DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 05/26/2026. The drawing objections are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101804385 B1, hereinafter Park) in view of Tsukama (JP 2017146008 A, hereinafter Tsukama).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a cooling device (cooling container 10) for instantaneous cooling, the cooling device comprising: a water inflow pipe (cooling pipe 30) having an inlet (via inlet 11, figure 2) into which water to be cooled requiring cooling flows (figure 2); a housing (figure 2) having an outlet (outlet 12) through which cold water cooling the water to be cooled flowing in through the inlet is discharged (outlet 12, which are connected to the cold water pipe for discharging cold water and through which the drinking water passes, paragraph 0054); a refrigerant circulation pipe (refrigerant circulation pipe 20) provided to spirally wrap an outer surface of the housing (as shown on figure 2).
Park teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a screw-shaped ice spiral formed by the refrigerant circulation pipe on an inner wall along the longitudinal direction of the housing; wherein the ice spiral comprises a helical gap forming, in a longitudinal cross-section of the ice spiral, a plurality of gaps between adjacent ice, and wherein the water to be cooled flows through the plurality of gaps.
However, Tsukama teaches a screw-shaped ice spiral (ice is attached to the cooling coil 5) formed by the refrigerant circulation pipe (cooling coil 5) on an inner wall along the longitudinal direction of the housing (as shown on figure 8); wherein the ice spiral (ice is attached to the cooling coil 5) comprises a helical gap forming (as shown on figure 8), in a longitudinal cross-section of the ice spiral (as shown on figure 8), a plurality of gaps (pipes 2 and 3) between adjacent ice (as shown on figure 8), and wherein the water to be cooled flows through the plurality of gaps (via inlet pipe 9, as shown on figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device in the teachings of Park to include a screw-shaped ice spiral formed by the refrigerant circulation pipe on an inner wall along the longitudinal direction of the housing; wherein the ice spiral comprises a helical gap forming, in a longitudinal cross-section of the ice spiral, a plurality of gaps between adjacent ice, and wherein the water to be cooled flows through the plurality of gaps in view of the teachings of Tsukama in order to yield the predictable result of thereby the cold-water machine can be continuously operated while a certain amount of ice is attached to the cooling coil.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a cooling pipe (tube 3 of Tsukama) provided inside the housing (figures 1 and 8 of Tsukama), and provided into which the water inflow pipe (first inner pipe 2 itself or another pipe connected thereto penetrates the bottom surface 7a of the storage tank vertically as an inlet pipe 9 to which a fluid to be cooled is supplied from the outside, paragraph 0017 of Tsukama) is inserted along a longitudinal direction (as shown on figure 2 of Tsukama), wherein the ice spiral (ice is attached to the cooling coil 5 of Tsukama) is not formed inside the water inflow pipe (not formed inside the inlet pipe 9, as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama) or the cooling pipe (not formed inside of cooling coil 5, as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach, as modified, wherein the water to be cooled flowing inside the water inflow pipe (entering first inner pipe 2, figure 8 of Tsukama) and the cooling pipe (tube 3 of Tsukama) is roll-cooled (as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama), and the water to be cooled rotating along the ice spiral (via cooling coil 5 of Tsukama) is intensively cooled on an outside of the cooling pipe (on the outside portion of tube 3, as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach further comprising: first and second inner pipes provided between the cooling pipe and the housing, wherein the water to be cooled flows in through the inlet provided at one end of the water inflow pipe, and is discharged through a first opening provided at the other end of the water inflow pipe, a direction of the water to be cooled discharged to the first opening is changed by the closed other end portion of the cooling pipe, the water to be cooled flows along a longitudinal direction of the cooling pipe, and then flows into the first inner pipe, the water to be cooled flowing into the first inner pipe flows along the longitudinal direction of the first inner pipe, and then is discharged through a second opening provided at the other end of the first inner pipe, the water to be cooled discharged through the second opening flows along the longitudinal direction of an inner wall of the second inner pipe, rotates along the ice spiral, and then flows into the inner wall of the housing through a second passage formed through one end of the second inner pipe, and the water to be cooled flowing into the inner wall of the housing flows along the longitudinal direction of the inner wall of the housing, rotates along the ice spiral, and then is discharged into the outlet.
The combined teachings of Tsukama does however teach an inlet pipe 9 at the lower end side in the axial direction, and has a small diameter communication port 11a penetrating the inner and outer sides in the radial direction at the upper end side, the internal space of the first inner tube 2 corresponds to the flow path 10a, and a substantially cylindrical space existing between the outside of the first inner tube 2 and the inside of the second inner tube 3 is It corresponds to the flow path 10b. These flow paths 10a and 10b communicate with each other on the upper end side through the communication port 11a, the inner and outer spaces in the radial direction in the second inner pipe 3 communicate with each other on the lower end side through the communication port 11b. When the fluid introduced from the axial inlet pipe 9 is discharged from the outside in the radial direction, the communication port 11b is located upstream of the flow paths 10c and 10d in contact with the cooling coil 5, and the fluid flows into these flow paths 10c and 10d. Therefore, the first and second inner pipes provided between the cooling pipe and the housing, wherein the water to be cooled flows in through the inlet provided at one end of the water inflow pipe, and is discharged through a first opening provided at the other end of the water inflow pipe, a direction of the water to be cooled discharged to the first opening is changed by the closed other end portion of the cooling pipe, the water to be cooled flows along a longitudinal direction of the cooling pipe, and then flows into the first inner pipe, the water to be cooled flowing into the first inner pipe flows along the longitudinal direction of the first inner pipe, and then is discharged through a second opening provided at the other end of the first inner pipe, the water to be cooled discharged through the second opening flows along the longitudinal direction of an inner wall of the second inner pipe, rotates along the ice spiral, and then flows into the inner wall of the housing through a second passage formed through one end of the second inner pipe, and the water to be cooled flowing into the inner wall of the housing flows along the longitudinal direction of the inner wall of the housing, rotates along the ice spiral, and then is discharged into the outlet is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is --an axial inlet pipe 9 is discharged from the outside in the radial direction, the communication port 11b is located upstream of the flow paths 10c and 10d in contact with the cooling coil 5, and the fluid flows into these flow paths 10c and 10d--. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the first and second inner pipes communication with the first/second openings, were disclosed in the prior art by the combined teachings, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined teachings by employing an axial inlet pipe 9 is discharged from the outside in the radial direction, the communication port 11b is located upstream of the flow paths 10c and 10d in contact with the cooling coil 5, and the fluid flows into these flow paths 10c and 10d.
In the further alternative, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the first/second inner pipes to communicate with the first/second openings of the combined teachings, and thus the direction of the water discharged from the first/second openings within the first/second inner pipes cannot be considered critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", where the combined teachings teach the general conditions of the claim in the prior art, including a housing width and a housing depth. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the second passage (communication port 11b of Tsukama) has a plurality of fine holes perforated (at the lower portion of pipe 3, as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the closed other end portion of the cooling pipe (closed end portion of tube 3, figure 8 of Tsukama) is formed by combining a separate cover member (lid 6, figure 8 of Tsukama) with a tubular pipe (pipe 2 of Tsukama) that is open at both ends (top and lower portions of pipe 2 are open, as shown on figure 8 of Tsukama).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Tsukama as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Azuma et al (US 20130000286 A1. Hereinafter Azuma).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a first passage formed toward the inner wall of the housing at one end portion of the cooling pipe, wherein the first passage has a plurality of fine holes perforated.
However, Azuma teaches further comprising: a first passage (passage A, figure 3) formed toward the inner wall of the housing (inner wall of heat exchanger 2, figure 3) at one end portion of the cooling pipe (at the outer end of pipe 31, figure 3), wherein the first passage (passage A, figure 3) has a plurality of fine holes perforated (apertures 30, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a first passage formed toward the inner wall of the housing at one end portion of the cooling pipe, wherein the first passage has a plurality of fine holes perforated in view of the teachings of Azuma in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a configuration that can improve efficiency of heat exchanger.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Tsukama as applied above in claim 7, and in further view of Joo et al (KR 20100107903 A, hereinafter Joo).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the cover member is configured such that the cooling pipe and the second inner pipe are fitted into a plurality of grooves that are concentrically provided to be combined to form the closed other end portion in the cooling pipe and the second inner pipe.
However, Joo teaches wherein the cover member (sink S, corresponding to lid 6 of Tsukama) is configured such that the cooling pipe (pipe 210) and the second inner pipe (pipe 220) are fitted into a plurality of grooves (under S, figure 7b) that are concentrically provided to be combined to form the closed other end portion (closing the end of pipe T, figure 7b) in the cooling pipe and the second inner pipe (closing the end of pipe T, figure 7b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device in the combined teachings to include wherein the cover member is configured such that the cooling pipe and the second inner pipe are fitted into a plurality of grooves that are concentrically provided to be combined to form the closed other end portion in the cooling pipe and the second inner pipe in view of the teachings of Joo in order to yield the predictable result of providing cooled water may be discharged to the outside through the connection pipe and the cold-water discharge pipe.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the cover member (sink S of Joo) is configured such that a part of the plurality of grooves (within the grooves under sink S, figure 7b of Joo) has a deep depth (figure 7b of Joo) on at least a part of a circumference to form a flow path (figure 7b of Joo) through which a fluid flows in a radial direction (via cold water discharge pipe C of Joo).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Tsukama as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Kim (KR 20200001256 A, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a thermal insulation material provided on the outer surface of the housing to wrap the housing.
However, Kim teaches further comprising: a thermal insulation material provided on the outer surface of the housing to wrap the housing (the housing 100 may further include a heat insulating member such as glass fiber surrounding the outer circumferential surface of the hollow tube 130, paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a cooling pipe provided inside the housing, and provided into which the water inflow pipe is inserted along a longitudinal direction in view of the teachings of Azuma in order to yield the predictable result of preventing the external temperature from affecting the hollow tube.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified by Tsukama as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Chan (US 20160216045 A1, hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a valve provided in the outlet, wherein the valve mixes cold water discharged through the outlet with a fluid having a higher temperature than that of the cold water, and discharges mixed water of which a temperature is adjusted by mixing.
However, Chan teaches further comprising: a valve (mixing valve 434) provided in the outlet (through water outlet 419 on heat exchanger 430, paragraph 0003 and as shown on figure 1a), wherein the valve mixes cold water discharged through the outlet (via cold water pipe 416 and water inlet 417 towards pipeline 427, fig 1a) with a fluid having a higher temperature (preheated water, paragraph 0003 and figure 1a) than that of the cold water (via 418, 0003 and fig 1a), and discharges mixed water of which a temperature is adjusted by mixing (as described in paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a valve provided in the outlet, wherein the valve mixes cold water discharged through the outlet with a fluid having a higher temperature than that of the cold water, and discharges mixed water of which a temperature is adjusted by mixing in view of the teachings of Chan in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the amount of heating energy consumption.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Accordingly, Yoon does not disclose or suggest, alone or in combination with the other cited references, "wherein the ice spiral comprises a helical gap forming, in a longitudinal cross-section of the ice spiral, a plurality of gaps between adjacent ice, and wherein the water to be cooled flows through the plurality of gaps," as required by amended claim 1”, the Examiner disagrees. For clarity, the Office Action cites Tsukama as a secondary referenced to modify Park and to teach where the ice is attached to the cooling coil 5 on an inner wall of the cooler 1 (figure 8), the ice attached to cooling coil 5 comprises flow paths 10a/10b in a longitudinal manner of cooling coil 5 (figure 8) and plurality of pipes 2/3 between the adjacent ice attached to cooling coil 5 where the water to be cooled flows through inlet pipe 9 (as shown on figure 8). Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763