DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendments and arguments filed October 22nd, 2025. Claims 1, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, and 18-25 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 20 recite the limitation of “wherein each of the plurality of sensors is disposed adjacent to each of the plurality of magnets”. It is unclear if the claim means that one or two sensors are disposed adjacent to each magnet of the plurality of magnets such as what is depicted in FIG. 1 or if each sensor of the plurality of sensors are all disposed next to every magnet of the plurality of magnets. For the sake of the prior art applied below, the examiner interprets that each magnet has one or more sensor adjacent to it.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "[t]he system of claim 22, wherein the group of magnets of the plurality of magnets that are opposite the direction of the spin out are caused to generate the first magnetic field" (emphasis added) in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claim depends upon dependent claim 22. For the sake of the prior art rejection below, the examiner interprets that dependent claim 25 is supposed to depend upon dependent claim 24 which integrates the control of the magnets to the situation of the vehicle spinning out.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Lee Heon Ho (KR Pub. No. 20040033648 A), herein after Lee, in further view of Serritella; Daniel J. (US Patent No. 3831847 A), herein after Serritella, in further view of previously cited of record Bai et al. (CN Patent No. 116749907 A), herein after Bai, in further view of previously cited of record Nakane et al. (US Pub. No. 20110100290 A1), herein after Nakane, and further in view of previously cited of record Ishida et al. (US Pub. No. 20200003847 A1), herein after Ishida.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches [a] magnetic bumper system for vehicles, comprising: a bumper (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field); a sensor for measuring a… value of a detected magnetic field in an area near the magnet (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle); a [magnet on both bumpers of the vehicle], each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the… magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet… is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet… (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching multiple magnets installed around the vehicle all generating a magnetic field that have the same pole facing outwards); a plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors measures a… value of a detected magnetic field in an area near a respective magnet of the plurality of magnets, such that each magnet… is monitored by at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle and that the magnetic field of the magnets of the vehicle all have the same polarity; and Para. 0021, teaching that the sensors detects the position of magnetic objects in relation to the nearest magnet on the vehicle); generate the first magnetic field by a magnet… (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field); sense, by a sensor of the plurality of sensors, a first… value of the detected magnetic field in the area near the magnet (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching measuring the magnetic force of an object near the vehicle), and if a collision is predicted based on the detected magnetic field, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet (Lee: Para. 0027, teaching that the magnetic field is only turned on when a collision is predicted).
Lee is silent to each bumper having a plurality of magnets attached to it; the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field, and: sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet.
In a similar field, Serritella teaches a magnetic bumper arrangement which comprises a plurality of magnets, each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the plurality of magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet of the plurality of magnets (Serritella: Page 4 col. 4 lines 19-24, teaching that a magnetic bumper can comprise multiple magnets with the same pole arranged in a row) for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee to be comprised of multiple magnets arranged in a row, as taught by Serritella, for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
Lee in view of Serritella are silent to the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field, and: sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet.
In a similar field, Bai teaches upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); determine a… difference between the first… value of the detected magnetic field and the second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); if the… difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0107, teaching maintaining the magnetic field of the vehicle when it is the same polarity of the magnetic field of the second vehicle); and sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0109, teaching that the magnetic field strength is varied depending on the position of the rear vehicle and the magnetic field it is emitting) for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella to continue to emit a magnetic field if the magnetic field has the same polarity as the magnetic field of a nearby vehicle, as taught by Bai, for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle
Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai are silent to the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to:… if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field.
In a similar field, Nakane teaches if the… difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field (Nakane: Para. 0021, 0022, and 0052, teaching stopping the magnetic field of a magnet from generating when it is the opposite polarity of a nearby magnet) for the benefit of preventing further magnetic forces from acting on the magnetic device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai to stop emitting a magnetic field when the pole of the magnetic field emitted is different from as the magnetic field emitted by a nearby object, as taught by Nakane, for the benefit of preventing further magnetic forces from acting on the magnetic device
Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane are silent to the values being voltage values and a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to perform the steps of the invention.
In a similar field, Ishida teaches a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to (Ishida: Para. 0123 and 0125, teaching a memory and processor configured to perform functions programmed on the memory); and that differences in voltage values can be used to determine characteristics of two magnetic fields (Ishida: Para. 0009 and 0049, teaching measuring the voltage generated by magnetic fields) for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic field determination for the bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane to measure changes in the magnetic fields using voltages, as taught by Ishida, for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, and Nakane goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor cause the system to stop the generation of the first magnetic field by the magnet if the voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field is determined to be greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Nakane: Para. 0021, teaching stopping the magnetic field of a magnet from generating when it is the opposite polarity of a nearby magnet).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, and Lee goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 1, wherein the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the magnet is indicated as being the same as the pole of the magnet depending upon whether the voltage difference is positive or negative (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle and that the magnetic field of the magnets of the vehicle all have the same polarity).
Regarding claim 9, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, and Bai goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 1, wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is one of an electromagnet or an electropermanent magnet (Bai: Para. 0018, teaching that the magnetic force is generated by an electromagnets).
Regarding claim 10, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, and Lee goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 1, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed adjacent to each magnet of the plurality of magnets (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching that the sensor is disposed near the magnets in the bumper).
Regarding claim 21, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, and Bai goes on to further teach [t]he system of claim 1, further comprising a second sensor for sensing at least one of a direction, a speed, or a gravitational force (Bai: Para. 0059, teaching a sensor for determining the speed of both vehicles).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches [a] vehicle including a magnetic bumper system, comprising: one or more bumpers disposed on the vehicle, each of the one or more bumpers including (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field): a [magnet on both bumpers of the vehicle], each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the… magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet… is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet… (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching multiple magnets installed around the vehicle all generating a magnetic field that have the same pole facing outwards); and a plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors measures a… value of a detected magnetic field in an area near a respective magnet of the plurality of magnets, such that each magnet… is monitored by at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle and that the magnetic field of the magnets of the vehicle all have the same polarity; and Para. 0021, teaching that the sensors detects the position of magnetic objects in relation to the nearest magnet on the vehicle); generate the first magnetic field by the magnet (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field); sense, by a sensor of the plurality of sensors, a first… value of the detected magnetic field in the area near the magnet (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching measuring the magnetic force of an object near the vehicle), and if a collision is predicted based on the detected magnetic field, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet (Lee: Para. 0027, teaching that the magnetic field is only turned on when a collision is predicted).
Lee is silent to each bumper having a plurality of magnets attached to it; the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field, and: sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet.
In a similar field, Serritella teaches a magnetic bumper arrangement which comprises a plurality of magnets, each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the plurality of magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet of the plurality of magnets (Serritella: Page 4 col. 4 lines 19-24, teaching that a magnetic bumper can comprise multiple magnets with the same pole arranged in a row) for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee to be comprised of multiple magnets arranged in a row, as taught by Serritella, for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
Lee in view of Serritella are silent to the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the vehicle to, for each of the one or more bumpers: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field, and: sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet.
In a similar field, Bai teaches upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); determine a… difference between the first… value of the detected magnetic field and the second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); if the… difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0107, teaching maintaining the magnetic field of the vehicle when it is the same polarity of the magnetic field of the second vehicle); and sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0109, teaching that the magnetic field strength is varied depending on the position of the rear vehicle and the magnetic field it is emitting) for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella to continue to emit a magnetic field if the magnetic field has the same polarity as the magnetic field of a nearby vehicle, as taught by Bai, for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle
Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai are silent to the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the vehicle to, for each of the one or more bumpers:… if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field.
In a similar field, Nakane teaches if the… difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, stop the magnet from generating the first magnetic field (Nakane: Para. 0021, 0022, and 0052, teaching stopping the magnetic field of a magnet from generating when it is the opposite polarity of a nearby magnet) for the benefit of preventing further magnetic forces from acting on the magnetic device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai to stop emitting a magnetic field when the pole of the magnetic field emitted is different from as the magnetic field emitted by a nearby object, as taught by Nakane, for the benefit of preventing further magnetic forces from acting on the magnetic device
Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane are silent to the values being voltage values and a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the vehicle to, for each of the one or more bumpers: perform the steps of the invention.
In a similar field, Ishida teaches a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the vehicle to, for each of the one or more bumpers (Ishida: Para. 0123 and 0125, teaching a memory and processor configured to perform functions programmed on the memory); and that differences in voltage values can be used to determine characteristics of two magnetic fields (Ishida: Para. 0009 and 0049, teaching measuring the voltage generated by magnetic fields) for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic field determination for the bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane to measure changes in the magnetic fields using voltages, as taught by Ishida, for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
Regarding claim 12, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, and Lee goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein the one or more bumpers includes at least one of a front bumper, a rear bumper, a driver side bumper, or a passenger side bumper (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching that the magnetic bumpers are installed on the front and rear bumpers).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, however they do not explicitly teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is not caused to generate the first magnetic field while the vehicle is off however this feature is well known in the art as evidenced by Lee which teaches that the magnetic bumper is only turned on while the vehicle is driving and when the vehicle is in danger of colliding with another vehicle (Lee: Para. 0027, teaching that the magnetic field is only turned on when a collision is predicted) for the benefit of not draining the battery of the vehicle when not in use.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application that the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida would not turn on when the vehicle is turned off, as evidenced by Lee, for the benefit of not draining the battery of the vehicle when not in use.
Regarding claim 16, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, and Nakane goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the system to stop the generation of the first magnetic field by the magnet if the voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field is determined to be greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Nakane: Para. 0021, teaching stopping the magnetic field of a magnet from generating when it is the opposite polarity of a nearby magnet).
Regarding claim 18, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, and Lee goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the magnet is indicated as being the same as the pole of the magnet depending upon whether the voltage difference is positive or negative (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle and that the magnetic field of the magnets of the vehicle all have the same polarity).
Regarding claim 19, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, and Bai goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is one of an electromagnet or an electropermanent magnet (Bai: Para. 0018, teaching that the magnetic force is generated by an electromagnets).
Regarding claim 20, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 11, and Lee goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle of claim 11, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is disposed adjacent to each magnet of the plurality of magnets (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching that the sensor is disposed near the magnets in the bumper).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatanaka et al. (US Pub. No. 20040130317 A1), herein after Hatanaka.
Regarding claim 22, Lee, Serritella, Bai, Nakane, and Ishida remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a high gain amplifier circuit or a Schmitt trigger.
In a similar field, Hatanaka teaches [t]he system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a high gain amplifier circuit or a Schmitt trigger (Hatanaka: Para. 0011, teaching the use of a Schmitt trigger to measure voltage) for the benefit of removing noise in the signals from the voltage sensor that may be caused by the magnetic fields.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the voltage differential measuring from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida with the Schmitt trigger circuits, as taught by Hatanaka, for the benefit of removing noise in the signals from the voltage sensor that may be caused by the magnetic fields.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai and further in view of Ishida.
Regarding claim 23, Lee teaches [a] magnetic bumper system for vehicles, comprising: a bumper (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field); a sensor for measuring a… value of a detected magnetic field in an area near the magnet (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle); a [magnet on both bumpers of the vehicle], each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the… magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet… is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet… (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching multiple magnets installed around the vehicle all generating a magnetic field that have the same pole facing outwards); a plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors measures a… value of a detected magnetic field in an area near a respective magnet of the plurality of magnets, such that each magnet… is monitored by at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors (Lee: Para. 0018 and 0020, teaching that the bumper has magnetic sensors that detects and measures magnetic forces near the vehicle and that the magnetic field of the magnets of the vehicle all have the same polarity; and Para. 0021, teaching that the sensors detects the position of magnetic objects in relation to the nearest magnet on the vehicle); generate the first magnetic field by a magnet… (Lee: Para. 0018, teaching a magnetic bumper for a vehicle which generates a magnetic field); sense, by a sensor of the plurality of sensors, a first… value of the detected magnetic field in the area near the magnet (Lee: Para. 0020, teaching measuring the magnetic force of an object near the vehicle).
Lee is silent to each bumper having a plurality of magnets attached to it; the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, cause the magnet to reverse polarity and generate a third magnetic field.
In a similar field, Serritella teaches a magnetic bumper arrangement which comprises a plurality of magnets, each selectively generating a respective first magnetic field, wherein a first pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces the bumper and a second pole of each magnet of the plurality of magnets faces away from the bumper, wherein the first pole of each of the plurality of magnets is initially the same, and wherein each magnet of the plurality of magnets is caused to generate the respective first magnetic field independent from each remaining magnet of the plurality of magnets (Serritella: Page 4 col. 4 lines 19-24, teaching that a magnetic bumper can comprise multiple magnets with the same pole arranged in a row) for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee to be comprised of multiple magnets arranged in a row, as taught by Serritella, for the benefit of reducing costly and damaging collisions and allowing easier repair of the magnetic bumper.
Lee in view of Serritella are silent to the values being voltages; a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to: upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the second voltage value of the detected magnetic field; if the voltage difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet; and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, cause the magnet to reverse polarity and generate a third magnetic field.
In a similar field, Bai teaches upon encountering a second magnetic field generated by a magnetic object in the area in proximity to the magnet, sense, by the sensor, a second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); determine a… difference between the first… value of the detected magnetic field and the second… value of the detected magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0100, teaching determining the location of a second magnetic field generated by a second vehicle); if the… difference indicates that a pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is the same as the first pole of the magnet, continue to cause the first magnetic field to be generated by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0107, teaching maintaining the magnetic field of the vehicle when it is the same polarity of the magnetic field of the second vehicle); and sense, by the sensor, a third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; determine a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field; and if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value, cause the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet (Bai: Para. 0109, teaching that the magnetic field strength is varied depending on the position of the rear vehicle and the magnetic field it is emitting); and if the voltage difference indicates that the pole of the magnetic object nearest to the first pole of the magnet is different from the first pole of the magnet, cause the magnet to reverse polarity and generate a third magnetic field (Bai: Para. 0109, teaching that the magnetic field strength is varied depending on the position of the rear vehicle and the magnetic field it is emitting) for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella to continue to emit a magnetic field if the magnetic field has the same polarity as the magnetic field of a nearby vehicle, as taught by Bai, for the benefit of preventing a rear vehicle from colliding with the host vehicle
Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane are silent to the values being voltage values and a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to perform the steps of the invention.
In a similar field, Ishida teaches a processor; and a memory, including instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor cause the system to (Ishida: Para. 0123 and 0125, teaching a memory and processor configured to perform functions programmed on the memory); and that differences in voltage values can be used to determine characteristics of two magnetic fields (Ishida: Para. 0009 and 0049, teaching measuring the voltage generated by magnetic fields) for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing of the application to modify the magnetic field determination for the bumpers from Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai to measure changes in the magnetic fields using voltages, as taught by Ishida, for the benefit of enhanced awareness of changes in a magnetic field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22nd, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed October 22nd, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, and 18-21 under 103 in view of Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida in light of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida for claims 1, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, and 18-21, Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Nakane in further view of Ishida in further view of Hatanaka for claim 22, and Lee in view of Serritella in further view of Bai in further view of Ishida for claim 23.
Applicant contends (see page 11 line 27 through page 12 line 2, filed October 22nd, 2025) that the prior art of Lee is deficient in teaching the amended limitations regarding the plurality of magnets and sensors. The examiner respectfully agrees. The examiner notes that BRI of the claimed plurality of magnets for the amended limitation is that each bumper has multiple magnets which differs from Lee which merely teaches both bumpers each have a magnetic force generator. This is relevant as, while Lee does teach a plurality of magnets which each generate a separate magnetic field and a plurality of sensors which measures each magnetic field of magnets, it does not teach that each the magnetic force generators of each bumper comprises a plurality of magnets. To cure this deficiency, the prior art of Serritella has been found and brought into the rejection of the independent claims to render obvious that the magnetic force generators of Lee can be a plurality of magnets attached to each bumper.
Applicant contends (see page 14 lines 16-27, filed October 22nd, 2025) that the prior art of record of Lee is deficient in teaching causing the magnet to resume generating the first magnetic field by the magnet if the second voltage difference is less than a predetermined threshold value. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner notes that the prior art of Lee teaches in paragraph 0027 causing the magnetic force to be generated to repel a vehicle if it is determined that a collision with the vehicle is imminent which is being combined with the prior at of Bai which teaches in paragraph 0109 adjusting a magnetic field of a vehicle in response when a difference in the magnetic field between the vehicle and a rear vehicle is detected.
Applicant contends (see page 14 lines 16-27, filed October 22nd, 2025) that the prior art of record of Bai is deficient in teaching resuming generating a magnetic force when it is determined that there is no attractive force between the vehicles. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner notes that the claimed invention recites that the system causes generating the magnetic field to resume when a second voltage difference between the first voltage value of the detected magnetic field and the third voltage value of the detected magnetic field is less than a predetermined threshold value. The BRI of the claimed invention is such that the magnetic field is resumed when a difference between detected values between the magnetic field is less than a threshold. This relates to the prior art of Lee which teaches in paragraph 0027 causing the magnetic force to be generated to repel a vehicle if it is determined that a collision with the vehicle is imminent and the prior art of Bai which teaches in paragraph 0109 that the magnetic field of the vehicle is being constantly adjusted based on the detected magnetic field generated by the two vehicles.
Applicant contends (see page 16 lines 2-16, filed October 22nd, 2025) that independent claim 11 is allowable over the prior art of record for the same reasons that made independent claim 1 allowable and that the dependent claims are allowable as they depend upon claims that have been rendered allowable. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that as the independent claims have not been rendered allowable over the prior art of record the dependent claims stand to fall with the claims they depend upon.
Applicant contends (see page 16 lines 19-23, filed October 22nd, 2025) that newly presented independent claim 23 is allowable over the prior art of record for the same reasons that made independent claim 1 allowable. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that independent claim 23 has not been rendered allowable over the prior art of record for the same reasons that independent claim 1 has not been rendered allowable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: it is deemed novel and unobvious over the prior art of record to incorporate control of magnetic bumpers into control of a vehicle during a spin out scenario to prevent a collision or reduce the damage caused by a collision caused by the spin out as required by dependent claims 24 and 25. The closest prior art of record Bai does teach controlling the magnetic force of a magnetic bumper such that it prevents a collision with another vehicle when the other vehicle approaches the host vehicle during a lane change maneuver, the prior art of Bai is directed towards preventing an accident and is silent to measures that can be taken to correct or stop a vehicle after an accident has occurred.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663