as 2022.
Additionally, ASTM D6413 is used to measure the vertical flame resistance of textiles, requiring a flat, continuous fabric specimen cut to a dimension of 3 inches by 12 inches, where the fabric is secured vertically on three sides. A single, loose fiber cannot be used, as it does not meet the standard requirements. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the flame retardancy limits the scope of the claimed invention.
It is noted that since claims 2-20 ultimately or directly depend from Claim 1, they are rejected along with claim 1 because they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 1, including those that are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10-12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Capwell (US 2016/0230314).
Capwell discloses nylon fibers having flame retardant agents dispersed therein (Abstract), disclosing the following:
The combination of steps 10 and 20 meet applicants’ masterbatch. Capwell discloses that the flame retardant nylon fibers contain 0.1-10 wt% tris(tribromophenyl)triazine (mp=230°C) (p. 3, [0022] and p. 4, [0031]); therefore, preparing a masterbatch with a flame retardant content of greater than 10 wt% is inherent in preparing a final flame retardant nylon fiber with a flame retardant content of 10 wt% as the masterbatch is let down in step 30.
Capwell discloses that the fibers may then be incorporated into woven or non-woven fabrics in amounts sufficient to render the fabric flame retardant (e.g. self-extinguishing under the vertical flammability test of ASTM D6413).
A masterbatch containing a minimum of 10 wt% flame retardant, and no other components inherently includes the nylon 6 in an amount of greater than 10 wt%.
Capwell anticipates instant claims 1, 2, 8 and 10-12.
As to claims 16-18, Capwell discloses that the formed fibers can consist of those described above, or can be blended with other fibers, such as cotton fibers (p. 8, [0052]).
As to claims 15 and 20, Capwell discloses adding antistatic agents (p. 8, [0053]).
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Langrick (US 2019/0322805).
Langrick discloses flame retardant polyamide compositions which can be in any suitable form, particularly in the form of a flame-retardant fiber (p. 3, [0024]), exemplifying a composition comprising 87.7 parts PA66 (RV=25), 12 parts Mastertek 374115 (a 50 wt% masterbatch of melamine cyanurate (mp=350°C) in nylon 6) and 0.3 parts Irganox B1171 (p. 12, Example 9).
Langrick discloses that the composition possesses a flammability rating of UL94 V-0 (p. 13, Table 12); however, does not disclose the flame retardancy based on the standards of ASTM D6413, as claimed.
Langrick discloses applicants’ preferred components, PA66, PA6 and melamine cyanurate masterbatch, in the claimed amounts. The masterbatch technique is the only method described as being used to prepare the fibers which meet the claimed property. Therefore, fibers prepared by the composition of Langrick inherently pass the ASTM D6413 test, as claimed.
Alternatively, applicants disclose that the performance of the flame retardant fibers can be measured via ASTM D6413, the purpose of which is to determine whether a fabric will continue to burn after the ignition source is removed ([0013]).
Langrick discloses that UL94 V-0 rating is met when there is no after-flame of any specimen up to the holding clamp (p. 6, Table 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a prepared fiber from the composition of Langrick to pass the flame retardancy standards of ASTM D6413, as the specimen does not continue to burn after the ignition source is removed.
Langrick anticipates instant claims 1-3, 6-7 and 10-12.
As to claim 14, melamine cyanurate would not be expected to significantly affect the relative viscosity of the composition, where the RV of the nylon is 25; therefore, the final composition inherently possesses a RV of less than 90, as claimed.
As to claims 15 and 20, Langrick discloses the possible addition of an anti-static agent (p. 7, [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capwell (US 2016/0230314), as applied above to claims 1, 2, 8, 10-12, 15-18 and 20.
Capwell anticipates instant claims 1, 2, 8, 10-12, 15-18 and 20, as described above and applied herein as such, as Capwell discloses preparing a flame retardant nylon fiber using a flame retardant masterbatch.
Capwell teaches that the during melt spinning, the molten material is forced through one or more holes on a spinneret plate on a spin head, where the plurality of holes typically has a diameter of between 1-10 mil (about 25 to 250 micron), further teaching that the extruded filaments exiting the plurality of holes on the spinneret plate are collected and under water cooling to form a fiber, such that once the fibers are cooled and harden, they are typically stretched anywhere from 2x to 5x the original length to improve or alter the properties of the fiber (p. 5, [0035]).
Forming a fiber from a spinneret plate with a hole diameter of about 1 mil or about 25 micron and stretching 2x to 5x inherently results in a final fiber diameter of less than 25 micron, as claimed.
Capwell is prima facie obvious over instant claim 13.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langrick (US 2019/0322805), as applied above to claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15 and 20, and further in view of Roth (US 2020/0048434), JP 2007195600, and/or Kawaski (US 4,317,766).
Langrick anticipates instant claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15 and 20, as described above and applied herein as such, as Langrick discloses flame-retardant fibers, exemplifying a composition comprising PA66 and a 50 wt% masterbatch of melamine cyanurate in nylon 6.
Langrick does not teach or suggest the particle size of the melamine cyanurate, as claimed.
Roth teaches flame retardant polyamides comprising melamine cyanurate, teaching that it is commercially available as a white powder with an average particle size of 1.5-7 micron (p. 3, [0036]).
JP ‘660 teaches flame retardant polyamide fibers comprising a triazine based flame retardant, such as melamine cyanurate, teaching that the triazine compound has an average particle size of most preferably 0.1-2.3 micron, teaching that when the particle size is less than 0.1 micron, the particles become aggregated, and secondary aggregation becomes a problem, making it difficult to produce a fiber having the necessary physical properties, and when the particle size is too large, processing becomes difficult.
Kawaski teaches a flame-retardant polyamide composition comprising 60-98 wt% polyamide and uniformly dispersed therein 2-40 wt% melamine cyanurate, where 95% of the particles preferably possess a particle size of at most 5 micron, teaching that a 50 micron or less filament diameter is easily produced (col. 4, ll. 31-34 and col. 10, ll. 11-21).
Therefore, using melamine cyanurate with an average particle size of less than 5 micron or even below 2 micron in Langrick is prima facie obvious, as Roth teaches that these sizes of melamine cyanurate are commercially available, and JP ‘660 and Kawaski teach smaller particle sizes allow for easier processing of polyamide fibers containing the melamine cyanurate flame retardant.
As to claim 13, Kawaski suggests that by using melamine cyanurate with a small particle size, fibers with a smaller diameter, of 10 to 100 micron, can be spun continuously and steadily; therefore, preparing a small diameter fiber is clearly desirable in the art.
Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Capwell (US 2016/0230314) or Langrick (US 2019/0322805), as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of Gopal (US 2021/0277203).
Capwell anticipates instant claims 1, 2, 8, 10-12, 15-18 and 20, as described above and applied herein as such, as Capwell discloses preparing a flame retardant nylon fiber using a flame retardant masterbatch, where tris(tribromophenyl)triazine is used as the flame retardant.
Langrick anticipates instant claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15 and 20, as described above and applied herein as such, as Langrick discloses flame-retardant fibers, exemplifying a composition comprising PA66 and a 50 wt% masterbatch of melamine cyanurate in nylon 6.
Capwell and Langrick both suggest the inclusion of antimicrobial agents, but do not teach or suggest suitable options thereof (p. 7, [0043] and p. 7, [0059], respectively).
Gopal teaches antimicrobial/antiviral plastics and molded products, which include fibers and fabrics, and teaches the products as containing 50-99.9 wt% of PA6,6 or PA6, and from 0.01-10 wt% of a zinc compound, teaching that molded products prepared there from demonstrate significant antimicrobial efficacy. Gopal teaches that the zinc compound can be employed in the polymer composition to provide a fiber with improved antimicrobial activity retention (near-permanent) (p. 9, [0074]). Gopal teaches that the zinc compounds are beneficial over the other known antimicrobial/antibacterial agents, such as copper and silver based compounds, as these often include adverse effects on the relative viscosity of the polymer composition which are not present with the zinc compounds (p. 8, [0065]). Gopal further teaches that the zinc compounds do not present toxicity issues, like silver, and the zinc compounds provides for the reduction or elimination of leaching into other media or the environment, providing for “green” advantages over silver (Id.).
Gopal teaches that conventional polymers that utilize polyester polymers harbor and allow to flourish different types of viruses and/or bacteria, producing high odor levels, as compared to those of nylon, which when combined with the zinc compound, have been found to yield fabrics that demonstrate significantly low odor levels (p. 5, [0049]). Gopal exemplifies a composition comprising about 80 or 90 wt% PA66, 0.3 or 0.5 wt% zinc oxide and about 12 or 20 wt% melamine cyanurate.
Note that Gopal teaches that the flame retardants to include melamine cyanurate, or tris(tribromophenyl)triazine (p. 14, [0116]-[0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the zinc compound of Gopal as the antimicrobial agent of Capwell or Langrick, as Capwell and Langrick clearly suggest the inclusion of antimicrobial agents, and Gopal teaches that the inclusion of a small amount of zinc compound into nylon can reduce the formation of bacteria and provide a fiber with near-permanent antimicrobial activity.
Capwell in view of Gopal or Langrick in view of Gopal is prima facie obvious over instant claims 4-5 and 19.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766