The amendment filed July 23, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Redding (US 2018/0250749).
Claim 22: Redding discloses a method of fabricating an object via additive fabrication, the additive fabrication including sintering a powder material (abstract). The method includes moving a material deposition mechanism over a fabrication bed including powder material and operating the material deposition mechanism to deposit additional powder material onto a first portion of the fabrication bed (¶¶ 52-53; figs. 4-5); and directing an energy source onto a second portion of the fabrication bed while the material deposition mechanism deposits the additional powder material onto the first portion of the fabrication bed (figs. 5-6; ¶¶ 52-54; recoater (405/605) and the irradiation emission directing device (303/401/601) are mounted at spatially distinct locations on the single moving build unit, and as the build unit traverses the bed the recoater deposits/levels fresh powder onto a first portion of the bed while the irradiation emission directing device simultaneously directs the energy beam onto a different, already-laid second portion of the bed.)
Claim 23: Redding discloses directing the energy source causes sintering of at least some powder material in the second portion of the fabrication bed (¶¶ 8, 49, 52-54).
Claims 24-25: Redding discloses recoater blade 411/511 that smooths/levels the deposited powder into a substantially even layer (¶¶ 52-53).
Claim 26: Redding discloses that the recoater (405/605) and the emission directing device (303/401/601) are both mounted to and carried by a single build unit 302/400/600 (figs. 3-6), which moves over the fabrication bed such that the material deposition mechanism and the energy source move over the fabrication bed via their coupling to the assembly (¶¶ 52-54).
Claim 27: Redding discloses that during the simultaneous deposit-and-irradiate operation, the recoater leads and the energy source trails (figs. 5-6; ¶¶ 52-54).
Claim 28: Redding discloses the assembly capable of rotating such that the material deposition mechanism moves over the fabrication bed followed by the energy source moving over the fabrication bed (¶¶ 47, 52-54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754