DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/7/2025. Claims 1-11 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 10/7/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/06/2024 is NOT in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 for the following reasons.
2) The requirement of copies for:
(a) Each cited foreign patent document; and
(3) For non-English documents that are cited, the following must be provided:
(a) A concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, unless a complete translation is provided; and/or
(b) A written English language translation of a non-English language document, or portion thereof, if it is within the possession, custody or control of, or is readily available to any individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c).
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is not being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “second threshold voltage “ which lack antecedence basis. A first threshold voltage is not previously claim in a claim from which it depends.
Examiner will examine/interpret as “A first threshold voltage“ .
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 9, which recites “(1): T = C × V2 ··· (1) wherein C is a predetermined constant.”
Claim 10 recites “T = C × V2 ··· (1)”
It is unclear how to determine the constant C.
The specification recites: C = ON time Ton/resistance value of heat generator 22/intracycle average power Pave • • • (EQ4).
However the equation above is unclear. It is unclear if the equation C is the ON time Ton divided by the resistance value of heat generator 22 divided by the intracycle average power Pave.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eguchi (JPH1051962).
As to claim 1, Eguchi discloses a battery pack (Fig. 1) comprising: a secondary battery (7a,7b) provided on a path connecting a first terminal (positive node of battery) and a second terminal (negative node of battery) and having a plurality of battery cells connected in series (7a,7b);
a monitoring circuit (the voltage detection circuit 6 and voltage comparators 61a and 61b that compare the terminal voltages of each battery 7a and 7b) capable of detecting a cell voltage of each of the plurality of battery cells ([0025] the main control circuit 5 monitors the terminal voltages of each battery 7a and 7b detected by the voltage detection circuit 6. [0028 voltage comparators 61a and 61b that compare the terminal voltages of each battery 7a and 7b with a second reference voltage); a first connection terminal led to the first terminal via a first path (element 1); a second connection terminal led to the second terminal via a second path (element 2); a fuse element (45a,b)provided on the first path and configured to be melted and cut due to heat ([0032] the thermal fuses 45a and 45b are heated, and when they exceed a predetermined temperature, these thermal fuses 45a and 45b melt and blow); a heat generator (Fig. 4-5, elements 46a,b) provided on a third path connecting the first path and the second path and capable of generating heat to melt and cut the fuse element ([0031]-[0033] and Fig. 4-5 heat is generated from the heaters 46a and 46b. As a result, the thermal fuses 45a and 45b are heated, and when they exceed a predetermined temperature, these thermal fuses 45a and 45b melt and blow. The resistor R in Figure 5 represents the resistance of the parallel connection circuit of thermal fuses 45a and 45b, and the drive FET 641 of the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 is connected to this resistor R. Electrode 42 is connected to the current control element 3 in Figure 1, and electrode 44 is connected to the battery 7a in Figure 1. The heater drive electrode 48 is connected to the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 shown in Figure 3); a switch element provided on the third path (Fig. 5 641); and a control circuit (Fig. 1 11) capable of controlling a switching operation of the switch element based on a detection result of the monitoring circuit ([0029] Voltage comparators 61a and 61b compare the terminal voltages of batteries 7a and 7b with a second reference voltage. When the terminal voltage exceeds the second reference voltage…. the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 PWM modulates the total voltage VB applied to batteries 7a and 7b) by performing PFM control such that the switch element has an ON time that is kept at a predetermined time ([0029][0044] The overcharge protection circuit of this embodiment supplies a PWM pulse current to the heaters 46a and 46b with a duty cycle D controlled to be inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, according to the total voltage VB of the batteries 7a and 7b) and the switch element has an OFF time that can be changed according to a secondary battery voltage, which is a voltage between both terminals of the secondary battery ([0043] …Here, when the drive current frequency of FET 641 is, for example, 800 Hz or higher, that is, when the PWM pulse current frequency supplied to heaters 46a and 46b is 800 Hz or higher, as shown in Figure 9(A), heaters 46a and 46b reach the temperature T0 that melts the thermal fuses 45a and 45b, but do not reach the temperature T1 that destroys heaters 46a and 46b. [0017]-[0018][0044] ….it controls the duty cycle to take a value between a first duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the minimum power necessary to blow the thermal fuse, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, and a second duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the maximum power within a range that does not damage the heater, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB. As such, since Eguchi discloses a switching frequency or 800Hz with a changing duty cycle inversely proportional to the voltage VB and does not damage the heater, Eguchi suggests that the switching frequency can be 800 Hz with a changing duty cycle (i.e. OFF time that can be changed according to a secondary battery voltage)).
As to claim 2, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit can set the OFF time to a first time when the secondary battery voltage is a first voltage and can set the OFF time to a second time that is longer than the first time when the secondary battery voltage is a second voltage that is higher than the first voltage (Fig. 7 and [0058] where the duty cycle is smaller (i.e OFF time is longer as the voltage is larger).
As to claim 3, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit can perform the PFM control when one or more of the plurality of cell voltages is higher than a first threshold voltage ([0017]-[0018] The current generating means of the overcharge protection circuit of the invention of claim 3 is characterized in that it controls the duty cycle to take a value between a first duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the minimum power necessary to blow the thermal fuse, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, and a second duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the maximum power within a range that does not damage the heater, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB.)
As to claim 4, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein the control circuit can further perform the PFM control when one or more of the plurality of cell voltages is lower than a second threshold voltage, and the second threshold voltage is lower than the first threshold voltage ([0017]-[0018] The current generating means of the overcharge protection circuit of the invention of claim 3 is characterized in that it controls the duty cycle to take a value between a first duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the minimum power necessary to blow the thermal fuse, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, and a second duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the maximum power within a range that does not damage the heater, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB).
As to claim 5, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit can perform the PFM control when one or more of the plurality of cell voltages is lower than a second threshold voltage ([0017]-[0018]).
As to claim 9, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit can perform the PFM control by calculating a switching cycle T of the switch element based on a voltage value V of the secondary battery voltage using the following equation (1): T = C × V2 ··· (1), wherein C is a predetermined constant ([0033]- [0034] The power supplied to heaters 46a and 46b is given by P = i²・R・D, where D is the duty cycle of the PWM pulse current i. Transforming this using the relationship i = VB/R, we get P = VB²・D/R. where the duty cycle D of this PWM pulse current i is also t/T. As such T= predetermined constant multiplied by VB²).
As to claim 11 Eguchi discloses a method for controlling a battery pack (Fig. 1), the battery pack including: a secondary battery (7a,7b) provided on a path connecting a first terminal (positive node of battery) and a second terminal (negative node of battery) and having a plurality of battery cells connected in series (7a,7b);
a first connection terminal led to the first terminal via a first path (element 1); a second connection terminal led to the second terminal via a second path (element 2); a fuse element (45a,b)provided on the first path and configured to be melted and cut due to heat ([0032] the thermal fuses 45a and 45b are heated, and when they exceed a predetermined temperature, these thermal fuses 45a and 45b melt and blow); a heat generator (Fig. 4-5, elements 46a,b) provided on a third path connecting the first path and the second path and capable of generating heat to melt and cut the fuse element ([0031]-[0033] and Fig. 4-5 heat is generated from the heaters 46a and 46b. As a result, the thermal fuses 45a and 45b are heated, and when they exceed a predetermined temperature, these thermal fuses 45a and 45b melt and blow. The resistor R in Figure 5 represents the resistance of the parallel connection circuit of thermal fuses 45a and 45b, and the drive FET 641 of the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 is connected to this resistor R. Electrode 42 is connected to the current control element 3 in Figure 1, and electrode 44 is connected to the battery 7a in Figure 1. The heater drive electrode 48 is connected to the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 shown in Figure 3); a switch element provided on the third path (Fig. 5 641), and the method comprising: detecting a cell voltage of each of the plurality of battery cells ([0029] Voltage comparators 61a and 61b compare the terminal voltages of batteries 7a and 7b with a second reference voltage.); and controlling an operation of the switch element based on a plurality of the detected cell voltages by performing PFM control such that the switch element has an ON time that is kept at a predetermined time ([0029][0044] Voltage comparators 61a and 61b compare the terminal voltages of batteries 7a and 7b with a second reference voltage. When the terminal voltage exceeds the second reference voltage…. the PWM pulse generation circuit 64 PWM modulates the total voltage VB applied to batteries 7a and 7b. The overcharge protection circuit of this embodiment supplies a PWM pulse current to the heaters 46a and 46b with a duty cycle D controlled to be inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, according to the total voltage VB of the batteries 7a and 7b) and has an OFF time that can be changed according to a secondary battery voltage, which is a voltage between both terminals of the secondary battery ([0043] …Here, when the drive current frequency of FET 641 is, for example, 800 Hz or higher, that is, when the PWM pulse current frequency supplied to heaters 46a and 46b is 800 Hz or higher, as shown in Figure 9(A), heaters 46a and 46b reach the temperature T0 that melts the thermal fuses 45a and 45b, but do not reach the temperature T1 that destroys heaters 46a and 46b. [0017]-[0018][0044] ….it controls the duty cycle to take a value between a first duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the minimum power necessary to blow the thermal fuse, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB, and a second duty cycle of the PWM pulse current required to supply the heater with the maximum power within a range that does not damage the heater, which is inversely proportional to the square of the voltage VB. As such, since Eguchi discloses a switching frequency or 800Hz with a changing duty cycle inversely proportional to the voltage VB and does not damage the heater, Eguchi suggests that the switching frequency can be 800 Hz with a changing duty cycle (i.e. OFF time that can be changed according to a secondary battery voltage).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (JPH1051962) in view of Yang (US 20070257635).
As to claim 6, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1.
Eguchi does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring circuit can further detect a temperature of the secondary battery, and the control circuit can further perform the PFM control when the secondary battery has a temperature that is out of a predetermined temperature range.
Yang teaches wherein the monitoring circuit can further detect a temperature of the secondary battery, and the control circuit can further perform activate the switch when the secondary battery has a temperature that is out of a predetermined temperature range ([0042] and fig. 1 In case that the internal temperature of the rechargeable battery rises due to the occurrence of an abnormal state such as internal short circuit and so on, an ignition and explosion of the rechargeable battery are prevented by activating second protection circuit 102 connected to a temperature sensitive fuse 71. Temperature sensitive fuse 71 may melt when the temperature rises to a certain level due to a high current flowing through temperature sensitive fuse 71, and thus cutting off the current flowing into the circuit.
Since Yang melts the fuse by activating the switch (75, Fig. 1 and [0051]) when the internal temperature of the rechargeable battery rises and Eguchi teaches performing PFM control on the switch to melt the fuse at a high enough frequency that does not destroys heaters 46a and 46b ([0043] of Eguchi , then the combine teachings of Yang and Eguchi teaches the performing PFM control when the internal temperature of the rechargeable battery rises due to the occurrence of an abnormal state
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Eguchi to wherein the monitoring circuit can further detect a temperature of the secondary battery, and the control circuit can further perform the PFM control when the secondary battery has a temperature that is out of a predetermined temperature range in order to prevent ignition and explosion of the rechargeable battery ([0010].
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (JPH1051962) in view of Ji (US 20130163134).
As to claim 7, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1.
Eguchi does not disclose/teach wherein the control circuit can further determine if the monitoring circuit is normally operating based on a detection result of the monitoring circuit, and can perform the PFM control when the monitoring circuit is not normally operating.
Ji teaches wherein the control circuit can further determine if the monitoring circuit is normally operating based on a detection result of the monitoring circuit, and can perform the PFM control when the monitoring circuit is not normally operating ( [0061]) Therefore, if there is a problem in measuring the voltages of the battery cells 110 by the primary protection circuit 230, the secondary protection circuit 240, instead of the primary protection circuit 230, may measure the voltages of the battery cells 110. Beneficially, in this manner, the battery cell 110 may be dual-protected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Eguchi to wherein the control circuit can further determine if the monitoring circuit is normally operating based on a detection result of the monitoring circuit, and can perform the PFM control when the monitoring circuit is not normally operating in order to prevent from damaging the battery pack.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (JPH1051962) in view of Nomura (US 20240356183).
As to claim 8, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1.
Eguchi does not disclose/teach having a melting and cutting time of within 1 second, the melting and cutting time being a time after the control circuit starts the PFM control and before the fuse element is melted and cut.
Nomura teaches having a melting and cutting time of within 1 second, the melting and cutting time being a time after the control circuit starts the PFM control and before the fuse element is melted and cut. ([0105 a time needed from energization of the heating element until cutting off the fusible conductor (cutting off time) was measured. [0107] Evaluation of the protective element samples used cutting off time as a standard, with 0.2 seconds or less being excellent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Eguchi to having a melting and cutting time of within 1 second, the melting and cutting time being a time after the control circuit starts the PFM control and before the fuse element is melted and cut in order to prevent damaging the battery pack.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (JPH1051962).
As to claim 10, Eguchi discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit can perform the PFM control by using a relationship between a voltage value V of the secondary battery voltage and a switching cycle T of the switch element to calculate the switching cycle T based on the voltage value V of the secondary battery voltage, the relationship being calculated using the following equation (1): T = C × V2 ··· (1) ([0033]- [0034] The power supplied to heaters 46a and 46b is given by P = i²・R・D, where D is the duty cycle of the PWM pulse current i. Transforming this using the relationship i = VB/R, we get P = VB²・D/R. where the duty cycle D of this PWM pulse current i is also t/T. As such T= predetermined constant multiplied by VB²).
Eguchi does not disclose/teach the relationship between the voltage value V of the secondary battery voltage and a switching cycle T is a table data.
However data tables showing relationships between parameters or variables are old and well known.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relationship between the voltage value V of the secondary battery voltage and a switching cycle T of Eguchi to be a table data in order to reduce the processing steps of the processor allowing it to extended its life.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 20110156654) is cited for having ([0058]) the blocking unit 115 blocks the HCP when overcharge and overdischarge occur or because of an error of the charging device of the external system 200.
Nakatsuji et al (US 20090051324) is cited for having ([0028]) the FET 27 is provided for the fuses 24, 25 arranged in series in the charge path 11, and a node of the fuses 24, 25 is grounded via a heating resistor 26 and this FET 27. Accordingly, the fuses 24, 25 are melted by heat generated by the heating resistor 26 when the charge and discharge controller 21 switches ON the FET 27.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859